McLaren 540C and 570S Sports Series to be priced from RM638k in Malaysia, excluding duties and taxes

05_mclaren570s_nylaunch

Official importer McLaren Kuala Lumpur has confirmed that the new Sports Series range – the 540C and 570S, which are now open for pre-order – will be priced from RM638,000, excluding duties and taxes.

Surprisingly, that’s less than their prices in the UK – £126,000 (RM740,518) for the 540C, and £143,250 (RM841,899) for the 570S. This will all change once the duties and taxes are factors in, of course. Final official prices will be announced soon, says McLaren KL.

Tagged as the British sportscar maker’s “entry-level” offerings, the Sports Series – as opposed to Super Series (650S Coupe and Spider) and Ultimate Series (P1 and P1 GTR) – are marketed to go against Porsche’s top-end 911 models. Both are powered by twin-turbo 3.8 litre V8 engines, with power figures matching their model designations.

The 540C can get to 100 km/h in 3.5 seconds, while the more hardcore 570S gets there 0.3 seconds earlier. Visually, the more expensive model gets a more generous usage of carbon-fibre, along with a larger diffuser.

GALLERY: McLaren 570S

GALLERY: McLaren 540C

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Jul 06, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Hafriz Y U DO THIS

I had so much hope when I saw the pricing…. :(

Until I found out it was before taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Annoynimouse on Jul 06, 2015 at 7:02 pm

I was about to say “about same as the BMW M cars”… then realized the same thing. Not that I can afford any in the first place. LOL

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 07, 2015 at 11:55 am

For a lot of Iriz drivers, they are driving this 540c on the road. The Power of Day Dreaming.

• Bro we have to be realistic… For this kind of car to challenge Porsche 911 territory (higher end)… It’s almost impossible to be in 600k++

• Better to buy this and go Lotus to eat banana leaf rice :-D

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 06, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Good to see, excited to drive, difficult to own, end of the days can’t survive Malaysian humps

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • The UK prices does include 20% VAT (think GST) so the pre tax price should be lower

• Superglue on Jul 06, 2015 at 8:53 pm

calling all BN cronies….this is a good time to buy this car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Gizmodo on Jul 06, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Go ahead BN cronies. Buy the car. But buy also dog food to feed PR cronies. They bark so much they forgot to feed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Jimmy on Jul 06, 2015 at 9:53 pm

If you are not superrich, just get a Panamera, or a Cayenne.
    You probably will get only one sportscar, that is Ferrari, once you are bored with your vehicles.
    Sorry, no recond, including recond Bentley.
    And no makan suap, no tax evasion.

You can.

• Gracke on Jul 07, 2015 at 12:23 am

McLaren is trying so hard to give us a chance, thank you so much and respect!!! But, our government make both of us really hopeless!!! :-(

• Just register the car tax-free in Langkawi with Patriot plate no. Drive around Bangsar

• Nicholas on Mar 26, 2016 at 5:17 pm

How to register the car and drive in Peninsular Malaysia ?

How to get tax free for the car ?

• Good new for Johor’s royal family, bad news for tax payers

• All automotive importers should do this, state the prices excluding duties and taxes in all their adverts, brochures. At least it gets people to think twice before dumping their hard-earned money enriching a few.

• medic on Jul 07, 2015 at 1:59 pm

US 700 million….Hmmm,agak boleh beli berapa biji?

• How about tve 675lt. It has been sold out, but is there a Malaysian buyer? Do we have a chance to see it driving on our road ?