BMW X4 and X3 M possible, AWD tech for next-gen M5

F26_BMW_X4_038

BMW’s M Division is looking pretty busy and the end results could either be a cause for celebration or tears depending on how close you hold M’s core values to your heart. Speaking to Autocar UK, former Audi RS and current BMW M chief Frank van Meel has divulged several key details on its future.

Good news first as van Meel has revealed that he is fan of the previous 1 Series M Coupe and would “love to do something in that direction again.” Judging from the number of spyshots surrounding the upcoming M2 Coupe, we can only expect that to be the successor. Bad news? van Meel refused to officially confirm the M2.

Additional rumours surrounding a BMW M3 Touring or a M version of the 7 Series were squashed by van Meel. However, thoughts on a BMW X4 M and X3 M were faced with a more positive light with van Meel himself stating that “there is a business opportunity with the X3/X4 as BMW M continues its success with the X5 M and X6 M.”

BMW_M5_M6_Competition_Package_001

Further bastardisation of core M values would be the adoption of all-wheel drive (AWD) technology for the next-generation BMW M5 as well as its two-door sibling, the M6. With that said, van Meel added that “the philosophy (behind the tech) will remain rear-wheel drive, even if there is all-wheel drive.”

The AWD system would feature a rear-biased setup to prevent understeer traits from cropping up – an attribute closely related to AWD layouts. Purists should view this move as more of a necessity than a form of dilution as future M5 and M6 models are most likely to boast much higher power figures.

BMW_i8_027

Apart from that, manual transmissions are also touted to go the way of the dinosaurs as demand for such gearboxes have slumped in the past few years. On the bright side, the new M Performance range is expected to expand with more models as it aims to bridge the gap between normal variants and full-on M cars.

Don’t get your hopes up for an i8 with the M treatment as it has been said that technology sharing between the i and M brand would extend as far as carbon-fibre and electric solutions. “We’ve already taken steps to improve throttle response with our V8 but we can improve further still with electric turbos,” added van Meel.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Matrix on Jan 14, 2015 at 1:36 pm

AWD , 4wd , 4 matic, whatever.

it’s depends on driver!
    With my city or inspira can best those 300-500k car.
    Corner, straight, drag can win it easily.

Somemore my car is fwd only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • I agree. It’s the driver, they didn’t even have you in their eyes.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:22 pm

But did you convert to Twin Turbo and died with Soda? I guess I’m right.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:50 pm

I fell off my chair laughing. Come Matrix i see you at LDP.

• The Ultimate Driving Machine!!!

• The x series are very extremely ugly. TUDM needs to better the design on this series.

• I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 14, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Finally a BMW post that we can comment on.

• almighty lim guan eng on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Too bad I cannot afford to buy this. Oto fuel price go down, goods and services price still the same. Even my regular shop near my house oso increase price by 6%. When ask owner auntie, auntie increase price because of GST. But GST not implement yet? What is going on here? I oso hear lots of small business closing down because GST reduce profit margin. How can that be since GST not apply to company making below RM500k? Surely we are being cheated here by someone but surely enough I blame bee end gomen because of trying to apply GST. Look at UK, they dont have GST. NO tax whatsoever. People live happy. That is why we must change corrupt gomen.

• komarad on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:49 pm

i like UK.. no tax whatsoever there… 100% earned money…..hehehehe.. weather also cool and breezy…

• Sam Lorrrrr on Jan 14, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Better buy Toyota, it has best RV. BMW is for those who wants to show off but bank account is empty. All rich people driving camry. Just like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • I AM BLACK & NUTELLA on Jan 14, 2015 at 3:48 pm

IN TOYOTA I DON”T TRUST! AT LEAST IN MALAYSIA, I DON’T TRUST!

• cendol (Member) on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:34 pm

I agree with you.
      Those who buy BMW is just for show. downpayment 10%, loan max 9 years, every month scrap thru installment only.
      Bank account empty.
      Tyre botak wait another 6 months only got money to change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 14, 2015 at 11:53 pm

Only uncle drive camry. Rich ppl drive vios TRD like me.

• very interesting about matrix comment which inspira can win BMW? somemore this post are talking about M5. looking forward you to show me.

• Kelvin on Jan 14, 2015 at 5:16 pm

It’s a common phenomenon with many companies these days.

When the brand becomes mainstream, they start to forgo more of their core values and identity to cater for a larger market. Such as downsizing, going FWD and now AWD in the M division.

Same things are happening with Apple.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 15, 2015 at 12:33 am

anything by AMG is better