Volvo Polestar to introduce its own range of hardware upgrades soon – to be available in Malaysia by 2016!

polestar 1

Here’s something for all Volvo Polestar fans – this will be right up your alley, Tokmoh. Now fully-owned by Volvo, the tuning house will be introducing its own line-up of Polestar hardware upgrades, to go along with the software optimisation kits that are currently available. Better yet, the new add-ons will be available in Malaysia sooner rather than later!

As far as scoops go, this one is pretty big. Polestar’s R&D director Magnus Skeppstedt told paultan.org today that the hardware optimisation range will be launched globally towards the end of 2015, and will include Polestar-branded high performance suspension parts, exhaust systems, bodykits and even interior enhancements, such as specialised steering wheels, pedals and gear knobs.

According to the Polestar official, the range will be offered on all Volvo models. As is the norm with Polestar parts, the installation will not affect the vehicle’s manufacturer warranty.

Volvo Car Malaysia, meanwhile, has informed us that the Polestar Optimisation parts will be offered in our market shortly after the global introduction. Malaysian customers can look forward to such performance and visual enhancements by the first half of 2016, we’ve been told, both as complete packages as well as ala carte add-ons. Apparently, the entire range of products will be made available, save for the brake kits.

To put it into perspective, it looks like Volvo Polestar is heading towards the approach taken by BMW’s M Performance brand, offering manufacturer-backed aftermarket performance and aesthetic accessories.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Pauli on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Volvo are no longer boring

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 4:33 pm

That’s good news, finally Volvos with added oomph?

• tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Volvo already have ooomph since a long time.

Legend has it our PDRM had 850 T5 wagon as their highway high speed fleet, anyone seen it sure dropped their balls. Today PDRM have S80, XC90, and new V40 hatch, all very capable beasts, just give up the moment they set their eyes on you.

Then Volvo used to sell S60 T5, V50 T5, S60 T6, pretty powerful beasts for less money than the German equivalents. Some part dealer even brings in 850 R, S70 R, S60 R halfcuts, even more powerful.

Now I think the most powerful Volvo u can buy new is XC60 T6 Drive-E, twincharged to >300bhp. X3, Q3, Evoque, NX200 can eat smoke liao.

@Anil : Great! It’s surprisingly kind of the Swedes, considering the Volvo brand is not that successful here. Heja Sverige!

And totally wanna watch their Polestar V8 this weekend in KL City GP hnnnnnngggghhhhh

• Really love the V40 model however it’s bloody expensive. 200k for it. I’ll just have to settle with a CX-3 when it arrives. Volvo has been doing great with Polestar upgrades.

• tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 9:28 pm

Well, Volvo is positioned above Mazda, though if u can afford one, they’re very nice.

Volvo comes with 5+5+5 warranty, service, and on-call service, so it really is a 5 years peace of mind. Well, not like Volvo has a nasty reputation in the first place, unlike a certain twin clutch gearbox…

• My dad used to own an old Volvo car in 1990 .. I think it’s the 700 series ( the one whereby the back lights are rectangular in shape. It’s a bloody tank. Crashed with a Proton before. Proton back totally gone while the Volvo only dropped its bumper. LOL.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Aiyaah, send the Macan S. Money no object, that brap brap SUV can really run like a jaguar (no pun intended).

For me, Volvo should have revised the V40 pricing. The T5 should never have been above 200k from the start, if they did that, at least a better chance. Cause the reality is the T5 while fast, had poor body control compared to other sporty hatches (read Golf GTI). But as a cruiser, the V40 compares very nicely to the Golf I must say.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 10:11 am

But money should be part of the consideration, XC60 and rivals’ target market is sensitive enough to care about the price. They’re not people who receive RM2.6b donation and can just spend like no tomorrow.

Macan starts from RM420k, and even so quite kosong and need expensive options to bring it up. Even so, this 2.0L turbo version so lembik compared to RM318k XC60 T6.

V40 T5 is RM190k+, the only one to breach RM200k is Cross Country. Even so, there’s always discount from Volvo, and as is, it’s already bloody good value for money compared to Golf, A-class, 1-series. Volvo also gives 5+5+5 after sales for a long time, only recently BMW is trying to match up, so that puts Volvo greater value than others all the while.

You aa… always wanna be Sebastian Vettel is it? Volvo never claims to be BMW of Sweden/China, Volvo have always been about safety, COMFORT, but sporty not part of it. Fast yes, sporty no. You do long distance drive in a Volvo, nothing can compare its comfort, good NVH, and power to cruise is not bad.

Golf GTI is nice in its own way, V40 never pits itself against its performance, and caters different target market.

Tell you what, I recently had a go in E90, and fark its ride. Maybe on the track it’ll be fine (well not exactly, but better than a stock Volvo), but I hate it on an urban road, it’s just too harsh and uncomfortable. But I don’t care about track performance, I drive on urban road most of the time, and it’s just rubbish. Maybe its the big wheels, so fark all idiots like to complaint small wheels, u have backbone made of titanium to like 19, 20″ wheels.

• paulz on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:29 am

Tokmoh,

http://www.motorsport.com/v8supercars/news/volvo-undecided-on-v8-supercars-future/

• pdrm Volvos are only for VIP escort. they are not used for highway patrol or pursuit.

• tokmoh. on Aug 07, 2015 at 11:29 am

Nowadays, that seems to be the case.

Not sure during 90s, how the 850 T5 was used, the internet doesn’t even have a single picture, only mentions here and there. I was too young to remember how it was used back then.

• applegreen on Aug 06, 2015 at 7:28 pm

i like volvo. You can feel the acceleration and comfort is still there

• tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Yes, Volvo has the most comfortable seats ever. They hire real practitioners to help design their seats, and the result speaks for itself. Go on the internet, many concur and can notice how great Volvo seats are. It does make the difference.

Strangely, not many are good at this. With all those years of experience longer than before Proton was even born, yet still make rubbish seats like they’re made of wood. If they’re dirt cheap, fine, but some are quite a premium, so disappointing.

• DPCraft on Aug 07, 2015 at 12:08 am

Used to own a S70, Acceleration zoom zoom, now change to Honda, acceleration is kinda draggy, but still acceptable.

• mickeyecho on Aug 07, 2015 at 9:21 am

Polestar= poor man’s Koenigsegg