Pan Borneo Highway construction to take into account wildlife habitats, ensure minimal impact to these

Pan Borneo highway-02

Construction of the Pan Borneo Highway will take into account wildlife habitats, and in certain affected areas like national parks and wildlife sanctuaries special concessions will be given to ensure that there is minimal impact to these with the building of the highway, Bernama reports.

According to Works Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof, the approach taken will provide the least disruption to the animals and their natural habitat. He said this after inspecting construction of the 34 km-long Telok Melano-Sematan stretch in Lundu, which is part of the 1,090 km-long Sarawak portion of the highway.

“In this stretch, we are passing through the Samunsan Wildlife Sanctuary, which is home to the proboscis monkey, clouded leopards, hornbills, langurs, gibbons, turtles and others. To cater to the proboscis monkey, we are building a 270 metre long bridge instead of about 100 metres to allow them free access along the river banks underneath,” he told reporters.

Pan-Borneo-Highway

He said the two-lane bridge – which will be equipped with non-glaring lighting to not disturb turtles – will have very little impact on the mangrove forest in the area. Fadillah added that there will also be wildlife warden posts along the stretch running through the sanctuary to deter poaching.

The Telok Melanao-Sematan stretch was originally scheduled for completion by the end of 2018, but is now expected to be completed in early January, 2019.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:35 am

what!? still hv to drive through brunei…

• The so call pan borneo highway was there for yrs… they r just putting new tar (which will eventually end up with pod holes in mths).. it’s all bullshit tat try to get more votes.
      It’s not even a dual carriageway. Single carriageway with single lane only..
      Pod holes everywhere..

• Fadillah, Najib Macam Mana? on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:37 am

hello Fadillah, your boss sapu RM2.6 bil and much much more, this has impact not just on animals but on the poor people who require healthcare and scholarships. This is worse than animals Fadillah.

Now, education and healthcare cut few hundred million each cause your tuan songlap so much of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • mr1031 on Feb 05, 2016 at 12:18 pm

what do you expect fadilah to do with bijan? even police don’t care..

at least fadilah is doing what’s best for his job scope

• Ur boss sapu 3 Billion from 1 state onli, u dun protest? topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Mann Bell on Feb 05, 2016 at 10:59 am

that face will haunt me for the next few days

• It is easier to say than do!

• In b4 DASH, SUKE, KIDEX dihalalkan cuz under Party Hard

• Don’t build but share the money among your colony… buy more dimonds, planes and etc..

• CarToon on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Has the detailed environmental impact assessment been released to justify the claim? Where is the traffic and social impact assessment?

• walkingdead on Feb 05, 2016 at 2:30 pm

n then comes the next election…’ pan borneo construction…bla bla bla….n the another election….n another….it goes on

• So true… never ending lies and empty promises. .
      Too bad.. many sarawakians r still very blind

• Colin on Feb 10, 2016 at 12:38 am

my rims bengkok kena masuk lubang besar last week . keadaan jalan yang gelat tidak nampak

• RavenAii (Member) on Feb 11, 2016 at 3:10 am

Two lane bridge?! So that means they’re constructing a single carriageway for Pan Borneo highway? At my place in Bintulu Sarawak have tons of dual carriageway and also has additional lanes built to accommodate heavy traffic paths. And they only plan to build a single carriageway throughout the state? Oh damn they have no idea how it feels like driving all the way from Bintulu till Kuching. Bintulu-Mukah itself was a nightmare and it is worst experience than riding a roller coaster. Try to imagine when you want to overtake a slow vehicle and realize that there are 1 semi truck, 2 buses, 3 log or metal carrier and a long row of off-road vehicles in front of you on a single carriageway on a so much called ‘highway’. I would rather take the off-road path than taking a crowded roads full of vehicles.