SPY VIDEO: 2016 Proton Perdana to get beige seats?

new proton perdana 2016 #roadtest #protonperdana #karakhighway #paultan

A video posted by Azizul Haqim Abd Rahman (@nerdsmeagol) on

The 2016 Proton Perdana has been sighted again, this time on the Karak Highway thanks to Instagram user nerdsmeagol. The upcoming flagship sedan has been spotted numerous times on Malaysian roads as it undergoes testing, and here’s another of the car in motion.

Like previous test mules spotted, the Perdana seen here wears a significant amount of camouflage that extends to the wheels. We also get a perspective of the vehicle’s length, which is said to measure 4,999 mm in length, significantly more than the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which the model will be based on.

However, the new Perdana will receive its own distinct styling that differs heavily for the Accord, so any murmur of the “Accordana” will be put to rest. More recently, a prototype Perdana was seen at night, where its LED tail lights was illuminated for first time for us to see.

The video also shows us a very brief glimpse of the car’s interior, which appears to sport beige-coloured upholstery on the seats, without any indication as to whether they are leather or fabric in material (more likely the former). However, as this is a prototype, the final product may differ from what we see here.

Additionally, paultan.org reader Mohd Fahmi Abdul Hamid sent in these photos of a prototype Perdana roaming around Putra Heights. One of the frontal shots of the car appears to reveal that a sunroof is part of the equipment package. Everything else however, looks to remain the same as earlier sighted test mules.

The 2016 Perdana will be built at Proton’s Medium Volume Factory in Shah Alam. Engine wise, it’s set to retain Honda’s 154 hp/189 Nm R20A3 2.0 and 177 hp/222 Nm K24Z2 2.4 litre i-VTEC engines – for now, at least. Both engines will be mated to a five-speed automatic transmission.

The Perdana is set to be launched in the first quarter of 2016, and unlike its predecessor, will be offered to civilian buyers as well. What sort of interior upholstery choice do you think would best suit the new Perdana?

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana teased

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Perdana rendered

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Milotin on Jan 04, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 172
    • Syer1n on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:00 pm

1 accident that cause death in a 2015+ proton. No proof, no talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Sy free bg kereta kertas mcm mane?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • menee on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Newer p1 where got milo tin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Veneno on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:45 pm

pastu kenapa menyemak kat sini, blah pergi jauh2.. masih lagi di bawah tempurung dengan mengatakan Proton milotin.. dah lapuk dah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • kopitin on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:44 am

yes,just go ride ur bicycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • P2 macai on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:47 am

As far as I remember, there is no statistics on people who died in Preve, Suprima and Iriz in 2015. Meanwhile, people who died in MyVi, Axia, Alza, and Viva are plenty. When you arrange the dead bodies, it can line up from your house to Hatyai.

In case you are still living in the cave, the Milotin award has been passed down to Perodua and Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • PenjilatToyotaSejati on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:01 pm

inb4 “Already bored la with these so called tease”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
    • Annoynimouse on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:29 pm

If I remember correctly, this is an automotive blog, hence any news on cars (especially local ones) are bound to be published… if you want to read about the latest handbags, go to a fashion blog.

• BEIGE??!!!

NO! JUST NO!

DARK BROWN OR BROWN IS FINE. BUT BEIGE????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Oh mak lu on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:13 pm

Keta second hand kalau interior beige, paling xde harga! tengok lah mana mana bmw, VW, Merz kalau seat putih mana ada orang mau…?

• Ahmad albab on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Just shut-up and take my money now!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • How long? on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:24 am

Take money also need to know how much to give…
      So how much they selling this ?
      Been teasing us for years….wait till layu already.

• policeman on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Rolls Royce: Beige
    Bentley: Beige
    MyVi: Grey
    Axia: Grey

Conclusion: Beige = Premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 8
    • Jimmy on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:14 pm

1. The most desirable interior colour to us is white. But then, Perdana is supposed to be for low middle income group rite? Therefore, the interior ought to be dark colour.

2. If you select your 3S managers by criteria other than capability, you will continue to provide poor customer service, poor mechanics/technicians attitude & skill, etc etc. Tak usah kerja keras pun dapat gaji besar dan periuk nasi stainless steel bcos of Bing. One day you will get sales figure No 1 in you homeland, counted from the bottom. A good chairman certainly knows how to do things well, if he is really good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Oh mak lu on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Jadi nyatalah jenama bangsat ni tak sesuai guna beige la. OXYMORON tu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • wah….. you got brain.

• tak habis-habis on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:43 pm

Berita Accordana yang ke-546158648 dari Poktan

• Aero (Member) on Jan 04, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Some people think cars with beige/ cream seats are meant for old people… but I quite like them in ‘luxury’ cars. The old Perdana V6 had it too, and it fit the car quite well. Some Wajas also had nice beige leather seats, like this 2004 1.6 Enchanced spec model ; (https://www.flickr.com/photos/aero7my/albums/72157652098819583). It looks INFINITELY more ‘luxurious’ than the usual grey/ black seats in the Prevé and even the Suprima. I even like the beige GEN-2 seats… but not the appalling interior plastics (GEN-2 owners will know).

A lot of Japanese cars sold here (especially Toyotas) have beige seats. I think Proton is on to something here… expect the unexpected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Seat colour?
    If given a choice, you would like to know the used engine oil colour coming from this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:17 pm

A well orchestrated marketing stun can pull off wonders if you know how to execute it to the right balance. Create a certain secrecy, shed light a bit and then cover it back…

The same can’t be said of Proton publicity stun pertaining to this “PREVIOUS GENERATION HONDA ACCORD UNDER THE SKIN”. Already Proton it not a desirable brand and one of the most hated among Malaysians, these endless “teasing” will eventually do more harm than good to Proton. Congratulations to Proton for struggling to ship 0.1 million cars and only take up ~ 15.7% of the TIV in 2015 (such pathetic result is factored in by the massive buy out by the revamp of the police patrol car fleet and SPANCO coming to rescue, try to imagine if government and cronies doesn’t step in to buy their unsold cars stockpiling at Tanjong Malim)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • Azlan Ismail on Jan 07, 2016 at 9:48 am

They are conducting road tests to ensure road worthiness. They are not teasing intentionally. If they do not conduct road tests then you will whine and moan that they do not care about safety standards blablabalbla.

• Rockford Titus Lim on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Beige gets dirty easily if you spill nasi lemak on the seats

• Congratulation u r on the track in pursuing world guiness record in most requent teased and spyshot car ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • drMpower on Jan 04, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Why not go full fledge glass roof?
    Price it right proton. Thats the key and throw in free service as well.

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Should the wheelbase remains the same, additional length of the car means nothing. It is just an extension of the front and rear bumpers by designing it longer/bigger. Nothing to shout out loud of.

Anyway, as this accord is based on Inspire spec which in Japan means the best version as well as the largest, it is a plus point for perdana.

Wondering too what will be its ASEAN NCAP score.

• Minister 3.85 on Jan 04, 2016 at 9:29 pm

Tomorrow….another spy shot of proton perdana….

Silver sport rims…..with 5 lug nuts…

Sudah la……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 9:54 pm

Not true.

I have a few kimchis in my yard with Beige Leather seats.

Kimchis are nowhere near luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Beige seats is nice but some people use these types of D-Segment cars as family cars, some people do not like upgrading to SUV’s.And, kids might make the beige seats dirty and beige seats are easy to get dirty because of the colour.The sunroof is a nice touch though.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Proton pandai is value-minus-service. Take peoples higher price car, bikin bikin bikin bikin then sell cheaper. BODOH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • potong fans on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:09 pm

Proton? Forget it laaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Oh mak lu on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:18 pm

And terpaksa pakai rim hodoh daripada inspira yang sampai sekarang pun x habis jual…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • miaomiaowolf on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:40 pm

I will buy one when Mahathir ditch his Porsche for Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • syer1n on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:47 am

Dr.M have a custom Perdana with red leather and rotary gear knob. i hope you’re the one who do some research before talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Veneno on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:22 am

it would be wonderful if it is fitted with K24Z3 or K24A instead of K24Z2.. in Jeremy Clarkson voice: Moarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr powarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr..!!!

• Sam Loo on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:50 am

Hopefully,this will improve proton fortune

• intel on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:54 am

Finally, a Proton that we can be proud of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • True… Proton should continue to use Japanese platform and engine.

Forget about the Campro already.. Proton please move on.

• syer1n on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:49 am

proton already forgetting campro and if i’m not mistaken, Dr.M will remotely fire proton’s new engine remotely for the first time this year.

• Please understand guys..the numerous time of spyshot/videos shows that Malaysian still put an interest and might as well high hope to P1. Otherwise, why they bother to to take the picture/video and then upload it online?and for those who tired of P1 post in Paultan, Paultan.org is a local car website and I think its one of their priority to shared our local automotive news to their readers. Those who doesnt have the interest can always skip the news and dont bother to give a deconstructive comment.Just my 2cent. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • syer1n on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:51 am

oh, an educated comment. have my respect. i really mean it. :)

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 05, 2016 at 8:58 am

In this ultra competitive world, sometimes company and PR consultants are paid to pull off a seamingly ” innocent” spyshots and teasers leaked by the public. If you make it innocent enough, people will believe that it’s a spyshot and nothing more. But if you do it too frequent and blatantly obvious, then it’s hard not to deny the possibility that Proton paid to do this.

I wonder if there are so many Malaysians who are so keen to take pictures of this Previous Gen Honda Accord Under the Skin while driving. Doesn’t Paultan advocate safe driving? Ok, I get it. All these pictures are snapped by the passangers and it’s a “coincident’ that all these spyshots are shot with low density camera, hence they are all blur and so convincingly true that they are indeed taken by someone who” drove pass the Perdana and all of them have novice photography skills”. And those deliberate “blur” effect also contribute to the factor of obscurity to stir up the anxiety of the public. Sadly in this case, no anxiety but eye sore.

Comon’ it’s already 2016, there are smartphones out there that can shot 20+ million megapixles, almost as good as a DSLR. It’s completely OK to shot a sharper picture with better camera for “spyshots”, people will still believe you. But if you pull it off so baltantly obvious, you have overdone it. As for this case, all I can said these spyshots and “leak” are so badly done. Try harder next time Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Well..after reading your comment, I’m afraid you force yourself to believe that this was actually marketing strategy by P1. But for me, they are not too stupid to use poor visual camera for their marketing strategy and they are actually not too smart to use a DSLR camera and claim it as ‘spyshot’. If it does happen, wouldnt it be too obvise that everytime P1 car in disguise, all of sudden everyone around the car suddenly have their DSLR camera.So I truly believe that all of the spyshot taken is natural.. :)

• Syer1n on Jan 05, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Call me stupid but 20+ million megapixel? How many gigapixel is that in math? We have a hubble telescope in a smartphone already? Wow.

• How many car they sold last month?

• More than Lexus. So Lexus is shit cuz sales figure is everything so says macai

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 05, 2016 at 1:15 pm

Oh Sohai John again, Lexus is a global luxury brand. Even it didn’t do well in Malaysia, it still sells GLOBALLY. What kind of STUPID LOGIC in your brain to compare Lexus with lousy Proton? Even if Lexus loses Malaysia market, it won’t blink an eye lid, if Proton loses Malaysia market, Proton can simply go to hell. Now see the difference sohai John?

Now John the Sochai, tell me how many cars Proton sell in Thailand, Australia and Indonesia combined last year? How about Proton “GLOBAL CAR” which can’t even outsell Myvi in the domestic market? Proton hits all time low of 15.7% TIV in the domestic market in 2015, trailing behind Toyota and Honda during the last quater. Try come out with facts and figures to refute my claim, I am waiting.

Proton can’t sell in Malaysia, its export market is just plained PATHETIC, mau jual volume tak da, mau cakap quality pun hampeh, mau jadi global player end up jaguh kampung pun tak jadi, better close shop lah. Macai like you have ran out of reasons to defend Proton, try harder next time.

• protonsucks on Jan 05, 2016 at 7:58 am

fugly

• superman on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:19 am

who cares….???? its rubbish old generation Honda anyways.

Gen2 was beige interior also.

• Sleeplesseyes on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:20 am

Wah, you people have ‘crystal bola(s)’ to know that this car will be a failure before the car is even launched.
    Can I know where you guys bought the crystal bola(s)?

• Who need crystal ball? We have been predicting failure on you past models and proven right every time.

• How long? on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:22 am

How long la wanna tease here and there?? Been years.
    Come out with the car already, other manufacturer already sapu all the buyers and bank gonna curb lending due to weak economy. By the time u wanna sell, not many buyers left….jialat/susah like that.

• applegreen on Jan 05, 2016 at 9:34 am

If proton take Qu Puteh boss as ambassador maybe this beige seat becomes pink colour

• frossonice on Jan 05, 2016 at 11:58 am

Perhaps Paultan should one day post a story about flowers growing in the garden since people here seems to be confused of the purpose of Paultan website.

It is an automotive website so the millions teasing of a car is expectable la bodo.

• Donny Parkson Lee on Jan 05, 2016 at 12:59 pm

You know what happens if the wife teases the husband in bed for too long? He might just fall asleep!!

• johari adam on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:21 pm

At the way the Msian economy is heading,
    this Perdana will be out of reach for the average Msian. # tambahpendapatan.
    No use putting so much hope & aspirations on this model cos the sales figures will once again disappoint.
    Proton has again screwed up its timing to launch its latest premium model.
    Is it God’s will or karma ?

• karipap 1malysia on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Another failure in the making.

Proton is getting extremely good in failing, failing and more failing.

Kipidap, Proton. You will be recognised by the world as the most pathetic, most disgusting and pure failure car manufacturer in the world.

No doubt, Proton will win the “syoik sendiri” award for year 2016, 2017, 2018, etc….