Peugeot 308 THP launched in Malaysia – RM132,888

Peugeot 308 Launch

You have read what we think of it and seen the Malaysian-spec car in our showroom gallery – now Nasim has officially launched the new Peugeot 308. The 2014 European Car of the Year makes its debut here in a single (high) spec, with a 1.6 litre THP 150 engine and six-speed automatic gearbox.

Peugeot’s ‘THP’ acronym stands for Turbo High Pressure, and the engine in question is a turbocharged 1.6 litre direct-injection four-cylinder unit with 152 PS (150 hp) and 240 Nm of torque made from 1,450 to 4,000 rpm. The benchmark 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 9.4 seconds, and top speed is 211 km/h.

Power goes to the front wheels via the AT6 six-speed torque converter automatic transmission sourced from Japan’s Aisin, with what Peugeot calls Quickshift technology. No steering wheel shift paddles, but manual selection is available the traditional way. Claimed fuel consumption is 6.5 litres per 100 km, or 15.4 km/l, on the European combined cycle.

2015_Peugeot_308_THP_review_Malaysia_ 020

The new 308 sits on PSA Peugeot Citroen’s EMP2 platform, which also underpins the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso MPV. The Efficient Modular Platform alone is 70 kg lighter than the old PF2 platform. The reduction can be broken down to 27 kg from the use of select steels, composite materials and aluminium; 10 kg from the assembly processes (laser welding, hydroforming) and 33 kg through design (lighter modules, resizing of parts according to power).

Besides the platform, the new 308’s design and the choice of lighter materials contributed to a further 70 kg reduction. Examples include aluminium for the bonnet and front wings, redesigned seat frames (less >10 kg) and a thermoplastic tailgate that saves four kilos. Combined, a substantial 140 kg is shaved.

The 308’s proportions have changed by quite a bit. Overall length is 23 mm less than before, but the wheelbase is 12 mm longer, and the corresponding reduction in front overhang is obvious. Even more significant is the 41 mm reduction in height, which gives the new Pug a sleeker shape. The latter combines with a newfound restraint in design for a classy outlook.

2015_Peugeot_308_THP_review_Malaysia_ 070

The single-spec 308 is very richly equipped. LED headlamps with LED DRLs, 18-inch ‘Saphir’ alloys (or Sapphire, the largest available globally) with 225/40 tyres; panoramic glass roof (with electric blind); manual sports seats with Alcantara centre section, electric lumbar and massage function; keyless entry with push start button; electronic parking brake; dual-zone auto air con and reverse camera are all standard.

A concept first seen on the 208, Peugeot’s unique i-Cockpit is very minimalist in design, and that is achieved by doing away with physical buttons for audio and air-con functions, which are accessible via a 9.7-inch central colour touchscreen. You can connect your smartphone to it via USB and Bluetooth.

Local cars also get the Driver Assistance Pack, which includes Dynamic Cruise Control (radar-based active cruise control that mirrors the speed of the car in front) and Emergency Collision Alert. The latter uses radar to detect an imminent collision and emits visual and audible warnings to the driver, alerting him to brake. Emergency Automatic Braking is then deployed to prevent or minimise impact. The five-star Euro NCAP-rated car also comes with six airbags, ESP and Hill Start Assist.

Nasim is keen to highlight that numerous precision-based tests to assess design, material, selection, assembly, soundproofing, and durability were conducted by Peugeot. These include 2.5 million kilometres driven pre-launch, 2,500 hours of vibration and climate testing, 250,000 cycles of air-conditioning monitoring and 4.3 million touchscreen press cycles without any failure recorded.

Buyers get a five-year unlimited mileage warranty (three-year factory, two-year extended), plus complimentary 24-hour Peugeot Assistance service and access to the Peugeot Lounge at Subang Airport.

Available in five colours – Pearl White (RM1,590 extra for this colour), Artense Grey, Mocha Brown, Rouge Red, Nera Black – the new Peugeot 308 THP is priced at RM132,888 on-the-road with GST and insurance, a fair bit lower than expected. Read our full test drive report to learn more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peter on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Ouch, Turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
    • Krusty on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:43 pm

So many cases of Turbo Bocor nowadays from most car brands.

Better give 10 years warranty or don’t buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • Sceptic on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:47 am

So many people are using turbo charged engines without any problems. Go and play with your mom’s vibrator. Ops chance of battery leakage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Don’t waste money on Peugeot. Better you guys spend money on some nice lingerie or undergarments for your wife or girlfriends.

I am Same Lorrrr, the former UMW salesman. Now I am selling undergarments in Parkson. Come to Parkson Subang Parade and I will give you good discounts.

Triumph got good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • These models can be my whistle-blower anytime ;-D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Turbo tak bocor on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Surprisingly never heard much problem from Proton turbo. Maybe it is because they use low pressure turbo so it is more reliable.

• OMG…The car not so attractive…The model look nicer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:29 pm

Can’t get past the silly steering/meter cluster combo tho… awkward in the 208, left to be seen if it’s any better in the 308

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • sockcorgi on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Gonna switch my old Peugeot 206 with this baby!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:36 pm

maybe its my luck, think twice. my new car had problem until today, 4 months!! still remain not solve!

• Gaviny on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Not in favor of full touch screen constantly have to look at it to change anything because there’s no muscle memory of where the button are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • heybadigol (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:06 am

Having used full touchscreen in other cars, i agree! You are forced to divert attention from the road ahead as you need to visually see where the buttons are. At least put the aircon touchscreen controls on a seperate screen. But even better would be physical buttons for aircon.

• Sam Danny UMW on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Sure good RV Like what hailat Danny said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Nasi goreng usa on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Msian Alwiz think tat the bigger the better. Such price can get a entry accord Vti. Nice spec n tech.
    But I can’t accept the plain interior .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:51 pm

At this price bracket, the best saloon to buy is the Teana basic. 6 airbags + ESP same as this one.

Trade-off between ‘electronic gadgets + sunroof’ and ‘reliability + refinement + good NVH/smoothness + space + size/weight + status it carries(one segment above)’. And perhaps better RV for Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Robert Lewandowski on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:53 pm

I hope after this people will consider to buy this car instead of boring civic/altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
    • rigid on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:20 am

imo, average malaysians still stereotype in choosing a car. they think “i’d go with traditional/old tech car rather than more modern/turbo/more spec one. i cant be wrong on corolla that is already 11 generations, rite??”

• Civic/Altis is a dying breed in Malaysia.. ppl going for mini suv type cars (hrv) instead.

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:50 pm

so i am the one, but now regretting, 4 month ownership of the car and more than 1 month in workshop and the rest of the time driving the car in annoyed mood, what’s the point?

because, their service centre folks don’t care how customer feels when we drive their car!

• pesod on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Nice design and safety package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • FIST (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:00 pm

The interior is a bit of a let down. There’s less cubby holes and no rear air vent unlike the previous 308. Due to the tapered and lower design, the rear cabin feels more cramped.

• Captain Obvious on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:04 pm

People would gladly pay that price if the glovebox was usable and controls on the HU were at the right spot. But no, Peugeot, you just can’t seem to get that simple thing right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Price ….tempting. Reliability …gulp. Wait n see 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • wow a full 11 grand more than the Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Xtremex on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Now the price has become more reasonable and competitive to t & h badge in the same class. Thank you nazim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • spongewai on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:35 pm

1.2 E-THP pls??!

• How on earth can a 1.6cc model be sold at such crazy prices…just becoz of the extra turbo technology? The extra insult is the interior looks outdated kiddish design…must be the most expensive 1.6 cc car onnthe planet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 63
    • u should ask vw golf 1.4 tsi that question

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
    • bodoh on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:49 am

U must the frog trapped inside the well.
      CLA 1.6cc only selling RM 233,888. BMW 1.6cc selling around 190k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • What about the 1.2 Beetle? or the BMW 316i?

• wrong. the most expensive 1.6 Turbo car is all the F1 cars since 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • wowowow on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:34 am

If thats the case then all the Formula 1 cars should be the same price as a Myvi then.

• What a funny cc concern guy comment, sad that you donno car.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:13 am

my brain hurt when u use 1.6cc term. should be 1.6L or 1600cc..pls get ur terms right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Cant deny, very attractive price for the amount of car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:40 pm

this or a mazda3? either is good…but if u buy an altis or civic ur brain really something wrong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
  • shawal on Apr 08, 2015 at 9:43 pm

is this the cheapest car with adaptive cruise control in Malaysia?
    seems like a good buy, looks like itll age well too

• 0-100km/h also need 9.4secs? I’m so gonna smoke this car with Myvi 1.5…. hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
    • Godcar wanna be???

• Edward on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:54 am

Life is not a race, it’s a journey.. You should enjoy the journey to your destination, not smoke turkey..

• ask your parents to have 911 on speed dial.

• Bob_B78 on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:37 am

Peugeot is being modest with the 9.4sec claim. Actually is faster than tHis time.

You are smoking to much weed dude……
      This car will easily tapao u on the highway.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:36 pm

9+ sec might be slow..but the 240nm of torque as early as 1600rpm is nice. no sweat from 100kmh to 170/180kmh cruising
        . (old 308 & 508 driver).

• Roque on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Very very bad experience with their Peugeot Caroline. Until matters had to be legal. Luckily it was settled but it should not have gone that way. Any potential purchaser please ensure u ask all questions properly in terms of warranty in particular the absorbers. They seem to be of inferior quality or probably mine was a lemon, just my luck then. Last piece of advice, do correspond with them and put in writing. U may need them later, the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:31 pm

super agree, going through hard time now even want to get that funny noise out from my car it takes close to 4 months now, and NOT YET settle!!!

terrible after sales services, who want to know more can contact me.

thought a nice 308 owner but now, maybe regret…

• wow price near mazda…mazda in trouble liao

• Edward on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:55 am

Hard to say.. Mazda has the more affordable Mazda 3 Sedan at RM105000 if I can recall correctly..

• 008 Lion (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 10:49 pm

awesome… just awesome…

• More importantly. will it take a whole month for spare parts to arrive?

• It depends, usually it is not especially the common replacement part, KL usually has stock. If it is uncommon part, that could take couple of weeks to a month. This kind of lead time should be common to continental car. Peugeot has quite a number of customers for 208, 308, 508 nowadays. Thus the spare parts are largely available in Peugeot inventory base on my experience with 508.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:29 pm

not really..took around 2-3 days to settle 308 turbo pump problem.

• jarhead on Apr 08, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Very impressive safety kit on this bad boy!

• Same L0rrr on Apr 09, 2015 at 9:32 am

Never buy French except for bread and wine. Buy Toyota better, good RV.

Latest Camry booking: 75

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 33
  • cheapop on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:13 am

RM132,888 & not as good as Golf
    should be priced RM102,888

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • shawal on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:27 am

Walauweyh..
    If dis car can be driven autonomously in traffic jams by deploying the auto brakes and dynamic cruise control,
    Den peugeot should make a video about..

Itll attract more buyers

• old dog on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:44 am

as long under the same N franchise, wont stand a chance in Malaysia even how good the car is..
    They will focus in Korean car..
    PUG should just appoint another franchise to stand a chance

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:40 pm

i agree with you, the sales services was good to be fair, but the after sales services… OMG!!! they don’t bother anything at all!!

pls consult Pug owner if you wish to get one, need to get those workshop that at least picks up the phone call. forget about Puchong workshop. nightmare.

• OMG $132K with an ugly car seat!
    What a waste metal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Edward on Apr 10, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Those are alcantara seats which could be found in many luxurious cars worth millions.. Waste what metal?

• UMW Mampus on Apr 09, 2015 at 10:58 am

Good guys Paul and the team.. your site has the most pictures of the girls compared to other automotive sites. Keep it up!! <3

• Joe Hung on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:00 am

I find that the chicks are more attracting.
    stim stim dh ni.

• Ramindeep on Apr 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

http://s1.paultan.org/image/2015/04/2015_Peugeot_308_-003.jpg I like

• Sounded like a review of a badly produced car… anyway, French will always be French.. will nvr be a German..

As the German say: Often copied, nvr equal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • abeng on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:18 am

my friend used prev 308, 406T.. very regret.. very bad car if got problem.. sparepart, service, taking long time to settle n expensive.. less than 4yrs ownership..

if no problem, admit that the car is best to drive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • theanswer on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:38 pm

yep..in healthy condition..thp engine is sweet to drive. but based on exp, spare parts doesnt take so long. but service waiting time is long..can take a whole day (due to lack of service centre i guess).

• blaster88 on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:49 am

I was to told no GPS? If this is true, then its a downer for me…

• you want GPS use waze or google maps la. All built in nav units sucks

• Ismail Haji on Apr 09, 2015 at 1:15 pm

all those tech gimmicks caught my attention and then i read this

manual sports seats

the seats come with massage function but u must adjust the seats manually? u must be kidding me.

it’s like paying for an escort for 1k per night but u find out that escort is a tranny… paying so much for this small car and yet no electronically adjusted seats?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Sammy on Apr 09, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Even for the Car of The Year, the chance of survivor is slim if it is distributed and supported by below par distributor…

• Golfer on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Buy this car at RM132k now, sell it at RM60k in 2 years time. RV aside, i rather take the Mazda 3 at RM122k anyday over this problematic car. Will you pay more to have problems?

• kivec on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Mazda3 no turbo, boring!

• Golfer on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:10 pm

Your Pug in the workshop for weeks waiting for spareparts lagi boring!

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:44 pm

one 308 (thought should be happy) owner here, waiting for problem to be solve for 4 months and no progress, lagi boring!!!

when turbo on, yes it’s fun! but can that fun trade for the boring? individual take, pls have two car if you want this brand of car!

• buy this car,need another jap car stanby as it would probably be in the workshop for several weeks for warranty claims..

• Pug_pain on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Try this brand if you plan to spend your energy calling them on helpdesk and arguing with them in SC.
    Apart from that, Pug is a nice car to drive.

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:35 pm

really? i didnt have that experience! because they dont even bother to pick up the blardy phone when i called!!

• Levin on Apr 09, 2015 at 4:16 pm

The all aluminium body parts gonna cost a bomb to insure. Front hood and fenders are usually the most accident prone area. Good luck to the insurance company and also the new owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • theanswer on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:31 pm

malaysian. body berat mcm suprima pun salah..bagi material ringan pun salah. apa pun tak kena.

• mrlorenzo on Apr 09, 2015 at 5:59 pm

the price should below 100k lor….

• intermilan on Apr 10, 2015 at 10:41 am

Most people have heard about how problematic the Prince engine are.

This certainly helps to tarnish the brand image, product inage and resale value.

Some might know that there are few versions of turbo charged Prince engines out there.

What we all want to know from Peugeot and Nasim is simple, is this version ie the 150hp engine, free from all the serious defects and problems suffered previously.

If yes, please back that claim with concrete assurance, warranty and service level commitment.

A fair request in exchange for RM133,000, right?

• skyjuice on Apr 11, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Dear paultan or peugeot salesperson, I was wondering if we can theoretically play hand phone while driving this car without causing accident, very interested in this car collision features, it’s a must in our society nowadays.. A video will help grow interest and will be viral.. Anyone up to do myth busting?

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:33 pm

assure you, can’t. tried that. it will ask you to take over your own driving when it comes to emergency!

• ahseng23 on Sep 29, 2015 at 8:56 pm

nice car I thought, bought it, 4 months of ownership, more than 1 month the car is in workshop!

simple sound cannot be identify, say it’s okay, then not okay, then change NEW SET absorber, still sound, now tell me its mounting problem, what the !??!?!

best part was the service centre, must pray to them to get your car, never bother to call, so I called them, they don’t bother to pick up that’s the best part! never expect them to call you back unless you expect to strike lottery.

good luck Peugeot, continue with the nice car but if your services does not improve, all the best!

*now even comes with 3 years free services, stupid early adopter do not get this offer!*

• can try this peugeot specialist workshop..Reasonable price the technician also good..KlinikPeugeotCitroen..No 1 Jalan PJS 3/44, Taman Sri Manja, 46000 Petaling Jaya, Selangor..0123941519 Imran

• Look at the following
    1. Engine
    Speak to the Peugeot workshop mechanics.They will tell you the 1.6 EP6 Turbo is an excellent engine.Ward voted it engine of the year in 2014.
    People are carrying old attitudes This is a new generation engine.Variable lift, direct injection, turbo and many of the kinks in the early models thp engines were corrected eg timing chains and guides amongst others.If well maintained it should serve very well.

2. Chrome trim..none of the competition has it only the Audi A3 hatch it was not brought in to Malaysia..none around ..none in this country.Chrome gives it luxury and class

3. Boot space is best

4. Driving…how often does one use a car like an F1 driver remember if you get road feel planted feel you give on comfort ..they are inverse ..a go cart is planted responds superfast to driver instincy..but lises on comfort….build in the parts for comfort and all that recedes more of one means less of the other…its important to find a sweet satisfactory balance in between both ie
    driving feel and comfort

5. Parts..this 308 thp T9 sold 1 million all over the world and since 2013 the model is still running as Allure with 1.2 3 cylinder engine or Puretech etc in Europe.

6. Power to weight ratio..no one in this category comes close .It has a superb light body.

7. Electric motorised seats are gimicky..yet more gimmiky if with so called memory tuned to side mirrors…im not sure the electronic gadgetry justifies the normal everyday use.Most of the time forward and leaning adjustment are needed.Its far simpler and faster to move it manually and less things to go wrong.

8. Infortainment..none is perfect.All car makes have their own There is none which is universally the best.All require some time to get used.Once familiar with the controls and commandswhile
    whethet its touch operated or knob operated both require looking at the screen and getting the hang of it.

9. Looks are subjective but the T9 has nice flowing lines, or curves no sharp edges at boot end or bonnet which afterr a while are pleasant to look at.

I think the T9 has character and reflects the owners taste for distinctive qualities.

Im looking to switch from BMW 3 series to the T9 Anyone has a well kept one for sale please whasapp me at 016 2010047