KTM Komuter – no more student fare concessions

There’s dissatisfaction over KTM’s removal of fare concessions for children aged seven and above on its Komuter service, which isn’t surprising as it comes so soon after the general price increase.

Those aged seven and above will now pay the full adult fare, which also means that the previous discounted price for school and college students has been abolished. Before this, those in school uniforms and tertiary students with identification could purchase tickets that were nearly half the published rates.

KTM raised fares from 11 sen to 15 sen per km on December 2. Commuters will now have to fork out up to RM7.10 more for tickets, but KTM claims the new fare structure is favourable to those who use the service for longer distances. The rail operator also said that its service was on time for 97% of the time and safer than riding motorcycles.

The company said that the move to raise Komuter prices would not increase profits but rather lessen the losses that the service is incurring. Its president Lt Col (Rtd) Sarbini Tijan said KTM is expected to make losses of RM55 million this year despite the fare increase, the first such revision since February 2003.

KTM Komuter six-month reroute

Sarbini added that the firm had requested RM200 million this year to cover the funding gap for all its operations, and the government had only allocated RM60 million. As such, the fare hike is anticipated to reduce the funding gap for its Komuter service component from RM150 million to around RM106 million.

Separately, KTM has announced a reroute of the Komuter service to facilitate infrastructure upgrade and track rehabilitation work, a six-month trial that starts on December 15.

The train from Tanjung Malim (and Rawang), which previously went all the way to Sungai Gadut (and Seremban) will now end at Port Klang. The train from Batu Caves, which formerly went to Port Klang, will now terminate at Gemas (via Seremban). One can change trains at the usual four downtown KL stations – Putra, Bank Negara, Kuala Lumpur and KL Sentral.

Click here for the new KTM Komuter fare structure, in detail.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bodoh….give la 25% off if cannot give 50%. Dont just take the discount away completely

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 0
    • that what we call as ‘bodoh melantun-lantun’ by our gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • Otak Udang Otak Kosong on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Really bodoh. Can ask for different trolleys in supermarkets and all that but when people or government treat you like dog, all say, syukur Malaysia aman dan damai dan Semua OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • People here are silly. No discount okeylah. Why make so much of noise? Work harder. Ask your fat kids to eat less now. they eat too much. Topkek. Just like Dear Leader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:48 pm

Why is toll and transport getting higher and higher? Very simple. It is because of Songlapping. The songlapping has gotten so bad, even school kids now not given discount.

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM84 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given a Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

now, even anak yatim also, duit kena songlap. If anak yatim duit can songlap, no way will they bother about kanak kanak sekolah getting discounts in KTM.

This is why we get higher tolls every year and transport going hgher and higher. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get lower tolls and lower transport charges.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
      • KTM Main Problem on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:15 pm

KTM is like MAS and the Malaysian Government. Both got bloated staff. Just give jobs because of the sake of brotherhood. That is why they are losing money.

Just like MAs, 10 people do 1 person work.

Just like our Government Servants. 1.5 Government Servants to serve 30 million Malaysians. Australia has 250,000 Government servants serving 30 Million Australians.

Our Civil Service also bloated. Filled with lazy people given free jobs. Like MAS and like KTM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • KTM - Kereta Tahi Malaysia on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Stupid company, can make halal trains and all that but don’t know how to help our poor students.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • That showed how stupid and lazy of the KTM management. They don’t really look into how to operate more cost effective but just directly pass the lost to user. Same thing happen on our beloved government as well!!!

• Thank you gomen. Thank you so much.
    You have done it again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • badman on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:22 pm

So wheres the dumb idiot MPs and the people who stated “increasing of toll and fuel price” is to make rakyat use more public transport?? where? where?
    seriously, i m considering next plan to roam / get into KL using public, but with this case..i ll definitely use my car instead!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Now people will avoid using public transport… Thank you Governmnet

• Wahai Orang Orang Red Shirt on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Hello Red Shirt and Silat Warriors, kerajaan anda, hukum anda puas puas. Masih lagi nak undi BN ke?

Ingat, musuh anda bukan kaum lain, tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri.

Tahun ini, kerajaan Malaysia akan untung tax paling tinggi sejarah Malaysia 50 tahun.

Dari GST sahaja, Kerajaan sudah pungut RM50 billion dalam 6 bulan. Itu GST sahaja. Belum kira income tax, corporate tax, eksais and duty, investments by EPF, Khazanah, PNB etc etc.

Tahun ini, kerajaan Malaysia akan untung beratus billion lebih berbanding tahun sebelum ini.

Tapi, kerajaan masih nak hantam orang bangsa dia sendiri! Anak pergi sekolah pun tak nak bagi diskaun.

Masih nak menari silat ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
  • Gargantia on Dec 10, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Where’s BN supporters and Red ‘dignity’??? Hiding again? Come and support your AP cronies !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:51 pm

How come they are not doing their silat dance? Bodoh betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • matte chai on Dec 10, 2015 at 3:53 pm

here i am…eh, why just now i paid extra for my KTM’s fare? duhh

• Boooo!!

• now what the minister who said “enough is enough” gonna say about this.

• Stupid move by KTM. They shud have kept normal rate for adults and 1 for students, elderly, OKU, & poor pipu card holders.

• azzrie on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Me, from Segambut to Bank Negara increased 110% from RM1 to RM2,10 for 4km route.This is gila.

• mason- on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Habislah rakyat malaysia di atas tangan si najis…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • ae101 on Dec 10, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Lost 55mil this yr? You know why? Because your service cam bangsat always late due to breakdown. Kasi lah improve dulu then we talk money. I bet there will be lesser cust after price increased.

• I’m wondering will BN win even a single vote in the next GE with all these hikes in living cost of Malaysian?

• WaJib on Dec 10, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Nak undi tapi dapat BR1M sudah lupa balik… Thats why miskin for 4 tahun kemudian

• ‘Thank you’ BN. We will never forget this…

• This is SO WRONG!!! You cut funding to the universities this year and now this?

• Jobless on Dec 10, 2015 at 3:35 pm

In Malaysia most CEOs who failed to reduce cost and make profits during economy slowdown just push the extra cost to consumers…easy way out..after tat get promotion

• Rusmah on Dec 10, 2015 at 3:42 pm

BN=Barang Naik,
    Support BN, Support Barang Naik.
    Redshirt ppl wont worry about price hike.
    They got Red Ang pow from Barang Naik.

It’s so simple, gangster only look at money!
    Who got money, who is the boss.

It’s on your hands.

• annoy_namous on Dec 10, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Just curios, is the person who comment in this column is taking commuter or cars ? Sounds like all are driving the cars but complaining like taking the commuter daily…
    Come on man… Be honest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Come on man…we fight for our brothers.we living in society.1malaysia rite?dont be selfish

• Vjayan on Dec 11, 2015 at 1:13 am

KTMB however extended the 50 per cent discount for fares to include Primary,Secondary and Higher Education Institution students.
    The 50 per cent discount for special needs passengers and senior citizens is retained.
    -quoted from free Malaysia today-
    Please update the article accordingly..

• anothercommenter on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:33 am

The headline is slightly misleading, concessions are still there for students, the only thing now is that children fare are now considered from 7 onwards.

From the official site:

Diskaun 50% ke atas jumlah tambang penuh yang
    dibayar secara tunai untuk kanak-kanak berumur 2
    tahun – 6 tahun, Warga Emas, OKU, dan pelajar.

A 50% discount on the full cash fare will be offered
    to children aged 2 – 6 years, senior citizens, the
    disabled and students.

http://homepage.ktmb.com.my/images/KomuterJenisTiketTambangBaharu30Nov2015.pdf

http://homepage.ktmb.com.my/images/KomuterSyaratKelayakanTiketKonsesiUntukTambangBaharu30Nov2015.pdf

• Comeonlah on Dec 11, 2015 at 10:52 pm

The title is about Ktm removinh student concession. 7 yrs old is when you start primary 1. When you go to school, that’s when you become a student.The tile is correct, something wrong with either your eye or your comprehension of english.

• Remove all the fatcats..this is bad privatisation move..all about making money..public transport supposed to be affordable and accessible to everyone and privileges given to underprivileged. look at South korea public transpotrtation..i think it is almost equal to malaysia despite we are earning many times lower..

• Kautim Satu Malaysia on Dec 11, 2015 at 2:10 pm

everything naik harga.

Come next year, when Malaysia go visit public toilet to poo or pee, govt will raise price and collect tax.

better use plastic bag and tapau….

Thanks to the BN govt. Barang Naik.

• Insan prihatin on Dec 12, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Saya rasa penulis ini perlu belajar bahasa melayu dgn lebih gigih. Teruskn berjuang. Tahniah

• Insan prihatin on Dec 12, 2015 at 8:43 pm

Pandangan saya, penulis artikel ini perlu menguasai bahasa melayu dengan lebih gigih. Jangan bawa informasi yang salah. Selamat maju jaya.