Toll hikes not going down well with transport industry

Karak-highway

With the recent toll hike slated to be in effect starting October 15, the transport industry has already begun to voice out against the sudden increase, The Star reports. Having to face a falling ringgit, no alternative roads to go by and a weak public transport system were some of the items put forward.

President of Pan Malaysian Lorry Operators Association Jong Foh Jit questioned why the hike had to happen at this moment in time. “Everything is going up. Spare parts, tyres. Projects for lorries are down, the market is slowing down. This is another burden,” he said.

In return for the toll hike, Jong requested that the government bring down the costs of tyre duties and road taxes for lorry operators. Goh Bok Yen, a transport expert said that for motorists without alternative routes to choose from, the burden is inevitable – those who live near toll gates are even worse off, he said.

Lorry driveshaft 02

Goh further explained that the public would still be required to use the highway as the local public transport system is not a worthy option. He added that the pinch would not be felt as much by those who use the highways for long trips, as compared to those who travel shorter distances. “And even if you pay, you are still facing congestion,” the transport expert stated.

President of the Federation of Malaysian Consumers Association (FOMCA), Datuk N. Marimuthu also questioned the need for a toll rise now, urging that the government needs to justify the reason behind this.

Marimuthu warned that the increase in toll rates could bring about a chain reaction against the prices of goods. “The ringgit is falling, traders are pushing up their prices, and the haze means local producers can’t produce,” he said. With that, the president explained that a commission is urgently needed.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• protonsucks on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:41 am

i still dont get it, why some others still will vote for BN, not like they are getting a cut of the corrupted monies also..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Kerajaan BN sayang anda, toll naik semua salah LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0rrrr on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:18 pm

As I said,
        Proton won’t fall before government fall.
        The government won’t fall before you and me the tax payers fall.
        Understand the food chain?

• Yes, UMNO is on top of the food chain, come join us. We give you a free Proton, ok?

• Nonsense Logic on Oct 13, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Bayar toll = Patriotism.

• politikus on Oct 13, 2015 at 4:56 pm

thats politics, they love the characters so bad..

• I suggest majority of the vehicles owners who commutes not so long distance driving alone in a car to own and ride a bike instead in protest.

Let us not driving at least once a day in a week, say Sunday, to area where we have to pass the toll booth in protest too.

I am piss off big time, but what else could we do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • paanjang16 on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:55 am

If possible, delay buying a new car until prices of toll, petrol etc are more affordable. If the gov sees a huge drop in the sales of new cars and tax collection then they will surely act.

Riding a motorcycle seems to be a better choice now. Was comparing the costs to ride compared to driving a car with my colleagues, it is very much cheaper, even though I’m driving a 20 year old proton wira.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • cendol (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:16 pm

If u delay, I believe you won’t be buying any car in this generation because prices ain’t going to drop

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 11:55 am

Be prepared for another round of price hikes folks!

• Low Budget on Oct 13, 2015 at 3:23 pm

The 1st to naik is teh tarik, roti canai, and mamak mee goreng.

• wiwiwiwiw on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Maybe they should abolish roadtax since I am already paying RM870 for my 2.5-litre car every year.

• Not Logik on Oct 13, 2015 at 12:25 pm

If you can own a 2.5l car, what is the problem when toll hikes??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • cendol (Member) on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:17 pm

Road tax is for government , toll is for road concessionaires , different things.
      So the suggestion is not valid

• The best solution is to kick out Najib and his fellow cronnies from running this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • kemosabe on Oct 13, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Toll increased, price of goods increased.

Fuel price comes down, price of goods maintained.

I wonder when(big when) the RM recovers it’s value, would pricing of goods be affected?

• Toll hikes = increase in prices of goods. I say FTG

• Toll hikes=barang naik. I say FTG

• Robinhood on Oct 13, 2015 at 6:37 pm

No money to pay toll subsidy because RM2.6B already lesap. Plus another RM52B loss, siapa boleh tahan. So, you rakyat better look after yourselves.

• Mek Dee on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:28 pm

satu lagi projek naik harga oleh BN….Syukurlah….

• Satu lagi kejayaan dikecapi…kipidap

• maslan on Oct 14, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Do we buy cars to show off until we had to change it every 5 years or to use it as long as it’s usable?