Budget 2016: Pan Borneo Highway – Sarawak section to be completed 2021, Sabah section to kick off in 2016

Pan-Borneo-Highway

Another tidbit shared by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak during the tabling of the Malaysian Budget 2016 (Bajet 2016) is the progress regarding the construction of the toll-free Pan Borneo Highway, which began in September this year.

Firstly, the entire Sarawak section of the highway, stretching 1,090 km from Tanjung Datu in the west to Merapok up north, will be completed by 2021 (two years earlier than previously mooted) at an estimated cost of RM16.1 billion. The latter is some RM1.1 billion higher than the previously reported ceiling budget.

On the Sabah side, construction of the first phase connecting Sindumin to Tawau – a distance of 706 km – will commence next year, with the cost for this section expected to reach RM12.8 billion. As yet, there’s no proposed completion date nor a total estimated cost for the stretch in the northern Borneo state.

Altogether, the entire project will reportedly span a total distance of 2,239 km have a ceiling budget of around RM27 billion, although the federal government is still working to finalise the cost and design of the highway.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ionlaw on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:53 pm

After state election. It will be Sarawak – 2026, Sabah 2021…prior to GE…

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 23, 2015 at 10:22 pm

This is just a gimmick. Highway construction is not a feasible in that kind of terrain. This is just a black hole to suck money for cronies and UMNO. Come 2100, this “highway” will still be “work in progress”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • George Abdul on Oct 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Sarawak people is time to show peninsular umno, you guys had enough of suffering for the 30 years… Time for change !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Sarawak pipu says: keep your Semenanjung politics away from us! Dun come in!

• tunomura on Nov 10, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Pan Borneo highway already there lah dude…this is only an upgrading work from 2 lane to 4 lane with divider at center

• Where is Sabah and sarawak? How to go? Belongs to Malaysia meh, how come i dunno. Omg..

• steven see on Oct 25, 2015 at 11:37 am

This is no doubt a good news that announced by Government. Well done. But is this got anything to do with the car blog, it is sick to see the blog to be so politc, we see many low quality blogger who talk nonsense like the pakcik sam loo. Shame blog traffix already drop tremendously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • telok on Oct 23, 2015 at 7:04 pm

ajib telok mana ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • Borneo on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Pls make sabah and sarawak buy car tax free also

• choha on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:13 pm

sarawak ialah sebuah negara dan sudah tiba masanya semenanjung kembalikan apa yang dirampas kepada negara sarawak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Sarawak telah bersetuju melalui pilihan majoriti untuk bercantum dengan Tanah Melayu menjadi sebuah Persekutuan, ie Malaysia.
      Jikalau anda mempunyai majoriti untuk bercerai, silalah kemukakan pada Yang Dipertua. Terima Kasih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • Ford ranger on Oct 24, 2015 at 6:49 pm

takut hilang sumber mnyak ke????anti trust miskin

• Ford ranger on Oct 24, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Nanti terus miskin semenanjung

• Takde takut. Brani buat brani tanggung. Kalau ada kemampuan, tunjukan lah. Jangan klentong kat sini. Kalau mau merepet lebih baik balik lah ke Mkini,Harakah Rocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
      • Land cruiser on Oct 26, 2015 at 12:43 am

Ape!!!tak takut… baru harga minyak jatuh pun ringgit sdah jatuh teruk mcm indon..klau kami kluar saja…hasil mnyak tiada…mungkin bnkrup smnanjung…

• Any other news on automotive industry?
    Reduced excise tax for example huhuhu

• applegreen on Oct 23, 2015 at 9:46 pm

1,000km highway and no toll plaza. This is Sarawak, Negeri Talian Hayat BN

• Tips: HSL, NAIM, ZECON, SCIB… you know what i mean. Deepawali ANGPAU for you.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 23, 2015 at 11:51 pm

Every year in budget we see so many things to be kicked off.
    Most no news after the announcement.
    Those were started, eventually delayed, delayed and delayed.
    Everytime burst budget.
    Who pay the bill? You and me lar.

• steven see on Oct 25, 2015 at 11:44 am

As a sales man, how much tax you paid? Yout 25 yrs old son school fee also free during primary and secondary school lah pakcik. It worth more than your tax paid. Somemore you said you got 4 Lexus at home, why you so worry if hahahaha you are so so so rich?

• by 2017, they already spend all the money for airplane, handbag and cincin. after they lost in next GE, they blame new government why not complete the project. genious plan hihi

• Bodo.. better just use that money to subsidize our airfare ticket!!

Every 5million Sabahan and Sarawakian should entitled for RM200.00/year subsidy for flight within state, RM30billion is enough for 30 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Hilux 3.0 f55 Ecushop on Oct 24, 2015 at 3:03 pm

the highway quality will like Brunei highway or not, which can speed up to 190kmh for pick up like hilux dmax to Miri drag.. If lobang, susah bah kena exhaust calar

• Hiway not for speeding! Please keep safe and stick to the law!

• greentechie on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:06 am

Gimmick! Building on exiting route with standard equivalent to expressway and you call that a highway? We Sabah & Sarawak people has been taken for a ride then.