KL City GP structures to be removed within two weeks

kl gp barriers

According to the Malay Mail Online, workers are currently dismantling grandstands, crash barriers, triple high guardrails and chicanes that were put up for the recent Kuala Lumpur City Grand Prix at Jalan Ampang, Jalan Sultan Ismail, Jalan Raja Chulan, Jalan Perak and Jalan P. Ramlee.

Work started at 10.30pm on Sunday, just a few hours after the prize presentation ceremony. Organiser GT Global Race and its contractors are currently overseeing the process with a range of forklifts, cranes, lorries and trailers to expedite the removal of the structures.

Datuk R. Jaya Raj, director of Pakatan Traffic, the traffic consultant appointed by the organiser, believes it will take two or three weeks maximum to remove all structures. “Our personnel will be on hand to ensure the work does not disrupt traffic or pose a danger to road-users,” he said.

City traffic police chief ACP Mohd Nadzri Hussain said his personnel will monitor the contractors. “We advised the contractor to carry out their work from 11pm onwards to avoid causing congestion. If traffic is heavy on certain days, then they will start work after midnight and stop by 5am,” he said.

View highlights of the KL City GP here.

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• Atypical on Aug 12, 2015 at 2:14 pm

Why does Singapore take mere days to remove their F1 race structures after the race and Malaysia takes 2 to 3 weeks? Traffic was exceptionally bad in KL yesterday because it rained and was then compounded by the fact that the structures were still sitting around. To make matter worse, there are dismantled guard rails and crash barriers that are left lying around or leaning against other structures. Highly unsafe and exposing cars driving by to possible accidents. What if one of the rails that are just leaning against another rail falls onto a car?

The KLGP may be a good idea but the organiser leaves a lot to be desired. Atypical good idea with bad execution!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
    • Bangla, Nepalese and Indon Prix on Aug 12, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Stupid company. Cost so much of disruptions to people and business. dei tambi Arrasu, you should dismantle by 2 days. Even until now, your structures causing massive jam.

Just for a stupid event, whose spectators were 90% Nepalese, Bangladeshi and Indonesian foreign workers, we Malaysians have to suffer for nearly 1 month with super traffic jams.

the jamban structures were being put up few weeks before the race. Massive massive jams caused. Productivity reduced so much just for the KL Grand Prix which entertained all the Bangla, Nepalese and Indonesians in KL.

Also, it encouraged all the kutu and mat moto now to race in KL. In their small minds, this event was approval to race in KL.

KL Grand Prix organisers should pay compensation to all business owners in KL for the losses they suffered the 2 days KL was at a lockdown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • Have some respect on Aug 12, 2015 at 5:05 pm

everything ok except

“Just for a stupid event, whose spectators were 90% Nepalese, Bangladeshi and Indonesian foreign workers, we Malaysians have to suffer for nearly 1 month with super traffic jams.
        the jamban structures were being put up few weeks before the race. Massive massive jams caused. Productivity reduced so much just for the KL Grand Prix which entertained all the Bangla, Nepalese and Indonesians in KL”

Are you saying they are not human? Do you realise if not for them your country would be just another kampung? these guys work hard so that you can boast about your country infrastructure, you think the local lazy ppl will want to do any of the work? I know my statement is ironic and conflicts but respect these ppl, they are the workhorses who have built our country.

And to correct you, none of these guys paid to watch the race :) those who paid to watch the race were sitting in their aircond structures, not standing by the roadside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
        • Looking at the way our economy is going, don’t be surprised in a few years we will be the ones going to Nepal or Indonesia to look for a job.

• Give the job to Mr.Jobless down this chain. Only if the locals can take up so called low paying jobs with pride and efficiency then only we can be a developed nation. But tell me where is the logic when an Indonesian girl on contract in a mnc gets 2k plus with accommodation and transport thrown in and a nurse in KKM only gets 1.4k and has to pay rent and car and all the daily necessities?

• Gold Avanza on Aug 12, 2015 at 3:37 pm

CEO Arrasu busy counting money.

• ultraiman on Aug 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Singapore clear F1 track in mere days? hahahahaha. Don’t give wrong fact la bro. Jangan tipu la.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/formula1/24127798

lazy to click… ok i copy paste for you.

How do you transform one of the world’s most densely populated cities into a twisting street circuit capable of hosting Formula 1’s one and only night race?
      On Sunday, Singapore will stop in its tracks as it hosts its sixth race around a 5.067km track that straddles the harbour of Marina Bay.
      BBC Sport takes a look at what needs to be done to make one of the most glamorous races on the calendar run smoothly.

When does the work begin?
      A 25,000-strong workforce begin preparations in May, four months before the race is due to take place. In a process rather like assembling the world’s biggest Scalextric set, all race-related infrastructure will be taken out of a 38,000 square metre storage facility tucked away in eastern Singapore.

There are thousands of items including concrete barriers, fences, cables, temporary bridges, ticketing booths and portable toilets. In total, 4,395 safety barriers and 10km of debris – or ‘catch’ – fencing need to be erected.
      A polymer modified binder, which was laid on the track surface to offer vehicles 20% more grip, is inspected and necessary repairs carried out to ensure it is fit for Formula 1. The lifespan of the road is expected to be extended more than five years beyond that of a normal road surface.
      A week before the race, 650 tonnes of F1 equipment belonging to race teams will arrive by air and sea freight.

On the Wednesday before the race, the first of a series of gradual road closures begins in the Marina Bay area. A complete closure takes place at least an hour before each session, with access restricted to vehicles with the relevant passes.

After a final round of inspections, at 03:00 local time on Friday morning, the Marina Bay Street Circuit is officially open for F1 business.

And when does it end?
      Road restrictions are gradually lifted once the race is over on Sunday, with the final road reopening to traffic in the early hours of Tuesday morning.
      The rest of the temporary infrastructure – barriers, advertising hoardings, buildings – begin coming down almost immediately after the race, but the process is only completely finished up to a month after the race.
      In the first few years of hosting the race, work would go on 24 hours a day, seven days a week. But in recent years, with experience, the majority of the workforce do normal five-day, 40-hour weeks.
      But organisers say they still only have a month or so off before they have to start planning for the following year’s race.

suda baca?

• Atypical on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:18 am

That is why you shouldn’t believe everything you read. I used to live in Singapore but am Malaysian. Been to 2 F1 races and I drive to work in the city. The bulk of the structures are down by Tuesday (ie 2 days). Yes there are bits left but not the ones that obstruct traffic. That’s the difference.

• Gavin Y on Aug 12, 2015 at 2:53 pm

i can just imagine the hundreds of millions the supplier of the barriers, logistics, transport would have made from this one event

• stupid event…kasi susah ppl working in that area only!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • kington on Aug 12, 2015 at 3:46 pm

Pun intended – Could it be that another tender is being done for the removal of the structures? You know, there is ample project distribution in this country.

• Captur / CX-3 on Aug 12, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Not enough Bangla workers to clear the structures. That’s why Zahid pass note asking to pass project to his bro. He scratch Ajib’s back , he’s scratching back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Pakatan Traffic…. BN fault. Mind blown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • In case you haven’t noticed little john, your average traffic jam is made up of both BN and Pakatan supporters. In fact its made up of everyone who owns an automobile. I’ll give you some time to digest your own stupidity.

• Ketumbar on Aug 12, 2015 at 10:49 pm

John is the typical product of malaysian education. The govt sends his kind overseas only for them to live in their own ‘kampung maksiat’ and maybe learn how string proper sentences in English.

• 2 to 3 weeks??? damn!

• Aniki on Aug 12, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Yesterday around 8pm KL jam like hell… I don’t know whether it is cause by rain or the dismantle work but you think here is Singapore or Monaco??? They don’t have circuit and therefore setting up circuit on the road to organise big event and attract tourists to bring up the economy is reasonable. But to organise a street circuit at a country that already has a beautiful circuit is totally unacceptable! Please don’t ever organise such event ANYMORE!!!

• Jobless on Aug 12, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Stop holding every little event tat nobody cares about at the city center especially those near Padang Selangor..everytime one road closed example Jalan Tar near sogo it will caused massive jam during rush hour

• mohmo on Aug 12, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Kasi C4 the GP structures….problem solved?

It worked marvelously right?

• ahmad on Aug 13, 2015 at 8:19 am

next time,please consider others city for this kind of races.. such as Putrajaya and so on.. KL already congested don’t make it even worst.