Tesla Model S P85D – supercar-baiting electric sedan with 691 hp, 931 Nm and all-wheel drive

After Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk went onto Twitter earlier this week to tease the unveiling of “the D and something else” (snigger all you like), the company has finally pulled the wraps off its latest, most powerful model – the Tesla Model S P85D.

The “D”, if you’re wondering, stands for “Dual Motor”, which hints at the car’s incredible powertrain. Supplementing the rear-mounted 310 kW (416 hp) motor on the regular Model S in P85 trim is a separate 165 kW (221 hp) motor in front in a manner similar to the upcoming Model X SUV, effectively making the P85D four-wheel drive.

The two motors combine to push out 515 kW (691 hp) and an astonishing 931 Nm of torque. This cuts the 0-100 km/h sprint time by a full second over the rear-wheel drive P85 to 3.2 seconds, the top speed is now 250 km/h (up from 209 km/h), and despite using the same 85 kWh lithium-ion battery as before, Tesla claims that the P85D’s range has actually increased by 16 km to 443 km thanks to improved drivetrain efficiency.

Telsa-Dual-Motor-P85D-sm

Despite the massive levels on performance on offer, there’s very little to mark out the P85D from the rest of the Model S range – just a subtle badge on the boot lid.

In addition to the P85D, there will also be lower-powered all-wheel drive models – the 65D and the 85D. Both models feature 140 kW (188 hp) motors front and rear, but the 65D has a smaller 65 kWh battery that limits range to 362 km, while the 85D can go as far as 475 km on a single charge thanks to the same larger 85 kWh battery as its more powerful siblings.

There’s the new Autopilot, too – cameras, radars and 360-degree ultrasonic sonar sensors have been added as standard to all Model S variants (including two-wheel drive ones) as the company looks to keep up with established luxury segment players on the active safety front.

ui_category_standard_equipment_large

The addition of all this technology, along with a Porsche 918-esque electromechanical braking setup is also the first step towards Tesla’s ultimate goal of self-driving cars, which Musk says will arrive in another five or six years.

There will eventually be a driverless self-parking feature, automated emergency braking, speed limit detection, active cruise control, lane departure warning and even an automatic lane changing feature which activates when the driver indicates, moving to the next lane when the car decides it is safe to do so. These features will be added progressively to the Model S as part of over-the-air software updates

It is the top-end P85D that will reach customers’ hands first – with deliveries beginning in December – while the more pedestrian all-wheel drive models will only hit dealers in February.

Tesla Model S

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kleeeeeek on Oct 10, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Meanwhile… Perodua unveils its revolutionary built-in tissue box compartment and “sporty” bumpers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • Tesla Fans on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Well said Bro.. Hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 11, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Why we can’t enjoy cheap hybrid and electric cars like in UK, US??

It is all about Proton and its almighty protection. Look at our Prius/Prius C and you will know.

When you laugh on the high price (because of the high tax to protect Proton), I actually sold a few recently due to the fuel price hike.

When fuel price reach RM3 a litre, I wouldn’t have any time left commenting here due to the good sales of hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • My dream car……no worry about oil price anymore…..

how about roadtax??? this pure electric car does not have cc??

• Dont worry our government will find a way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • carnut on Oct 10, 2014 at 5:13 pm

The minimum road tax of RM20 is imposed on EV cars now.
      I took a peek at the road tax sticker of the i-miev during one of their roadshows.

• Obviously (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:15 pm

0-100km/h in 3.2 seconds…now who said electric cars are boring?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • engine sound on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:58 pm

I think the boring part will be the sound.
      The reason why some ppl actually prefer muscle car.

• Still bored.. no engine & exhaust sound…

• Jaybond on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Boring. Although the Tesla’s bodywork style would be perfect for a Maserati or Jaguar car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • The Boss on Oct 10, 2014 at 4:43 pm

It’s selling at RM300k in Aussie land. As Malaysians we can only dream on about such cars due to our crap car policies.

• Afrojoe on Oct 10, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Your looking at 85kwh for one full charge, wow I wonder how’s your tnb’s bill gonna be for a month of using this car, remember tariff go higher starting from 200kwh of usage above

• …and we are shifting the carbon emission from the car to TNB’s power stations..

• still gonna be a lot cheaper than your average luxury car which consumes 1 liter petrol per 8 km during traffic jam.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 12, 2014 at 4:21 am

only coming in 2022….

• panjang on Oct 12, 2014 at 10:04 am

Redefines the term ‘electrifying’.
    wonder why proton is the one to blame for high car price,where is perodua?

Imho,changing to electric car wont actually reduce our living cost as the electric tariff will surely increase by the gomen’s effort which inclines towards zero subsidy policy.

At this moment,the retail price even with minimal tax will be out of reach as the Tesla has no longer reach the economy of scale in term of production.

Final question..will i buy one?
    Of course,if i can afford the selling price.charging it will be a sneaky thing to do…

• dont talk nonsense. electric is always a lot cheaper than petrol. and this top spec tesla is selling for less than 300k ringgit in the US.