No such thing as ‘sarong’ policy in offices – JPJ

The FB post that started it all (left) and official JPJ statement. Click to enlarge.

If one has been trawling Facebook recently, a post regarding a woman’s unfortunate (and unintended) run-in with personnel from the Road Transport Department (JPJ) may have cropped up on said social media feed.

The story goes that the woman, identified as Suzanne G.L. Tan, was there to complete the transfer of ownership process for a car she had just sold. Upon arriving at JPJ’s Wangsa Maju branch, she was handed a ‘sarong’ at the counter where she was to receive her queue number. According to her, she was to don the article if she was to receive any form of service.

At the end of her post, she stated that she was seated at the service counter where only the her torso and above was visible to the officer, therefore negating the need for a ‘sarong’ in the first place.

Expectedly, the post went viral, triggering mixed reactions from netizens. As a result, JPJ has issued a statement, apologising to the woman and further clarifying that there is no such thing as a ‘sarong’ policy in every one of its offices. It did state, however, that a dress code is enforced.

Transport minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, has also announced on his Facebook page that “there is no such thing.” According to The Star, an investigation has been launched and that relevant action will be taken as a result. “There is an immediate need to review existing guidelines,” added Liow.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• zuchie on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Beware.. Moron people in action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Nazgul on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:47 pm

It should be easier if officers ask them to go back home and dress properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 66
      • George Abdul on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Wrongly use of power… JPJ staff where he or she hiding now?

Maybe his/her “papa” JPJ can force people wearing sarong…

Or Bolehland power???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
      • actman on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:12 am

What? Did I hear something? JPJ were meant to be a service centre! Personally I don’t think Mrs Tan got an improper dressing. Remember we are not in an Islamic/Taliban country. Open up your eyes mate, now we are in 20th century. If so “Jolok Mata” then it’s better for them to resign and go back to kampong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • lilytan on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:04 am

A good intention went wrong. The auntie went to JPJ ignorant of the dress code. The staff then intending to assist the auntie, lent her a sarong temporarily so that she didnt have to go back home just to change her mini skirt. Unfortunately, an innocent gesture of help was seen as if the auntie was force to wear it, a victim, being malaynized. Utterly absurd. From now on, dont aspect any kind of sarong or any chance of a help if coming to jpj with out proper dress. The only thing ull get is the boot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
        • Dress code on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:00 am

I’m a non-Muslim and what the auntie did was wrong. There’s a clear dress code indicated there and she wanted to complain about it? She is fortunate enough that kind people provided her with a sarong and let her in. If I’m the officer, I’ll ask her back home. It’s like wearing shorts and singlet to a opera concert. Not wrong, but not ethical!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
          • Concerned Malaysian on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:24 pm

This is obviously a case of misused / exploited dress code. Imagine they put up a dress code that requires you to cover from head to toe. It’s happening at some food seal approval department now. Don’t be ignorant on dress codes Mr/Ms Dress Code. We are Malaysian and not talibans. Malaysian consist of tens of different cultures.

• Alson P on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:52 pm

ignorant auntie..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Dress code on Jun 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Yes, ignorant auntie. This is the problem with a lot of Chinese. When not follow rule, complain. When follow rule also complain.

FYI: I am a Chinese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Ignorant People on Jun 10, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Both of you are truly ignorant dudes. JPJ has already said sorry

• Anti-pati on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:07 pm

“It did state, however, that a dress code is enforced.” – so whoever did the sarong thingy will be punished for enforcing the dress code but had displayed initiative so that the lady need not waste time going back to change into proper clothes. Typical hang them out to dry action by JPJ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
  • So wats de titik in de end?

• JPJ = Jangan Pakai Jeeeeeeee ok do we clearh

• jjack on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:29 pm

so who give the sarong to this lady? is it the security fault?

• Black Dog on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:32 pm

As usual, they’re blaming others for their dirty mind.

Later it will get worse. Our country is on reverse gear. Better get out before it hits you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:36 pm

The failure of JPJ from the top to the bottom to address such a small issue tells us why there r still so many thick smoke emitting vehicles on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • alldisc on Jun 09, 2015 at 6:44 pm

to Suzanna GL.

this is very unnecessary and a huge waste of time for malaysians. i wasted 3 minutes of my life reading article about your issue and i just cant digest it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 57
    • Nazgul on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:16 pm

You’re right.
      This auntie looking for cheap publicity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 57
    • trollmaster3000 on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:20 am

unless someone had a gun or parang aimed at your head or neck.. nobody is forcing you to read it in the first place.. your 3 minutes is worth nothing becoz you had some shortcomings in your brain which results in your failure of making good use of your time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:10 pm

The things happening in Malaysia…are making me lose hope of a bright future here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 22
  • Still. I don’t want to see auntie wearing short skirt…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 25
  • Abe ja on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:18 pm

You have a dresscode to attend funeral

Dresscode to attend cny celebrations

Dresscode for your company’s annual dinner

Dresscode for weekend nights feng tau

You adhere to these codes too, right?

So whats the big fuking fuss to adhere to the dresscode when visiting gov offices?

Your personal “rights” does not supersede the law.deal with it auntie.besides,those short skirts doea not make you look 300 years younger lorr

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 38
    • the dresscode has been enforced to all government’s premises all this while, why making this an issue, just follow then. Please don’t defend someone that not following the rules or else we will see more and more people feel right to break rules. JPJ should not feel sorry for this. This sarong thing needs to be investigated further to clarify if the auntie is willingly to wear or force to wear it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Guideline on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:27 pm

It clearly says “guideline”.

• Bobby (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 7:44 pm

This is typical little Napolean show of self percieved power rod, the boss is just a piece of rotted flesh. These days, each n everyone seems to have their own law on anything n everything . Look at those who double park or simply park anywhere will give u the real picture in Malaysia. Without lawful people, always will have anarchy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • WTFish is tis dresscode!
    I should be able to travel anywhere without clothes like “those” gwailos and get serviced and treated normally!
    And I should feel insulted if others feel insulted about my manliness. Feminists can go fucuk themselves if they have my manliness at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Albert on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:02 pm

I suggest all female members of the public take it a bit further to expose these shambolic “schizo” freaks at JPJ.
    Unbutton a little before approaching the counter and see how it goes.As long you are not like the Petaling Street lady who threw her bra out,whats wrong?
    Those JPJ dudes on the take are more “menjolok
    mata” than Ms Tan.
    One fine day,they will cover your head and shoulders very soon.SHAMBOLIC is the word to describe them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 27
    • dirtyoldmen on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:48 pm

so you approach to conflict resolution is mass provocation. in a nutshell, fight fire with fire. using women to do your dirty work.

any more big ideas?, Albert “Einstein”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • What to do? They want to convert us into hudud people

• the Ultimate warrior on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Typical Malaysian system or style, always deny, cover and blame..never take responsibility for what they did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • RTD_DTR on Jun 09, 2015 at 8:53 pm

RTD,
    Apology is not enough.

RTD shall take action against the officer responsible for this. The particular branch office shall have not salary increment for 1 year.

Ini barulah adil. Setakat “I am sorry saja” mana cukup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
  • sarong on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:04 pm

She can go home to change if she want, right? Instead she wear the sarong. So it is her choice to wear the sarong, to save her time. Supposed she thank the officer for preparing the sarong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Liao Liao liaooo on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Somebody out there is trying to get me.

• Wrong on Jun 09, 2015 at 10:49 pm

What is wrong with you all haters?

Why condemn other people dress code while yourselves cannot have a healthy mind?

It’s the girl fault when she got raped?
    So we also can kill anyone coz they look fugly?

This country is so hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
  • wrong information la!! click this link and see

https://www.facebook.com/jabatanpengangkutanjalanmalaysia/photos/a.10151833490492421.1073741838.194295407420/10153343730687421/?type=1&theater

• sammy on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:26 am

What nonsense lah…
    I see runners pakai slipper je. .
    The dress code is dress politely… which in my opinion, she did. The dress code didn’t mention about lutut this and that. Typical jpj unclear about their own ruling. Just like trying to enforce “fancy” number plates but couldn’t quite tell what is fancy means, all subject to the officer working. So if a kadazan woman wear her traditional costume with no sleeve, jpj going to reject??

At first I thought maybe is kelantan JPJ… sekali is wangsa maju. Says pun hairan wangsa maju enforce dress code.

• tinmilo on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:47 am

For people who still think the JPJ officer did nothing wrong, let me ask you this…
    It is about proper dress code you say? right? Go to government officer must dress properly right?
    Then tell me, is wearing a sarong a proper dress code to have a meeting in government office?? Have you on earth see anybody wear like her with a sarong to go attend a meeting in government office or official business?

In my opinion, her dress was more appropriate then wearing the sarong. she looked ridiculous with it…

This is clearly a case of enforcing the “tutup aurat”… which JPJ has NO BUSINESS enforcing such a thing on the general public.

I support 100% dressing politely, but don’t tell me to tutup aurat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
    • Anti-pati on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:09 am

Do you even know the definition of aurat? If that was the case that auntie should have been veiled as well. But she wasn’t forced to veil up. So no, your racist insinuation does not fly.

As for the sarong, have you ever considered that it’s the only thing that’s available at the time? If she’s so adamant that she did nothing wrong, why then did she wear it? She can just bugger off home and change, but because she was lazy she took it and completed her transaction. She has no right to complain when she was clearly at fault and JPJ had given her an easy way out which she took advantage of.

Next time JPJ should just shoo away those who doesn’t fit the dress code. JPJ shouldn’t care if they have to take another day off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • tinmilo on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:48 am

Why she needs to cover herself up with a sarong if she had dressed appropriately? Is wearing sarong a proper dress code to go JPJ? We are talking dress appropriately. How does the sarong rectify her problem of not dressing appropriately?

“tutup aurat” in ” ” see properly. Is MY way of expressing the expectation to cover up. Don’t like my definition? Well I don’t care. Racist? naaah. Just expressing my view. I love my fellow Malaysian very much.

Did JPJ formally pointed out that what was wrong with her dress code? They didn’t and they simply can’t.
        So you are saying you agree with JPJ that she didn’t dress appropriately at the first place? And she should endure the inconvenience of going back to change or go through the humiliation of wearing the “bag”? How was that if you are given both options that sucks, when you have done nothing wrong?

• Anti-pati on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Look at the poster – it did say skirts with hemlines above the knees are not allowed. So no, she did not dress appropriately and was told that. Even by Western standards she did not dress appropriately for official business as her skirt is more than 3in above the knee just by looking at her picture.

As for you – the moment you start bandying about the word “aurat” which is not applicable here is the moment you displayed your racist slant. It has nothing to do with race/religion and has everything to do with social decorum which, I’m sorry to say, is clearly lacking in Malaysians today.

• tinmilo on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Wow… I can’t use the word “aurat” now?
            Another word that is reserved for certain people?
            And which world you live in and how you manage to quote Western people. Which Western Country’s JPJ you think she will be denied access?

• MengkuduMasam on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:11 am

The dress code is long implemented in all gov dept. Just follow.Means, she need to go back and change. But refuse to, and the fastest solution – sarong. Then make it viral by saying she’s being forced to wear sarong. Attention seeker. Being stupid is OK.. but not to ignorance.

• Beware Earth Quake on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:36 am

Recently government blame foreigners went naked on Gunung KK, upset the earth god and causing earth quake….

Ladies! for the god sake, please wear properly or else JPJ will collapse and you got no where to pay road tax!

• Religious People on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Yeah, you think earth god cares about naked foreigners? Ohh please…

• It seems like we have live on this land for many years but still hard to understand the culture here…i hope next time i wont get caught because i go Pos office with short trouser…

• aiyoh, POS office is not govt anymore le…POS Msia is now under DRB-HICOM

• kl fella on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:05 pm

i still see people wearing shorts and slippers to immigration department to renew / apply passports..

• just follow the codes lah.. haiyaaaaaa.

• in this case, i’m with JPJ. thumbs down to that auntie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • BigBalls on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:24 am

There is a difference between guideline and rules

in this case, the guideline is just a guide of best practices, but not enforced and can be interpreted accordingly

a rule however is enforced, just like any law, and there is no other interpretation

unless the guideline is enforced, people are free to interpret the guidelines with minimal variations of it

if the guideline says dont dress indecently, a skirt slightly above the knees dont count as indecent

anyway, this is an over reaction on both parties..

-BigBalls-

-BigBalls-

• Pinky Ah Soo on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:53 am

Learn the lesson la..dont dress like 20 yrs old amoi anymore la..

• a dude on Jun 24, 2015 at 12:35 pm

This sarong thing clearly show disrespectness of public to government servants that have been helping them.