One-millionth BMW rolls off Chinese assembly line

bmw-plant-tiexi-china

The one-millionth BMW has rolled off the production line at the company’s Tiexi plant in Shenyang, China. Established in 2003, the Tiexi plant forms one third of an arterial assembly site in the Shenyang province – the other one located in Dadong and a standalone engine plant. The operation is a joint venture between BMW and Brilliance China Automotive Holdings Limited.

A long wheelbase variant of the BMW 3 Series gains the honour of being the millionth vehicle. “For more than ten years now, our joint venture has been very successful at producing BMW models in China. The production site in Shenyang with its two vehicle plants Tiexi and Dadong as well as the adjacent engine plant is thus a vital element of our global production network,” says incoming BMW CEO, Harald Krueger.

Despite a combined maximum production capacity of 300,000 units per annum between the two plants, BMW is set to increase that figure to 400,000 over the next two years. BMW will also escalate the number of models produced locally in China, from three (the BMW X1, BMW 5 Series and BMW 3 Series) to six models in the near future.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Perkosa on Jan 09, 2015 at 1:51 pm

sudah dapat 1 juta bmw, apa lagi china mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Same L0rrrr on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:20 pm

Malaysia Proton air cond supplier long long time exceed this figure. For an average lifespan of a Proton car, you need to change the air cond compressor, radiator at least twice. Well, this is Proton.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 09, 2015 at 2:54 pm

They can even roll out 2 million also, whatever comes out of China is super low quality, substandard and emit poisonous toxic chemicals from its material.

Lets face it, China products are so low quality and got no standard at all. Many here will say no such thing because they are so scared to condemn their motherland. But facts are facts lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • jollu idiot2 on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:01 am

Your maserati toy car also a low quality toy that made in China pakcik. Your proton better I agree.

• Fact La on Jan 09, 2015 at 4:51 pm

Now is 2015 not 1985. The fact is china technologies is like wireless speed. Face the fact la … do you think proton is the best ??

• Cadbury on Jan 12, 2015 at 11:11 am

ouuch…please don’t tell me my F10 was made from China lor. Sigh..

Once you drive continental car, you will never look back for asian car. F10