Ops Warta: 69 people arrested on first day – reports

Cop shop

The cops are serious. Today, the first day of Ops Warta – the crackdown on motorists with outstanding summonses – has already seen the arrests of 69 people in Selangor, Penang, Kuala Lumpur, Malacca, Perak and Sabah, The Star reports.

“As of 12 pm today, Penang has the highest number of traffic offenders who were arrested (36 arrests), followed by Malacca (24 arrests),” the English-language daily quoted federal traffic police chief SAC Datuk Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff as saying.

The Sun reports that as of today, 38,000 warrants have been settled, out of a total of 1.59 million. Mohd Fuad said only 260,600 summonses have been settled so far during the operation, and that there remains a “huge number” of outstanding summonses.

polis-saman 630

“We still encourage traffic offenders to come forward and settle their summonses,” Mohd Fuad told The Star, adding that arrests will initially be made during roadblocks and workplace visits, before going door-to-door.

The daily adds that 12 people are set to be brought to the Klang court today to be charged for various traffic offences. So pay up those summonses pronto!

You can check if you have outstanding summons through myeg.com.my, rilek.com.my, and at traffic police counters, post offices, Maybank ATMs, plus selected shopping malls and Road Transport Department (JPJ) branches.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• timun choong on May 19, 2015 at 3:49 pm

haha.. seems like our court very free nowadays.. to attend those summon case..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Polis Very free on May 19, 2015 at 4:13 pm

The Polis, can go arresting and got time for this. But basic offence of motor beating the light, that they cannot control.

PDRM can be at the traffic lights, they can see the Rempit beating the lights but they just smile. Not just rempit, every other normal motorbike also nowadays just beating the lights

Most times, not just one or two officers at the lights, sometimes even a few. Polis love to berkumpul under the bridge at four way junction to chit chat. They all blatantly see so many moto beating the lights, all they do is smile at the offender. But now, they got time to arrest people.

Datuk Fuad, what kind of officers are these? Just see crime being done but don’t do anything.

Then the officers can even see a dead dog in the middle of the road, or a fallen helmet, or a fallen tree, PDRM officers just pass by, don’t do anything.

In their minds, they say it is not their job. It is DBKL job to pick up that helmet in the middle of the road.

in the UK, the polis officer even climb up the tree to go and catch a cat that is meowing so loud and disturbing the neighbourhood. Not his duty but he goes over and above his duty.

Time PDRM start thinking the same.

PDRM, why Motor can beat the lights, camera take picture also, you so scared to post saman to them. But car kena AES pix or normal camera pix, so quick PDRM post the saman and want to arrest car drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
      • Spongebob on May 20, 2015 at 4:46 am

come on man..malaysian like to complain..cops not doing their job Malaysian complain, cops trying to do their job also complain..sigh

• Open Letter to Datuk Fuad on May 19, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Datuk, firstly, as with all other enforcements in the past, it will be a joke. Everytime you Trafik officers will do enforcement, it will be for 1 week, after that, it will be long forgotten story.

Even when enforcement is done, 9 out of 10 of your Trafik officers and road block gangs will ask the offender to settle on the spot. Your officers will ask, Encik boleh settle sekarang, tapi encik mesti bagi dengan ikhlas”. You know and I know about this.

Nowadays, although corruption is 2 ways, Trafik cops and officers are very brave. They always ask outright. And the rakyat, finding the easy way out, always just give.

So, there is no real enforcement at all. The purpose of this operasi is just a sham for the officers to make more pocket money for themselves.

Then, there is also the fact that your officers have no telur. They see big car or any car with single number plate, they just say, “Lalu lalu and lambai their tangan”

I have even seen Polis officers carrying balls also, big tinted Mercedes pass, the officer can salute also to the offender. Then the poor kancil fellow at the back, kena tahan and saman. We all Malaysians know, big car or some Datuk or Tan Sri, the Trafik officers telur will kecut.

Datuk, pls sort your Trafik first. Be fair. Saman everybody. Also, make sure your officers are clean. Clean up your officers, that is more important.

Do you dare to go to the Datuk’s or Tan Sri’s home and arrest him?

I can 100% confirm one thing, no single Datuk, Tan Sri or big Government Servant or big UMNO member will be arrested. We know they are the biggest offenders, some with a stack of summons but Polis banyak takut. Banyak banyak takut.

Datuk, instead of going home to house to arrest people, deploy your officers to ronda the neighbourhoods. Keep our streets safer. Every other woman or lady I know got their car windows smashed and handbag stolen. The theives are not scared because, they know PDRM dont patrol but go from house to house to arrest non paying saman offenders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • Anti-pati on May 19, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Penang has the highest number of arrest? Ahahahahaha

• kzm father on May 19, 2015 at 4:08 pm

only 69? Why 69? They like the 69 position is it?

Got 1.5 million people. If one day 69, in a year only 20,000 people. How to arrest 1.5 million people

Where got jail? Those arrested can stay in IGP house ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • VHL Loo on May 20, 2015 at 9:11 am

Kamunting and Simpang Renggam detention centre to accomodate them. It’s lot more better for those motorists that accumulate lots of outstanding summons to stay inside for at least 2 years (can be extended for another 2 years or infinite period) than being a road barbarian.

• duit raya….duit raya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • My personal opinion, pdrm should first prioritise on serious offend summons. Such as beating traffic lights, speeding, reckless driving etc etc. Kalau setakat parkir atau tinted tu biar je la.

• SkedTard on May 19, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Does it applies to DBKL/MBPJ Summon or just police summon??? My polis saman is cleared, but DBKL not sure…

• Albert on May 19, 2015 at 9:09 pm

How about applying some “hudud” on these hardcore traffic offenders?
    Mat rempits,those without helmets,those beating traffic lights…chop of a minor finger.
    Those involved in the Duke highway kind of accidents….chop of two toes.
    Those causing whole busload of pelancong plunging into ravine….chop off 1 leg.
    Pas….now is your chance…why so quiet?.
    Also,those irritating peaceful neighbourhood with modified exhaust….chop off one ear.
    EErie silence…cos those hudud proposers are the biggest culprits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Spongebob on May 20, 2015 at 4:50 am

really? u serious? look man. we never said anything about bringing the rule of Han Fei and Li Si. so stop! please dont be a bl**dy racist

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on May 19, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Lets see who is endurance enuf in this rally, million of us awaiting u to arrest,and u can only justice 600 of them a day.long way to go.I wait u at home,PDRm and Datuk faud.

• hassan on May 20, 2015 at 9:48 am

Just a scare tactic to force people to settle their summons.
    Ops done in remote areas.
    Why 69 only when you have 1.5 mil. offenders?
    If you are really serious why don’t conduct ops in KLCC,
    Bangsar & Hartamas area ?
    This is where the big fishes swim and I dare you Dato Fuad to
    arrest them.