Hyundai Elantra FL Sport Edition, limited to 999 units

Elantra-Sport-Edition-01

Seen this before? Yup, we showed you this Hyundai Elantra Sport Edition last month, but now it has been officially announced by Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors. The Sport Edition of the Elantra facelift is priced at RM91,928 OTR without insurance, and is limited to 999 units.

What you get is a four-piece body kit (front and rear bumper extensions, side skirts), twin tail pipes, limited edition stickers (barcode design with serial numbers 001 to 999) and a 6.2-inch touch screen head unit with DVD and Bluetooth functions (add on a reverse camera for RM300). It is available in Creamy White or Phantom Black.

If the wheels appear rather small here, it’s because the Sport Edition is based on the Elantra FL 1.6, which is powered by a Gamma 1.6 litre MPI engine with 130 PS and 157 Nm, mated top a six-speed automatic gearbox. The 1.6 wears 16-inch rims wrapped with 205/55 tyres, as opposed to the 150 PS/178 Nm 1.8L car’s 17-inch wheels.

The Sport appears to be based on the entry 1.6 Elegance spec (RM85,928), as it lacks leather seats and the front fog lamps that are standard on the RM96,821 Executive and RM101,555 Premium variants. The 1.8L is priced at RM115,616. The CKD locally assembled Elantra FL range now has five variants in total with this new addition.

All else is as per the 1.6 Elegance, including dual airbags, ESC, Hillstart Assist, tilt-only steering adjustment, reflector headlamps, steering audio buttons and manual air con. Click here to see the full spec sheet for all Elantra FL variants. The C-segment sedan with the B-segment price tag was launched in March.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• therealmaserati on Jul 03, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Rubbish car. Even the 1.8 engine feels unrefined and the car is damn floaty at 140-160kmh on highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 27
    • Pinky on Jul 03, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Let the bashing begins …

I bought one low spec (No ESP) version in 2012 when it first launched as I couldn’t afford the higher specced car at that time. Paid about 90k after discounts from my SA.

Car has clocked about 95k when I sold it off few months ago and there is no issues with the car throughout the 3 years of owning it.

Btw, if you’re wondering, I’ve just sold off the car for 58.5k 2 months ago. Definitely no regrets of owning it :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
      • May I know why u sold your car which just 3 years old?

• joker on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:46 pm

yeah..i definitely believe you. it is internet after all, all i read in internet is true rite?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 04, 2015 at 8:44 am

Liar.

3 year old Elantra ca’t even fetch RM12k nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jul 03, 2015 at 1:50 pm

No car is rubbish, not even the Proton Saga.
      How many people would drive at 140-160 Km/h on Malaysian highway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget, how long you have been staying in the cave? With the current improved aerodynamics design and technology, a car can easily go 110 within seconds. 140 – 160? It’s very common on highway la!

I use the MEX at least once a week at constant speed 140.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • therealmaserati on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Duno about u, but u seem a little naive.

140-160kmh is nothing nowadays. Almost every car can do that speed. Its whether its stable of not at that speed thats all.

Every korean car i hv tried feels floaty and wobbly at those speeds.

Come on even a Honda City feels more planted at that speeds.

So dont give rubbish excuses like ” who drives at those speeds” because as far as i know, alot of ppl drive at those speeds . Even i do 180-200kmh frequently
        on north south highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
        • DPCraft on Jul 04, 2015 at 9:11 am

Yeah Honda stays very stable at high speed. Drove it at 150km/h still very stable not floaty.

• 300kmh on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Many, mosly tailgating Myvi adn Vios

• Sam Loo (ori1 ) on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Junk car, no RV. Can throw to my yard as rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Sam VHL Loo on Jul 03, 2015 at 6:10 pm

New jamban junk UMW Toyota truly a junk car, no RV. Can throw to my yard as rubbish and scrap metal.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 03, 2015 at 7:36 pm

When the salesless Proton salesman got nothing to say, they talkok!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 04, 2015 at 8:51 am

Wrong, fake fella

12 mth old Elantras are worth around RM35k now.

Better than K5 or Sonata

• JB_KIA on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Hello HSDM, Im interested but will you deduct sticker cost from your selling price first? And reimburse me with sticker removal cost?

• George Abdul on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Wah Sime Darby making mistake again…

More body-kit more expensive, no one going to buy it simple…

• Nasi ayam on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:20 pm

LOL. 999 units called limited edition!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:31 pm

800/999 units can’t sold, i guarantee.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 03, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Sport Edition = add some red stickers, put in few skirts and charge extra RM10k for it

• azhar on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:16 pm

can scan that barcode at tesco arrr??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:37 pm

I know the owner of this car. He is Kim Ah Beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • the ugliest piece of shit ever… yukkkss!`

• hopeless on Jul 03, 2015 at 4:38 pm

after years of selling car n u still DO NOT know what your customers want. Remove that stupid sticker and tell ppl that it was a mistake laa

• nabill (Member) on Jul 03, 2015 at 6:52 pm

end of the year stock check , still 999 units!!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 03, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Please head to the nearest SD showroom and order one.

Need sorhai tai lan ngongs to keep the used kimchi market primed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Sam can onky.afford proton on Jul 03, 2015 at 9:48 pm

At least they can afford kimchi but you as Sam son, can only afford proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Sam son is showmethehilux on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:57 am

Now we know Sam asked his son to help him to talk cock at this blog. Pity. Driving saga nah combing pula.

• Jobless salesman on Jul 03, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Maybe 1000x Ah Beng issue cheques, apply personal lons and cash advance frum their credit cards but me predicted maybe 900. Cheques will bounce the rest all lon declined left only 10 qualify for the limited edition..so only 10x on the rod nw thats really limited

• Jobless on Jul 04, 2015 at 10:35 pm

And later one car reposssed after few months so left only 9 on the road nw tats really LIMITED

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 05, 2015 at 12:36 pm

This car is not even worth repocessing if owner defaults

• Thought Naza people are stupid, now even Sime Darby Motors people are equally stupid to come up with such lame gimmicks.