GALLERY: Proton Saga Plus – win some, lose some

Proton-Saga-Plus-2

Two weeks ago saw the introduction of the Proton Saga Plus, a new variant that replaces all previous Saga FLX models – with this downscaling, the range now consists of just this trim. We had a closer poke around the Plus to see what exactly do you get for the same money as the old SV.

Essentially, it’s an SV with the body-coloured bodykit, bootlid spoiler and 14-inch six-spoke alloy wheels from the Executive, so the Plus isn’t exactly a like-for-like replacement for the higher-end models like the Executive and SE.

There are no fog lights or exhaust pipe finisher, and the door mirrors (still without electric adjustment, or even internal stalks – you’ll have to push the glass itself) and door handles are unpainted. The rear number plate garnish is, however.

Also missing from its pricier brethren are leather upholstery, silver-painted internal door pulls, Bluetooth connectivity and steering wheel controls. There’s no ABS, either, although dual airbags and three-point seat belts on all five seats are standard-fit.

Powering the Plus is the same 1.3 litre Campro IAFM four-cylinder engine producing 94 hp and 120 Nm, while transmission choices remain a five-speed manual transmission or a Punch-sourced CVT automatic.

As previously mentioned, prices are unchanged from the SV – the manual goes for RM33,242 (solid) and RM33,719 (metallic), while the CVT is priced at RM36,099 (solid) and RM36,576 (metallic), all on-the-road with insurance. A three-year/100,000 km warranty is included.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• mohdhafizsafwan on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:38 pm

As a FLX owner, i really don’t understand why they exclude the ABS. That feature had been useful for me in several event. Will this be the last saga before the Saga R?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Tunku Abdul Rahman on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Better to have a Proton Merdeka close down sale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
      • Pak Lah on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:39 pm

Not last Saga, but last Proton. Rakyat have enough of this for 30+ years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
        • Bersih 4.0 on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:57 pm

It’s time to ‘cleanup’ Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • Gargantia on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Remember some minister said Proton latest cars as safety as Volvo.

PROTON latest no ABS… and where Proton CEO hiding now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • kakaka on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:07 am

Saga Plus latest car?

Hahahahhahaha hahahahhahahaha hahahahaha hahahahaa hahahah hahahahaha

• Close Down Jamban Proton on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:09 am

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians are excited about Proton going nuclear.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000 (old exchange rate before RM2.6 billion was stolen). The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton. Now with this so called nuclear research, Proton will ask another few more billions of our LHDN money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
          • Lol tis guy prolly claimed Audi A6 at RM46k last time

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 2:06 am

what he meant is al 5 star ncap car, not all proton car

u read the headline only?

• thgh (Member) on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm

no ABS duh

• the price is RM 34k , how about vios price is RM 75k and only ABS and 2 airbags and no ESC, same price or less from proton you can get 6 airbags, ABS, ESC…etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Milotin on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Wher got win some… Alwiz lose… Its nasi lemak product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Nasim on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Nasi lemak product from nasi lemak management. What do you expect? Even the workers eat nasi lemak everyday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Teacher on Aug 25, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Can communicate well in Bahasa Malaysia no use what. In the end still produce nasi lemak product, not international product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • 5 Stars Australasian NCAP, you want how many stars? 1000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • proofme on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Please show where this Saga Plus got 5 stars. If you can, i’ll change my Vios to Saga instanly

• Lol go and read again, they replied about p1 not Saga.

• karipap basah on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Should have suitably name it Proton Saga Minus (mean without ABS)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • RakyatMalaysia on Aug 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Wahh!! No ABS. Sorry la Proton. No Saga for me and my family.

Unbelievable decisions by Proton. With the monsoon weather in Malaysia and sudden high speed braking from Malaysian typical drivers, this is so totally the wrong move from Proton to take out ABS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • 2ltr bottle on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:06 am

Since when saga sv have abs? Its illogical to take out something when it is not there in the first place.

• In B4 Same shit compares obsolete Saga BLM with current Camry hybrid and says Toyota veri gooding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Even *new Saga Plus can only compare with thrash, can’t even compare with Vios with ABS. You still syok sendiri can compare with Camry hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Dugong virus J berapa airbag? Saga BLM berapa airbag? You still syok sendiri kah, Shit Loo dupe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • Hey idiot, both also 2 airbags. Syok apa? Vios got ABS, Saga Plus ada tak?

• overpicedjunk on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:12 am

And Vios is still overpiced as shiate, picanto much cheaper why not Vios?

• comparo on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:00 pm

overpricedjunk, you just showed your stupidity by comparing a B segment car with an A segment car

• Wasn’t Proton suppose to focus on safety? Why is it not even equipped with ABS?

• IrizX on Aug 25, 2015 at 7:33 pm

Can’t even compare with Vios

• jambanvios on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:14 am

If Vios no ABS still overpriced, cannot beat Picanto price

• jambansaga on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Vios got ABS lah, bodoh. The only thing it cannot beat is your mother’s ass

• jambanvios on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:01 pm

You got no eyes to see the word “if” is there, bodoh.

• jambansaga on Aug 26, 2015 at 4:33 pm

You already know and still want to say “if”? You lagi bodoh

• i wonder how many version proton has introduced to this saga>>??

• tehsarbat on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:40 pm

kah…kah…kah… PROTON back to nothing.

• tehsarbat on Aug 25, 2015 at 8:48 pm

kah…kah…kah…PROTON back to nothing.

• Jobless on Aug 25, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Still using those toothpick type to lock/open doors (last time me visited their showroom years ago, nw dunno)…in tis age..malu betul

• This Saga better than Honda City.

• This model will go on sale another 20 years…
    since nobody submit any new design in their design contest

• Aero (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 12:38 am

A bit disappointing that the Saga Plus doesn’t get ABS. But some of the comments here are downright unreasonable. The ‘happy face’ Axia Standard E and G don’t get ABS either, you need to pay RM36,600 (solid, manual) for the ‘angry face’ Axia if you want ABS. The lowest Myvi Standard G spec also doesn’t get ABS, and you must pay RM40,900 for the Premium X for that. Note that the Saga Plus costs RM33,200. Also note that at RM41,100, you get the Iriz 1.3 Standard which has ABS and also ESC, which no Perodua has currently.

Understand the concept of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. Most people who buy new cars in the sub-RM40k region are more concerned about value for money and low running costs. The main concern revolves around a ‘need’ rather than a ‘want’. Naturally, we all ‘want’ a nice car, but we don’t ‘need’ a nice car, only a CAR, full stop. Things like safety and refinement is further up the pyramid, things which people who are looking for a second or third new car desire. At the very top of the pyramid, are cars that present some sort of exclusivity or uniqueness. However, throughout the pyramid, there are common factors, like style, reliability, luxury and whatnot, these are cards that any manufacturer can play, regardless of their market audience.

Know that the people who are buying the Axia and Saga mostly want a cheap car that fulfils their crucial needs first and foremost. They don’t mind sacrificing things like airbags, ABS and ESC for more space, more style and more car for their money. Why do I say this ? Because look at how well the Axia is selling despite its abysmal safety credentials. And on the other end of the scope, there’s the Iriz which is being outsold 4 to 1 by the far more unsafe Myvi. It shows that Malaysians have yet to learn the importance of car safety… and the growing number of road accidents and fatalities in the last few years only confirms that.

I am in no way trying to justify Proton’s exclusion of ABS in the Saga Plus, I’m just highlighting that they, just like Perodua, are tailoring their cars to what their market audience demands. Sure, Proton could add in ABS, but that would make the Saga Plus more expensive, and at this end of the market, every ringgit matters. A difference of RM100 or RM500 could just as well make or break a choice. And the ‘illusion of morality’, that Proton is by default ‘superior’ to Perodua just because their models have better safety features ? Well that doesn’t count for peanuts in the real world, because 99% of Malaysians won’t appreciate how much Proton has to sacrifice their profit margins (or rather increase their loss margins) to fit in ABS and ESC when companies like Perodua can get away with it, just as well without it. Yes, there’s always that 1% of people who DO care and who DO appreciate Proton’s growing emphasis on safety, but words are cheap, and actions speak louder than words… and right now, ‘actions’ are not in Proton’s favour, because people are still flocking to buy the outdated Myvi facelift while the safer and more sophisticated Iriz is only selling because of deep discounts. Being ‘the good guy’ isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be, everyone likes ‘the bad boy’ so much more. And I think Proton got the message, and that’s why you don’t see ABS on the Saga Plus.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 4
    • totally agree…
      this comments deserve more like…

• 2ltr bottle on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:02 am

I think this is the end for saga FLX before being replace with the new saga. I think the new saga will have more safety feature install. I remember someone in here said; drive kancil for how long, doesn’t involve in accident, drive carefully is enough he said.

• Proton + DRB = Useless Crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • tan ah lek on Aug 26, 2015 at 1:14 am

sudah lah proton…kereta macam sampah..simpan duit beli kereta 2nd hand je la..hierarki of needs? Orang malaysia terpaksa bergadai nyawa..beli kereta sampah macam ni..sebab harga kereta mahal..sampah macam ni 30k? puih…buang duit…lepas tu bank pun sibuk approve loan sampai 9 tahun…zero dp..bs..etc…kesian orang2 gaji kecik…terpaksa telan realiti kene sub standard kat negara sendiri…yang buat duit orang atas..pakai mewah2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Uncle Lim on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:41 am

Go lah..and buy your 2nd car. No one care!!
      Yup, for this car at this price P1 do not put ABS, but u can deny that Proton do not comprise with people safety. P1 still provide with 2 airbag, seatbelt..about the same like P2 offer with their Axia. But P1 car is much safety reliable compared to Axia. P1 is more valuable for family car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • SAM VHL Loo on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:46 pm

2 airbags and seatbelts are COMPULSORY lah for all brand new cars. Being a budget cars (same goes to Axia and even Myvi as well), I don’t mind if they can forego those stupid bodykits and stupid alloy rims, but definitely not ESP (or at least ABS brake pump) since lots of Malaysian motorists (generally Malaysian drivers are ‘bangsat’ anyway) that like to do sudden brake for no reason even at highway.

If EU or Australia, cars without ESP can straight away pack up (not allowed for sale) as ESP already become compulsory equipment in all brand new cars.

• So much for VSC. Now ABS also tada.

• So Myvi when get VSC? In 2025?

• When you don’t have, you keep quiet. You don’t make lots of noise but sendiri tada. what a hypocrite.

• moving coffin onsale for 30 k…….
    why can’t gov makes abs, dual(minimal) airbags, ebd compulsory for all car makers in Malaysia?

• how irony on Aug 26, 2015 at 2:33 pm

All hell break loose when Proton omits the ABS. Glad you are aware that it is important together with ESC.

Perodua does the same thing and yet you shut your mouth.

• camtakpro on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:11 pm

When Perodua intro base line model without ABS, Proton fangay bash Perodua going backwards… now eat back those words loh. “Proton goes for more safety?” LOL.

Wanna have more sales? Merdeka promotion buy 1 free 1.

• logic on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Perodua is known as moving coffin of course nobody complaints but Proton which is known as “Volvo of Asia” omits this basic safety? What is the logic behind this? Proton wants to be known as moving coffin ah?

• thomas bondan on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:07 pm

In Indonesia there is also a Proton Saga. But it did not sell. Proton also did not participate in the Indonesian car shows like the IIMS & GIIAS

• Chinese people comment trashy things about saga because they can’t face the reality that saga almost same as vios
    Vios with 70k price basic features as saga
    For me vios is shiewt the cushion just pain for my ass also loud and small .
    No wonder Chinese people buy it lol they want bergaya from the outside but shitty on the inside .
    Both are the same but this people state that vios is the boss of economic car . well f that because vIOS is shit

• loba2 on Nov 11, 2015 at 7:47 am

Look at your wallet then buy car. I’m using kancil 660cc but still okay. If you’re loaded just buy BMW…

• even the boot lamp also gone from Saga Plus, so at nights where no lamps around, need ‘raba-raba’ to find things in the boot, oh dear…
    … these Sagas based on Savvy platform, no wonder nexgen Sagas will be based on Iriz, for sure ehh…. ding dinnng.