Taxi firm suing Uber, GrabCar for territory infringement

uber-x-car

More on the Uber and Grabcar front, and this time it’s about a taxi company wanting to take the two transportation network companies to court.

Earlier in the week, The Malaysian Insider reported that Big Blue Capital – the company behind Premium Big Blue Taxi Services – said it is thinking of suing the two ride-sharing service providers for illegally picking up passengers in its territory and using drivers and vehicles not approved by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). Big Blue operates its taxi service at Suria KLCC.

Big Blue owner and adviser Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail said the issue would be discussed in depth and brought to court in the next two weeks. He was speaking to reporters at a press briefing in which he also said that the upcoming KLIA Express fare increase would be a boon for premium taxi services.

Malaysia-Taxi-01

“We are suing them for trespassing, conducting illegal activities in our area, and allowing vehicles and drivers not approved by SPAD to pick up passengers,” he said, adding that there would not have been an issue had Uber and GrabCar worked with his company and used its taxis instead.

“We let all taxis operate here (Suria KLCC), but first they must register with us for the record in case anything happens. Secondly, they must use the meter,” he said, saying this was for the benefit of passengers and their safety.

“The public cannot think cheap all the time. You come to our counter, you want safety for your family, you have to pay for it. But if you don’t want to have safety, you have to go elsewhere,” he explained. He added that taxis were required to adhere to standards set by the SPAD and Puspakom, unlike the ride-sharing services.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• albag on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:20 pm

these taxi companies are like dogs, thinking they can simply peeing around claiming their territory and keep barking like no tomorrow…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 2
  • andrekua on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Fuhlamak… territory claims?? How to say you are taxi drivers and not gangsters then?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 1
  • Nazee on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:23 pm

the idiots are scared no business.
    the other day the counter guy at klcc just kept shouting taxi to everyone waiting at the pick up point. who wants to take their taxi??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 1
  • Wait….taxis got territory in KL?
    Just like the triads and the criminal gangs?

Come to the counter and pay money for safety…..hmmm

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 1
  • Nasi Lemak Managed SPAD on Dec 18, 2015 at 6:42 pm

GT1M(Gangster Teksi 1 Malaysia) nie buat lawak giler nie…. Tiba2 dah pentingkan customer safety la and all…. Muahahahahaha!

• MrPoppyplants on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:17 pm

As said by you, we ARE going elsewhere. To Uber and GrabCar!

• the archbishop of banterbury on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Wow… act like a tough guy/gangster…

• Wah taxi now got territory?

• thedarkside on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:37 pm

safety my arse

• MsiaTaxiDriverSMC on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:41 pm

I’ve recently been in a taxi in sg, and I can know why the taxis in sg can survive even though their competition is strong with uber and grabcar. Their cars are nicely kept, they won’t take long routes just so they can charge customers more and the most important is that the drivers are polite. They will say “thank you have a nice trip” when I’m being dropped off at the airport. Do u think Malaysia taxi drivers will have such manners? Well I think it’s the opposite of it. Been in many Malaysia taxis so I know what I’m talking about.

• kakikereta on Dec 18, 2015 at 7:46 pm

We will take whichever service we want to use! Antagonize us? We won’t board your blue taxis!

• hooligan! on Dec 18, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Woah, their territory?! Where these barbarians come from? safety? what safety KL Taxis ever provided to passengers? talk like hooligan and act like barbarian….Malaysia Boleh! Apa macam pun boleh! Apa Xanjau pun boleh! Merdeka! Merdeka! Merdeka! my axx…

• Gold Avanza on Dec 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm

Tolong saman saya. Saya car pool dengan kawan-kawan pejabat saya. Mereka membayar duit minyak dan tol bersama upah kepada saya setiap hari. Oleh itu saya juga bersalah menabur pasir ke dalam periuk nasi pemandu-pemandu teksi.

• James on Dec 18, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Must use meter? Must pay for safety? Who the hell are they asking to use meters and to guarantee or safety? They themselves are driving around like thugs, refusing to bring us to certain locations cause “too far”. You’re damn right to ask us to go to somewhere else. That’s what we’re doing. If Uber is making millions from ferrying people around, then they’re doing it right.

• VirusX on Dec 18, 2015 at 8:42 pm

You Can simply understand the word and the Lanci manner of his way of talking. He tot Nowday still samseng era … since transport Ministry said Malaysia have no such law to ban or allow the service its consider legal for now. This is a grey area . He added =)

• Albert on Dec 18, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Somebody got vested interest in Grabcar and Uber.
    You should know who the idiotic bastard is,by now.
    All this while,it is wayang saja.
    The rakyat wants all taxi drivers to be reevaluated.
    competency,honesty,reliability….if they fail…simply f…them off.

• JB_KIA on Dec 18, 2015 at 9:49 pm

are they making the consumers more fed up now?

• “He added that taxis were required to adhere to standards set by the SPAD and Puspakom, unlike the ride-sharing services.”

SPAD and Puspakom must have freaking low standard then.

• A waste of money IMHO. But guess a little money to waste is what they got instead of thinking matter to solve the problem smartly. You don’t bully people (customers especially) to get business. You acknowledge the problems in your organization and solve them expediently to get business.

• Uber / GrabCar Anytime Better on Dec 18, 2015 at 11:25 pm

He does not even know what he is talking about. He said this “The public cannot think cheap all the time. You come to our counter, you want safety for your family, you have to pay for it. But if you don’t want to have safety, you have to go elsewhere”

Go elsewhere is what the people are doing you idiot!

• autoconnexxionSucks on Dec 19, 2015 at 1:41 am

Go elsewhere?

I am going elsewhere la jackass.

• If the Taxis in Malaysia are doing their job properly then what’s the fuss to be scared of having Uber And Grabtaxi. Things exist for a reason. Furthermore, the service by the cab drivers are unacceptable, eg: Dirty cab interior, spoil aircond, spoil meter, spoil door handle, simply charging for trips and no refunds when handing in big notes. Enough said

• Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Dec 19, 2015 at 4:33 am

Paaaa….Gangster Taxi 1 Malaysia(GT1M) ni wayang kuat….tiba2 care about safety of passengers la..ini la itu la…ko satu firm boleh gi mampos kat toilet bapak ko!

• Only Uber and Grabcar Best! on Dec 19, 2015 at 4:35 am

Taxi can get lost. We want only Uber and Grabcar. You already CHEATING ppl for many years. Example: Our Nasi Lemak Gomen

• Awais on Dec 19, 2015 at 5:00 am

Malaysian Texi drivers at last showed there real gangster face, they always threat us (internationals) if we dont pay them the amount they want, never run on meter and if run on meter there meters are modified, common gangster texi drivers… you really cant take off the best GradbCar service , its more safe, well mannered drivers, happy face, and nice ride, rather then sitting in your gangster texis and face issues later.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 19, 2015 at 7:49 am

I don’t have beef with these Blue executive cabs. Taken them on several occasions and they have been decent, albeit, rather expensive, but ok for short trips around KL.

Now, this is just childish. Good job getting yourselves some bad PR. Territory my foot.

The only way someone would say something stupid thing like this is is that they paid some good money to secure “exclusive” rights….the question is, paid to who?

• Cikgu selamat on Dec 19, 2015 at 9:16 am

Anything can happen in Malaysia….
    2.6 biliion songlap oso tarak hal…..

these taxi drivers 1st they claim territory.

Later, these gangster taxi drivers will oso claim that all waiting passengers (besar, kecil, male, female, local foreigners alike) will be theirs too.

• siaocom on Dec 19, 2015 at 9:55 am

WTH. Cakap mcm gangster. Whole Msia taxi firm punya ka?

• wow…they gpt territory?…gang war soon…

• “But if you don’t want to have safety, you have to go elsewhere,” he explained.”..talk like bullshit. When we choose Uber, u bark like crazy, want to sue la, want to beat them la. Got gut asking us choose other option lagi ka?

• C.P.MOHAN on Dec 19, 2015 at 11:27 am

‘Wanna be entrepreneur or employee’ that is the underlying question that should be asked/addressed. Personally, SPAD should only be involved in policy setting/making to protect all interested parties including customers.

• Taxi Mafia on Dec 19, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Can anyone recall any bad incidents with UBER service, compared to taxi drivers? Hah, thought so.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 19, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Lets create a friendship ride app. There is nothing wrong with providing a ride to friends anywhere in the country. Just as long as not supporting gangsters.

• Territory?! They think they are Yakuza and Gangster? Or because uber driver did not pay them RM200 monthly?

• aliphat on Dec 19, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Berniaga macam taik.. nak sue orang. Aku naik taxi, tak pernah yang guna meter. Crap

• Kopak on Dec 19, 2015 at 3:24 pm

“The public cannot think cheap all the time. You come to our counter, you want safety for your family, you have to pay for it. But if you don’t want to have safety, you have to go elsewhere,”

Ironically, the public doesn’t want you. That’s why they are using these ride-sharing service provider.

• transformer on Dec 19, 2015 at 6:21 pm

It not the first day, shopping centre contracted their territory to allow certain taxi companies to pick up passenger where others are not allowed. AEON/Jusco is one of them!

So consumer, who are the licensed gangster actually?

there is a beach in Johor leased by State Gov to certain quarter to collect fees because that beach famous for nasi lemak….. sigh….

• old dog on Dec 19, 2015 at 6:59 pm

WTF is territory infringe? they thought they own the place?
    see how arrogant this jokers become..

• Any1here on Dec 20, 2015 at 9:02 am

And queue the entry of mycc

• Ollie on Dec 20, 2015 at 10:03 am

Guys guys. Make sure this is well circulated. This samsu peabrain Shamsulbahrin has been sentenced to 18 years jail and 4 strokes rotan for money laundering in connection with national cow project with shahrizat husband. Now under appeal but he should be in jail. Has been collecting rent from the klcc taxi drivers who have never used metre since klcc opened up to now. There are bigger a*sh*les in Malaysia, but this guy definitely is a convicted criminal a*sh*le. Serve your 18 years, then talk.

• Thana Jarkoon on Dec 20, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Somebody should starts class action suit against these taxi co, bus co, logistic trucks co, spad, puspakom for poisoning our lungs and environment pollution!

• Maseratista on Dec 21, 2015 at 9:46 am

Can we sue the taxi instead for their refusal to go certain places/subpar (terrible actually) service and deliberately conning the customer by intentionally going the longer route/not using the meter?

These idiots are kicking themselves out of a job

• ben yap on Dec 21, 2015 at 3:41 pm

passengers don’t have to pay for safety. it is the taxi operators job to ensure safety. it’s passengers right for safety.