Nissan X-Trail makes Thai debut – is Malaysia next?

Main_X-Trail

The Nissan X-Trail debuts in Thailand today, making it the fourth country in the ASEAN region to get it after Indonesia, Philippines and Singapore. It is built at Nissan’s Thai Bangna-Trad plant.

This isn’t the X-Trail as you remember it – gone are the boxy looks that Nissan stuck to for two generations, and in comes Nissan’s latest design language, with its “V-Motion” grille, slim headlights, D-pillar kink, C-shaped tail lights and assortment of sweeps and curves.

Like Indonesia, the X-Trail will be available with the 7-seater body, with the third row of seats being more suitable to ferry kids, making it more of a 5+2 than a true 7-seater. Nevertheless, the option will come handy for those who have the occasional need.

nissan-x-trail-jpn-spec-12

Two four-cylinder petrol engine choices are available – a Serena S-Hybrid-derived MR20DD 2.0 litre direct-injected mill developing 144 PS and 200 Nm, as well as a QR25DE 2.5 litre MPI motor from the Teana that produces 171 PS and 233 Nm. Gear shifts are automatic thanks to Nissan’s smooth X-Tronic CVT gearbox.

Thailand specs include Around View Monitor, Active Engine Brake and Active Ride Control, a 5-inch colour display meter, and first in class LED projector headlamps. Some of these will be options limited to the higher end variants, of course.

Nissan expects to sell about 8,000 units of the X-Trail a year. Six colours are available – Radiant Red, Storm White, Black Star, Brilliant Silver, Deep Iris Gray and Midnight Jade – with prices starting from 1.1 million baht (RM112k). Comparatively, Indonesian prices start at Rp. 383 million (RM103,300) for the 2.0 manual, rising to Rp. 413 million (RM111,300) for the 2.0 CVT and Rp. 431.5 million (RM116,900) for the 2.5 CVT.

We’re expecting the Malaysian launch to happen very early next year, with enterprising Nissan Malaysia sales advisors having put up pre-booking ads on Malaysian car classifieds website oto.my already. The ads list two variants – a front wheel drive 2.0 litre going for “below RM150k”, and a four-wheel drive 2.5 litre going for “below RM170k”.

The outgoing X-Trail is only sold here in 2.0 litre 2WD form, currently retailing at RM148,815 on the road without insurance, so expect the base model of the new car to have a similar price tag.

GALLERY: Nissan X-Trail at IIMS 2014

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kzm (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Overprice even in thai n indo…in US that ammount of money u can buy Honda Odyssey for $29k or Honda CRV $23k n still have more to spend

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
    • xcvtc on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:38 pm

What’s your suggestion then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • slk3879 on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Don’t you feel tired posting this type of comment everytime a new model makes it’s debut, Mr. Obama?

FYI, all of us here know that the car prices in Malaysia is one of the highest in the world.

I hope this could help you save a few minutes of your time for something for meaningful, rather than repeating your non constructive comments here.

Regards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
      • slk3879 on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Typo, I meant … for something MORE meaningful…

• kzm (Member) on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Not meaningful enough? I tot I get hundred of like by comparing with US car price. like those guys who comment by comparing US car price n sumetime longer than the article…

• Sick & tired hearing you keep on complaining on car prices…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Contrary to other ppl here, I am not sick of you complaining. The market must know that we still find that there is a problem with our high car prices.

Where these problem come from pun satu hal. Government is one of them. We know that already. But these so called official distributor in Malaysia pun satu hal. We have to see how Tan Chong prices it. Will you be surprised if Tan Chong prices this at ~170kRM with only 2 basic 2 airbags?

• we want euro 4 petrol on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:28 pm

As always, we’ll be getting the least spec car with the highest price in the world. Replace all those crony old men from running this country & we’ll get cars with cheap prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
    • kington on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Sadly, this is how the auto industry is being run. Almost every brand is now controlled by some GLCs or for those which aren’t, you get slightly more benefits by being a BN friendly business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • kanazai2001 on Nov 18, 2014 at 5:41 pm

pls pls pls 4WD…
    pls pls 4WD…
    pls AWD…
    AWD…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Crazy if in Malaysia the Chinaman company still thinking around RM150k region.

Nissan’s TC must understand that their brand can’t command decent RV as their relatively high over trade is the sole reason why buyers pick the brand. After sales service also good but never justify their premium even though with 7 seater.

RM150K+- better settle for Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4. RM120K for the 2WD and RM130K for 4WD is sensible.

Any car produced in ASEAN equal to CKD unit. Extra profit is not justify since different between Thai and Indonesia prices were negligible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Eugel Yeo on Nov 19, 2014 at 11:55 am

TC should bring lowest spec fitted with manual as their counterpart in Thai/Indo and maybe able to sell it below RM120k.

• seancorr (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Now this is priced much better than the pricey Honda HR-V. I guess when it arrives here expect it to be more expensive with lesser spec and I bet that excellent Around View Monitor will not make it here. I’ve seen it working in a rental vehicle in the UK and its damn good for parking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Midship on Nov 19, 2014 at 8:52 am

Don’t compare the smaller Honda SUV sibling with the X-Trail…

• Consumers for this segment used to have a hard time choosing between this and the CRV. Now, no contest. CRV wins hands down. Such an appalling looking car. And the interior matches the exterior theme of awfulness.

It almost looks like they were trying to copy the RX350 but where the RX350 looks classy and expensive, this just looks blend and dull. What were they thinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • RavenAii on Nov 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

I still don’t understand why the Navara truck can go as lower than RM100k while most passenger vehicle went up to RM150k? Is it because of the tax? It’s the same with Hilux and Fortuner duo and Ranger and Everest.

• Nissan-san on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:56 pm

From what I know, Pickup trucks in Malaysia has lesser tax

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:27 pm

2 airbags ah?

• mamatwhyla on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:32 pm

please bring in more fuel efficient model like petrol turbo or diesel turbo. my current 2.5 x-trail minum banyak ohh, rm0.28/km. tak boleh tahan …

• Nissan-san on Nov 18, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Any news about the new Navara??

• apekgoh on Nov 18, 2014 at 11:59 pm

No wow factor….and no cheap either

• Sharrock on Nov 19, 2014 at 12:43 am

spotted this model going unregistered on the plus highway near cheras yesterday…

• Bevzer on Nov 19, 2014 at 6:53 am

The 7 seater X-Trail is only available with FWD only. For 4WD, you can only have 5 seater. In overseas market, the Pathfinder takes over if you need 7 seats and 4WD SUV. The 7 seater X-Trail also replaces the Dualis+2 or Qashqai+2 in most markets.

• I hope TC will bring this model complete with all the equipment like any other Nissan models launched recently and please give us the sportier rims (like the one in USA/AUS). This one looks ugly. blerghh!

• Herman Low on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:57 am

Mine 2.0 model is 06 and fitted with reverse camera. Wonder how much overtrade from TCM? Love the 7-seater with rear air-con but reasonable pricing is the decider………