BMW 2 Series Convertible – details and mega gallery

P90160857-highRes

There you go, folks – the infinite-headroom version of the BMW 2 Series. The successor to the 1 Series Convertible will be available in 220i, 228i, 220d and M235i variants in the UK, with xDrive all-wheel drive versions to follow next year.

The BMW 2 Series Convertible is 72 mm longer and 26 mm wider, and sits on a 30 mm longer wheelbase, than the 1 Series Convertible it replaces. There’s also more boot room than before, both with the roof stowed (280 litres) and without (335 litres). Also, torsional rigidity is up by 20%.

The cloth roof, for which three hues are available (Black, Anthracite with silver effect, Brown with silver effect), opens and closes in 20 seconds at speeds of up to 50 km/h. As an option, the roof can be opened remotely using the key.

Apart from that, things are pretty much 2 Series – you’ll find eight-speed autos, EfficientDynamics with Eco Pro and Proactive Driving Assistant, Sport, Luxury and M Sport trims.

The baby Beemer cabrio is set to be shown at the Paris motor show next month before heading to the Los Angeles show in November. Launched in April, the BMW 2 Series is available in Malaysia in a single 220i Coupe variant, priced from RM260k.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 10:49 am

Another day, another BMW model/variant…

• The boot room is larger than proton iriz

• Dr Mamak on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:12 pm

This one sure get smoked by bas kilang here. The ///M235i makes more sense.

• JoeRadzif on Sep 10, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Yawn…
    lalalalaaa

• Powerslide!! on Sep 10, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Generic Malaysian be like
    Another BMW?? meh………
    Another Mercedes-Benz?? YAY!!!!!!!!!

like stupid fanboy pffft

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 6:41 pm