Proton ships first 50 units of LHD Preve to Chile, Exora and Saga to follow – aims to sell 1,000 units in 2016

Proton LHD Preve to Chile 11

We’ve reported on this news since last year, but now it’s official – Proton is reentering the Chilean market 18 years after exporting its last car, the Proton Wira, to the South American country in 1998. The national carmaker has shipped 50 left-hand drive units of the Proton Preve to the port city of San Antonio today, the first batch of the 1,000 units it hopes to sell in Chile this year.

Aside from the Preve, Proton will also sell the Exora and Saga in the country. The Preve (in Standard MT, Executive MT and Premium CVT variants) and Exora (in Standard CVT and Premium CVT variants) are set to go on sale in May, followed by the Saga (in 1.6 Standard MT and 1.6 Premium MT) in November. The estimated price is US$17,000 (RM71,089) for the Preve Premium CVT.

As previously reported, the cars will be distributed by Andes Motor, which signed a distributor agreement with Proton on July 1 last year. Proton will be the first mass market car brand to be represented by Andes, which currently deals with buses, trucks and luxury cars.

Proton has planned its reentry to the market since a free trade agreement was signed between Malaysia and Chile on February 25, 2012, granting the company a six percent exemption in import duty. “This gave us the opportunity to identify a viable marketplace for the entry of a left-hand drive market for our cars,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah.

The brand last sold nearly 3,000 cars in the Chilean market – which has a total industry volume of 330,000 units out of a population of 17.6 million – from 1994 to 1998. “This huge market potential is a golden opportunity for Proton in our efforts to increase our production volume and expand our sales and market presence.

“As this year is an interesting year for Proton, we are positive that this is the beginning of many more opportunities to go global, especially after we complete our current new engine programme for us to meet the more stringent regulations of European countries. We shall continue to build good cars and carry out product improvements so that we not only do better in our home turf, but improve our global presence as well,” said Abdul Harith.

Chile joins the small number of current export markets for Proton, including Australia, Indonesia, Thailand and Egypt. Chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has also stated that the company is again looking at assemble its cars in Egypt, and that the export market is very important in terms of expanding its production volume and ensuring its long-term survival.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• jagoan on Mar 01, 2016 at 10:33 am

keep it up Bravo Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 22
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:02 am

Cheaper price, better quality. Thank you fellow Malaysians Proton drivers for subsidizing Chilean, who eat pork, drink wine and speak Spanish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 49
  • American & Japanese already flooded their market… good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • karam singh on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:11 am

its Chile, not many people afford to buy conti & japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Yes, better to send those unsold Proton to Chile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Sagia86 on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:00 pm

You smoking right? Chile is the third highest living standard in all of America, in other word, even better than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Ootai on Mar 01, 2016 at 11:05 am

Wonder why ploton does not go to other Asean market??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Petrodollar on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:19 pm

No seat heater? I believe winter in Chile could be quite chilly so that features could be handy..

• Proton’s reputation in Chile is exactly the same as how we view China’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • R u a chilean?
      Then how do u know for sure?
      Oh, the chili that came out from ur rear told u so.
      Okay, u correct.
      U winliaolor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • If you don’t have the wisdom, then listen to others. Just like how you don’t believe my prophecy about Proton failure that turned out to be true. Preve, Suprima, Iriz … all struggling to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • xmngr on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:49 am

I’m chilean and Proton cars have way better reputation than the chinese shit we got here.

• Buena suerte Chile!

• Alexes Sanchez on Mar 01, 2016 at 12:39 pm

Nope.

• Proton, you are the man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • hayenadeblue on Mar 01, 2016 at 5:08 pm

I would seriously considering suprima s over iriz IF they put a proper keyless go entry into suprima s.

Wait, wait, wait, I will after they replace the GB in suprima. Iriz GB CVT is still better than suprima. But to make me buy the suprima, the GB should be better than the current one in Iriz. Maybe from Jatco?

• bijan on Mar 01, 2016 at 7:00 pm

Chilean might buy this proton vehicles to do the 3D jobs…..

• awannano on Mar 01, 2016 at 8:25 pm

Handbrake punya position tak tukar ka?

• Aero (Member) on Mar 02, 2016 at 12:03 am

My congrats to all at Proton on their official return to Chile ! For once, it is very reassuring to see Proton ACTUALLY deliver on their words and promises. I hope this positive attitude is maintained at all levels in the company, including Proton Edar.

I also heard PT PEI (Proton Indonesia) is undergoing some sort of restructuring… understandably, it is not entirely the fault of PT PEI for low sales in 2015 as the Indonesian car market shrunk 16% last year. However, I cannot accept how PCA (Proton Australia) marketed the Prevé and Suprima S. The Prevé was overpriced at launch, only to receive huge price cuts a year or two later, by then, it was outdated. On a more positive note, Proton recently shipped a few hundred units of 2016 model year GEN-2 LHD units to Egypt. The market demand for the old GEN-2 is still surprisingly strong in Egypt, in fact, Egypt was most probably Proton’s best export market in 2015… and Proton Egypt (Ezz Elarab) only had two old models on offer, the GEN-2 and Persona. Fortunately, Proton is currently working on bringing the Prevé and Exora Turbo to Egypt, hopefully sooner than later.

Anyway, I wish Proton and Andes Motor all the best, and I’ll be keeping a close eye on Proton’s Chilean sales in the future. I do not expect much, I only expect Proton to learn from their past mistakes and be wary not repeat them over and over again in the future. Proton has a good reputation in Chile, they cannot afford to mess it up.