Infiniti Q50 officially launched in Malaysia – 2.0 Turbo and 3.5 V6 Hybrid, CBU Japan from RM248,800

Q50 Launch Main

The Infiniti Q50 was officially launched this morning at the marque’s Jalan Tun Razak showroom in KL. The Q50 – a premium compact exec that will do battle with the BMW 3 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Audi A4 and Lexus IS – is available in Malaysia with two engines, a 2.0 turbo and a 3.5 hybrid. You know that already from our showroom preview and test drive report.

The Q50 2.0 Turbo is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine with 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 3,500 rpm. The direct-injection four-cylinder unit is paired to a seven-speed automatic gearbox with manual mode and Downshift Rev Matching.

The Renault-Nissan Alliance has an ongoing partnership with Daimler, and the Q50’s drivetrain is from Mercedes-Benz. It can be found in the W212 E-Class facelift, and the upcoming W205 C 200 is expected to carry this combo as well. Infiniti’s version of the engine has specific tuning.

Infiniti Q50S Hybrid 21

Zero to 100 km/h is done in 7.2 seconds and top speed is 245 km/h. That’s comparable to the 184 hp/270 Nm BMW 320i, which is good for 7.3 seconds and 235 km/h. The W204 Mercedes C200 does 7.8 seconds and 235 km/h, so they’re all in the same ballpark. Like the German duo, the Q50 is rear-wheel driven. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 13.6 km/l.

Powering the Q50S 3.5 Hybrid is a 298 hp, 338 Nm 3.5 litre Atkinson-cycle V6 mated to a 62 hp, 270 Nm electric motor, a lithium-ion battery and a seven-speed automatic transmission. Total system output is 364 hp and 546 Nm, mighty enough for 0-100 km/h in 5.1 seconds. Top speed is electronically limited to 250 km/h.

The Q50 2.0T GT, at RM248,800 on-the-road without insurance, looks like good value for a CBU Japan import, and that’s before you scan the very decent spec sheet.

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Premium- 24

Auto LED headlamps, keyless entry and push start, 10-way powered driver’s seat with memory (8-way for passenger), power steering adjustment, dual LCD screens, rear view monitor and tyre pressure monitor (TPMS) are all standard. Customers can choose from three leather colours – black, grey and beige – to go with the nicely-textured “Kacchu” aluminium trim.

Should that be not enough, Infiniti is offering a RM30,000 “Premium Touring and Technology” upgrade package (RM278,800 total) that includes 18-inch alloys (with obvious Enkei branding, 17-inch on Standard, run-flat tyres for all), a 14-speaker Bose sound system, Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS) and high beam assist, a choice of aluminium or maple wood trim, and the Infiniti Driver Assist System bundle.

The latter package includes Blind Spot Warning with Intervention, Lane Departure Warning, Around View Monitor (with Moving Object Detection Backup Collision Intervention), Active Lane Control and Predictive Forward Collision Warning with Intelligent Cruise Control.

The RM30k upgrade also includes Direct Adaptive Steering, the “steer by wire” headlining tech act for the Q50. Operation is entirely electric, though there’s still a mechanical link for the direct steering in the form of a safety clutch – our man Jonathan likes this pioneering system, and you can read his review to find out more. The standard 2.0T GT comes with regular EPS.

The RM398,800 Q50S Hybrid gets all of the above, and more. Interior additions include a 12-way power-adjustable driver’s seat with lumbar and torso support, sunroof, aluminium pedals and magnesium steering wheel paddles. It also looks more aggressive thanks to a S-specific front fascia and 19-inch wheels, backed up by sport-tuned suspension and uprated brakes.

We have had two stints with the Q50, one in the USA and one on home ground, read the reviews to learn more about the sports sedan. Also check out our full showroom picture gallery of all three variants. Interested? You can also compare the Q50 2.0T GT, 2.0T GT Premium and Q50S Hybrid with each other, or even against other class rivals on CarBase.my.

Infiniti Q50 2.0T GT

Infiniti Q50 2.0T GT Premium

Infiniti Q50S 3.5 Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

I’d have too say thats quite alot of kit for the price, well done infiniti. The Q50S……unless you’re planning on outrunning Golf R daily, not really much reason for it actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • sudonano (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:16 pm

The red looks lovely!

For 30k, I must say that touring package is a steal. So much tech for a small price. Plus, being German powered, the engine should be nice and decent.

A good buy, if you are willing to not have a propeller or a 3 pointed star on the nose of your car.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Hot, sushi cars rock!

• seancorr on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm

I agree, this car with its optional pack gives loads of goodies that I wanted in my own car.

The 328i M-Sport which comes in above RM300k does not even come with basic stuff like adaptive front lights and reverse camera so stuff like Lane Departure Warning and adaptive cruise control are even more out of reach and this is a CKD model we are speaking about which should have been cheaper!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:49 pm

As long as it is not kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

As long as it is sushi, it will have RV and build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • samelorstpd on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:13 pm

As long as same lorrr wrote it, it’s koky

• rifle on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Yup…this s a good gamble if you wanna be “unique” with 250k..a good choice to run away from the normal sight of 3-series and c-class

• Enthu on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Can’t even keep up with the GTi. Don’t even mention R.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Legend (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Infiniti, great job on this! That 30k Premium Touring and Technology package is really value for money!
    Get every advanced technology system that its competitor(328i and C250 and A4) can’t give all of them at the same price level!
    Even the Q50 Hybrid undercut E400 and 528i by nearly 100k and 20k respectively!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Legend (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

And the most important things is that this is CBU from Japan!
      While E400 and 528i are both CKD!!!!!

• Sammy_no_value on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

How can u compare a C class competitor to an E class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • W204 C63 AMG on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:42 pm

It even undercuts the 335i by a small margin.

• Legend (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:36 pm

335i is priced at 488,888.00
        if u said want a hybrid 3 series?
        Activehybrid 3 will costs you 538,888.00
        Both of these model are also CBU btw
        that is a much much different in price!

• Sammy_no_value on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Why do they always have to provide ugly looking rims to the base models? It’s a real spoiler!

The standard spec is being priced too close to a 320i/320d to give it a competitive edge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • I don’t know about you but I’ll definitely choose this over the 320i/320d. This one has a lot more goodies compared to the 3-series.

Similar price, but so many other good stuff. Of course this one better.

• heybadigol on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:32 pm

I think it would have been better to put the steer by wire to be an option on its own rather than bundling it with the premium & tech pack. So the pack can be at a lower cost. Some buyers might find the lack of direct steering a bit unnerving. But if you want the Bose sound system, you have no choice but to get steer by wire.

Having said that, price is pretty competitive. RM248k for a CBU is quite a good bargain. We can’t compare to the 3 Series & C Class as those are CKD, so are reasonably expected to be cheaper. Best comparison is the Lexus IS, whereby the base model is much more expensive (over RM20k more if I count correctly).

• Sammy_no_value on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Nowadays BMW CKD quality controls are very very close to imported versions. Gone are the days when Auto Bavaria were in charge of local CKD quality controls back in the 80’s and 90’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • But so what? Even imported ones have freakin lousy reliability. Change ECU? RM10K please. Change transmission? RM60K and wait 1 month please. Ya, there are those that have no issues. But just ask why BMW’s have such farkin low RV when it’s a supposedly a desirable car.

• Jaybond on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I have a feeling that, like its Japanese competitor the Lexus IS, the Infiniti Q50 will be a very rare sight on our roads. In case of Lexus, I’ve seen the Lexus ES quite a number of times, but I’ve only seen the Lexus IS once on the road! Apparently, the Lexus IS & the Infiniti Q50 have one thing in common though….fguly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
    • anti_japanese_car on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

alo, cannot afford don’t complain la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • How you know he cannot afford?

• Because if he can afford it, he will be busy making his choice among a whole bunch of cars and not come here to blah.

Just joking.

• shawal on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Hopefully in the near future theyll come up with turbo premium variant that leaves out the steer by wire option hence…making it cheaper…

Cuz on d long run we dunno whats d repair costs of such a high tech system….

Looks are subjective….but at dis price level and kit count…..PLUS its cbu from JAPAN.. And the interior quality is miles ahead of the 3 series..
    Id say its a better buy than the 328i ckd..

3-er facelift better have the kit count to match and the interior quality to boot….
    Alot of 328i can be found in mudah…dunno why…

Next c class’s interior trumps the q50 tho…

• dashboard just like old korean car,hideous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • for people like you, as long as the car has a dashboard, you’ll say it looks like korean. Lame.

As people say, “Malas nak layan orang macam mu”

• But I agree. Interior looks like crap, with the vertical air con vents and round lines. Anyone who says this is better than the current Lexus or Audi interiors is daft.

• Sammy_no_value on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:19 pm

After seeing this car, one would realize how overpriced the Lexus IS250 is.

• therealmaserati on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:18 pm

After u drive an is250, u can forget about driving an infiniti and throw it down the ravine.

This car is a good car. But i sat in an IS250 b4 and the refinement is just so freaking good. And the engine and gearbox worked like they were married for 50 years. Just uber good

Trust me after u try an IS250, u will feel that a 320i quality is on par with Proton .

This q50 is a good car if u dont care about driving feel. Its gearbox is so slow and the steering feel is bad .

• mr1031 on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:28 pm

but i thought it was vettel’s handiwork..

• After all that twitchy hard-as-nails driving on the track, Vettel must have wanted something soft and comfy for off-track hahaha.

• heybadigol on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:41 am

Vettel only come on board after they have started development. Thus could not give much inputs. Read that he did comment to have paddle shifters that move with the steering wheel (like all luxury carmakers and even Honda & Kia does). In the end Infiniti did not listen to his advice. Result is pretty cluttered area behind steering wheel with the fixed paddles and stalks. Thats why Ferrari & Lambo removed the stalks and put all signals & controls for lights & wipers onto the face of the steering wheel itself. So, only those beautifully machined huge fixed paddles are behind the wheel. Hoping one day this will filter down to “normal” cars.

• laput on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:07 pm

I wonder if you have test drived the q50 b4 you make this remark… If no, how do you know that IS is better?

• mmaker on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Can we send this car for service at MB SC because of they shared same engine?

• Josh Ling on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:14 pm

What’s with the GT in the name? Q50 2.0T not good enough? Infinity really needs someone who knows naming well.

• seancorr on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:14 pm

I wouldn’t mind taking this over the 3 Series or the C Class since it comes with that yummy RM30k pack which has loads of goodies – FINALLY all view monitor in a exec sedan!!!

Only issue is their nation wide after sales support isn’t there yet so best not to take it to kampungs yet.

• qwerty on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Wow, I would say this is a very luring, attractive and seducing package.

Should one doesn’t care about brands, THIS, is the best-valued premium car.

• Yeah, save the money and donate to Opp parties so that can have even more competitive cars! Win for all !

• rellyah on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

i would consider this car, but the new c-class interior its way too awesome, couldn’t resist not to have that.

• Steve Jobs on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:54 pm

so weird.i feel that RM250K for Q50 is cheap compared to new WRX ><

• heybadigol on Aug 27, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Both cars have different objectives. The WRX is a performance oriented machine, but is still liveable though a bit rough around the edges. Its faster than the Q50 Turbo, and handles better. But the Q50 is more comfortable, and more refined, as it is a luxury car after all. The WRX is not a luxury car. Its utilitarian, like a Civic on steroids and with quattro AWD thrown in. In the end, it depends on what the buyers wants: excitement or pampering.

• Wow, it sure a lot of Tan Chong cybertrooper here…. All good comments only.

• Rear and interior dashboard are just like sonata YF….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Ahem ahem!! Say that to Hyundai’s logo!

*can’t help but keep thinking about Honda*

• wise guy on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:38 pm

nice car but bit expensive. 90% loan 5 yr 2.5% interest = rm4200/mth. so to own this, income must be at least rm25k per mth

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:55 pm

screw the audi a4. get this.

• heybadigol on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:44 am

Wait first for new C Class. Not long to wait. Then can make decision.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:56 pm

volvo s60, lexus is250, this, bmw 3series and the new c-klasse will all be decent buys

• john connor on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:56 pm

the exterior looks pretty much like mazda 6. very kudos design.

• spongewai on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:19 pm

sushi car with German engine

good car

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 7:54 pm

This car have no soul being an infinity/nissan body with a merc engine.

Still prefer they slam in the nissan gtr engine and make it a real beast.

• Infiniti vs Lexus on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Im loving the extremely reasonable asking price for the fully loaded Q50 2.0GT! for the high spec variant, it is around the same price as the lowest specced Lexus IS250 with pathetic equipments! Even up to the F-sport variant and IS300h variant, it can’t be matched with the super specced Q50GT!

I love the Lexus IS more than the Infiniti Q50. its just my preference. But UMW had to F it up with the specs. I don’t care much about the price if it justifies it with the equipment list! Even up to the LS range, There are no infrared/laser technologies on board such as BSM, Lane Keep Assist, Anti Collision Warning, Adaptive Cruise Control, etc.!!

UMW stop being an A*Hole already and start adding equipments into the perfect Luxury Brand of Lexus! You’ve done enough damage to Toyota already! look at the pathetic sales Toyota generated for this year across its line up! I believe its the worse in history for the Toyota brand in Malaysia!

• odi862 (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Nissan Fuga with another name.

• old dog on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:12 pm

BMW and Merc also need to use promo/pre-own to sell more cars…I wonder how this can sell..

• summicron on Sep 01, 2014 at 6:56 pm

The side-profile is fantastic. Can’t say the same from the front.

• 2.0 Turbo Premium – great package.

2.0 Turbo Premium + the 19 inch wheels of the 3.5 Hybrid – perfect package.

This is equivalent to a W204 C250 (costs about 300k, less goodies, weaker engine) priced at C200 level.

W204 C200 AMG Grand Edition run-out sale will face further downward pressure in price – end of year promo RM200k please?

• shankar narayanan on Nov 10, 2014 at 2:04 am

HEY? 2.0 litre turbocharged ? We get 3.7 liter V6 engine.. The Japs short changed you with a lawnmover engine.. Chestnut bronze is a beautiful color. http://www.infinitiusa.com/sedan/q50/gallery#

Malaysia versions are underpowered and overpriced. Sad.

• Chumetomo on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:10 pm

How much is it for Q50 Eau Rouge? When this GTR Sedan godzilla will be available in Malaysia?