VIDEO: Ford’s new SYNC 3 infotainment system

Ford has unveiled its latest in-car infotainment and it’s simply called SYNC 3. We’ve only had the non-touch screen SYNC in our Malaysian spec cars so far, but touchscreen versions available in other countries were previously known as Ford SYNC with MyFord Touch or simply MyFord Touch.

Other than the simplified name, the new system also completely revamps its underlying architecture, with the previous Microsoft system giving way to QNX, an operating system which also powers infotainment systems like BMW iDrive and even the latest BlackBerry phones.

SYNC 3 is designed to be platform agnostic, which means it should work well with all major smartphone platforms. It also supports Siri Eyes Free for iPhones. You interact with it via the 8 inch touchscreen display, but there are also voice commands.

Ford intends to roll out SYNC 3 for American model year 2016 cars – that probably means sometime in the second half of 2015. Watch the video above to see SYNC 3 in action.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• weeee on Dec 12, 2014 at 2:51 pm

I’m not really a fan of touch based systems. It’s quite hard to use when driving and if the software isn’t optimized it lags a lot. I’ve never used Ford’s SYNC touch before but so far the best touch based systems is the one from Chrysler group like the one in the new Ghibli & Jeep Cherokee. For me the best non touch system is a tie between BMW’s iDrive and audi’s MMI.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Silly Ford. Come out with all gimmicks but their dual dry clutch cars keep breaking down like there is no tomorrow.

Hello Ford Malaysia, please lah, your dual dry clutch is a failure. Time to change to single clutch and wet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • waterman on Dec 15, 2014 at 1:06 am

I thought now they use screen mirroring from smart phone (for example, turn on your waze on phone and mirror it to your car’s screen, in the mean time play your own music. and if whatsapp notifications pop in and we could reply using voice)is better move then touching the systems?