Proton Saga Plus introduced, new variant from RM33k

proton-saga-plus

The Proton Saga Plus has officially been revealed! Billed as “the most popular people’s car in Malaysia”, the Proton Saga Plus arrives on the scene as a replacement for to the Saga SV, Saga Executive and Saga SE – the latter two will be discontinued in a bid to provide “more value to consumers.”

So, what exactly is different on the new Proton Saga Plus? For starters, it adopts the same bodykit as seen on the Saga Executive, which equates to a sportier front bumper, side skirt and a rear lip spoiler. Elsewhere, the Saga Plus features 14-inch wheels as well as a ‘Plus’ insignia, located on the upper left side of the boot.

As it is based on the Saga SV, everything else in terms of interior equipment and whatnot gets carried over. This same applies to what’s under the bonnet – a 1.3 litre Campro IAFM inline-four engine with 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm is to be found. Transmission options include a five-speed manual and CVT gearbox.

“The Saga Plus design not only appeals to those with a small family but also to youths and young executives who have just entered the employment market,” said Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, CEO of Proton. “The model carries the exterior of the Saga Executive variant while retaining the SV price bracket. This means that there is no price increase despite having the improved looks,” he added.

Order books for the Proton Saga Plus are now open with units set to go on display at all Proton showrooms on August 15. Five colours are available – Tranquility Black, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Solid White and Elegant Brown. Prices begin at RM33,242 for the manually-equipped version and top out at RM36,576 with the CVT and metallic paint. A three-year/60,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty is offered.

saga-plus-price

GALLERY: Proton Saga FLX Executive

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• suomynona on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Okay Proton,this time you’re really beating this dead horse. No one wants this already,we’re waiting for the new Saga =/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:44 pm

With some discounts, you may be able to get this at around 30k or slightly below. Okay wat.
      With the inflation, and drop in ringgit value, this saga actually gets cheaper, back to its value of rm17k in 1985.
      And this Saga is better than the DX or GL which were more expensive.

As I said, many people now are putting high hope on Dr Mah. Yes, we support you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
      • Ethan on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:41 pm

Is is impossible to close down Proton?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 21
        • Benji on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:03 am

Hard but not impossible… If the whole nation stops buying Proton. No demand no supply, simple

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 23
          • sayonara on Aug 15, 2015 at 3:56 am

Where is Ah Beng and his gangs? I thought he wants to silent the critics? Or he say sayonara to Proton already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
          • RM2.6 Billion Dollar Man on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Whilst people steal RM2.6 billion, we now suffer with high car prices or cars with minimal or ZERO safety features.

Don’t forget, this is when the tupai got caught. What about the times the tupai was happily jumping the past 10 years? The tupai would have collected much much more than RM2.6 billion.

Now, we Malaysians suffer with low spec cars because everyone is now stealing. Taib of Sarawak alone has US$20 billion wealth (RM80 billion). the don’t penalise him, they reward him with governorship while we all suffer with high car prices and low spec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
          • Mat Salleh VS Malaysians on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:44 pm

How come our Protons in Australia and UK all got VSC, EBD, ABS and more than 2 airbags?

Even for Arab market, it is the same. Yety, the whole range of Protons are sold HALF the price in the whole of UAE and Arab compared to Malaysia.

Why Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 16, 2015 at 6:31 am

I cant stand reading this b*llsh*t and nonsense. When did Proton producing zero safety feature cars? Haven’t you read the previous post whereas Toyota Rush and Haval M4 are inferior in safety compare to Iriz?? The Jap and Chinese wont produce safety cars to Malaysian. If they do, safety cars are meant for rich people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Here you can see Ah Beng bullshit:
            When Vios has less safety feature, he talkok here and there like Toyota don’t have anything else.

When Saga has even less safety feature, he buat tak tahu and keep on mentioning the best equipped Iriz, which cost 2 Saga.

Saga and Vios, both B segment and cheapest model, so why expect more? And why Vios so much more expensive? Thanks to Proton protection lar CB! If Vios allowed by MITI to be sold RM40k tomorrow, Proton can close down tonight 11pm.

Don’t forget Saga BLM is only 1 star in ASEANCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • paulnut on Aug 17, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Sam son is using proton saga but still want to complaint ?

• Sama Bangsa Pun hukum on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Still cannot beeve Proton, after sucking about close to RM100 billion since 1985 of our hard earned tax payers money, Proton cannot give VSC.

Our lives, not worth it Proton?

Your own bangsa mainly use Proton, you don’t care for them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
        • Rahul on Aug 17, 2015 at 8:29 am

it is IMPOSSIBLE , deal with it

• movingcoffin on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Still no VSC for 30 years. Proton is moving coffin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 26
      • It’s a 33k car…what do u expect..even 128k mitsu asx don’t have vsc..please don’t be so stupid man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 70
        • movingcoffin on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:12 pm

So a 33k car can skip on safety? Then why call yourself ‘Volvo of Asia’? So a 128k Mitsu ASX no VSC you have to follow ah? Stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
        • Piratexlr on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Stupid..asx got ASC (active stability control),traction control,EBD,ABS,hill start assist ,name it idoit..ASC and VSC same lor..idiot budak baru nak up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
        • Malawi on Aug 15, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Bangsa yang suka tunjukkan kebodohan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 16, 2015 at 6:36 am

Kiasu ar banyak kencing kuat..Mabuk banyak..kencing bersepah-sepah..Don’t trust this statement..
          “High car prices or cars with minimal or ZERO safety features”
          “Protons are sold HALF the price in the whole of UAE and Arab”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 16, 2015 at 6:40 am

What do you expect with RM33k car nowadays? If you want those extra safety feature you have to pay more la kiasu. U r more stupid and dumb*$$. Please put your brain at the best place and think! What do Vios Almera Attrage offers you with B-segment price twice than Saga??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
          • hadi75 on Aug 16, 2015 at 5:09 pm

If cars that are sold at twice the price of this proton saga don’t have or have very little safety features why should proton follow them? If proton can sell its car with safety features at lower price then those cars or at a very reasonable price wouldn’t that benefit proton in the long run…look at what the korean did….hyundai…kia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Stupid comment, this is not new like Vios 2015
        So when Vios will have VSC? Maybe in 2030

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 52
        • Worst RV in Town on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:50 am

Only very stupid people buy Proton. Buy today RM33k, next year want to sell, to get RM18k also you will be lucky

When you have to top up your loan after 1 year or after 5 years, then all the fanboys will be crying.

In 5 yrs time this car will be RM3k, like most Iswaras in town

Then finance company ask you to top up RM40k when you want to buy new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 27
          • Artiga on Aug 15, 2015 at 5:07 pm

saga no value? What shit are you say???my Almera 2013 buy 68k…last week just valued 35k…u said about value??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
          • Truth on Aug 16, 2015 at 12:38 am

Saga 1 years old at only 18k? get me 10 unit of this and 5 years at 3k? Find me another 100 units of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 16, 2015 at 6:43 am

The worst Vios in history, Vios 2013 RV also bad due to a lot quality issue such as poor suspension and NVH. If u buy that Vios please use it for at least until you loan finish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
        • Sama Bangsa Pun hukum on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Their own bangsa only accident become vegetable but Proton still don’t care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
        • movingcoffin on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Haha… Vios again. Ok. Let me ask you this:

Saga no VSC since 1985 while Vios no VSC since 2003, which is longer?

I think you’re the one with stupid comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
          • AutoEnth. on Aug 16, 2015 at 3:43 am

So the car started life in 2003, yet no VSC as well?

I’m all for cheaper cars with VSC, and yes the “new” Saga should have one. But, your argument is weak.

I mean, Vios was born in the new century, and it’s a Toyota. It should be clear by now that Vios is just a cash cow for Toyota. They’re not planning on any “real” development for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • Axia Sedan on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:36 am

Perodua Sedan D36D – Most popular people’s car in Malaysia, soon. Bye Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
      • Low Budget on Aug 17, 2015 at 1:11 pm

How come most popular and not even one unit is on Malaysian roads?

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Let me tell you why buying Proton is so wrong, before I start the facts, let’s understand 2 basic Proton’s features:
        1. Proton break down easily. Extra money needed to maintain it.
        2. Proton has very little RV, as new Proton already cheap, and everyone is avoiding it.

Because of these, owning a Proton is so expensive as you need to spend to repair this and that. When you finally fed up, your “well” maintained Proton yell nothing in RV, which you need to fork out a lot more to get new car.

Maintain your current Proton? Expensive.
        Get a new car? Expensive also.

That’s why Proton is a financial dead trap for the owners. It is very hard for them to move up to better non-Proton car or move out from the vicious cycle.

Don’t believe me? Go buy a Proton then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Sam VHL Lorrrr on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Let me tell you why buying Toyotaik (except Altis 2.0V and Camry hybrid) in Malaysia is so wrong, before I start the facts, let’s understand 3 basic Toyotaik’s features:
          1. Toyotaik lose control easily since no VSC even their taik cars with RM120k – RM150k selling price. Extra money needed to buy ‘additional’ PA and life insurance.
          2. Toyotaik break down easily (nowadays, their new car built quality is like taik, it’s totally different from older Toyota that used to be reliable). Extra money needed to maintain it.
          3. Toyotaik has very high ‘imaginary’ RV (fact is very low Resale Value/trade-in value, and high Regret Value), as new Toyotaik already very expensive to buy and maintain, and every sane person is avoiding it.

Because of these, owning a Toyotaik is so expensive as you need to spend to repair this and that plus very dangerous once driven out to the road. When you finally fed up, your “well” maintained Toyotaik yell nothing in RV, which you need to fork out a lot more to get new car plus yelling out “Hai Lat Lorr” when selling their Toyotaik.

Maintain your Toyotaik? Very Expensive.
          Get a new car? Depends.

That’s why most Toyotaik is a dead trap for the owners (not only financial aspect, even their own life was in danger anytime). It is very hard for them to move up to better non-Toyotaik car or move out from the vicious cycle.

Don’t believe me? Go buy a Toyotaik then from UMW Toyotaik. They need more idiots to buy their taik cars.

• Albert on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:11 pm

When sales stagnate,protong will come out with competitions,facelifts,koneksion lifts etc….sounds too familiar?
      No point talking about a zoombie company which is beating round the bush all the time.
      Wasting our precious time.
      Even a donkey laughs at the poor bunch of LAZY ,incompetent management at this politics infested company.
      Japanese car manufacturers are coming out with hydrogen powered cars.Protong is still coming out with facelifts after facelifts until closure in 2017.SHAMBOLIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • OMG…Plus more and more in old designed and lousy engine car is useless…Ppl force to buy this car bcos is cheap only. simple…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:22 pm

What is the logic behind this? Looks like mega stock clearance to me.

At least the Executive did have ABS, I would gladly trade the crappy bodykit for that. And even ESP.

After all, the Saga should have pretty much paid itself off, it’s been in production since 2008, a good 7 years. And the new one should be around the corner…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
    • Matchy on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:58 pm

They probably want to clear the leftover bodykit from the executive/SE (that no one are buying)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • joker on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:55 pm

None of them have VSC. Where is the safety nonsense preach by Proton? We put importance on safety? Volvo of Asia? A joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
        • Silthice on Aug 15, 2015 at 6:02 am

How long have MyVI been in the market? got VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 38
          • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2015 at 8:50 am

So you mean Proton strategy is to offer VSC to Saga IF MyVi has it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Same Lorrrr on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:52 am

Like I have said above, this car is only for the poor and no ambition in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
          • No, but which has been in the market longer, Saga or Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • RM2.6 Billion Dollar Man on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Our Myvi got no VSC because our Monisters got no time to instruct them or order them to put VSC.

they are more interested in stealing from the rakyat than doing they job to protect the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • still the same to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • wooow on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:37 am

The result of Proton design competition….

Presenting the *new Saga Plus, with new bodykits. Tada

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • alldisc on Aug 16, 2015 at 11:24 am

No one complaining about noisy CVT and sluggish engine anymore?

DonT worry. Proton sacked those engineers already. Now looking for new one.

http://www.jobstreet.com.my/jobs/2015/7/p/10/2697714.htm?fr=21

• Abs?? on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:29 pm

To proton, No ABS and EBD?? U can cut cost but not the safety of yr customer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Who says SV got no ABS and EBD? It’s also got 2 airbags as standard. It just that Plus got free BK and Alloy Rims as standard with no price adjust. do a lot more reading bro ☺️

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 67
      • tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:16 pm

During launch, no mention sv got abs, ba. Added on later meh?

Say,i thought saga aka s16 in Australia gets ESP. theoretically, they can equip it too here, aik camane nak claim as safe as Volvo cam ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Mat Salleh VS Malaysians on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Mat Salleh get ABS EBD and VSC. All Protons in UK and Australia got VSC.

But for Malaysians, Proton take out the VSC. Proton don’t mind if we die or accident, so long as Mat Salleh customers are happy and safe.

Wait!??? Wasn’t Proton created for Malaysians ie to give Malaysians affordable cars? So, why equip Export Protons with so much tech safety and we Malaysians get trash???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • alldisc on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:55 pm

No more new proton for UK.

1. Cannot pass euro 5 emission regulations
            2. Cannot excel in euro ncap
            3. No turbodiesel
            4. No 6 speed manual to match diesel
            engine
            5. Poor JD power score on reliability
            6. Poor JD power score on security features

• xem6861 on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:27 pm

SV model comes with ABS and EBD ?Seriously ? AirBag yes ! From which resource you read from ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Abs?? on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:15 pm

i know sv has two airbags, but so far abs and abd it doesn’t have right? Proton’s website didn’t update this model yet. They are really lazy to update their website.

• Abominable on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Seriously ? ” Most Popular car in Malaysia ? ” more like the most affordable car in Malaysia Pffft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • Shameless Proton on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Dear Proton, if you wanna claim Saga is the most popular People’s car, pls provide the sales figure of Saga and Myvi since 2008. And let the number speaks the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 33
      • oi dont say like this la. later u kena thumb down multiple times since truth hurts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
        • Same L0rrrr on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:40 pm

People buy Saga because it is CHEAP, not because it is good!

That’s why no one bother buying Proton expensive eg Suprima S, Preve, Iriz? (Not even Proton fanboys here buying any)

In everyone’s eye, Proton is nothing good except CHEAP. Period.

• Where is the VSC that the supporters are so proud about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Savvy88 on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:46 am

yes, of course most popular because Saga is around since 1985. they said SAGA, not SAGA BLM, FLX, SV. So, all the saga since 1985, it is the most popular car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Milotin on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Yahooooo!!!! Milotin extended version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
  • sheng on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:36 pm

My first impression : sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Lelong Stock clearance, SAGA Minus on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:42 pm

I think someone in Proton administration must has his head checked. What’s the point of over-producing cars and flood your Tanjung Malim garage with hundreds and thousands of unsold Suprima, Saga, Exora, Iriz…. (whatever junk)

Dear stupid Proton, please throw you syiok-sendiri mentality away, don’t be over optimistic and project your sales figure akin to masturbation self-pleasuring level. Your car is not popular, so just produce low volume and bercukur if they can sell!

See what happens now? you flood your garage with so many junks and making all these “Persona SV” , “Suprima Basic”, “Saga Plus” by pulling out all the essential safety items. Proton is really taking the customers for a ride. Saga Plus? More like Saga Minus to me !

Oh ya, don’t be so shameless by claiming your junk as “people’s car”. The TRUE, MOST POPULAR and UNDISPUTED PEOPLE’S CAR IS THE MYVI! Proton? Nah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 67
    • makese on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:38 pm

they actually struggle to meet breakeven point or their target.

its good act to make mega clearup on stocks rather let it left unsold.

gaining small margin profits is crucial for proton rite now because its hard to get new capital since even govn dun lend money.

and.. could u pls stop commenting bad things without purpose. its better,make urself usefull.. like getting rich and buy foreign car without even bother bout proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2015 at 8:51 am

Easy. Halved the price on all Proton, 100% confirm all stocks cleared.

• Celicazz on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Dude, not all proton made in tg malim la

• Albert on Aug 15, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Proton produce cars not according to demand but ON OWN ESTIMATION(WHICH IS SHAMBOLIC).Then they pressure their dealers to stock up unsold units.
      Toyota,Honda and Nissan produce quite close to actual bookings and ended up with less unsold stocks.They dont have 2014 stocks by now.Protong…..please check it out for yourself at their yards.I am pretty sure some 2014 models are still enjoying the f..up everlasting perlindungan sunshine.
      Look at resurgent Honda.people wait 180 days for their HRV…..half a year stretching into 2016 Chinese New Year.Can you see the kind of problem Protong is facing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Crasher7 on Aug 14, 2015 at 6:43 pm

I prefer safety kits over bodykits…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • waiting on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:03 pm

I’m waiting for Saga NV (New Value/No Value, depend how you read it), priced at 20k. Then I’m gonna trade-in my beat 10 year old wira and become the absolute winner :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:16 pm

Great news ! Proton understands exactly what their customers in the sub-RM40k market want; a cheap car that DOESN’T look cheap.

Previously, the Saga SV was Proton’s cheapest model, and it definitely looked the part with steel rims, and worst of all, the unpainted rear bootlid garnish. The Saga Plus at least masks the fact that it’s a cheap car, it looks a bit more upmarket with the bodykit and alloy rims… and thank God, the rear garnish is painted now. Also, and more so, Proton is passing down the savings on increased economies of scale to their customers. If they want, they could sell the Saga Plus at a slightly higher price than the Saga SV… but they aren’t, so credit where its due.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 13
    • Dandan je on Aug 17, 2015 at 11:48 am

aku harapkan ini adalah clearance stock supaya new saga (dengan harapan anggun dari segi interior, exterior dan safety) muncul dalam masa terdekat.

• Alton Grove on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:19 pm

Honestly I feel safer in a MyVi. In a proton, its shittier to drive and less features. You also pay less I suppose. Agreed with Crasher7, I prefer safety over fancy looks only kits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 54
    • dugongx on Aug 15, 2015 at 2:42 am

Please la. You feel safe in a myvi? Best joke of the year. Proton’s safety levels has always been ahead of paper cars by perutdua. I am not a fan of proton but at least now they are giving u bodykit n rims for free while perutdua charges u a fortune ( up to 3k+) for their rubbish body kit under a scam called gear up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 42
      • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2015 at 8:58 am

When one is so lousy, you have to offer free gift to lure customers.

When one is so good, you can charge on to customer for cheap stuff and they still happy pay for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • IrizX on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Giving free bodykits? More like giving out old unwanted stocks. Proton safety level is ahead? Only the ego of ‘jaguh kampung’ is ahead i think. At least Perodua don’t proclaim to be ‘Volvo of Asia’. Proton mmg tak tahu malu, giving the rakyat crap but still to say on par with Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • I disagree with this one. Saga has better handling than MyVi. Even iriz is better. Bawak MyVi nak tukar lane pun gayat kat highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • what are guys complaining about hah!?
    Of course it is stock clearance!

Hayyaa please stop behave like this. Already tired reading this bashing statement to proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • brazbuz on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:45 pm

They adding value on their top selling saga line up (SV of coz). Wanna better safety kit with affordable price? Go for iriz. Sadly, proton make the existing sv buyer cry for this foc enhancement

• nonaimeh on Aug 14, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Boringgggg… Next..

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:19 pm

r.i.p proton bashers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
  • Kesian Proton on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Another syoik-sendiri “edition” from proton….and the sales is going from bad to worst….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:00 am

If the price remain the same, and this Saga Plus is 1.6 with push start button, I think people will flock in and buy this instead of Vios. Probably can buy 2 to 3 of this for a Vios.

• Pengguna Proton on Aug 16, 2015 at 12:51 am

Syok sendiri since 1985…

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Can’t wait for year 2020, Myvi Male Power Edition and Saga Super Edition

• tehsarbat on Aug 14, 2015 at 8:35 pm

kasi abis stock ni before they release the new varient. kasi half price la, sure meletopnye.

• 2ltr bottle on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Clearance sales b4 new saga come out next year. Take it or leave it.

• Jung Eun Ji on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:16 pm

*epic facepalm*

• rims mana on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:17 pm

they never talk about the rims , i doubt it has rims ,

misleading photo?

• blackgenius007 on Aug 14, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Yawn..What’s next, Plus Plus, plus plus plus, premium plus?

• alldisc on Aug 16, 2015 at 11:15 am

A little bit incorrect there. Saga plus will not be the last one. There will be other special editions too like Saga Kesas, Saga Elite, Saga Lekas, Saga NKVE and Saga SKVE.

Plans for Saga Artiga and R3 lotus were scrapped due to pricing ffactor(aalmost 70k)

• nandakumar on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Proton ner short of producing no quality and ripping off the rakyat pocket.
    come on we dont need rubbish cars if cant compete close shop.
    same car and its a massive clear out stock,
    why not donate to taxi since taxi fleet are old and rotten.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Greddy on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Should be the last version of 2nd gen Saga before the 3rd gen come out.

• Joblesstiger on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Speechless

• paanjang16 on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:25 pm

What a wasted opportunity to set a new standard and take some sales away from P2. P1 could have added in ESP/VSC, ABS and 2 airbags instead of a bodykit.

Imagine, for RM 36,000.00 you can have a car with ESP! The cheapest car with ESP! Will make alot of people think twice about buying that tin kosong Axia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Impossible…. They will absolutely ‘rugi’ when they launch the new Saga next year. hahah!

• Actman on Aug 14, 2015 at 10:58 pm

IPhone 6 plus – Samsung S6 edge plus – Xperia Z3 plus – saga plus? What else? 1MBD plus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • 1kali beli proton is enough on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:13 pm

7yrs old design still touch abit here n there to become new version. similar to the persona, same design since 200x yr till now. what is ur appearance designer doing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • 2ltr bottle on Aug 14, 2015 at 11:46 pm

Same to mawi design. 10 years old design design still touch abit here n there to become new version. same design since 200x yr till now. what is ur appearance designer doing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • 3rubbish proton on Aug 15, 2015 at 12:57 am

I thought they are using the public to design for them?

• Sorchai Albert on Aug 15, 2015 at 2:44 am

The difference is saga keep on improving while prices are coming down while myvi keep on facelifting and increase price since a decade ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
      • Super Saga on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Improve? Add new bodykits you call improve? The difference is Myvi is selling more while Saga is selling less. To get rid of the old stocks, Proton has to sell them cheap. Simple

• This car should not be allowed on the road as it endanger other road users.
    whenever see this car on the road,you are advised to keep a safe distance,perhaps 200 to 300 meters,to avoid unwanted trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Saga + Proton = Same Junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Adrian on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:09 am

They replaced the same car, with the same car. wow.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 15, 2015 at 1:39 am

Guys, Couple of questions:
    1. I thought Proton only made RM500 for each Saga sold, now with extra body kit and lower Ringgit, are they actually making any profit?
    2. Is the Saga 1.6SE still in production? – which does not make sense as it is the same price as a Persona… Come to think of it… Is the Presona still in prodiction?

• normal_user on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:41 am

Nope. Persona & Inspira went out of production already. Proton seem to know that they should focus on improving their in-breed C-segment sedan, the Preve.

Since the new DRB Hicom did not like the Preve name so much (if not the Suprima would have been named Preve S), there is probability for the ‘Persona’ badge to be reserved for the Preve Facelift model. It is going to be a very revised version underneath (with better CVT soundproofing).

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:21 pm

interesting; so the Preve facelift may become the next Persona (i still pronounce it as Pree-Vee) …. what does that make the sedan version of the Iriz? (which I thought was gonna become the next Persona)

• smokey on Aug 15, 2015 at 4:57 am

so many variants…has proton become like samsung where spamming products is the norm?

• areos on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:33 am

its probably true…the most popular people car…saga has been existence since 1985…….i guess more than 3 million units sold (worldwide)

• panjang on Aug 15, 2015 at 9:33 am

was smiling when reading all the comments.Guess Malaysian should look abroad whenn all big manufacturer does what Proton is doing towarda the end cycle of a model.

We does not saw this being done by other manufacturer because we either choose to ignore or just plain dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • artiga on Aug 15, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Jgn cerita value la …apa kereta pun x de resale value ,aku punya Almera 2013 ingat nk trade in ambik Civic…laku 35k je belum 2 thun…..Camry pakcik aku 2011 beli 170k .. Last month trade in 90k je..lagi mau sembang value…Saga the best town car..beli 33k the best price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2015 at 7:48 pm

laku 35k atau 170k->90k still ada resale value kot. Saga betul betul tak ada resale value. Kalau Saga dah sampai 2nd hand tentu dah banyak problem owner mau cepat campak keluar dan tukar ke honda atau toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Aug 16, 2015 at 11:21 am

Seken hen value berkait rapat dgn demand. Ko tanak beli seken hand kan? Org lain pun sama. Bila takde demand, used car tak boleh jual mahal. Kena jual murah jadi trade in pun rendah lah.

• Tapau on Aug 15, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Perodua sedan > new Saga+Persona+Perdana combined

1 car can tibai 3 cars.

Good job Perodua. Keep Proton make loss till bungkus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • rajarizal on Aug 15, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Many years back, we went through the pain of expensive foreign cars. Out of no choice we switched to proton wira 1.5 A 3speed. Surprisingly it is quite a nice car even though the sun visors screws drop within 1 week. We lowered down our expectation. The car served well without any power window failure.

Then we switched to waja. The door handle broke one after another. Engine start to give problem after less than 45k km.

We switched to toyota after we sold the waja.

The nighmare started after we bought 1.3 flx as second car.

The engine performance is impressive in the begining but began to worsen after 1 year of ownership. FC also suffered after 3rd year when warranty was over.

To our horror, the service was really bad .

• Normal Guy on Aug 15, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Bought the first gen of saga back in 2008. Engine died inexplicably twice, while still moving. Door handle, rear license plate trim quality appalling. Had to DIY to replace. After 7 years, engine was so loud I’m actually embarrassed to start my car. Cost of ownership is ridiculous for a 40k car, not to mention the terrible fuel consumption. After 7.5 years, i finally got rid of it and replaced it with a non-national make. I’ve never been happier.

• Savvy88 on Aug 15, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Proton kasi full spec, korang kata mahal sangat.
    Proton kasi basic spec but murah, korang pun bising.

Never ending story..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • JD Power on Aug 16, 2015 at 1:11 am

Should have give Proton only 1 star. Sigh

• Does this comes with 10 airbags and VSC?

• They only made rm500 when price was at rm40k. Now they are making loss?

• Tololnya proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Aaaaaa on Aug 16, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Seriously?
    Pls sack the branding guy la..or whoever came up with Plus, SuperValue, Premium, SuperPremium…

Ingat beli kereta mcm beli beras ke?

• Albert on Aug 16, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Without tax,this outdated Saga is rm1,100 cheaper in langkawi.
    Wtf…….the production cost is so f..ingly high at Protong cos they say they only make rm500 per Saga….this is gross profit.Nett Profits? Last 2 years they lost rm 1.5 Billion.This year,they will end up with another rm600 juta losses cos of Lotus and high development cost of Iriz.

• Steve Kok on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:45 am

When the buying stop.
    Proton will close shop.
    Think!! Before you buy a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • donkey car…..still

• Fix the immobilizer on Aug 17, 2015 at 9:20 am

PROTON !!!

PLZ Fix the immobilizer!!!!

Saga users suffer from faulty immobilizer!!!

• zaizaizai on Aug 17, 2015 at 10:04 am

“The Saga Plus design not only appeals to those with a small family but also to youths and young executives who have just entered the employment market” I bought the BLM when just joining the employment market and I’m still stuck with it….I guess I am that poor.

Anyways, here’s hoping at P1 giving at least Iriz’s specs for this PS+. Then that’d be a steal.

• Iriz is even worst. At least the saga have higher sales than Iriz.

• kumar on Aug 17, 2015 at 12:51 pm

tak nak!

• Hashimi on Aug 17, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Utter disgusted with DRB and it’s management for coming up with this recycled garbage..
    Instead of strengthening P1’s branding this new launch has brought shame instead.
    DRB should just sell this company
    just look at DRB’s share price.
    If unable to show results then just shove it !!!

• Bungkus on Aug 17, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Proton tak laku, bungkus baik!

• Kelisa is still better..
    swap the engine with K3-VET
    change the absorber with proride heavy duty(red) with stock coils
    change wheels to 15″ and mate with bridgestone adrenalin re003 185/50/r15

just trolling here… bbye ^^

• Kaloi on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:58 am

ure trolling with your own car spec actually.its a shame how a fish wanna be a sushi so bad but it became a belacan.

• If you drive like a bloody idiot, VSC pun tarak guna.