Ford Fiesta ST displayed at Asia Klasika – RM149,888

ford-fiesta-st-previewed-asia-klasika 286

We bring you live shots of the Ford Fiesta ST from the Asia Klasika 2014 event at the Pullman Putrajaya Hotel, where the car is being previewed this weekend.

There are four units here today – two in Spirit Blue and the other two in Molten Orange. Two are on static display while the other pair, wearing trade plates, are being offered for short test drives.

Under the bonnet sits a 1.6 litre EcoBoost turbocharged engine offering 182 PS at 5,700 rpm and 240 Nm (290 Nm of time-limited overboost) from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm. Coupled solely to a B6 six-speed manual transmission, the hot-hatch gets to 100 km/h from rest in 6.9 seconds and carries on towards a 224 km/h top speed.

Fully imported (CBU) from Cologne, Germany, the Ford Fiesta ST is priced at RM149,888, OTR with insurance (or RM145,842 without insurance). Offered is a three-year/100,000 km warranty. Read the run-down on the full specifications here.

Malaysian-market Ford Fiesta ST specifications

Ford Fiesta ST on display at Asia Klasika 2014

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Aerodynamic bro on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Is that blue Ford Mustang GT? Any news of that because its rare to see American V8 in Malaysia.

• Coriolis (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:19 pm

I saw the banner there saying mustang coming into malaysia early 2015/2016. Too excited seeing the fiesta to snap the banner’s pic.

Should be the ecoboost variant.

• thomasNOTmyname on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Ford Fiesta ST at RM149,888…… I will go with Ford Kuga then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • kzm (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 5:21 pm

UK fiesta standard ST kosong cost u RM90k…if include those optional ST n ST2 addon can get bout RM105k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • I’m here just to read comments

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
  • I think this is a mistake placing it on the top end of the A-segment hot hatches. On paper the 208 GTI still has more power, space, looks and comes in enough for you to split the difference on a used MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Back in the real world. this is the fastest hatch in it’s segment. So of coz the extra 10k premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • I think u need to watch this:
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fzb6z6f0cbY

My opinion is Driving dynamic is more important in these hot hatches as you wouldn’t get a straight line when driving. Do you watch how Honda Civic Type-R chase Ferrari, Lambo, Mclaren at Sepang? A merely 300PS car chase those above 500PS super/hyper car.
      Interesting Interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Obviously (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Watched it and the demonstrator says that the Fiesta comes in 2k cheaper than the other 2 cars (Clio and 208GTi). I think the main issue here is the pricing and the specs they brought it in, but like the demonstrator said, the handling is more important on a hot hatch than pure power. Unless you’re drag racing.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:52 pm

This is a B segment hot hatch. The Twingo RS was an A segment hot hatch, or the Fiat 500 Abarth. They are really rather rare, A segment hot hatches that is. If there were one from Ford, it’d have to be based on the Ford Ka, while a Peugeot A segment hot hatch would have to be based on the 108.

The Clio RS is still placed far above the Fiesta ST in terms of pricing.

I think the price of the Fiesta ST, versus the 208 GTI is justified. The ST comes with a manual gearbox for example, and should be more fun to drive than either the 208 GTI and the Clio RS. It’s been touted as the B segment hot hatch to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • 3 times Iriz price? Sime Darby confirm scared of Proton and Dr M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • tishaban on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Polo GTI at ~RM150k vs. Peugeot 208 GTI ~RM140k vs. Clio RS ~RM170k vs. this.

We’re waiting for this Driven episode guys :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • ThePolygon on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Another dream crushed by the price… pakai Satria sahajalah saya ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:47 pm

u want kuga….u wont buy this…u complain this expensive…ask sime darby ckd it la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • finally i feel chosen 208 GTI is a right choose.
    RM 149,888 just selling engine and body kit different with NA
    but higher almost 80% of each 1.5 NA fiesta. LOL

feel inside damn plain … for daily use it’s not a good option at all…

hope driven will hurry up prepare for a new epison . :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • 208GTI, CKD vs Fiesta ST, CBU from Germany. I believe it could make a difference if Fiesta ST could be CKD. (Even most BMW & Merc no longer CBU from Germany)

• sepul on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Yeah, CKD will surely bring the price down, say just about RM120k but that is unlikely. I wonder how Naza managed to CKD the 208 GTi.

• I tried man.. I tried..
      Couldn’t understand what you’re trying to say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kedar on Nov 01, 2014 at 2:03 am

RIP English.

• BIG DISAPPOINTMENT! on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:57 pm

This is truly massively a BIG disappointment!

Ford you have truly gone the wrong road.

You were once on the right track back in 2011, now its all DOWNHILL AND BYE BYE FORD.

YOUR SALES and FIGURE is DONE FOR.

KISS YOUR MALAYSIAN AWARDS GOODBYE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • CBU would definitely be more expensive. And even if the price is lower, most people just talk about it, and wouldn’t buy it.
      When they decide to bring in this, it’s for the enthusiast. Want to use Fiesta ST sales to cover all its A&P expenses on Fiesta ST? I don’t think so…. As a business-body, they are not that stupid yet.
      Most talk loud but end up buying C-segment car, but no surprise because I would do the same, as practicality is my priority, unless i suddenly become rich(which we all wish to)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Matrix on Oct 31, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Haiz..
    I have Bolt my city.
    I can beat this Fiesta ST easily.

Even Focus ST can’t tail me at genting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 46
    • kington on Oct 31, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Please, go do your ceramah in some kindergarten.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • kobealex on Nov 01, 2014 at 12:40 am

well then, you could have saved more money buying a used Kancil and bolting it…

• hondabocor on Nov 01, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Your city can bocor anytime, the engine is not for turbo thingy.

• very intriguing price, impressive list of kits. for me, theres only 2 things that kinda put it off. the color choices (id love mine to be in either white or that funky green), n the fact that they dont bring in the 5 door version.

• Hi guys, soft touch dash?

Thanks

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Side Darby honestly don’t want you to buy this. It is here just as a halo car to the Fiesta range. They want to make you think that the Fiesta Ecoboost 1.0 at RM94K is such a steal. Heck, even the formula of pricing the car is so simplistic, just multiply the price of an Ecoboost 1.0 by 1.6, and hey presto!

If they were honest, they could sell it at 140K, even at 130K. The few units unsold come October 2015 will be sold discounted around that price. Trust me…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Henry on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:37 pm

They will give you a 10k discount to move this car when they see no queue forming to buy it. Just wait. There is no rush to give your money away.

• Sampan on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:10 pm

What pricing is that? More than pug 208gti!

• gomugomu on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:23 pm

good luck bro

• german car lover aka jian on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Well i showed my wife the car and she said that she rather drive the 208 gti. Oh well shes going for 208 gti.

• mystvearn on Oct 31, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I knew it was going to be expensive, not sure if there are a lot of takers at that price though

• Guan Yin Maa on Oct 31, 2014 at 7:35 pm

What a joke. 2013 Focus ST selling brand new at RM 160K. 2014 Fiesta ST need 150k. WOW. Just 10k differences but 2 different level of car.

• amirad on Oct 31, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Relax bros. Not to worry. Next year there will be RM30k discount. Happened to the focus st and polo gti.

• JB_KIA on Oct 31, 2014 at 7:44 pm

This is a timing belt car….hahhaha. F me now, do not hesitate…lol

• Aero (Member) on Oct 31, 2014 at 9:15 pm

CBU from Germany ? No wonder it’s so expensive…

• intermilan on Oct 31, 2014 at 10:37 pm

A cbu car costing just rm10k more than a direct competitor that is ckd is not bad at all.
    Was expecting them to price it much higher.

• I am using a 208gti, btw its not CKD… try to see the car itself its worth what you pay for. Fiesta is exp tho…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 2:39 pm

ckd on paper and documentation….great car, yes. aftersales and potential worries, a lot.

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 02, 2014 at 11:13 pm

as with all european brands. if there is such a fear, best to just stick to the norm and be a lemming.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 03, 2014 at 7:46 pm

i would say just naza…naza is a brilliant marketer that can bring in cars at competitive prices but their aftersales is just scary

• Josh Ling on Nov 01, 2014 at 12:15 am

finally the REAL fiesta to get…..pity about the price though. sigh~

• Fiesta Owner(Andrew) on Nov 01, 2014 at 9:31 am

The cheaper option is Swift Sport. Even the speed is not that great compared Fiesta ST and 208GTi but it is hell out fun to drive similar with Fiesta ST. Swift sport gets 8/10 in Top Gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • turboFTW on Nov 01, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Swift Sport is snail alike, why compare with 6.9 sec FIesta ST? Have to push pedal much harder, comparing it with turbocharged low torquey engined car is absurd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Coriolis (Member) on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:27 pm

I don’t think a swift sport is even fit to be compared with the likes of these turbo hot hatches.

Satria neo r3 > swift sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Henry on Nov 03, 2014 at 9:34 am

The Swift Sport gains in price advantage and lower maintenance cost in the long run but it loses out in power. Both cars are CBU.

• soon big discount will appear as no one buys them, 208 gti has an offer too..bit overpriced

• hahaha on Nov 01, 2014 at 6:21 pm

i tot it will cost 125k…so disappointed man =(