Gov’t to continue investing in public transport – PM

najib sentral

The government will continue spending to expand the coverage of the public transport network, Bernama reports. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak stated this following a visit yesterday to KL Sentral, where he conducted a walkabout to obtain feedback from public transport users.

“At KL Sentral earlier, public transport users were aware of government efforts to enhance public transport efficiency, but feel there is room for improvement. I welcomed their views and assured them that the government will continue to improve services and expand the network coverage,” he said in Facebook and Twitter posts following the visit.

lrt-depot

In the tabling of the Eleventh Malaysia Plan back in May, Najib announced that public transport was set to be improved on in a big way. These include a number of rail projects in the Klang Valley, primarily the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (KVMRT) system from Sungai Buloh to Kajang and its Line 2 extension connecting Sungai Buloh to Serdang and Putrajaya, the latter set to become operational by 2022.

Additionally, there is also the Light Rail Transit (LRT) Line 3, which connects Bandar Utama to Klang. Construction of the line – which will run over 36 km and have 25 stations – is due to begin next year, with expected completion in 2020.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Go minum kopi with MACC first la . You keep breaking promises , how to trust you Ajib kor?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • BNaik on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:59 am

Already comfirm is from donations and End of story ask somemore? as “new DPM says” take action without warning !!!

Lousy PKTROOPERS… BN still going to win !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • IGP mom on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:26 am

2.6B donation also believe? Teoh Beng Hock because of few hundred also killed at MACC office. People like you think with buntot is killing the country, and your own generations later on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • BNaik on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:51 pm

My generation will only live wealthy… Because we support BN !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
          • Najib promise you lembu right for your kampung?.

• BNaik on Aug 06, 2015 at 5:11 pm

At least we get support… We win that what we count and care !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • BNaik – You can’t even win in the major cities in Malaysia . Just shows how our government have to gain support from kampung boys like you. All give lembu to gain votes.

• Bnaik – Do you even read the news ah. Najib to be summoned by MACC to explain who the source of the money and who are the donors. Guarantee minum kopi already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • jibby on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:41 am

sembang

• fast5 on Aug 06, 2015 at 10:56 am

When look at the photo, I see a normal Rakyat that work hard ever day to earn 2 -3 k a month…

Next to him a “not so normal Rakyat” get donation from do know where gets 2.6 billions “personal account”… and get away from law…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Of course. Malaysia boleh

• normal rakyat pay for transport, food, home, education, tax etc and got <rm1k br1m. not so normal rakyat get everything for free and got 2.6mil donation. same2 la. where got korup

• Bugis warrior power. Not everyone is blessed with that kind of power. Can attract billions of ringgit in donations.

• tinmilo on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:18 am

Government to continue investing in transportation??

The ongoing MRT project is funded by issuing the Danainfra retail sukuk, which in other words is borrowings from the public and not from tax collection. We are still paying tolls for major highways. Our taxis still drive crappy old protons. Port holes and flood are common.

Just what sort of investment are we talking about here? Cost to change signboards because we felt inclined to rename the roads?

• kopiais on Aug 06, 2015 at 11:29 am

then…?

• Dear PM A.K.A head of government,

Isn’t that what you suppose to do as a government?

Why you make that statement contradict with what you said last year? Additional income from fuel subsidy is for public transport development.

Shut your mouth and start working.

• sick&tired on Aug 06, 2015 at 12:19 pm

jibby how la u get people to donate rm2.6 billion without any strings attached whatsoever!? you should be leader of the free world la! with you talents in soliciting bribes, errr sorry i mean ‘donations’, u can end global poverty! jibby boleh!

• tokmoh. on Aug 06, 2015 at 1:47 pm

They ought to rethink sunway brt’s fare. Expensive as hell to charge rm5.60 for a <6km trip.

• Husky on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:21 pm

gov never invest but wasting rakyat money…seriously , which project Gov spent got +ve return? PK? NFC? All profits are channel to cronies even doing well and Gov got nothing..

• siaocom on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:34 pm

They promised to upgrade public transport since the last PM. Nothing special being see so far. Waiting time still a nightmare esp buses. Prasarana kiri masuk, kanan keluar rakyat’s complaint.

• orang kampung on Aug 06, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Pakcik rasa mmg itu lah yang negara patut buat dulu.
    Pengankutan awam (jarak dekat dan jauh)
    Tapi kualiti barangan perlu diambil kira, bukan asal boleh sahaja.
    Harga yang munasabah supaya orang kampung macam pakcik ni boleh menggunakan.
    Disini pakcik nak cadangkn projek keretapi laju tu kalau boleh jgn ambil dari cina ambik dr jepun.

• MALAYSIA GOV aka (JIBBY) invested too much on land and real estate, need something to boost his baby’s growth. Hence infrastructure is a must to make it happen, if still not enough, he will have to cut interest, Release DIBS, Reduce RPGT and etc to make the ball rolling back.