Lexus LC 500h set to be revealed at Geneva Motor Show with all-new Lexus Multi Stage Hybrid System

Lexus LC 500h Geneva 1

At this year’s North American International Auto Show (NAIAS), Lexus brought out a stunner with its LC 500, the production version of its 2012 concept, the LF-LC. As a follow-up to the premium coupe, the Japanese automaker will introduce a hybrid version of the LC. Called the LC 500h, the new addition to the LC range will be revealed at the upcoming Geneva Motor Show.

While the LC 500 gets a 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 from the RC F and GS F, with 467 hp and 527 Nm on tap, the LC 500h will debut Lexus’ next-generation hybrid powertrain. Known as the Lexus Multi Stage Hybrid System, the new hybrid system is not from any current Lexus model, and promises enhanced driving pleasure, more performance, and greater efficiency.

Accompanying the announcement are these set of photos, which show minimal visual distinction from the non-hybrid version, save for the new badges. Though no details on the new hybrid powertrain was given, it will most likely be comprised of a petrol engine with an electric motor (or more) to assist it, paired to a new transmission. The only question is how potent of the combo Lexus will serve up on the LC 500h.

Expect the rest of the car to closely mirror that of the standard LC 500, including the utilisation of Lexus’ all-new premium rear-wheel drive luxury platform, part of the global architecture for luxury vehicles (GA-L), and a driver-focused cockpit.

Joining the LC 500h on stage will be the the LF-FC concept, which first broke cover at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. The concept is a preview of both the design and technology of future Lexus sedans, and is powered by a hydrogen fuel cell.

GALLERY: 2017 Lexus LC 500

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Syukurlah kete Proton kami lagi power dan lagi berkualiti daripada junk Lexus ni. Lexus adalah Toyota, kereta Dear Leader dan Party Hard.

Pakai lah kereta Proton, kete kebangaan BN dan UMNO. Kualiti tinggi tapi harga berpatutan. Syukur Syukur Syukur

I gip you diskaun. Ko suka Proton. Ko Cinta Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Forgip my RBA clonetrooper aka Albert Yong, for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around.

• shawal on Feb 15, 2016 at 8:21 pm

v8 + electric motor…, sounds like an 918 rival to me…lol…

• Rumours have it that it will come with a V6 and electric motors.

• karam singh on Feb 16, 2016 at 11:20 am

makes me feel excited deep inside. already the coupe RC-F model brought in by Lexus Malaysia is mouth-watering to me.

with an oversquare V8 engine, dual VVTI producing 470bhp and coupled to an 8 speed torque converter automatic transmission – that is good enough to accelerate the car in 4.5 secs from 0-100kmh.

what more, the car has all the safety equipment i always voice up. Like 8 airbags, ABS, VDIM, BA, EBD, VSC – wow. why cant UMW Toyota install 8 airbags in Vios???

i cannot understand. is it because i am stupid or UMW stupid?? 10 airbags for vios is better still or else john and myself will always call Toyota moving coffin.

• Syoik-syoik Spyshots on Feb 15, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Proton is 200 lights year BEHIND lexus….

• And lexus is 2000 parsecs behind MB & BMW. so?

• qwerty on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:33 am

prove it that Lexus is far behind MB & BMW.

• Forgip my RBA clonetrooper aka Albert Yong, for he onli got kindergarten education in reverse pyschology by DAP Institute. I have sent a formal complaint to highest tokong so they can slap’em around.

• forrest the tree on Feb 16, 2016 at 12:30 am

LC, ofcourse lansi la. 5000cc NA engine but with hybrid?
    Lexus, if you are serious about fuel saving with performance, should make a lower cc engine with turbo!

• idealtech on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Funny, Camry 2.5 Hybrid is more fuel efficient than the Myvi 1.3. Not to mention it propels with peak torque from 0 rpm onwards. Fancy a turbocharged engine? even Ford Fiesta 1.0 ecoboost is far from efficient in comparison with the T famous D-segment hybrid. Besides, nothing beats pure electricity,induce boost wherever you like but the end the only”kW” matters.

• Better still, the electricity used to charge the battery and move the car is generated from the kinetic energy of the car itself. Literally free electricity.

• The Most Ugly Rubbish