Fugu Z, meet Sung Kang’s Datsun 240 Z restomod

Sung_Kang_Fugu_Z_1

This is definitely not one for the purists, but it certainly deserves recognition. Remember the character “Han” from the Fast and Furious franchise? Well, it turns out the American actor that plays him, Sung Kang, is a pretty big car guy off the silver screen as well. For this year’s SEMA Show, he teamed up with GReddy, Tra-Kyoto and HiTech to create this masterpiece, the Fugu Z.

The project car chosen was a 1973 Datsun 240 Z, which Sung Kang purchased from a seller that had it garaged for 15 years, although it was still in good running condition and more importantly, rust-free. From there, the restomod kicked off with the Datsun being stripped of its brown paint along with everything else, right down to the frame, and sandblasted.

Sung Kang and his team had planned to build a car that can be used as a daily driver and a track car as well. As such, the car’s chassis received its share of upgrades including McKinney aftermarket frame rails and Techno Toy Tuning adjustable coilover suspension. The team even installed a six-point GReddy roll cage for safety purposes during track days.

For the exterior, Tra-Kyoto and its designer Kei Miura supplied a bespoke Rocket Bunny body kit that gives the 240 Z its widebody stance. The car is then painted with original 904 White Paint Code from Datsun and fitted with Volks Racing TE37 SL alloy wheels wrapped in Nitto Tires. Step inside and you’ll find a minimal, race-inspired interior complete with racing harnesses.

Under the hood is another masterpiece in the form of a Nissan 2.6 litre RB26DE naturally-aspirated inline six-cylinder engine. The powerplant receives some modifications from GReddy although no power figures were disclosed. In its stock form, the engine is rated at 217 hp/245 Nm. However, according to GReddy, the engine’s rev limit is stated to be around the 12,000 rpm mark although it will be governed to 10,000 rpm for reliability reasons.

As impressive as the Fugu Z is, it is the build process which amazes even more. With only 65 days till the SEMA Show, the team had to rush to ensure it managed to meet the deadline. All the hard work finally paid off as the car was named “Best Import” at SEMA, and even selected by Kazunori Yamauchi as the “Best in Show” for the annual Gran Turismo Awards (the car will feature in the upcoming Gran Turismo Sport video game).

If you’re curious why Sung Kang nicknamed the car the Fugu Z, the first part of the name “Fugu” refers to a poisonous blowfish. As a Japanese delicacy, the blowfish must be prepared very carefully to ensure that all traces of the fish’s poison is removed before consumption. This is also a warning that if one does not prepare a racecar carefully, it can kill you.

The Fugu Z’s build is documented in a four-part YouTube video series that you can watch below. What do you think of the Fugu Z? A wonderful interpretation of a restomod or something sacrilegious? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I’m having a rough day at work. Seeing this lovely lady made my day a whole lot better.

:D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrrr on Nov 17, 2015 at 4:33 pm

See! That’s why i said you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Look on how sexy a 70s Datsun could be. Try the same on 1982 Saga? hahaha… don’t be naive lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • Henry Ford The XII on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:26 pm

1982 Saga would be Mitsu Lancer Fiore as the Saga only came into production in 1985, if I am not mistaken.

• hey..mybe we can..this is bolehland btw..lol..destroy the saga make something..without the tiger batch.. :)

• Fugroton on Nov 17, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Proton? Why not. I look at Satria GTi as legendary. Someday in the future someone will be willing to pay big money tonpreserve this legend. It might be me :)

• A 1982 saga oso got sushi blood lah bodoh.

• Same L0rrrr on Nov 18, 2015 at 11:28 am

There is difference between Japanese made and Malaysian made. Same like comparing Sushiking to Tokyo sushi house. I am sorry you never been to Tokyo and try real sushi, coz all your money spent on garage and fuel for your awesome Proton.

• singleword on Nov 17, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Beautiful

• Next wangan midnight motion picture installment, this guy should be that Jun Kitami (Tuner from hell)

• i thought Han was dead…anddd…….he is alive and building datsun

• I didn’t watch the videos, but from the pics, seems like the car is not totally complete. Looks like missing the front grill (cooling issues?), and a bit of highlighting paint would help.

I still prefer a minimalist approach though.

• choha on Nov 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm

don’t follow your brother Paul’s step.
    speed kills!
    stop wasting time on this meaningless endeavor

• superdriver on Nov 17, 2015 at 9:38 pm

the dude always look good in a fast car. Good to see paultan back to cars again

• Devil z rival. Should be in the Wangan Midnight manga.