GALLERY: New and old Mitsubishi Triton, side-by-side

Mitsubishi Triton New vs Old 4

The new Mitsubishi Triton is finally here – launched last week, it supplants the original Triton pick-up truck that has existed in one form or another since 2005. To give you a sense of perspective, we’ve corralled examples of both old and new to show you just how far the nameplate has come over the past ten years.

In the black corner sits the new top-of-the-line VGT Adventure variant, coming in at RM108,274. At the other end of the spectrum, clad in bright red, is the old VGT GS, which retailed at RM107,809; despite the added toys of the new car, it boasts a sunroof, power-retractable rear window and sports bar, all of which the Adventure lacks. The rear bed is also shorter than on other variants, for better looks and manoeuvrability.

This particular version is the Red Peak Limited Edition, which gets matte black 17-inch wheels, a copious amount of exterior decals and unique red leather seats. Commemorating the Red Peak Challenge in Kota Kinabalu, it’s limited to 10 units, all sold in East Malaysia at RM114,550 in Sabah and RM114,641 in Sarawak (about RM5,000 higher than the East Malaysian prices for the regular VGS).

Mitsubishi Triton New vs Old 14

The new Triton is huge – at 5,280 mm long, 1,815 mm wide and 1,780 mm tall, it’s a massive 165 mm longer and 15 mm wider than the red car here, but with the same height. Wheel out the longer version of the old truck, however, and the advantage swings the other way, with the previous model edging 15 mm ahead in length.

With a more rounded appearance compared to its buff-looking competitors, the new truck is still recognisably a Triton, but the front and rear fascias are radically different than before. Whereas the old one had a very playful, toy-like face, the new Triton sports an altogether more sophisticated, if controversial look. Insectoid wraparound xenon projector headlights with LED daytime running lights frame the brash chrome grille.

It’s the same story at the rear – the tail lights have the same stretched “tails” as on the front, while a silver-painted bumper replaces the previous chrome unit, featuring black protrusions on either side. Overall, the more elaborate surfacing and upmarket detailing help make the new car look more modern.

Inside, the dashboard design is a lot more modern now, and features neater switchgear as well as clearer, more sober gauges. No more hideous dual-tier binnacle in the centre too; the multi-info RV meter that sat on top of the touchscreen on the old truck has been banished, the information having been moved to the display in the instrument cluster.

Compared to the previous Triton, the new one gets such niceties as keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone automatic air-con, a multi-function steering wheel with shift paddles, a reverse camera and a new rotary selector for the Easy Shift four-wheel drive system. The 6.1-inch touchscreen is the same size as before, but it’s attached to an integrated infotainment system this time as opposed to the old aftermarket head unit.

The 2.5 litre four-cylinder VGT turbodiesel engine is the same on both cars, but the new model gets an extra 50 Nm shot of torque, developing 178 PS at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm at 2,000 rpm. The transmission is also identical here – a five-speed automatic with Sport mode.

2015 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure
2014 Mitsubishi Triton VGT Red Peak Limited Edition

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wiwiwiwiw on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:01 pm

In Thailand, the Triton is offered with Active Stability Control. Why it is so hard for Mitsubishi Motor Malaysia to equip their cars with ASC?

Mitsubishi Mirage; 2 airbags, no stability control
    Mitsubishi Attrage; 2 airbags, no stability control
    New Mitsubishi Triton; 2 airbags, no stability control
    Mitsubishi Pajero Sport; 2 airbags, no stability control
    Mitsubishi Lancer Sportback; 2 airbags, GOT stability control
    Mitsubishi ASX FWD; 3 airbags, no stability control
    Mitsubishi ASX AWD; 3 airbags, GOT stability control
    Mitsubishi Pajero; 6 airbags, GOT stability control

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • personally.. I don’t care about the specs! My question is, was there a specific instructions to the designers to come up with an even uglier version then the old one…

hand down the ugliest pickup truck in the world.. congrats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Sadly, the Sportback is LONG gone…so that’s one less ASC-equipped vehicle.

and I’ve not seen a newly registered Pajero in ages. Too outdated in recent times.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:41 pm

No doubt Triton is good, but Hilux is more reliable with better RV.

Triton or Hilux? you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Mr. Lee,

“…while a silver-painted replaces the previous chrome unit…”

Were you talking about the rear bumper?

Now, about the truck. I might get thumbed-down to death for this, but after seeing the new Triton side-by-side with the old one affirms in my mind that it is a proper evolution (no pun intended) of the Triton line. The new Triton looks much more mature in design than the old one, making more obvious the design intention of creating a car-like truck. The Triton has always been the truck that looks less macho-tough than the rest because of its inherent roundness. Throw in more car-like features and they make a pretty convincing case.

It’s just such a crying shame that MMM opted not to up the safety game. Crying shame.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:54 pm

Ah, yes, sorry about the error, it’s been amended. Thanks for pointing it out!

• albag on Jun 04, 2015 at 7:28 pm

Only a fool will buy this ugly looking piece of metal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Only a fool with mata sepek will think this is ugly.

• CAPTAIN OBIVIOUS on Dec 16, 2015 at 2:36 pm

only a fool would comment this kind of foolish thing… Mitsubishi got guts to use unconventional designs on the Triton.We do not need u people who dont think before saying bad about others… Not in Paul Tan… Wrong place to be fool

• Something I really don’t understand here. The new triton vgt and old triton vgt uses the same engine and gearbox but how come the new vgt has more torque compared to the old vgt?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2015 at 10:38 pm

Simple: engine tuning.

• Engine tuning? how? remap the ecu?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Changing a few engine parts to ones that can take the stress of increased performance or are more efficient in design …increase turbo boost after strengthening engine components…optimize the cycle…remap the ECU…

A lot that can be done is called tuning also; tweaking the ECU is just a small part of it. However, simply remapping for higher power isn’t always smart as the engine might not be able to cope with the extra power well.

• urzu3 on Jun 04, 2015 at 8:13 pm

the same VGT engine will surely turn down most potentil buyer. new hilux maybe get the same old engine too..?

• paanjang16 on Jun 04, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Triton in Australia has SEVEN (7) airbags and comes with active stability control with many more safety features.
    http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.au/vehicles/triton

Furthermore the Triton we have here comes from the same factory as the Aussie Triton and most probably from the same assembly line and the same OEM suppliers too. There is simply no excuse to not spec in the same safety equipment as the Aussie Triton.

After the huge consumer backlash against UMW you would think MMM being on the sidelines would have noticed what consumers are demanding these days. Instead they basically handicapped themselves by reducing the safety equipment even though the new Hilux is coming soon. If the new Hilux has VSC as standard then this Triton would suffer even more. Sam Loo would be extremely happy there is one less pick-up to challenge his Hilux.

Isuzu already took notice of what consumer wants by making ESP standard on their latest 4X4, making your Pajero Sport less competitive.

• Head Hunter on Jun 05, 2015 at 6:29 am

Hard to say I’m enamored with the car, except that if it is in adventure trim, red color with chrome grille replaced with a matte black instead and wider 265mm tires over the skinny 245 17″. And safety MMM, I was expecting more airbags and ASC at least. I love the previous binnacles, makes me know that I’m driving a truck. The new interior is nice but lacks the wow factor like the previous one did back in 2005. Seats are better and ergonomics well laid out and better plastics, it’s an improvement none the less.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jun 05, 2015 at 8:49 am

Just my opinion, i think previous Triton look better than new generation. Truly

• oooo i know i saw u guys during this photo shoot.. good job guys! kipidap!

• ale uto on Jun 06, 2015 at 10:43 pm

prefer the new triton, but with the black grille, not the chrome grille.. the chrome grille looks weird..