Ford Ranger Wildtrak facelift unveiled with new tech

2015 Ford Ranger Wildtrak - Ocean

The facelifted Ford Ranger Wildtrak has been officially unveiled today – the range-topping pick-up truck receives the same widespread set of tweaks as on regular variants, giving it a vital refresh in the face of stiffening competition from the new Nissan NP300 Navara, Mitsubishi Triton and Toyota Hilux.

The more macho front fascia is similar to that of the rest of the lineup, but as with the previous Wildtrak, the grille and bumper extension are painted dark metallic grey, with the faux skid plate in silver. The grey colour scheme also extends to the wing mirrors, side air vents, door handles, bed rails and tail light internals – again, the same as before, as is the Wildtrak graphics package.

There are some differences on this truck, however. The fog lights are rectangular as opposed to the circular ones on other Rangers, and the 18-inch machined alloy wheels are of a new two-tone six-split-spoke design. Even the signature orange hue is new for 2015 – dubbed Pride Orange, it replaces the old Chilli Orange and has been tweaked to be even more striking.

Inside, the Everest-derived cabin receives new seats (eight-way power adjustable for the driver) with black-and-orange semi-leather upholstery and orange stitching. The latter is also used on the steering wheel and gearlever gaiter, as well as the dashboard – which looks to gain the Everest’s soft-touch upper panel.

2015 Ford Ragner Wildtrak - Interior dash

Otherwise, it’s business as usual – the new horizontally-aligned dashboard incorporates a SYNC 2 eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system, a dual-TFT LCD instrument cluster as well as a 240-volt power socket that’s handy for charging laptops and the like.

Speaking of technology, the new Wildtrak, like other facelifted Rangers, will come chock full of active safety systems. Browsing through the list, you’ll find Adaptive Cruise Control, Forward Alert that warns of an impending collision and primes the brakes, Lane Keeping Alert and Lane Keeping Aid, Driver Impairment Monitor that detects drowsiness and a Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS).

Under the bonnet sits the familiar 197 hp/470 Nm 3.2 litre five-cylinder turbodiesel and six-speed automatic combo (that’s the one we’ll probably get, as it’s the one we currently have), but with improved exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) to return up to 18% better fuel economy. A 2.2 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel will also be available – it makes 158 hp and 385 Nm, 10 hp and 10 Nm more than the previous unit.

The 2015 Ford Ranger Wildtrak, the ultimate model in the Ford Ranger line-up, is ready to take on the world with smart technologies and an even bolder look for one of the world’s toughest and most capable trucks.

Posted by Ford Ranger on Tuesday, 9 June 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• pesod on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:37 pm

wow…the most muscular pick up truck in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Most muscular with the most weak 2.2 engine – more like a poser yuck!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 41
      • There are also 3.2 variant, producing 470nm of torque, stronger than any pick up truck in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrrr on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Ford is ok. But you still need luck to get one without quality problem. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • 4wheeler on Jun 10, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Ford’s 3.2L torque is not the highest in malaysia.Chevrolet Colorado 2.8L produce the highest at 500Nm.

• Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 11, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Sorry, facelifted Hyundai Santa Fe got 200 hp and 515 Nm from 2.2 CRDi.

• Problem is 3.2 road tax, and 99% of the Ranger in the Malaysia road is 2.2 which is the weakest amount all pickup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Wow, in what sense that 158hp is weak?you are judging the power of the truck by the capacity alone?you are not living in the 90’s you know. I own a 2.2l ranger, and it can pull a new dmax put of the mud, and mauled a 1tonne payload of oil palm with ease, countless time. Your english is yuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 38
        • A poser trying hard to justify that he is not a poser. 2.2l ranger is one of the weakest pickup truck on the road period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
          • Whatever makes you happy. Apparently, i was replying to a kid who only dreams of having a car. And might be having a period right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
          • So the best you can say is having period? What a lame poser.

• urzu3 on Jun 11, 2015 at 8:20 pm

do u mean 2.2 XLT or 2.2 XL..? driven one yet?

• enough of the bloody updates la Ford.. I’ve been waiting for this for 6 months oredi lor.. just bloody sell it oredi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Hailatt on Jun 10, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Sam Loo, your new Hilux easily defeated inside out by this new Ranger lah!

No amount of roadshows drifts discounts can save UMW Toyota now! They suffer same arrogant karma like Proton!

Observe Newton law, anything up must go down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Nathan Ferdinand on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Have you seen the new Hilux under the bonnet? Ranger is still slower if compared to Hilux – 160 hp & 400 Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
        • BeemerFreak on Jun 10, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Dude you are comparing a 2.4L from Toyota and 2.2 L from Ford. Get your facts right, more displacement of course equals more power, it is not a fair comparison

• Last time I saw the new hilux 2.4 only 150hp. Even the 2.8 only 177hp. Damn lousy car

• I test drive the Triton 2.5 and Ranger 2.2. The Ranger 2.2 feel like a big fat ass that lazy to move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Are you sure?160hp or 150hp?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 10, 2015 at 4:55 pm

MOST important question now is: WHERE IS THE BLOODY EURO 5 Diesel!!! >.< heard rumors is June but TAK da news on it?
    On the other hand I doubt Sime Darby will offer "Lane Keeping Alert and Lane Keeping Aid" because I saw most of the time pickup truck drivers will either "out of the lane" or just swing out of the lane without indicator. But also have some good truck drivers out there. Finger Cross!!! if SD offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • EGR make intake clog..i block it with plate

• hilux sux on Jun 10, 2015 at 7:49 pm

As long as its not Hilux, its safe. :)

• Seriously Ranger need is not facelift but a more powerful engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • jefiance on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:55 am

you mean the 2.2? Well i agreed. Although it was ‘OK’ while on the move but it feels very heavy when moving from a stand still. Was it purposely being calibrated that way.. it kinda lag actually.

• manufacturer give more power then u complain expensive roadtax.cmon la if u could not afford 2k of roadtax annually than don’t consider to own pickup truck buy bicycle instead

• Gilerapo on Jun 11, 2015 at 1:30 am

Still waiting for my Wildtrak since this January :(
    Berjanggut menunggunya

• froozz on Jun 11, 2015 at 2:13 pm

rilex bro…me 24months…hehehe..but very worth..

• I queue since June 2014.. then Dec.. they say.. sorry sir.. only got white.. no orange.. then Ford hantar the teaser video of the facelift!!! then hv to wait lor for the new Wildtrak.. 12mnths oredi wait in total.. car sold 3 mnths ago.. janggut pun dah ada uban

• How about B10? on Jun 11, 2015 at 7:40 am

What about running on B10 biodiesel that “may” be introduced this Oct? Can the 2.2 and 3.2 run properly on the B10 diesels?

• carazy on Jun 11, 2015 at 10:12 am

I sill miss manual in Wildtrak

• Jagdish Singh on Jul 21, 2015 at 3:48 pm

I have been waiting since Dec 2014 for my facelift 3.2 Wildtrack. Salesguy told me August and now he says its delayed till October. Selling price estimated RM130k. I feel like cancelling.

• Dave Singh on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Thinking of buying the Ford 3.2 Wildtrax. Any advice guys? Really appreciate.