Lexus GS F – first details of 473 PS sedan revealed!

2016_Lexus_GS_F_001

These are the first few photos of the new Lexus GS F – more will probably come when the car debuts at the Lexus stand at the 2015 Detroit Motor Show next week.

It’s quite interesting really – it seems the latest car to join the hotly contested executive sedan race also bucks the trend of moving to reduced displacement turbocharged engines. Yes, the new Lexus GS F comes with a high-revving 5.0 litre normally aspirated V8, while rivals like the BMW M5 and Mercedes-Benz E 63 AMG use turbocharged motors.

The engine makes 473 PS at 7,100 rpm and 527 Nm of torque from 4,800-5,600 rpm. There’s no fancy turbo-sitting-in-V-bank engineering to show off here, but the normally aspirated V8 engine does get a very interesting electronic valve train that allows it to switch between both Otto and Atkinson combustion cycles to maximise power and efficiency in given situations.

2016_Lexus_GS_F_004

The engine drives the rear wheels via an eight-speed automatic gearbox. The GS F is also equipped with a Torque Vectoring Differential (TVD), which features three operating modes.

There’s Standard which provides a balance of agility and firmness, Slalom which emphasises nimble steering response and agility and Track which is tuned for stability during high-speed circuit driving.

Standard wheels are a staggered 19 inch setup with 255/35R19 tyres at the front and 275/35R19 tyres at the rear. What are your first impressions of the GS F? Does it look like it has what it takes to go against its German rivals? Is there a big enough market for a ‘reliable M5’? Let us know in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:40 am

Unless fitted the rev happy 1LR-GUE from the LFA, I honestly fail to see how this will contest the likes of Der Deutschers. Thou Lexus publically admit that they will stop chasing the Germans at their own game and decide to play by their rule, which I do strongly support.

Very aggresive and intimidating, It looks strakly different from the ‘sedate’ look of a E63 AMG or a F10 M5, the RS6 does looks aggressive thou. And I guess theres where Lexus wants to go, something that goes fast but looks fast as well. Personally it looks awesome, but I just wish that they have the performance numbers to go with the look. 473PS is fast, but nothing close to the German Turbocharged Wunderwaffe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • And both M5 and E63 can simply 650hp+ just a simple remap.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Why you need so much hp while stuck in Jalan Tun Razak jam?

Comfort, reliable, good fuel consumption, reasonable RV and decent power output is what a good car should have.

If you have a great need of speed, better go for Kawasaki KLX.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 10:44 am

This is quite a letdown with all the >550hp German rivals around. Have to agree that they should have fitted the LFA’s more capable unit in this.

Mentioning of that, I wonder why Lexus is faithful towards normally aspirated engines + conventional autoboxes and not following the trend by going for turbochargers, superchargers or dual clutches. Perhaps huge NA engines and conventional gearboxes can help retain Lexus’ highly reliable image? I am a huge Lexus fan (frankly speaking) by the way, and I guess Lexus fans pick it over the Germans due to Lexus’ well known ride comfort and reliability? I do agree that the Germans drive and handle way better though, and look more desirable than the previous GS F. This new one here, however, has made a huge step forward in terms of exterior design.

Perhaps Lexus is targeting the GS F at comfort-oriented family people with a desire for slightly more power and sportier looks? The M5 and E63 AMG can be a bit too firm to ferry your loved ones around comfortably, in my opinion. This car might not steal some sales from them but for a Lexus person, it kinda makes sense.

• Jaybond on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:55 am

Lexus (Toyota) could easily develop a turbocharged powerhouse engine for this car. It’s just that stubbornly, Lexus don’t want to simply follow the current trend set by ze Germans. Whether this is a wise decision by Lexus or not remains to be seen. Even Maserati & Jaguar make used of forced induction engine for their flagship executive saloon models.

Ideally, Lexus should have further tuned the V8 NA engine to achieve more than 500bhp, but maybe that could sacrifice driving refinement & comfort.

• W204 C63 AMG on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:48 pm

North America is still the biggest market for Lexus, you can say that the only reason for Lexus to exist is for the North American market. And with cars like Mustang, Camaro, Viper and Corvette all have huge naturally aspirated engines, you can safely say that the Americans and Canadians love huge naturally aspirated engines. But things are starting to change though, since the NX has a turbocharged engine.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:17 am

But Beemers sui kwan and kwai tai

• W204 C63 AMG on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Putting the LFA’s V10 into this GS is not cost effective. If I’m not mistaken that engine is hand built in only one factory in Japan, plus I don’t think that monster engine gonna fit under that GS hood.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 4:52 pm

The displacement of the 1LR-GUE is smaller than the 2UR-GSE unit in the RC. By about 200cc. Also the V8 unit is banked at 90degree and not 72deg like.

I have never seen any 5.0l UR in my life. But I was fortunate enough to see the 1LR and trust me,it’s a compact unit, looks smaller but longer than the VR in the Nissan GTR. I’ve also seen the 4.6l varient UE, from the original LS400/celsior. It will and can fit in the the GS engine bay, no question.

But the 1LR’s production has stopped. It’s engine is amonget the most limited and unique in the world as is shared with no other car but the LFA and it’s parts are made of magnesium and titanium, not something that will cost effective in a production car. The LFA line is now taken up by the horrid looking mirai, and is sad because the 1LR GUE is a great engine and I wish it’s lineage could live longer, perhapse use more common parts and make it more liviable, abit like the V10 in the old S8, RS6 or even the previous M5. Sad

• Yup, Proton can’t even dream of building such engine as evidence by Lotus using Toyota engines for its cars. Proton supporters only know how to bash Toyota’s lowest range but had no idea that Toyota is capable of building such high tech stuff if it wants to

• Proton can eat smoke lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 1:52 am

cant sleep….paultan provides some good p0rn for us…..this is one fine lexus sam loo wont be proud of. (that fler only like beige camry)

• Does the Iriz have TVD?

• Josh Ling on Jan 07, 2015 at 7:49 am

i do hope lexus will successfully nail it, coz they are one of the very few who still have NA high performance cars under their umbrella. turbo is good, but don’t think it can match NA engine for the high revving drama.

• Awesome car. Lexus keeps on improving and I hope one day Acura can make its presence here as well.

• Ray (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 10:55 am

I’m waiting for stupid people to appear in the comment section.
      “It’s just a shitty Toyota”
      “Just another Camry in a different body”
      “Stupid people only buy Lexus”
      “Overpriced junk”

• Stupid Ray on Jan 07, 2015 at 7:10 pm

People were referring to Lexus ES and Lexus LX. Use your brain if you have one.

• The road tax for this 5.0 liter beast is sure astronomical but then if those who buy this car at sub-1million won’t blink an eye at the road tax.
    And I agree with what AVH was saying about current M5 and AMG being sedate in terms of look compared to GS-F.. But can it beats the popularity of the German rivals? We will see

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 07, 2015 at 8:44 am

U guy might wanna know, my umw salesman confirms to me that the coming facelift camry 2.0 wil come with engine which can switch otto and atkinson cycle also..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 8:51 am

I see toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Ray 1 on Jan 07, 2015 at 2:44 pm

You are the one that I am saying

• Rayass on Jan 07, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Only reason Lexus exist is because of north america. Americans buy crap. Even ancient junk like jeep wrangler can sell by the bucket loads there. Everywhere else in the world ppl know its just an overpriced toyota.

• shawal on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:00 am

Looks good
    Interior is good
    Throttle response should be good….

but rivals now has forced induction under the hood.

Biturbo v8 M5 in its latest guise (30th anniversary edition) is pushing 600 bhp….
    and Cadillac CTS-V’s corvette z06 sourced blown v8 is pushing out 640 bhp…..

I guess its down to who has the naughtiest exhaust….

• applegreen on Jan 07, 2015 at 9:03 am

Its still hard to beat german rivals because all lexus models are heavy. They must try to use aluminium as body structure as we can find in new audi and jaguar

• Jaybond on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Actually the GS F weighing in at 1830kg, which undercuts the BMW M5 by 115kg and the E63 AMG by 40kg, making it the lightest model in its class. I reckon that with a couple horses (say 490+hp) for the Euro version, the new GS F has the potential to smoke ze Germans..

• those rims

those seats

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 07, 2015 at 11:18 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• before sell to 2nd owner, the car already scrap. What is RV too focus on it?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 07, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Waiting for more pictures. So far can only see parts of the car. We need to see it in full.

The engine may not be turbocharged, but 5 litres is a lot of displacement. Plus it is a big V8, so it should sound amazing. Another advantage of normally aspirated engine is that the power/torque delivery is linear, which makes carving corners a predictable delight.

• Sinkalan on Jan 07, 2015 at 5:10 pm

I reckon 90% of you guys can’t afford a luxury except me.