F15 BMW X5 CKD now in Malaysia – RM540k-RM580k

BMW 03

BMW Group Malaysia has announced that the F15 BMW X5 is now locally assembled, bringing about a slightly lower price and a moderate feature count boost. Available in dealerships nationwide from August 30, the range-topping Sports Activity Vehicle (SAV) is the 15th variant to be assembled at the Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah, and the second this year after the 3 Series Gran Turismo.

The range remains the same, with the diesel xDrive30d and petrol xDrive35i making up the lineup, but both models have been stuffed with a bit more kit. Firstly, the xDrive30d gets a third row, meaning that both models are now seven-seaters. The diesel also gets a full-colour head-up display, previously only available on the more expensive model, as well as Chrome Line trim around the side windows.

The range-topping xDrive35i on the other hand, adds a electric panoramic glass sunroof, as well as a rear-seat entertainment system comprising of two remotely-controllable 9.2-inch displays, with access to radio and navigation, as well as BMW Apps and Internet connectivity via BMW ConnectedDrive.

Finally, both cars get a suite of new safety features through the inclusion of the Driving Assistant package. These include Lane Departure Warning, Forward Collision Warning and City Collision Warning Mitigation.

Lane Departure Warning warns when the driver is about to deviate from their lane by vibrating the steering wheel. Forward Collision Warning provides visual and acoustic warnings if the car detects a collision is imminent, while City Collision Warning Mitigation also brakes the car automatically to prevent or to mitigate the impact of collisions at speeds below 60 km/h.

Elsewhere, it’s the same as before. The xDrive30d is powered by a 258 hp, 560 Nm 3.0 litre turbodiesel inline-six, while the xDrive35i gets a 306 hp, 400 Nm 3.0 litre turbo inline-six petrol. Both powertrains are mated to an eight-speed sports automatic transmission and permanent all-wheel drive.

So, how much do you save by punting for the CKD variants? Not much, actually. The xDrive30d is now priced at RM539,800, while the xDrive35i now retails at RM579,800, both RM19,000 less expensive than before. Both prices are on the road without insurance and include BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

You can compare the specifications, equipment and pricing of the new CKD variants against the CBU variants at our car buying research website CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• breaL on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Thxs god thats cheap!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:59 pm

The technologies develops so fast and now the gearbox reach eight-speed automatic transmission consider or more..
      It is almost double up the so call reliable conventional 4 speed auto transmission for Vios, Camry, Innova…
      As long as its not UMW toyota, it will having new technologies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:53 am

Over here the govt begging foreign invester, in another hand allowed grey import of AP.

The car manufacturers with facing uncountable grey import under AP which affected their business.

To be fair & square, the manufacturer should charge accordingly to taxes+duty % ( 150% onwards extra) to those AP cars to service their car in authorised manufact service centre.

To be FAIR & SQUARE, I strongly suggest:-

(1) in local, extra charges to AP cars ( follow taxes+duty %) when service car at manufacturer service centre.

Eg. At BMW svc centre, If 10k normal service rate, then to charge AP car at (25k@150%, 30k @200%, 40k @300%) when those AP car to service their car in manufacturer svc center

(2) others countries to apply same taxes+duty for car imported from Msia.

Eg. To taxes CX5 imported from msia standard price at 100k to 250k@150%, 300k@200% IN ORDER TO PROTEST THEIR OWN COUNTY INVESTER & CREATED MORE JOBS AT THEIR COUNTRY (same same Msia policy)

If every country applied same policy Msia applied, all will facing hard time to export included msia, all car built mainly for their own domestic market included msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:11 am

Pls think about msia policy in right direction to develop local industry to be a hub automotive.

How to bcone hub same same msia policy applied all countries.

In thai market:

Thai made H CRV @ 100K
          Msia made M CX5 @ 300K (to include taxes+duty similar Msis)

So Msia think their are smart and its good policy, others could do the same.

In the end, all cars built in Msia only mainly for domestic. Forget about hub automotive, foreign invester …

P1p2 will forever make car for domestic market, its do the same on foreign invester at msia.

• The truth about BMW on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:33 pm

BMW only gives 2 years warranty because just after the 2nd year, all the problems crop up.

Ask any BMW owner. Go to Glenmarie in the mornings. Got free coffee and nasi lemak. Sit down there and talk to the customers waiting. They will tell you that after the 2nd year, everytime they send for service, spending RM20,000 each time is very normal. This rosak. That rosak.

So think 10 times before you buy a BMW. Do what I tell you, go and talk to people waiting for their cars. ALL will tell you, right after the 2nd year, you will be crying blood.

This is no rumour. Go yourself and speak to actual owners and enjoy free nasi lemak and filtered coffee!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • bMWokaki on Mar 12, 2017 at 2:09 pm

I am the owner, are u? I got no complaint?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:07 pm

You will be deeply impressed by the latest 16 speed derived from truck/lorries. Not enough? Looking for 32 speeds?

Sorry if you can’t afford Toyota new technologies (CVT, Hybrids, planetary gears etc).

Please work harder then. I can give you more discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
        • samlorsark on Aug 09, 2014 at 4:33 am

Toyoyo

1.overpriced
          2.overrated
          3.obsolete
          4.on garbage lorry
          5.out of proportion
          6.overhyped

• Kerajaan Sudah Menunai Janji!!! on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Waiting for kzm to come here and say that kerajaan sudah tuntai janji dan denagan merendah harga kereta X5 ini dan kita semua mesti berhutang budi kepada YAB Perdana Menteri Najib.

KZM will be very happy now thinking kerajaan has kept to their word of reducing car prices by 30%.

Then he will go back to his kampung and tell everybody how cheap our cars in Malaysia are and that kerajaan tidak mungkir janji dan sudah menepati jajni merendahkan harga sehingga 30 peratus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:40 pm

u hepi with that..i just ask them to kolos boleh plant.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:00 pm

no i dont say that…u assume i said that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:57 pm

what is “hepi” and “kolos”? Bodoh betul. Speaking pun tak erti.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:33 pm

better they close boleh plant…just invest more in thai. ckd no quality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • ShahrinMajid on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Only such a small saving of RM20k over the imported model?
    This is a joke!
    I hope BMW Malaysia is not pocketing the rest of the savings that u normally benefit from having it locally assembled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:21 pm

sick of all these useless ckd exercises

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • sumavulu on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:27 pm

CKD or not you still don’t buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:27 pm

If you are running a company operation, then u would understand the cost incurred.

Under Njb administration, our MYR value keep dropping.

Furthermore with such msia at 2nd highest tax+duty worldwide (SIN no1), those foreign investors who invest even under CKD programme would NOT ABLE TO GAIN PROFIT if the volume is not there.

To sell above 300k after taxes&duty, its a low volume business, not sure what is t Best e breakeven quantity on the facilities & equipment cost invested plus monthly manpower cost.

Worst case scenario it could be a loss (negative).

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:59 am

How monthly or annualy X5 sales?

If ultra super low sales, to gain back the multi millions of NEW tooling & facilities cost invested at Inokom, CKD could be EXPENSIVE than CBU.

Its depend ur ROI calculation set.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:29 pm

If you are running a company operation, then u would understand the cost incurred.

Under Njb administration, our MYR value keep dropping.

Furthermore with such msia at 2nd highest tax+duty worldwide (SIN no1), those foreign investors who invest even under CKD programme would NOT ABLE TO GAIN PROFIT if the volume is not there.

To sell above 300k after taxes&duty, its a low volume business, not sure what is breakeven quantity on the facilities & equipments invested plus monthly manpower cost.

Worst case scenario you could end up with loss (negative).

• Lookman on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Very cheap

• RM19,000 less expensive than before?

What is the point CKD it? For the sake of create more job?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • BMW Malaysia Profit Margin on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:27 pm

CBU BMW X5 in the US is less than US$52,000. At that price, BMW USA already paid the US government its taxes and excise duty. At that price also, BMW USA already making a margin and profit from the car sold.

BMW Malaysia, being the official country distributor will get this car far cheaper than us$52,000. Most likely they will get this car at US$40,000.

BMW Malaysia CKD this car, it gets even cheaper. Maybe US$35,000

So, how they sell CKD Made in Malaysia X5 at RM580,000???

Can you see BMw’s profit margin per car? Even after it pays maximum 130% duties and excise duties (much lesser since its CKD ie less than 90%), BMW Malaysia makes a whopping RM300,000 per car sold.

On top of that, BMW Malaysia will give a mere 2 years warranty whilst all over the world, BMW cars come with 5 years warranty. BMW Malaysia is now the only car company in Malaysia and ALSO the entire world to give its cars a mere 2 years warranty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:01 pm

If feel unfair just buy Proton build quality with good pricing and wait until GSC u feel luxury build quality promise by Tun DrM himself.
      Proton way of malaysia. No AP tax and import tax.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:50 pm

where got that US price in ASEAN? Brunei? in ur dream

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

for those who thumb down..how much u think those model price in brunei?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Just buy Proton enough say.
          Can buy 1 BMW-X5 =16 of saga sv, drive 1 year and sell still got RV.
          BMW is for cronies, Proton is for RAKYAT.

• kzm love Brunei on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:39 pm

kzm always talking about Brunei. Hoi budak kampung, do you know Brunei GDP per capita is 5x that of Malaysia? This means Brunei people earn 5x more than Malaysians and their purchasing power is 5x more than Malaysians.

Fresh graduate already earn B$5000. That is RM13,000 per month. Fresh grad alone can pay off his car faster than us.

In Malaysia, fresh grad get RM2000 also so lucky.

Also Brunei got no tax, petrol is cheap, free education, free healthcare.

kzm, if you cannot understand what GDP per capita, go back to your kampung. Tak payah tinggal di bandar lagi. Better you stay away from the city and wetting all the public toilets

• That's only half the story on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Where did you get the fact that the starting salary for graduate in Brunei is BND 5k? They have higher GDP per capita than USA, so does that means they are richer than the Americans?

Oh, and you forgot to mention there’s no entertainment and no (night)life in Brunei as well.

• Tristars on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:43 pm

In US, they have spartanburg plant where they manufacture X series for the US & also the world. This also help reduce price in US. Not only that, to compare volume of sales between malaysia and US, they get way bigger volume in US. The volume will compensate the lower price in US while maintaining the profit margin

• Pinky on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Paying 580k but only getting 2 years of warranty. When the car got any problem in the 3rd year, have to spend another 58k for repairing again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Can you pay a little bit more to buy 3-year warranty from Insurance company to make it 2 + 3 ?

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Of all the goodies and equipments, the most important one is the offroad capability of these SUVs that claimed to have. It will be better if there is a showdown of premium mid-size SUVs consists of Audi Q7, VW Touareg, Porsche Cayenne and Mazda CX-9. All of them having tough offroad tests besides normal tarmac tests, just like those vehicle reviews from UK and Australia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:38 pm

This car is more expensive than my corner lot double storey house.
    Guess I just have to work harder than ever before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Buy Proton build quality and cheap, but GSC come with expensive. Tun DrM promise himself.

Corner lots is for idiot like buying a BMW, buy Proton a smart buyer.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:38 pm

The price only slightly reduced by 3.4% @CKD ???

What a joke of the day from BMW group !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • so macho looking machine

• cendol (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:15 pm

What is the point of CKD again??

• Yes BMW only given 2 years warranty ..
    but don’t forget BMW 3 years BSRI in fact can save you around RM10K-RM15K compared with Audi or Mercedes

• ThePolygon on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:31 pm

I guess this is how it is. The price is kept high so that it remains in that exquisite category. Can’t blame them. That’s how they capture the rich people’s market. If it’s any cheaper, the rich might look elsewhere. Something that remains beyond the reach of lower and middle income people is what that is attractive to the upper class. That’s how it works. Don’t get me wrong, I myself can only afford the Alza.

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:47 pm

As greedy as UMVV.

I guess CKD is of better quality than the CBU, and we know lah, teh tarik 10am, nasi lemak 3pm, kenyang baru ada tenaga kerja.

BTW, grapes under 1Mil are all sweet to me.

• shawal on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Bmw malaysia is not going for volume…
    Thats for sure…

• tishaban on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Why do carmakers quote prices without insurance? If you can afford 540k for a car are you going to run away when they realize the OTR price is 15k more?

• rambo on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:53 pm

because you might want to transfer your existing car insurance with NCD of 55% to this car. That’s what i did and sit saves me a lot of money. hence the range of insurance can vary

• maseratista on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:00 pm

ncd different lo. some got 0% some already reach 50% ncd… thats why dont include insurance.

• tishaban on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:26 pm

If NCD is such a big deal, why doesn’t Proton or Honda or Toyota quote their cars with no insurance? RM 1.2k discount with full NCD is a much bigger percentage off a Honda City price and the customers are much more price sensitive.

Put it the other way, car dealers are trying to show a lower car cost to a (relatively) price insensitive customer which doesn’t make any sense from a marketing point of view.

• maseratista on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:16 am

actually they did quote with no insurance, just that they include an assumed 0% ncd premum. if you look at proton’s pricelist, suprima s exec, for example, have both price and full insurance premium value. you have ncd then this should be lower lo.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Actually, first off, I am quite surprised that they actually CKDed the F15 X5… considering it is not their main selling model and they just launched the CBU in April.

For once, I am quite happy they CKDed it. Why?

1. The CBU X5, was built with the X3 and X6 in Spartanburg, USA. NOT from Dingolfing or Leipzig in Germany. What is the difference you may ask? Let’s just say the Spartanburg built X cars are not the same quality as the Dingolfing and Leipzig. (Note that the X1 is built with the F20 1 series and 2 series in Leipzig). These US built ones are known for shoddy quality, which I would say is not even as good ad the Inokom built cars (can’t believe I am saying Inokom is better but it is a fact.). On the E70 X5, seats were so hard, panel fitment was meh, and some even said their cars used to rattle and squeak about like birds!

2. The kit. For the first time, the CKD has improved the kit count by a lot. The inclusion of Intelligent Safety as STANDARD on the CKD is a very welcome thing, as there is a pre collision warning (something like PRESAFE Brake on Mercedes cars), and a lane departure warning. The bigger thing is, this at least means that finally BMW Group is shipping out CKD kits for these features to Malaysia and Inokom is now capable of installing these features in, which in turn would imply that in the near future, it is likely that other models will start to include these features too, i.e. on the facelift F30 3 series and possibly when the new G30 5 series replaces the current F10 5 series.

I would say the 19k reduction, even with the kit count increase is not too bad. Heck when they CKDed the F10, they reduced the prices by about the same margin and we did not get anything much too.

I can also see that BMW is finally trying to pit the F15 X5 as a chauffeured car with the inclusion of rear seat entertainment, probably to give the big bosses who prefer the security of xDrive and not willing to plonk down 1 mil on a full size Rangie, can finally get this. And also for bosses who love to drive on the weekend too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Oi BMW Malaysia, pls bring the driving assistant package to the 3 and 5 series. It has been long enough that you hold these features from your best selling models. Still trying to profit as much as you can eh? We’re also still waiting for adaptive xenon lights and an upgrade to your crappy 2 year warranty.

• Real Sammy Vellu on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Quite disappointed to see such a marginal reduction in prices for a CKD model despite offering slightly more kit compared to the fully imported model.

To start off with, the CBU unit was poorly equipped for a car costing more than half a million bucks.

But this car is a bargain compared to the overpriced Range Rover Sport. In fact, the whole Land Rover lineup is overpriced!

• nabill (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:37 pm

you had me at 560nm of torque!

• mmaker on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:41 pm

aiyoyo RM19k only and that price without insurance? Actually BMW easily can make it RM500k, 5 yrs warranty with 5 years free service

• You do know that u can get a recond 2012 porsche cayenne with rm540-580k? Also a panamera 4s. Both has its pros and cons. Up to consumer lo end of the day. Want status and performance then get porsche. Want uhh…bmw then get x5. Maintainence fee for porsche? if u can spend 500k, you can afford to maintain the car.

• therealmaserati on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:12 am

Porsche got status? you mean VW is it?

• Aiyo recond ma… if recond x5 also 300k la.. Not everyone like recond

• Recond Cayenne at RM540k? u mean cayenne gts or turbo? Normal baseline cayenne can get at RM370K for 2012 model.

• ThePowerOfDream on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:47 am

I always prefer CBU.

• therealmaserati on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:11 am

Dont know whats so great about BMW cars. Test drove the 328i which is gng for about 300k and its nothing to shout about.

Feels like a more powerful Civic . Thats it!

The 320i is rubbish with such a rough engine note.

528i is such an overrated car. For 400k it feels so freaking underpowered and on the highway, its very floaty.

Bmw is dead la. This year belongs to Merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • 528i is underpower? U mean 2.0l? its higher touque but no oomphh from engine. Im having 3.0l. though with lower torque, it is very prone to high rev.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Beemer owners will definitely have lots to shout about when their German sausages sui kwan and kwai tai

• honest on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:39 am

Driving luxury cars just make u perasan bagus

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 08, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Sui Kwan euro, might as well get a used Tucson (15 month old) for around RM50k

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 2:00 pm

I don’t mind to spend 55k where 5k as commission for u.

Thetproblem is can u find me a 50k tucson not more than 2yrs?

• sammy_no_value on Aug 08, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Real Maserati, what u mentioned, is it real ah?

Bmw 5 series is floaty? I think you donno how to drive a BMW is it?

You are not so real lah

• sammy_no_value on Aug 08, 2014 at 2:26 pm

if 528i not enough power, you think E250 got power?

Merc lagi no power.

BMW – best value
    VW- semi value
    Mercedes- no value!

• Samad Jain on Aug 10, 2014 at 11:54 am

macam macam comment here….So many experts. Really Malaysia Boleh

• Jeremy Ting on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:42 pm

BMW X5 CKD only cheaper RM19K from the CBU, even Mercedes Benz S400 CKD cheaper approximately RM280-RM300k from the CBU; a friend of my work in Regas Auto Premium previously knows as Auto Bavaria told me that because of the taxation and NAP2014 in Malaysia had caused the CBU (fully import) price to increase and therefore BMW Malaysia had no choice but to sell CKD (local assembly) unless the customer willing to pay more for better quality compare to the cheap quality as BMW Malaysia had to change most of the parts to substandard material for cheaper pricing just like what the BMW in China doing, even though the sales had increase over years for CKD and decrease for CBU but the numbers of accident involved CKD more than CBU.

• Mamma maxi on Aug 04, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Don’t buy all the continental cars, all are overpriced and not suitable for our weather. After a while the cars dashboard plastic will melt under our hot sun. Spare parts are expensive and car are unreliable unlike the Japanese car like Lexus reputable for its Relaibility and spare parts are reasonably price.