BMW Child Seats available at RM1,799-1,999 promo

This morning’s event at Publika, which saw the launches of the BMW 1 Series facelift and 2 Series Gran Tourer, was in fact part of the second iteration of BMW’s Safety 360 programme – the campaign aims to create awareness, conversation and action on vehicle and road safety in Malaysia.

We started our Safety 360 programme last year with BMW Motorrad as it is a known fact that the highest number of road accidents in Malaysia involve motorcyclists. Now, we are addressing the safety of children in our vehicles, an issue that is very important and relevant in light of what has been happening on the roads here over the last few months,” said BMW Group Malaysia MD and CEO Alan Harris.

“The United Nations Status Paper on Road Safety in Malaysia reported in 2009 that at least 61% of children under the age of five are exposed to the risk of death or serious injury in reportable road accidents. The BMW Safety 360 campaign serves to tackle these issues and by extension, help parents and adults in general to prioritise responsible child safety practices on the road,” he added.

At present, three BMW Child Seat models are available in Malaysia – Baby Seat 0+, Junior Seat 1 (pictured) and Junior Seat 2/3. All feature integrated airpads for head protection in the event of a side impact, satisfy the European standard for child safety devices ECE R44.04, are Red Dot Design Award winners and are available in blue and anthracite colours.

Baby Seat 0+ is for ages up to 15 months and weighing approximately 13 kg. The rear-facing seat can be attached with or without an Isofix Base, which is sold separately. It features five-point belts, magnetic buckle tongues and a removable sunshade for protection against UV rays.

Meanwhile, Junior Seat 1 is for one- to four-year olds weighing between nine and 18 kg, also incorporating five-point belts and magnetic buckle tongues. The seat can face either front or rear, and requires the separately-sold Isofix Base for installation.

Finally, Junior Seat 2/3 is for three- to 12-year olds weighing between 15 and 36 kg and standing between 95 and 150 cm tall. The forward-facing seat is secured with the vehicle’s three-point belt, while incorporating integrated Isofix connectors. The seat can be adjusted to the height and width of the child, and the backrest can be folded for easy transportation.

Bearing in mind that these are BMW-branded items, the BMW Child Seats are currently offered at promotional prices of RM1,799 for Baby Seat 0+ (regular price RM2,025), RM1,899 for Junior Seat 1 (regular price RM2,177) and RM1,999 for Junior Seat 2/3 (regular price RM2,359). The Isofix Base, meanwhile, is priced at RM1,489.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Bimer on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Wow..that price. But I prefer Recaro child seat..for baby racer..hehe

• Keranda King on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:43 pm

This is BMW’s way to rip people further. Already their cars are so overpriced. For example, a BMW 528i is US$49k but in Malaysia, it is RM420k. BMW X5 is also about US$50k but here, they sell close to RM600k.

BMW Malaysia untung gila gila. Been screwing Malaysians so much over the years. Now, they want to screw papas and mamas. Already cost of having baby is so high, yet, BMW is finding ways to perah Malaysians even more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • freddie on Jun 12, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Keranda, this has been discussed for many times at Paul Tan. Stop it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Keranda King on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:49 pm

A good baby seat now is few hundred ringgit. A very good one is RM500. BMW, can you pls stop cheating Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Phyuck Yiu on Jul 04, 2015 at 11:35 pm

It’s a matter of individual preference and brand power lah, don’t have to be so agitated about it. If you don’t like it, just don’t buy it..Yes it’s overpriced for most of the people and to me as well…but do know there are filthy rich people in Malaysia who is willing to spend that much money just because of namesake..or maybe just because they drive a BMW they need to have a BMW baby chair, just like how peeps buy overpriced Apple cover to accomodate their beloved Ipad..

• James on Jun 12, 2015 at 3:51 pm

I’m going to buy one and fit inside my Saga SV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • BMW 328i - USD$32k on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:08 pm

BMW, the BMW 328i is US$32k. In Malaysia, you sell over RM300k. The least you can do is give this car seat free. After all, the real cost is probably RM300

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Got to say though, they look quite nice especially in blue.

What I am curious is the Emergency E Call feature, when the airbag deploys and it calls emergency services. Is this on all BMW models equipped with navigation and bluetooth? From what I have seen pretty much every BMW sold in the last 3-4 years bar some of the F30 and F20 variants have navigation and bluetooth, and those that do have nav, also have ConnectedDrive in iDrive, so does it technically mean it works for all recent F series BMWs?

If yes, they really should highlight this, cause I remember in Euro NCAP 2010 this was one of the reasons why the BMW 5 series (F10) got the 5 star with merit.

• 12 Yr Old Car Seat? on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Come on la BMW, want to cheat, cheat properly. Where got 12 year old boy need car seat?

12 year old boy already so big, he got sperm also coming out la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Alan Harris on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:18 pm

This is good value. Superior German quality car seat. We Germans never lie. We know if we lie, BMW AG will send us to Concentration Camp for punishment.

Trust me, our cost is RM10k. But we love Malaysians so much, we sell only RM1999

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • I know you are trying to say it is overpriced. But need to improve your try at humour, cos not funny or properly sarcastic.

• Alan Harris on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Very cheap for Malaysians RM1999 plus RM1500 isofix, only RM3500.

Don’t worry, place your order. Sure much better than those stupid Malaysian brands you find in Jusco or Carrefour.

• bapakpanda on Jun 12, 2015 at 4:49 pm

If both Group 0+ & 1 can use the same isofix-base, then to get both use with the isofix-base mean u have to overpaid compared to other premium+luxury brands. RM1799+RM1899+RM1489=RM5187 just for newborn to 4yrs old. It is just winner for design, how about safety test recommendation from their natives Deustchland’s ADAC?
    I’d recommend Britax DualFix and Cybex Sirona Platinum (German’s childseat maker and 2012’s winner of Reddot Design Award too) which are 2-in-1 (Group 0+&1) at twice cheaper but have better comfort, funtionality and mostly those got high test result from ADAC and is highly recommended.

For Group 2/3 that can be used for child up till 11 or 12yrs old, mostly highback booster seats companies only think that child grow taller. They forgot child’s shoulder also grow wider. If u can afford luxury cars for ur comfort then top-up a bit and get Cybex Solution Q2-fix (high safety test rating from ADAC & 2014’s Reddot Design Award winner). It have both ability to adjust the seat width and height.

• WTFish! BMW child seats so goddam expensive lah! Kroni kompeni izit! Somemore need to upgrade the seats when the child grows! More of our hard earned money songlaped!

Why cant the use the base of the larger unit and just sell the seat padding according to size/age! Save money! These tongkat Germans dunno how to think! Only know how to suck money! Puih!

• rider on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:17 pm

this child seat is CBU or CKD?

• forrest the tree on Jun 12, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Now outside got good quality adjustable child seat, can be adjusted based on baby/children age, cost at most RM1k++ only. Instead of buying 3 different seat from BMW that cost Rm5k+!!!!
    Bmw just blood sucker!!!

• ben yap on Jun 12, 2015 at 7:10 pm

the price is justified for the quality or brand?

• Jen_Dingdong on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:54 pm

No.
      Get a Recaro or other well known child safety car accessories.
      If you are willing to spend more than RM1,000 please ask any friends or relatives living in EU or US to buy and ship during promotion/sale period e.g Black Friday/Boxing Day/festive period.
      Use a drop box/forwarding service still cheaper.

• Jen_Dingdong on Jun 12, 2015 at 9:49 pm

UK SRP £172 = RM1000
    £172 including VAT 20% so gross £143/RM831
    Malaysia SRP RM2,177
    RM2,177 including GST 6% so gross RM2,054
    Export price RM831 but import price inc margin RM2,054.
    That is Malaysian economics.
    Minyak naik 10 sen teh tarik naik 10 sen.
    Why?
    Greed.
    Easy scapegoat blame the ruling party 100%.
    Greedy capitalist laughing to the bank.
    I pity Malaysian consumers.
    Please use your power.
    Stop being keyboard warriors and fight these profiteering capitalist scums.
    They are pseudo capitalist with no sense of true entrepreneurism.

• sammy on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Rm2k for a child seat?? This also need AP kah??
    2yr warranty or 5 year this car seat??!

• tinmilo on Jun 12, 2015 at 10:40 pm

Gee… so expensive… got built in side airbag ke?

• Same L0rr on Jun 12, 2015 at 11:22 pm

WTF? 12 yr old need car seat? Some 12 yr olds are even bigger than female adults and their “barang” bigger than mine. BMW real greedy company selling rubbish at sky high prices.

• seriously on Jun 13, 2015 at 1:50 am

No point to keep bashing BMW. lot of choices out there if this is not our thing. Leave it to those who really affort it. This is unlike the fuel price that we don’t have a choice. Cheers

• Bokchoy on Jun 13, 2015 at 5:14 am

It’s called choice people. Vote with your wallets. No one is holding a gun to your heads so your meltdowns are pointless.

• minime on Jun 13, 2015 at 2:09 pm

Clek Foonf – safest car seat money can buy or Sweet cherry cheapest money can buy.

• Nissan on Jun 14, 2015 at 8:55 am

WOW that’s cheap! It’s BMW!

• sammy on Jun 14, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Spend Rm2k somemore need to spend another rm1.5k for the iso fix Base? ?
    I wonder insurance company will cover this as well when stolen…
    Those that smash window to steal smartag better target this on lah…