MoU for construction of Sarawak portion of Pan Borneo Highway signed, work begins in September

PTJ15_300615_PAN_BORNEO

A memorandum of understanding (MoU) has been signed for the construction of the Sarawak segment of the Pan Borneo Highway. Said memorandum was signed by the secretary-general of the Ministry of Works (KKR), Datuk Seri Zohari Akob, Sarawak state secretary, Tan Sri Mohamad Morshidi Abdul Ghani, and Lebuhraya Borneo Utara Sdn Bhd (LBU) chairman, Tan Sri Abang Ahmad Urai Hakim Abang Mohideen.

The latter is a newly-established company has been appointed as the Project Delivery Partner (PDP) and will be responsible for the supervising and managing construction works regarding the toll-free, 1,090 km-long stretch of the Pan Borneo Sarawak Highway. LBU will now be the sole point of accountability for the implementation of said stretch and will be responsible for completing it at a reasonable cost and period.

With the signing of said MoU, work on the first phase of the Pan Borneo Sarawak Highway – a stretch spanning 773 km – is expected to commence in September, according to a report by Bernama citing Works Minister, Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof. Construction will begin with a 33 km-long stretch from Teluk Melano to Sematan, Sarawak – a single carriageway will link up towns and villages in said district.

latar-highway

The overall project has been tagged with a ceiling budget of RM27 billion. With that said, the federal government is still working to finalise the cost and design of the highway, according to Fadillah. “We are still waiting for the results of the final survey on the design of the highway as well as the cost,” he said. Upon confirmation, contractors will be appointed to undertake the project.

A PDP concept allows the Ministry of Finance to provide the necessary funding through Infra Fund – a similar concept was utilised for the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) project. Appointed firms, like LBU, will then receive a fee based on hitting the achievements on the agreed Key Performance Index (KPI).

As for the rest of the Sarawak portion of the Pan Borneo Highway, connections between Tanjung Datu to Miri as well as Tedungan to Merapok are expected to be completed by mid-2023. When finished, the entire network is expected to span a total distance of 2,239 km.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• U guys got no other highway pic to show? Showing tis highway and flyover construction which is not relevant to pan borneo highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • think on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:46 pm

i gave you why:
      “With the signing of said MoU, work on the first phase of the Pan Borneo Sarawak Highway – a stretch spanning 773 km – is expected to commence in September”
      and date today 1 July 2015

• Sarawakian on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:49 pm

I think the reason BS is angry with the picture is because Pan Borneo Sarawak Highway is not going to have flyover exit like that. Come to Sarawak and you will understand what I mean. Hope it clarifies.

• Tq.
          ppl in peninsular always say we live on d tree..
          who’s the katak bawah tempurung?
          Joke on u who commented without knowing Wat borneo ppl suffer

• nobody in peninsular said u guys live on tree.. come on la, now 2015 oledi..

• Lpost on Jul 01, 2015 at 5:48 pm

well.. i come from peninsular. never thought of that sarawakian live on tree. Only stupid ppl will think like that.

• U try look back in some of the paultan articles. As long as mentionING about highway construction that pic come out. The previous 1 if I’m not mistaken is somewhere last wk or d wk b4.. the road mentioned was not in sarawak n they use the same pic.
        if wanna post anythg about borneo highway, get some initiative to fly over. Get some real picture. DON’T MISLEAD PPL INTO THINKING SWK HIGHWAY IS TAT NICE. IT NEVER WAS AND IT WILL NOT B.

• Its just a generic file pic that PT team uses. Dun have to get ur panties in a knot.

If u ask them to use a pic of the road w/o highway, then its meaningless cuz the articles mention about HIGHWAY which dis pic is an example.

• Then Don bother to post the pic of highway.
            How many ppl would hv believed what they hv been shown?

• Reply @BS. Then PT would be a very boring blog if dey r not use file pics, since quite a number of articles have no direct relation to the article, no?

• KACIMARA on Jul 01, 2015 at 1:08 pm

I hope with this project it can boost our economy.

• Cronie punya project. 100%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Holofanboi on Jul 01, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Calling Obviously and Sudonano to illegally bypass 200kmh on this highway on the very first night it is completed and opened :p

• albag on Jul 01, 2015 at 3:18 pm

build also salah, tak build also salah.. kecian bn

• Do u know how many yrs since they very 1st proposed/mentioned regarding tis project?
      U have nice highway in the peninsular. How will u know Wat we have been going thru?
      Kesian bn buat apa? Kesian org sabah swk.

• Single carriageway? Did I read that right? At the rate population is growing, they should at least consider a dual carriageway at the very least to better future proof. I give it 5 years after completion to be totally congested…..

than privateer will suggest an elevated highway with a tolled route that runs alongside this road with 4 wide lanes.. more greenery gets cut down..the cycle goes on and on…