Honda Malaysia extends airbag recall – latest round involves 46,710 units of City, Civic, Jazz, CR-V, Accord

2009-Honda-City

Honda Malaysia (HM) has announced a recall for another 46,710 units in Malaysia. This round involves 26,186 units of the City (2008-2009 year of manufacture), Civic (2007-2009), CR-V (2007-2008) and Jazz (2007, 2009), which are affected by potentially faulty Takata front passenger airbag inflators. Also called in are 20,524 units of the Accord (2003–2007) for the driver’s airbag inflator.

The latest “precautionary update” comes after a similar one announced on 21 May. That one involved 87,182 units of Honda vehicles in Malaysia including the 2003-2008 Honda City, 2003-2008 Honda Civic, 2002-2007 Honda CR-V, 2004-2006 Honda Jazz and 2004-2005 Honda Stream. All current models are not affected.

Honda-Malaysia-Recall

All affected customers will receive notification letters from HM with further details. Work will be carried out once the parts are ready, and the cost of parts and labour will be borne by HM. The company urges owners of vehicles involved to get their cars checked and parts replaced at any authorised Honda dealer as soon as possible.

Check your Honda’s product update status by calling 1800-88-2020, or by visiting any authorised dealer.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sold my city, change to kancil, no recall for kancil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Where Same Lorrrr?
      You may go wrong with sushi. Why?
      Because you may get into trouble before you go to SC.

• Same L0rrrr on Jun 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

You never do body checkup doesn’t mean you are cancer free. We Japanese car will do anything to ensure our customer safety, regardless how much money we spent.

If you have money, then go for conti/US car lar. Enjoy the DSG…

If you don’t have money, you can get a Proton/kimchi. We won’t force you to buy sushi cars. Everyone know you get what you paid for a Proton/kimchi.

By the way, 80% of the Proton on the road (Saga, Iswara, Wira, Waja, Satria) have no airbags at all. Current best selling Proton Saga, Persona have no VSC also. So when you wanna say out the word “moving coffin”, are they mentioning them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 11:48 am

No Honda.

This is not a precautionary update. It’s a recall. Don’t sugar coat that one bit. And what is taking so long for you guys to determine which are the faulty ones? Why can’t you just run a list of the units and directly get a final list of faulty ones?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • kington on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:03 pm

If I’m not wrong, UMW Toyota doesn’t even have a section in their homepage for their airbag recalls. I hope I’m wrong coz UMW really ought to be punished for taking their customers’ safety for granted.

• http://paultan.org/2015/05/13/umw-toyota-issues-recall-airbags-takata/

UMW Toyota already recalled since last month.
        UMW Toyota will call the customer, not just publish a post and done the job.

• Where it publish it? Nothing told at the website

• They normally contact their customer straight away..via mail,sms & call by service centre

• Civic owner on Jun 10, 2015 at 12:59 pm

My Civic is definitely impacted but so far there is no communication whatsoever from HM on the recall. So HM when are you going to do that?

• Andrew Windebank on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Has anyone thought about what happens to the owners of cars that are privately imported – such as the much loved Civic Type R – are they covered by the recall by Honda (and other manufacturers who have cars on the “grey” import market list)?

If not, they should be….

So what is the system for them – they aren’t likely to receive a letter from Mr Manufacturer’s Agent in Malaysia…

• kington on Jun 10, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Customers of grey imports such as Alphards, Vellfires and Mark Xs can refer to Toyota Sungai Rasah. I was told they have a unit there to attend to such vehicles, including service.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 10, 2015 at 1:30 pm

With all the airbag recalls now, would it be safe to buy a recond imported Japanese car (and BMW too, since they are affected too apparently)? Cos if there is a recall, you’re not going to be receiving it (unless you want to drive your car to Japan or UK).

• BMW already considered very slow to react already..

maybe other european car makers are slows too. wait longer.

• BMW already considered very slow to react already..

maybe other european car makers are slows too. wait longer.

• Indomee on Jun 10, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Does it cover 2nd hand car?

• lipanz on Jun 15, 2015 at 8:28 am

yes they do cover for used cars..but u need to call them to update your address or else, they will send the letter to the original registered owner in their system.

• what if the car have been sold? how are they going to inform the new buyer?

• eagletalon on Jun 11, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Will honda check with jpj for the latest owners?