We don’t use illegal software, defeat devices – Mazda

Mazda-SkyActiv 001

Volkswagen’s use of trick software to cheat in official emissions tests has sowed doubt in consumers’ minds. Are they the only ones? Is this practice widespread? With that in mind, Mazda has released a statement to declare that they do not employ such methods.

“In compliance with the law, Mazda works hard to ensure that every gasoline and diesel engine it makes fully complies with the regulations of the countries in which they are sold. Mazda never uses illegal software or defeat devices. Mazda’s customers may rest assured that their vehicles are fully compliant with all regulations,” the statement read.

“Now and into the future, Mazda remains committed to improving fuel efficiency and reducing CO2, as well as making exhaust emissions as clean as possible, while continuing to offer driving pleasure. Mazda will continue developing new technologies and working towards achieving ‘ideal combustion’ in the internal combustion engine.

mx-5_4_generations_magazine_01

“A number of countries around the world are investigating new homologation testing methods based on real driving conditions, such as worldwide harmonised Light-duty Test Cycles and Real Driving Emissions. Mazda supports these initiatives and will cooperate with any requests from authorities,” it added.

It was recently revealed that Mazda is targeting a 30% improvement in fuel economy for its SkyActiv engines, by 2020. The company believes that there’s scope for more development in the conventional internal combustion engine, instead of going the hybrid route.

“We have a real passion for efficient combustion. You could equate it to the passion we have for the Mazda MX-5 sports car. There’s huge heat wastage in conventional engines: surely it’s better to do something constructive about that then adding weight with extra power units?” Mazda Europe boss Jeff Guyton told Autocar.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:55 pm

They sound very confident about not using hybrid tech but I wonder how long will they last without it. Sooner or later they will have to resort to EV or hybrid tech to pass emmisions tests as its not all about efficiency here. Other brands have started investing in R&D so that by the time they need it the tech is there for them to use as it takes years to develop complex systems such as these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • VGM Pls Use Platic Bag on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:48 pm

VGM staff, better you all use pastic bag or paper bag over your heads.

I remember going to VW Glenmarie, salesman bad mouth all other brands. Even say MB and BMW caplang. Now, see, the truth is out

• Open Letter To VW Owners on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Please accept Sam Loo’s offer to pay 20 sen to the dollar for your cars. I think it is a great offer because no Malaysian want to own VW in Malaysia anymore. Too scary.

• Salesman No Sales on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:27 pm

Toyota salesman hunger for sales, LOL

• Karma Comes Biting VW on Sep 30, 2015 at 4:58 pm

I was in Paradigm Mall and VW had an exhibition there. Salesman said nobody can beat their DSG and how smooth their cars and how advanced their technology. Then, like you, he started to condemn other brands.

This is the modus operandi of VW and VGM. They condemn other brands saying they cheat lah, misleading lah, FC very high lah etc.

This is why karma has come back biting VGM. This year and a few years to come, I doubt anyone will buy a VW

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:59 am

You can get cheap kimchi from me but not VW. I don’t even wanna accept VW. No one bother to buy VW. In Malaysia, it is just another expensive Proton.

• Lololol on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Think EV will be a while more as petrol companies keep sponsoring the development of efficient combustion engines. Also, EV has a range and a recharge concern. Unless there is a significant tech jump for battery or recharging devices, then the EV will be slowed down in adoption.

As for hybrid, we will see how that goes between forced induction vs hybrid as emissions are good for forced induction too and the power is there. Range is not bad to for forced induction. Hence maybe a decade away before EV will dominate.

• Lance on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:49 pm

I believe EV will take much more than a decade. A decade or more maybe hybrid will dominate.

• Lance on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:46 pm

Mazda already disclosed their plan on hybrid. They believe internal combustion still have many years to go before they fully switch to hybrid. I think this is a smarter move as internal combustion engine still outsell hybrid today. Imagine a hybrid with an old internal combustion engine vs Mazda future very efficient internal fuel combustion, the emission result may not differ much. Don’t forget hybrid cars are heavier too.

• Josh Ling on Sep 30, 2015 at 10:58 pm

i think by the time they need it, they can easily acquire from other manufacturer, and the cost won’t be too high either as that manufacturer may want to share the cost with mazda as well, hence cannot be too costly. so it’s a win-win situation.

• hailthepurist on Sep 30, 2015 at 12:56 pm

something’s fishy here..

• Obviously some German company already lagging behind Japanese.

• VGM - DSG how? on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Trick software is one thing. In Malaysia, we owners of VW have to suffer with faulty gearboxes. Nobody to help us even if we complain

• Lololol on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:54 pm

There are no DSG issues really…. lol its just trick software.

• camtakpro on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:14 pm

VW:
      Trick software – checked.
      Trick gearbox – checked.
      Trick engine – checked.
      Trick loan – checked.
      Trick promotion – checked.

VW: Das Trick Auto

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • Lololol on Sep 30, 2015 at 6:17 pm

After all that, Owners Tricked – Checked!!! lol

VW Das Trickster!

• Gaviny on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Don’t be so arrogant marketing department , it’s not the engineers that made that statement I’m sure

• umasaikiran on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:59 pm

It is a good time to say things like that eh? good move!

• mazda on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Mazda, you simply don’t sell enough cars to cause pollution problem.
    Your skyactiv stuff is nothing but a bunch of marketing words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
    • Lololol on Sep 30, 2015 at 6:19 pm

The emission is calculated per vehicle class basis… not overall.

• Hohoho on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:20 pm

Congrats.. You just made yourself look an idiot..

• Such a sore loser on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:22 pm

At least Mazda is the first Japanese manufacturer to make a bold legal (not marketing) statement. Where are your other so called “big” makers hiding?

• camtakpro on Oct 01, 2015 at 8:39 am

Much better than the marketing word “DSG issue solved!”

• Talkcock on Oct 01, 2015 at 5:56 pm

Don’t talk rubbish lah Mazda…
    Your cars are designed to use very high compression ratios which requires a high octane fuel to be efficient.
    Not all countries (like malaysia Ron95) meet that requirements. That’s your way of cheating, use high grade fuel to achieve your skyactiv nonsense, which in real life is not the case.