MIROS pushing for autonomous driving tech by 2030

VOLVO CAR GROUP LANCE UN PROJET UNIQUE AU MONDE DE VOITURES A CONDUITE AUTONOME SUR ROUTES OUVERTES

In an effort to reduce the number of road fatalities, the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) is lobbying for the implementation of an autonomous driving system in all vehicles nationwide to help bring down the number of fatal accidents to nought by 2030, The Star understands.

While nothing concrete has been said regarding the technicalities of said system, it is expected to mirror that of platforms currently employed in autonomous trial sessions around the world. According to MIROS senior research officer, Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim, such forms of technology are already being tested on public roads in Germany and Sweden.

“From the research that been done… the technology has proved it will reduce the number of accidents,” said Khairil. According to study conducted, close to 80% of road accidents stemmed from human error. “The increased number of vehicles, weak enforcement of the law, rapid development and technology are also among the causes,” he added.

While Khairil has cited several obstacles that stand in the way, such as ever-changing road conditions and routes, he is confident that MIROS will be able to introduce the technology soon. “By studying the system that will be used in Sweden and Germany, we can take a shortcut and implement it earlier.”

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• “By studying the system that will be used in Sweden and Germany, we can take a shortcut and implement it earlier.”

Nak shortcut je… Just like business. Buy this company, buy that company but cannot manage them. These people have tendency to ride on other people’s success.

Back to autonomous driving. Do you know what kind of technology being used? How good are those tech? The countries that are developing it do not even dare to push for commercialization yet. Also, GPS tech with decade of existence also not perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Ha ha, this MIROS.
      Who is the head?

It is good to be optimistic in many things.
      Good luck.

One Malaysian is going to Mars in 2032.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Malaysia is never lack of talkok sendiri syok things, like wawasan 2020, 2009 Proton launch Hybrid, 30% car price reduction, 0% tax on import car, betul2 Onz Iriz… Now got 2030 autonomous car… lol

The Proton driver already driving their Proton AUTOMONOUSLY. One hand hold cigarette, one hand hold the phone, the car just roll by itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Ha ha what a joke. You cannot even sort out cars having VSC and airbags, you want to do this?

You cannot even sort our dirty PDRM, JPJ, SPAD officers taking money in exchange of not summoning offenders, you want to do this?

You cannot even sort out dirty Puspakom officers taking money to ensure people pass Puspakom Inspection, you want to do this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Same Lorrr Penipu on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:03 pm

IGP already clearly said the main cause of accidents are nasi lemak. This is the brilliant reasoning from the most highly intellectual individual in Malaysia.

So, MIROS, no need to crack your head. Also, the bodohs in MIROS fail to understand overseas got no potholes and uneven roads. The automated system can work.

In Malaysia, all our roads got big big huge huge potholes. The bodohs in MIROS, how are they going to implement a system where the car going to avoid these potholes.

that is why people running the Government and people in MIROS are real bodohs. Even proper roads also you cannot sort out, want to do this.

• Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:31 pm

How to detect potholes? Germany and Sweden got no potholes.

Sort basic first lah abang. Give us good roads first.

• You should not be concern about this issue. As we all know, our Government is all talk but no action. They say all these things to show the world what we are capable of. I the end, our country is in great debt.

If they say they want to implement this to all cars, I wouldn’t think that we all would want to pay for that. Totally ridiculous!

Also, would you think that the government is willing to pay millions of Ringgit to develop, at the end, its going to be like 1MDB? Our government is a joke!

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:29 am

Implement autonomous driving by taking a shortcut? Pffft! Are they mad?

The implementation of autonomous driving requires much to be taken into consideration and adapting the whole transportation infrastructure to accommodate for this. Most obviously, these systems require the roads to be clearly marked so that the system knows what to do. And also, they’ll need some special programming to avoid our killer potholes unless they think hitting a large, deep pothole isn’t too dangerous.

I don’t have anything against autonomous driving. I believe properly implemented autonomous driving can reduce road accidents. It’s just that caution is needed whenever someone wants to implement something as big as this. Saying the word “shortcut” here also raises a few warning flags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Facebook on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:26 pm

As usual to the 1Malaysia ministers & government servant… SOP of them is shortcut…

• Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Our Ministers are so stupid, they would soon allocated RM100 billion to develop a Star Trek teleporter that can transport people from one country to another country in few seconds.

Oh, and they will give the RM100billion contract to a RM1 company that has been formed just 1 month ago to develop this teleporter

• 2030? why take so long? all these tech can easily be purchased from oem makers. what manufacturers have to do is just to integrate it with their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Common Cent on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:36 am

Still long way to go lah MIROS.

Why not propose mandatory 6 airbags, Traction control, ESC, minimum 4-star crash ratings, minimum 10 years warranty + 10 years free service for all new cars?

Whoever cannot comply better close business. Must protect rakyat safety and money worth spending. At least 10 years headache-free also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:37 pm

That is Malaysia for you. Small boy want to kencing straight also cannot do, still wet the toilet bowl, but the small boy want to have sex pulak.

• ProtonGSC on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:39 am

This’s indeed good news… BUT on other hand Malaysia Govt only good on talking with no action(Look at pass history).

2030? I bet by that time Govt will delay it until 2040 Or more…

• tokmoh. on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:42 am

Cakap kencang.

Implement at least ESP + 6 airbags first, then talk about autonomous driving.

Got balls? Or scared Perodua CEO will sue his balls off for suggesting their cars are not safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • muhammad on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:43 am

need to further assess whether the car will be susceptible to hacking hence it can be controlled by irresponsible people

• mr_em on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:56 am

“….we can take a shortcut and implement it earlier”???….
    Sounds like a recipe for accident/disaster to me…. oh i forgot this is Bolehland… anything can happen faster here than the rest of the world…

• Don’t talk till so far.. enforce a compulsory of vsc, traction control, and increase airbag amount 1st.. talk only.. no action… sell cheap milo tin cat. .

• Don’t talk till so far.. enforce a compulsory of vsc, traction control, and increase airbag amount 1st.. talk only.. no action… sell cheap milo tin car. .

• sepul on Mar 25, 2015 at 11:58 am

I think we should start with the improvement of the current system to curb errant drivers and road safety. For starters, the application for driving licenses should be made more strict with more emphasis on driving skills and basic knowledge of vehicle maintenance and safety.

Second, provide more radical exposure in regards to road accident fatalities. Videos on such accidents should be allowed on local media, despite the gore and extreme footage. It will stress the mind of people who watch them on how their own action can impact greatly towards others and their own. It’s a reverse psychology effect that always work.

Also, the quality and design of roads must be reviewed. it must have safety aspects considered during designing and developing roads, especially for the urban and rural areas where accidents happen the most.

Relying too much on tech will make us lazy and less aware.

The government should put radical decision into something that improves the well being of the citizen, not into things that protects their interest.

• megatti on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:07 pm

google, tesla motors, bmw and volvo are heading towards autonomous driving.

• kenny_lim on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:20 pm

implement it, billions used….then found out not workable. roll back, billions wasted but who profit from it? go ponder, another crony+rakyak money sucking project.

• I think even by 2030 local cars barely even got a 5 star Euro NCAP rating

• bvc100 on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Autonomous driving, at that time suddenly you’ve a downloadable app that allows you to cut queue and bypass traffic via the emergency lane.

Bolehland… Watch this space.

• stiggy25 on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:37 pm

put the baby car seat law first you idiot!

• sabah bah ni on Mar 25, 2015 at 12:44 pm

if 2030 only compulsory for 6airbag vsc.. is totally fail in malaysia ..

• nabill (Member) on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:11 pm

we r obviously hoping/praying/begging that these people/their sons,cousins,uncles are NOT in their position by 2030 , for heavens sake we need minimum of 1% intelligence to be at the helm , we sadly dont have that at the moment!

• rickeng on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Talk is free!no need to pay gst so just talk cock la.

• biggbro on Mar 25, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Very ambitious plan for a 3rd world country with obsolete road/motor regulations…fix the bloody puspakom system before you can even think of autonomous driving.

• Speed is not the killer.. It is the driving attitude that kills thousands each year..

Autonomous wont work when there are Mat Rempit flying their bikes around, pedestrian not using zebra crossing nor pedestrian bridge, disobeying traffic lights. Bcos there is no such thing as “autonomous pedestrian” and no development on “autonomous motorbike”.

Trucks and buses that do not maintain well (brake failures and exploding wheels), autonomous dont help to prevent this. Autonomous doesnt help solving potholes and stagnant waters on the road

unless we are as civilized as Swedish, German or Japanese, then yes, autonomous make sense to “moral ethics developed nations”

Msia always SYOK sendiri saja

• safety 1st on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:00 pm

in germany and many parts of europe, cars like mercedes and bmw have already have a camera built in to their windshield to detect speed limit signboard so that whenever a car move from a 120kmh speed limit to say 90kmh speed limit, a warning will be displayed on its gps (idrive/head up display/speedometer). they also have this radio which link to the car’s gps system so that whenever there is a road accident near by the car location, a warning sign will comes out at the car (idrive navigator/speedometer/head up display) these function very common that i have used it each and everytime i drive in europe using their rental car. so malaysia/miros, please get this simple and effective system implemented here first before you start thinking about something even bigger!!!

• malaysia boleh on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Malaysia always boleh, do not underestimate ourselves.
    Trust Malaysia will be the first country to impose autonomous driving, we are always world no.1.

• bomoh on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:38 pm

later ahmad jobless how?

• Josh Ling on Mar 25, 2015 at 3:40 pm

NO THANKS!

• Aren’t those autonomous cars depend on whole range of sensors to do its work? What happen if those sensors covered with mud? or damage? You are talking about life.

• pensel on Mar 25, 2015 at 5:20 pm

vehicle plate number standardisation pon tak settle2….

• Shaekey on Mar 25, 2015 at 5:43 pm

“By studying the system that will be used in Sweden and Germany, we can take a shortcut and implement it earlier.”

Ada orang nak pergi Sweden dgn Germany le tew….

• Steve Kok on Mar 25, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Did u think of this while taking a shxt in the toilet this morning?

Err.. later meeting what to say ah? oh ya!! Self drive car!!

Don’t tok kok lah!

• How old is this research fella?

by year 2030? what a way to do your job…by then this fella has retired…he just kick the ball to some1 else court…

• cronyism detected on Mar 26, 2015 at 3:22 pm

This typical government linked agency like MIROS always look for opportunity to make money for its cronies. If the autonomous driving tech has been developed by OEMs, they just buy it at inflated prices through crony company with mark up in prices. Just look at the new ACG320 private jet Najib bought at inflated price using the Rakyat’s money

• CyberPatrol on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:54 am

Mr MIROS, I would not used the word “shortcut” instead of the word “not reinventing the wheel”. And Mr MIROS you just cannot use the shortcut keys of “cut and paste” what used in Germany or Sweden to here. There is some customisation must be done for sensors to look out for Mat Rampit or Mat Zig Zag (ever changing motorcyclist behaviour) on the roads. (if autonomous motorbike is not available yet). And that Mr. MIROS your biggest challenge, i’m imagine now all the sudden the computer take evasive actions left or right..shock of your life when drivers hand not holding the steering wheels. And more.. sensor for animals like dogs,cats, or any four/two legged animals crossing the roads.. floods, landslide, mudslide, fallen goods, fallen trees, vandalism on sensors (along stickers), tables/chairs on the road side parking lot, double-park…

Apple and Google also has such initiative, why not check them out too or others still in incubation stage.

Remember Mr. MIROS you said 80% of accidents cause by human errors (driver on the steering wheels) that the KPI for investment for saving human life, when this system implemented 80% accident will be gone. Now, what will that 20% of accidents be?