Ops Warta – 4,616 culprits surrender, 1,009 arrested

Cop shop

Launched almost a week ago, Ops Warta has since saw a total of 4,616 traffic offenders turn themselves in to the police while a further 1,009 individuals have been arrested for failing to settle their outstanding summonses, as understood by the News Straits Times, citing Bernama.

Of the total 4,616 surrender cases, Selangor ranked as the biggest contributor to said figure with a total of 1,185 individuals opting to settle their summonses, according to Bukit Aman. Johor was next in line with 883 traffic offenders turning themselves in to the authorities.

Meanwhile, from the aforementioned 1,009 arrests made, 288 wrongdoers have been charged while the remaining 721 have been released on bail. The operation, which began on May 19, is aimed at cracking down on motorists who are yet to settle their traffic summonses despite repeated warnings from the police.

Polis

On the first day of operations, a total of 69 individuals were arrested nationwide. Further down the line, several more arrests were made across the nation with the count rising to 403 on the second day itself. Unfortunately, reports of irresponsible individuals dodging arrests during workplace visits by the police have also surfaced – leading many to believe that even the employers were in on the act, as well.

Members of the public are encouraged to check on their outstanding summonses (should there be any) via online portals such as myeg.com.my and rilek.com.my. Physical locations include traffic police counters, Road Transport Department (JPJ) offices, post offices, Maybank ATMs and selected shopping malls.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• auwwww those ladies rider! (y)

• Areyousure on May 25, 2015 at 9:48 am

Have the other 4 MYVI drivers surrender themselves?

• BigBalls on May 25, 2015 at 9:57 am

And don’t forget to catch wrong doers in-situ on the road too.. far too many motorcyclist are breaking the lights even in the city, and cars parking irresponsibly causing massive bottlenecks

• Therealmaserati on May 25, 2015 at 10:06 am

culprits?!!

What kinda language is that? Pls go read up more lah paultan or whoever wrote this article.

Dont even know when to use “culprits”

• BNaik on May 25, 2015 at 10:37 am

If not culprit then is what? Terror or thief?

BN says you “bayar saman you bayar” shut up or go jail simple.

BN never treated Rakyat we suka DrM the best.
      Najib help Malaysia, Rakyat love Najib !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • thebosssedangbercakap on May 25, 2015 at 11:13 am

The word should not be culprit but just offenders.

The poor are called culprits, whereas those rich sinkies or connected people are spared.

Is this fairness?

How on earth are we going to get to vision 2020, while our productivity has been bottlenecked by these roadblocks.

tell me which developed country does this practise anymore?

• Definition of culprit

cul·prit
      ˈkəlprət,ˈkəlˌprit/Submit
      noun
      a person who is responsible for a crime or other misdeed.
      synonyms: guilty party, offender, wrongdoer, perpetrator, miscreant;

Broke the law, din pay saman means still guilty for the crime.
      Yep. Culprit is correct term to use. Otherwise can use guilty party, offender, wrongdoer, perpetrator, miscreant.

• Its all about the money $$

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on May 25, 2015 at 10:50 am

We will see the operasi slowly quite and no more.This is how PDRM behave. Million of offender, PDRM think this country is Singapore politic?

• Aik. So many macais lament why we not like SG yet when our PDRM tries to tighten enforcement like SG, we have people like you chastises them for it? Doesn’t make any sense.

• BNaik on May 25, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Better you pretend to be BN supporter but your not.

Talk kok but no action. John talk kok like kampung people.

• BNaik on May 25, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Better you pretend to be BN supporter but your not.

Talk kok but no action. John talk kok like sissy.

• I might be bias to BN cuz PR macais like you are so negative of our own efforts that whatever we do, its not good enough for you.
          All the mistakes done before is not good, but I support whatever efforts to correct this and to ensure it doesnt happen again.

I’m not a BN supporter,although I’m biased.
          I’m the mirror that reflects you bashers ugliness and worts.
          I’m the 4 fingers that points back at you when you point an accusing finger.
          I’m your conscience that screams at you when you slander on the net.
          I’m just… John.

• Wonder if they are doing any studies behind these summons.. like the age group, gender, timing, offence categories, car categories etc.

These will be valuable information to authorities if they use it wisely!

• Denesh K on May 26, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Culprits ??? Idiot learn how to label people first before posting news