Great Wall Motors Malaysia to launch Haval H2 in 2016

haval-h2

There’s going to be another new kid on the SUV block next year – Great Wall Motors Malaysia will be looking to launch its Haval H2 SUV sometime in 2016. The C-segment SUV will, when introduced in Malaysia, go up against the likes of the Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage, Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5.

Not exactly the easiest of segments to compete in, then. Now while it’s common to assume that Chinese vehicles will sell based on its (low) entry price alone, don’t go thinking that the Haval H2 will be a sparsely-equipped SUV with shoddy built quality and absolutely deplorable driving dynamics. Credit where credit is due, there is a certain degree in improvement to the way modern Chinese cars are built these days.

In terms of specifications, the Haval H2 looks to be quite well-armed as it is due to arrive in range-topping Dignity trim here. Beginning with the exterior, the H2 is equipped with automatic halogen headlamps with DRL and wipers, a sunroof, 18-inch wheels wrapped in 235/55 tyres and dual exhaust outlets.

haval-h2-10

The Haval H2 is set to arrive powered by a turbocharged 1.5 litre 4G15B four-cylinder engine with a total of 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of torque between 2,200 to 4,500 rpm. The Malaysian-bound units are said to be solely equipped with a six-speed automatic transmission with drive going to the front wheels only. Independent suspension is to be found at all corners – a MacPherson setup in front.

Inside, leather seats are to be found with a six-way powered adjustable driver’s seat (with lumbar support) and a four-way manually-adjustable front passenger seat. Additionally, the front seats are equipped with active headrests for improved neck safety in a collision. Elsewhere, a multifunction leather-wrapped steering wheel is equipped as standard along with a touchscreen infotainment system.

haval-h2-8

Also, a 3.5-inch TFT display resides within the instrument cluster. Other goodies include a 12V power outlet, keyless entry system with a push-start button, cruise control and brightness-adjustable gauges. Additional driver conveniences include a reverse camera, anti-glare rear view mirror and four powered windows.

Safety features include dual front, side and curtain airbags, three-point rear middle seatbelt, ESP, tyre pressure monitoring system and a blind spot warning system amongst others. Quite the spec sheet, as one can see. From the looks of it, the Haval H2 could present itself as a proper contender in the C-segment SUV genre in time to come. Watch this space.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• thepolygonal on Nov 11, 2015 at 10:04 am

I guess it all depends on the price nowadays. What will happen if it’s priced like a Vios / City… hmmm…

• I will buy as long as cheap and reasonably good. Price matters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 11, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Haval M4 SUV is price lower than Vios and City..between RM49-65k..The AMT even has ESC start from RM54k..I do think they can sell it in the region of RM70-90k..

• xxxxxxx on Nov 11, 2015 at 10:11 am

How much? Above 90k no one will buy

• sewell on Nov 11, 2015 at 11:50 am

Car already arrived at Glenmarie showroom this morning. 3 color avaliable. 2tone color

• shawal on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:05 pm

mmmmm……

if attractively priced, it’ll be everywhere…..

i think driven communications shud make a deal with these folks to get a long term tester, ” Are we ready for china branded cars ? ”

If they are confident of their product’s reliability , then they would lend one….

but in all honesty , stay away from china branded cars, freaking unreliable…

if you and your family are not well-versed in car maintenance , stick to japanese

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
  • Front : Audi Q5 headlight + Innova front grill
    Rear : Peugeot 2008-ish

• powershot (Member) on Nov 11, 2015 at 12:22 pm

not just the price. If you have to wait at least one year to get the car; then is a no go

• Front end : Audi Q5 headlight + Toyota Innova front grill.
    Rear end : Peugeot 2008-ish.

• 1810mm wide,2540 wheelbase,1.5 turbo 150ps,220nm torque,but the weight 1490 kg for manual variant,century sprint 12.5 second….versus same segment hrv 1230kg,is over weight…hrv managed to get 9.5 second century sprint with cvt,the best choice stil hrv…

• kanazai2001 on Nov 11, 2015 at 1:59 pm

WHAT?! no MT again?!
    somemore not AWD?!
    what happen 2 local car market…?!

• kalau boleh maintain spec mcm atas ni. byk kan lg SC. harga make sure below RM85K. 70K-80K pricing yg terbaik. Why not kalau i mampu?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 11, 2015 at 2:22 pm

CRV & CX5 priced for this H2? Good luck to Great Wall.

• harold on Nov 11, 2015 at 2:23 pm

old mitsu engine?

as long as it is not underpowered

• old dog on Nov 11, 2015 at 2:28 pm

not only fell behind Korea, now China also picked up the sale over Protong…

Havent we understand if building a car for only malaysian market due to cronies monopolize will not bring any productivity good for the country and the rakyat?

And we still argue on that after all these years? Its only cronies supplier win, and Protong will not be competitive at all! (only all those rules to help)

• Aero (Member) on Nov 11, 2015 at 3:57 pm

This is one of GWM’s better cars, but it’s quite expensive for a Chinese-badged car. No doubt, it’s excellent value for money considering what you get, but unfortunately, the world is not yet ready for expensive Chinese cars. The strongest selling point for most Chinese cars is still low pricing, and it will stay that way for quite some time. Why ? Because even today, expensive Korean cars still struggle in most world markets, and we know how hard the Koreans have been trying.

But that shouldn’t mean GWM should give up. If anything, they should continue doing what they do and let their products speak for themselves. You could build a great product in a few years (i.e., Tesla Motors, Qoros), but it will still take a few decades to establish your product as a household name. I am not talking about badge snobbery or anything, it’s just a matter of whether or not people trust your products, and trust takes time to build up, and no time at all to break down.

I still look forward to more Great Walls here. Even if they don’t sell, it’s good to have more competition.

P.S Wait a sec, 4G15B ? Is that the same Mitsubishi 4G15 from our 1980s Proton Saga/ Iswara ? What does the ‘B’ stand for ? I’m guessing… probably the turbo… The UK-spec Proton MPI and Proton CARES had fuel injection, but no turbo. I’m aware that Mitsubishi sells engines to MANY Chinese car companies, but surely it can’t be the same 4G15 ? o.O

• Paul Tan on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:23 am

There was a turbo 4G15 used in Mitsubishi Colt Ralliart and Brabus Smart forfour. However no idea as of now if it’s related to the engine in this car.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:23 am

Its basically the same engine as M4 with lower compression & turbo specs internally. However instead of AMT in M4, the H2 uses ZF 6 speed auto gearbox.

• Aero (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:20 pm

@Paul : I see, thanks Paul ! I didn’t even know that Brabus used a 4G15 turbo previously… very interesting info. Hopefully, GoAuto will clarify the ambiguity during the launch…

@Middle Age Driver : Is it ? You could be right, because the M4 engine is supposed to be China/ Euro IV compliant, and on the haval-global website, it states that this 4G15B is Euro V/ V+ compliant… the original 4G15 with fuel injection was only Euro I or II if I’m not mistaken. It could be that this 4G15B is heavily modified, or it could be unrelated… we’ll see. :]

• Great Scott on Nov 11, 2015 at 4:35 pm

I can’t imagine driving a wall around would be that dynamically pleasing!

• Sammy Loo on Nov 11, 2015 at 6:23 pm

I have to admit that even kimchi is better than this dimsum. Sadly the RAV4 did not make it to Malaysian market, best option is still the CR-V or CX-5 in this segment.

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

• For a start change the name from Great Wall to something else less cheapo sound lol

• Rotten G Orange on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:50 pm

they launch next year 2016 but expect the buyer can only get the car in 2017. They will keep delay and delay the delivery of the car and all potential buyers will run away, like what they did for M4. Shame on rotten Green Orange!!!

• Sama Lobang on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Nothing much to complain for my M4 after owned it for almost 1 year now except the loud engine. Overall good enough for daily use. But the marketing strategy and planning by GO was truly sucks. If not they can double their M4 sales by now. Doubt the H2 popularity if they never improve!

• Ootai on Nov 13, 2015 at 4:26 pm

Use this H2/M4 for klang valley rides. For outstation use, stick to the japs/other usual suspects.

• stevy on Dec 13, 2015 at 10:39 am

Very sad to Malaysian mindset. Still think China products should be cheap and some more demand Honda quality.

• carol on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:12 am

when H2 will launge in malaysia? that day i go show room in clenmarie dint c any H2 in show room
    and how much is the price?

• this vehicle this price. Price close to HRV. Only for stupid buyers.
    2nd value like sh*t.

• Smart Person on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:10 am

I went and saw the H2 unit already at Glenmarie. I have to say the specs is close to Tucson premium, Xtrail premium spec but with a wayyyyy lower price. I dont prefer Japanese and Korean cars now as they are overpriced and exaggerated. (not to mention the Honda issue) For a small budget-guy like me, I find this unit very worthy and comforting for my family ( seat with lumbar support and 4 power windows). I really like the seats. I tried sitting in CX-5, ASX, Tucson, Santa Fe trust me, H2 by far has the best seats!

Yes, the resale value is not going to be as high as CX-5, but hey, why would we even have to sell the car if we enjoy driving it, right? Unless there is major prob with the car or im upgrading then that’s diff thing. I really hope there wont be any major issues from the 13th time consecutive Best SUV brand in China.