SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Saga gets sighted once again

Proton Saga spyshots 8

The new 2016 Proton Saga, the third in the national carmaker’s three-strong sedan offensive after the Perdana and Persona, has been spotted on the road again, by readers Encik Ray and Antony Beecham.

As with the previous set of spyshots, it’s clear here that the new budget sedan will still be based on the current Saga, as can be seen through the similar front end shape, upright windscreen rake, front door cutouts and wing mirrors.

However, several major revisions to the exterior can be found at the rear, seen more clearly here – the rear door features a prominent C-pillar kink that differs from the current car’s straight slope, while the door handles are new and look like they come from the Iriz. The rear end has also been completely revised with a sleeker, more streamlined design.

Expect the new Saga to come with the Iriz’s 1.3 and 1.6 litre VVT engines, mated to either a five-speed manual or a CVT. Added equipment, particularly in terms of safety, should also make their way into the new car – although quite what level of kit we should expect from Proton’s sub-RM40k entry level sedan remains to be seen.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Oh mak lu cina on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:22 am

Proton’s market segment and price point even if they continue selling the BLM model, it will sell the same in terms of quantity. All people want is a cheap car. If talk about tech and safety they also have cars in the line up for that. Patutla tak boleh buat duit. Proton don’t even understand marketing concept still think they are BMW of Asia as tengku mahaleel put it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Hopeless on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:02 pm

It still making unit profits RM500 but can give discounts RM4,000 later?

• Gargantia on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Your comment misleading the public, Rakyat need transparency and affordable car with safety fixtures. Most importantly reduce car duty and taxes to acceptable rate and abolish AP system cronies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • frossonice on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:28 am

From the spyshots, that is quite a lot of revision from the current Saga.

Hopefully the they will have a new engine and gearbox too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Hopeless on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Yes hopefully they will buy proven quality engine and gearbox from Perodua too.

Solved the problem and rakyat feel happy, no more worry sleep at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • No, they will use 1.3vvt from iriz. If im not mistaken, this time they wont use the 1.6vvt. Only 1.3vvt. Myb next variant. For transmission. They will come with 5speed manual and the cvt they use in iriz.

• Ugly look as usual even with cover up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
  • A company that Lies and Cheats for 30 Years on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:29 am

Another junk for Malaysians. Every launch Proton promises to rectify old bad habits. For the past 30 years I have been seeing this trend. Then, like the Iriz, you will see breaking down, door handles breaking into pieces, gearbox rosak, this stall, that stall.

Every 5 years whn a new model comes out, the CEO will come out and give loads of bullshit. Like the Iriz, their babu Tun Mahathir came out to give superb remarks about it. Now look at the Iriz, a big big failure with hundreds of problems.

Malaysians just never learn their lesson. If your husband beats you once, you can forgive him. Beats you twice, you may forgive him, But every week he beats you, what to do?

the same with Proton. From 1985 with their Magma Saga to the Proton Iswara Knight to the horribe Waja, it has been problem after problem.

Remember one thing, most Wira owners, after owning their cars for 20 years, have spent over RM100k in repair bills (for 20 years). Most Honda City or Toyota Corolla owners, same 20 year old car, have spent at the most RM20k in bills the past 20 years in repairs.

So, see for yourself how Proton will suck your money dry with repair after repair and trust me, in 10 years, you would have spent more than the price of the Saga even!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 67
    • frossonice on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:50 am

I have use my Proton Saga FLX for almost 4 years now as my daily commute to office which is about 50km per day. Except for the stupid gearbox they use, everything else is fine. The ride is still smooth even even after 100k travelling. Fuel could be better.

In term of service, in total, I’ve yet to reach RM5k mark (@RM200 average per service).

You talk crap much, right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 8
      • Hopeless on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:59 am

Work hard and buy Vios or City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 75
        • frossonice on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:31 pm

I don’t need to waste money to buy the same type of car just to travel to work. A cheap Saga is enough.

Save money to buy something better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • dy246 on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Who in their right mind would buy a glorified budget taxi masquerading as a “luxury” toyota, when in Vietnam, theyre used like our iswaras here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • dontplayurself on Jan 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

And in Germany, E-Classes are used as taxis everywhere. Teslas in Norway. If you judge a car based on whether it’s used as a taxi elsewhere, you won’t be happy with any car.

• Ollie on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:23 pm

Haha. Very happy huh. Be happy with your FLX. Don’t ever dream of driving a Fiat 500, an affordable 208 or Golf. Like I always said, Proton is for people with no ambition in life. For the jaguh kampung, content with their crap lives and crap cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 58
        • Veneno on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:19 pm

so you think that the people ho use Proton can’t dream of driving more superior car and people with no ambition eh..?? a friend of mine, owns a Proton Persona and also owning two cars from great brand like Maserati GranTurismo and Mazda6.. he earns a respectively large amount of income of RM30,000 per month.. you’re thinking using your hairy ass ha..?? how about your life, moron..?? tell me how great your life is and what car are you driving..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Banana on Jan 15, 2016 at 4:30 pm

LOL…owning Maserati and Persona.

Mau tipu bikin cerita bagus sikit lah kawan.

Ha ha ha ha !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Ollie on Jan 15, 2016 at 7:30 pm

What i meant was.. many are happy with their FLX, MYVI etc. because they have no ambition. thats why they dont bother to close down Plotong and have a free market, cos they just happy with their mediocre lives, mediocre cars, mediocre jobs. I drive a 2.0 premium sedan which i got for the price of a Myvi – RM55k. 4 yr old used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 18
          • Ollie, your comment really degrades those people driving Proton and Perodua. Bro please, you r so wrong. My mom upgraded from Kancil to Waja after 1yr then after 5yr an Estima 2.4. My father after 7yr move to that Waja and then bought Camry 2yrs later. Now he also owns a Mercedes Convertible E350 p, while my mom has bought a Pug308 last year. Driver is now using Estima as runner car since Waja sold last year after reliable service 14 years, Iswara in 2007 after 8 yr no issues, Kancil still with us as grandma car. My aunt from Kancil, 10 yrs upgrade to Iswara, then 3 yrs to City, then 5 yrs to CX5. Another from Myvi to City in 8 years. Uncle moved from Iswara, to XTrail, to Accord, to 320i in span of 15yr. They’re all under 50. Grandma also upgrade Kancil to Prius but keeping for sentiment value. Are my family satisfied with mediocrity? Did they have no ambition? And if you bought used at Myvi price, you’re still Myvi segment, so why talk like you’re so great? Show off like pro only, ask my dad drive Kancil after use the Merc he will agree. Please don’t bash people who are starting out honestly.

• Did u know Mark ZUckerberg, the billionaire that owns FB only drives a Honda Jazz. The thing is if you need a car to prove your worth, means ur are not worth much.

• Kancil is junk, Myvi is junk, Viva is junk, Alza is junk, Axia is junk, that’s y u can see a lot of junk now breakdown n stopped at highway side.
      For Proton, old type Saga is junk, always breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Uzair on Jan 16, 2016 at 9:35 am

The only lies and cheats i can read here are from you.

• I think the point frossonice wants to make is, be fair in your comments, simply condemn without balancing out with positive points doesn’t portray qualities of a good commenter

• xxxxxx on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:30 am

Looks like July ghost month car leh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Same as RR, MB, Audi, BMW, Hyundai, AM, etc…

WOW! P1 is in the same league as them now!

• So, this Saga is A segment or B segment?

• King of RV Jatuh on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

Nobody beats Proton. But Saga today for Rm35k, next year sell also, to get RM18k also you will be lucky.

then crack your head how to top up your loan. Eventually just give up selling your car cause no money to top up. then 3rd year onwards, your Saga becomes 15k and below. Still cannot sell cause you must top up your loan. So, keep the car for lifetime.

Then pay through your nose to service and repair your car aafter 3rd year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • frossonice on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:53 am

If I care so much about RV, I would buy a house and take public transport instead.

No vehicle have good RV unless it is rare and absolute germ of engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Hopeless on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Buy Suzuki car now. Soon will become rare collector items high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • camtakpro on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:09 pm

A rare Suzuki vs a rare NSX big difference.

Rare Suzuki means no spare parts, buy already go eat shit.

Rare NSX means it is so hard to get another/surface superb engineering masterpiece with full Aluminium body and a 3L VTEC engine.

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Nobody beats ToyoTaiK (king of price increase and king of hailat RV, Good RV for toyotaik is all tipu one by their salesman). But Vios today for RM81k, next year sell also, to get RM48k also you will be lucky.

then crack your head how to top up your loan. Eventually just give up selling your car cause no money to top up. then 3rd year onwards, your taik jamban car becomes 30k and below. Still cannot sell cause you must top up your loan. So, keep the jamban car for lifetime.

Then pay through your nose to service and repair your jamban car after 3rd year.

• Bristol on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Myvi 2014 now selling 20k, no longer good RV

• Sam Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:39 am

Come on.. If Proton with campro engine, dont talk la.. Not reliable engine, low RV, low quality, bad QC..
    Go to Japanese Brand.. Work hard, go for Toyota, fullfill ur satisfaction on driving, no go to Proton SC every week..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • SNTMC! Say No To Moving Coffins!

• Sammy Zaik Loo on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:48 pm

Thanks for your advice. Go to Japanese Brand.. Yes. But we all better off with Honda, not ToYoTaiK. Honda fullfill ur satisfaction on driving, while ToYoTaiK fullfill ur hailat feeling. no go to UMW SC every week..

• Proton Workers vs Japanese Workers on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:48 am

See below and you will know why Proton Saga is a failure. We have given enough support to Proton for 30 years now. Every family has at least bought a Proton in their life.
    We supported the company so much from 1985. Now it is doing badly because their workers are not focussed in giving good quality cars to Malaysians.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
  • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 15, 2016 at 10:53 am

Hahaha haters and Myvi still same over 10 years ! Saga already upgrade 2 times ! What haters going to say next !!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • camtakpro on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:16 pm

Wrong. Saga upgraded way more than 2 times. This time will the tether become optional add-on so to avoid tethergate?

• Bruise on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:44 pm

The basher no upgrade, still using windows 98 software in their brain.

• gaviny on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:13 am

JATCO cvt

• I think even the rear windscreen is the same….abit weird to me

• 7 tahun baru nak ganti, lepas tu keluar design buruk mcm ni? Ke lautlah jawabnya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • look narrow than rhe old saga.

• AlexC on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:43 am

the damn car looks like made in India……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • syamilrosham on Jan 15, 2016 at 11:49 am

Will it use Jatco or Punch CVT?

• Nasi kandang on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Kereta bangla. Even bangla drive Honda!

• the driver on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:14 pm

As they say, ‘move along now, nothing to see here’,..

• Ollie on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Wait.. Saga 2016 gets sighted.. who gives a flying ___?

• WHATICANSAYIS on Jan 15, 2016 at 12:31 pm

UGLY

• john=Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, working overtime just to improve proton image at paultan comment

• Me P1 CEO? hohoho oh I wish I was, oh yes I wish I was!

• hahahaha what for u defending for proton? they only know how to blame others when their sales drop. what for? they won’t appreciate u just laughing at ur stupidity. they don’t have self respect, nvr improve only know to squeeze ur money.

• yob qu hitam on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:00 pm

worth buy for any proton model priced rm45k and below, above than that please avoid it!

• Muhammad on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Pathetic to the max. New saga but still based to the 10 year old garbage junk. Ah Pek pls stop creating more garbage to flood the road.

• kalvin on Jan 15, 2016 at 1:43 pm

i ve lucky to been owning Proton Car since started work.
    Proton never let me down at all even tot i bought a 2nd used car.. Well done Proton hard work.
    2001 yamaha SS110.
    2002 Saga 1.5M,
    2004, Iswara 1.5A UK Spec,
    2006, Satria,
    2007, Wira,
    2009, Waja 1.6a (even my boss cayenne 4.5S oso have similar power window failure problem oh.)
    2011, Perdana V6.
    2013 Alza,
    2015 Subaru XV.
    all boyz here oni known tot coc nia……

• chipmunk on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Your boss is Proton owner right? No wonder he drive a Porsche.

• azermalak on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:37 pm

your career went progressively well. may you have better cars in da future.

• Sighted people selling coconut water on road side excite me more than seeing this on the road.

• Top salesman on Jan 15, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Work harder in life and get at least a Vios la..do u want to be seen balik kampung in a Saga during CNY?? Yur mommy-in-law will look down on u and regrett big time marry her daughter to u

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Maybe its a revised platform underneath the old Saga BLM mule? A Proton R&D official told me that Proton is going to target the new Saga for 4-star NCAP. And then keep saying ‘customers demand 5 star car features at 1-star car price’. Well, in other developed countries you really do pay peanuts to get small decent car with 6 airbags + ESC features. But not here in Malaysia, everything must come with a price.

• applegreen on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:01 pm

new saga with arm rest center console? more airbags? touch screen infotainment? few buttons on steering? leather wrap steering wheel?

• Delloyd on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Yes with gold-plated power window motor too. Guarantee no problem for life.

• Horizon Sailor on Jan 15, 2016 at 3:52 pm

So proton, tell us which engine that u want to install in the new saga…?? 1.6 again …???? Booooringgg….

• VVT-i on Jan 15, 2016 at 4:22 pm

I prefer if they put that 3.5L Campro turbo engine Lotus car.

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 15, 2016 at 4:26 pm

I fthe car is slightly longer, then it must be a revised platform,

the chassis revision can be minor, like stretching it a bit.

If the wheelbase is longer then they would have lengthened the platform, if the additional length is on the front or rear overhang then the revision is simpler

In my opinion the additional length is between the wheels because the rear door seems longer

it makes sense that Proton would try to make the cabin more roomy because buyers in this segment is always after more room for the same price

engine wise, we are probably still looking at some kind of revised 1.3 litre for the base model and the 1.6 litre for the high-line or maybe special taxi variant, like they are doing now.

At the end of the day, the Saga is going to have to have an attractive price tag, features other than space are not too important

• kendrix lamazz on Jan 15, 2016 at 4:30 pm

OK here is what I don’t understand about you guys,
    clearly you are car enthusiasts because you read Paultan and make comments
    or maybe some of you are just flamers and trolling Proton

As car fans, why would you say that safety features are not important?

As car fans we should lead the way and encourage car brands to put safety features, and yet here we have Proton, a company that sells in the entry level segment trying to do a good thing by putting in airbags, and VSC and engineering a rigid body and some of you are saying, that’s not important, just sell cheap cars… WTH?

• Al-Unta on Jan 15, 2016 at 5:09 pm

Same full safety features but sell cheaper for Australia and Tok Arab.

Rakyat marah nanti pandai lu cakap rakyat bodoh tak tau tax system.

• realy on Jan 15, 2016 at 6:30 pm

remember when proton cheated at ASEAN NCAP . they proton saga get 1 star at 2012 to fix that thet put top tether for they test at 2013 and get 3 star. they remove the top tether at production but still advertise saga as 3 star asean ncap car. thyn

• Mazlan385 on Jan 16, 2016 at 2:27 pm

It looks like Proton’s year 2016 slogan is “Saya Sangat Suka Syoik Sendiri (5S)