Hyundai Santa Cruz concept to go into production?

hyundai-santa-cruz-crossover-truck-concept-1

Remember the Hyundai Santa Cruz concept from the 2015 Detroit Auto Show? Upon its debut, Hyundai stated that there were no concrete plans to put the chunky-looking crossover/pick-up hybrid into production. Now, it would appear as though things are swaying towards the production side of things as the Korean automaker has expressed its interest in producing a pick-up truck.

According to Hyundai R&D director, Park Byung-cheol, the Hyundai Santa Cruz concept received “good response” at the Detroit show. With that said, he told Reuters that there were several “hurdles” to overcome till we can finally see a pick-up truck from Hyundai – Byung-cheol refused to elaborate further.

hyundai-santa-cruz-crossover-truck-concept-2

The Hyundai Santa Cruz concept was developed as an exercise to gauge interest amongst what Hyundai deems as the most important market audience, the millennials. The crossover/pick-up boasts futuristic styling cues courtesy of its fluorescent green-yellow highlights on a silver body and massive 22-inch wheels.

Under the bonnet, a (seemingly production-ready) 2.0 litre turbocharged diesel engine is employed. The mill pumps out a total of 190 hp and 406 Nm of torque – power gets transferred to all four corners via a HTRAC all-wheel drive system. In this state of tune, fuel consumption figures are quoted at 12.8 km/litre.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 19, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Looks like a rejected design from Ssangyong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
  • roxas on Mar 19, 2015 at 7:00 pm

oh ye ~ make it !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • Hyundai-Kia-La-Junk on Mar 19, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Hair Dresser Pick Up Truck, Perfect for Korean Hair Dresser Auto Fanboy, Suggest to name it Hyundai PinkBoyz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
  • Chyan on Mar 19, 2015 at 8:48 pm

It’ll need to gain a lot of support from Hailat, Triton, Navara,D-Max users. Colorado and Ranger, not much.

I reckon when the production design is toned down, it’ll look just as good. Performance is another thing though. They’re a newbie like VW in this.

• Looks like Mazda X9 version of pickup truck.

• Henry on Mar 19, 2015 at 10:50 pm

If the real thng look anything like this I will buy one.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 20, 2015 at 12:33 am

Buy a used unit from direct online ad or from relative/friends.

Afterall, KIA and Ssangyong cars can never be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
      • Henry on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:02 am

Its is OK. I usually sell my old cars at a low price to my friends. That’s what friends are for. I maintain my cars well. Or I just give it to my kids. They can use the car until it is time to throw away. A car is just a tool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 19, 2015 at 11:34 pm

This one can head straight to the junk metal yard after 18 months

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 17
    • Heng Lee on Mar 20, 2015 at 1:49 am

At least it won’t send metal shrapnels into the faces of your children like Toyota does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
  • kukujiao67 on Mar 20, 2015 at 8:18 am

First read the title….I thought the Paraguayan footballer Santa Cruz has transformed into a pickup…and worst still a Kimchi Pickup….LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • james on Mar 20, 2015 at 9:26 am

About time somebody re-developed the El Camino.

Yes I would by one!

• nice design.

• David Hyde on Mar 20, 2015 at 10:23 am

If it looks as good as the pictures i will take 2 one for me one for the wife.

• Toyota Salesman Crying on Mar 21, 2015 at 9:48 am

After CNY, I kau kau also wanna sell my 2 rotten cabbages.

Have to park 500m away (and deliberately arriving late) so that no family members see me drive a kimchi. But somehow, someone saw and the news got spread to others. So, toward the end of reunion dinner, I got funny looks from relatives.

Then the old man mentioned my cousin got promoted and now his wife drives Accord. He gets a Lexus as company car.

I am so paiseh that excused myself to leave early by giving excuse that I have stomach upset.

So, curi curi leave and never felt so malu in my life.

Looking for Sam now to get rid of my cancer

• Front design is cool… But looking from the back? YUCK!