2017 Honda Civic to get new 1.0 and 1.5 VTEC Turbo

civic-inline-1

Honda Europe has just confirmed that the 10th-generation Civic will be the first in its range to feature the company’s all-new 1.0 and 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engines. The two new engines, part of Honda’s Earth Dreams Technology range, will join the existing 2.0 VTEC Turbo engine that’s already doing service in the current Civic Type R.

The European Honda Civic will feature the two new downsized turbo petrol engines (first announced in 2013) when it’s launched in early 2017. Both are claimed to offer a combination of “dynamic performance, class-leading output and excellent fuel economy.”

A 1.5 litre turbo engine was recently introduced for the US-market 2016 Civic (pictured above), featuring dual Variable Valve Timing Control (VTC), but not Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control (VTEC).

The new engines will be based on a completely new structure and features variable valve timing, along with direct injection. Both engines also receive a newly developed turbocharging system with a low moment of inertia and high responsiveness, which Honda says achieves a good balance of power output above that of conventional naturally-aspirated engines.

Honda 1.0 (left) and 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engines.

Honda’s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo unit is already available in Japan, on both the Jade RS and StepWGN. In the MPV models, said engine delivers 148 hp 203 Nm of torque, compared to the USDM Civic 1.5 turbo’s 174 hp and 220 Nm.

UPDATE: We’ve been told that the JDM, USDM and Euro-market 1.5 litre turbo engines all go without VTEC, which is featured on the smaller 1.0 litre unit. In Japan and Europe, however, the 1.5 litre engine will carry the VTEC Turbo badge, but not in the US.

It’s known that the tenth-generation Civic will be a global model, with the same platform marketed across the globe (as opposed to unique models for Europe and the rest of the world). So far, the sedan has been unveiled for the US market, and we already have a good idea how the Europe-bound five-door hatchback version will look like.

Little is known of the Malaysian model as of yet. While it almost certainly will be a sedan, whether it will mirror the US Civic’s 2.0 i-VTEC and 1.5 litre turbo options, or the European 1.0 and 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo units (or something else altogether), well, your guess is as good as ours at the moment.

US-market 2016 Honda Civic

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• carlies on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:35 pm

The 1.0L turbo really makes me laugh. And the 1.5 turbo…….. it’s a joke as well. So sorry Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 107
    • Honda is Joker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
      • karam singh on Oct 27, 2015 at 12:47 am

FYI, Honda a legend of making low-displacement engine with high amount of output.
        Highest HP out of NA engine 250ps-The F20c(from S2000)
        Even BMW latest 320i 2.0 turbo making only 186ps.

If size matters, go get the American Muscle 1st Viper 8.0litre v10 engine. only 400hp produced.
        ++ ratio 1litre:50hp
        ++ Honda F20c 1litre:125hp
        imagine honda engine with 8litre, its gonna be 1000hp ;P

some calculation also for the new Honda 1.5l turbo,
        174hp. if 1 litre its gonna produce about 116hp.
        Roadtax only RM20.

1.5l turbo by honda produce same power as the 2.4litre NA, size matters?
        yeah,smaller size matters when the smaller engine smokes bigger engine while being economical both on fuel & tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
        • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:53 am

Government of Malaysia will never allow the 1.0 and 1.5 to come in. This is because, our car tax structure despite high, is also very dependent on the displacement ie CC size of a car.

For example, if they bring the Civic 1.5 in, the tax will be lower and Honda Malaysia will have to sell the Civic for RM80k. So, they will purposely bring in the 2.0 to con Malaysians

But how to do this? Nobody will buy Perdana then. Proton needs tongkat and be protected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
          • DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:22 am

Road tax is dependent on the engine capacity, but not the sales tax and other duties. Those are dependent on the declared price of the car itself. Jetta, Golf, Tiguan have 1.4TSI engines and Peugeot has 1.6THP engines. You don’t see them being sold cheaper than local cars, do you? Ranger Wilders has a 3.2 liter engine.. still cheaper than a Peugeot 5008 with a 1.6 liter engine or a Passat with a 1.8 liter engine

• OMG…Open minded a bit bro…For example: VW cars with 1.2TSI or 1.4Tsi also can sell here. WHy not Honda?

• sorry bro, bmw 328i is 2.0 turbo too, with 245hp and 350nm torque..but its turbo while honda f20c is NA..

• a bmw 316i is a 3 series wt a 1.6 liter turbo engine. no issues of it being underpowered wt a 220nm of torque ariving from a low 1,500rpm. infact, the torque is stronger than a 2.0 liter NA engine which only churned 190-200nm at a sky high 4,000+ + rpm,evena 2.4liter NA engine only churned out its 220-250nm from a sky high 4,000++rpm

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:32 pm

I agree your point Honda making high horsepower output for their NA car for S2000 about 250hp. But your comparison with BMW 320i turbo is not exact because S2000 engine is NA whereby BMW is now in turbo. Somemore the BMW 328i is also 2.0litre turbo but output amount is 245hp.

Engine downsizing is a trend in global now and to compensate the small litre capacity most automaker apply turbo. Turbo is mean to save fuel for initial purpose when turbo invented but it was kind of “misused” in automotive industry where turbo applied to generate higher output for sport car in the past and it is actually thirsty of fuel.

Turbo is good in torque and it is not means of high rpm. With lower rpm and higher output (torque), it will achieve better fuel consumption as we press lighter the gas pedal to move the car.

• Man’s mindset…size matters =.=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • shinn on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:55 pm

1.5 that produce 174bhp i’d happily take that… save my money on fuel and roadtax bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • judging by your logic… the bigger joke would be ford and their mondeo/fusion powered by the 1.0 ecoboost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • I agree with zoe. please go look up on the ford ecoboost with 1.0 liter turbo charged engine. i guarantee you will slap yourself.

• Runway on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:05 am

Never owned or driven a turbo charged car before huh?

• BMW i8 also uses a 1.5 litre engine. This made you laugh too?

• winwin on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:49 am

Volkswagen taught us that small displacement turbo engines are not to be scoffed at. 1.5L Turbo is definitely not a joke.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Knowing how Toyota and Honda cars that make it to Malaysia often have crappier specs than their foreign brethren, I won’t be surprised if they’re somehow still equipped with 1.8-liter and 2-liter SOHC i-VTEC engines and 5-speed auto gearboxes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • Wiwiwiwiwiw on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:01 pm

I agree, I won’t be surprised if Honda Malaysia will retain the old but proven current 1.8 and 2.0 naturally aspirated engines. We will know when Honda finalizes its Thai Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • karam singh on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:03 am

Honda not the same as Toyota, that are still using 4speeder.
        For starters, Honda started using new CVT transmission
        with torque converter. Less jerky than normal auto and fuel saving, compare to ‘T’ 4speeders.

I believe Honda gonna bring the new Turbo engine here in Malaysia, also the earth dream technology (direct injection).

BTW where the Toyota,Nissan,Mitsu,Kia,Hyundai ? no Turbo engine for conventional cars ? no news at all. Still developing?
        even Proton already have 1.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:25 am

Nissan, Kia and hyundai have turbocharged cars but they’re not sold here

• yup, hyundai even have a turbo engine here in msia in the form of hyundai santa fe 2.2 liter turbodiesel. A stonking engine producing 190hp & churning out 440nm of huge torque from below 2,000rpm.

• autodriver (Member) on Oct 28, 2015 at 8:45 am

Hyundai Malaysia already had Veloster turbo 1.6 litre T-GDi (turbocharged gasoline direct injection) with 186 PS and 265 Nm with 7-speed dual clutch transmission.

Overseas market Kia K5 is having 2.0 turbo (direct injection) version which produce 274hp.

• OMG…Hope the Honda Malaysia can prove you wrong by intro the 1.5 Vtec turbo here…

• policeman on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Direct competition to A4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • agent2killa on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:41 pm

I wonder if the 1.0 vtec turbo has equivalent output as the Ford Ecoboost or more. That would be interesting

• I have more trust in Honda than in Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • 1point0 on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:55 pm

even Ford had win their best engine for a few years, but it is always late than never for Honda to follow step. that’s something great for the downsize, better emission/FC/weight etc, while not compromising too much power of it!

• Now still 2015

• 2017 EU, for njis land, most probably happen in 2020 and equip with 5 speeder dinasour tranny…

• okcool on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Still prefer the more responsive NA engines. Hope that Malaysian get the 2.0 variant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • A Civic engine is a typical cheap crap engine with SOHC. NA response is not enough to compensate for no torque.

• namanama on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:13 am

Not really true,1.8l R18 sohc do have plenty amount of torque (i must say better than 2.0l in low rpm) which is for better fuel consumption.

• namanama on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:15 am

And of course low displacement+turbo with correct amount of torque is better than NA sohc

• Nodame-chan on Oct 27, 2015 at 4:20 am

Those full LED headlamp probably a 7-10k option…just like Audi…

• Farhan on Oct 27, 2015 at 7:31 am

Costing RM65K in Australasia continent, North Asia,North America continent and Europe in fact costing less than RM80K in 90% of the world’s countries but comes to Dr M Proton land becomes starting RM120K with 2 airbags. Thanks to you Dr M and your Proton we pay for this kind of car prices. Najib I support you and BN if you can close down Proton and reduce car prices by 30-50% before the next GE. We had enuf of the stupid Proton blocking the roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • kazanixm on Oct 27, 2015 at 7:53 am

IMO, i think those company that hold these brands Honda (DRB-Hicom), Toyota (UMW), Nissan (ETCM) are those responsible for the markup prices.

• 3 CYLINDER SUCKS ! on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:47 am

Please leave the 3 cylinders in K-cars for good. 4 cylinder 1.5 Turbo is good, but not the 3 cylinder 1 litre engine. 3 cylinders will always have those engine vibration like the Fiesta Ecoboost. 90k car but vibrates like a Kenari. WTH.

• putra_rider on Oct 27, 2015 at 9:00 am

Is anybody would say it will be underpower?

• Seems the america’s 1.5 turbo VTS is producing more hp and torque than the current 1.5 turbo VTEC..if we are getting the VTEC turbo i hope honda will tune it to produce more hp and torque comparable with the VTS..if not a lot of honda fans will be disappointed..

• Kancil Hybrid on Oct 27, 2015 at 9:16 am

Habis la Suprima S kena tapau.. =p

• haiz..they do NA also tak kena, now do turbo also tak kena? even satisfying a woman in bed is easier than this

• JustDUIT on Oct 27, 2015 at 10:21 am

Smaller displacement, cheaper tax..

• sepul on Oct 27, 2015 at 10:25 am

What is the exact difference between VTC and VTEC, anyway? Apart from the acronyms of course.

• The sticky stiq on Oct 27, 2015 at 11:41 am

Now the million dollar question is when is it available in Malaysia?

• if these engines are included in new lineups by Honda Thailand then there’s a good chance it will be sold here too..

• pearjai on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Our fuel (petrol) not suitable for direct injuction lor ! Even honda still not release their dtc(etc jdm jazz)…still soch ….pebarang single cam !….honda malaysia still with their 15 year old tech but refined these engine tech with better transmision n safety…honda malaysia ! Pls bring dtc first ! While toyota n perodua(next myvi) use dual vvti…..