SPYSHOTS: 2017 Audi Q5 peels away some disguise

Spy-Shots of Cars This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature of 6500°K

Audi has confirmed that its mid-range SUV, the Audi Q5, will receive a second generation this year. But before that, we’re getting a better look at the BMW X3 and Mercedes-Benz GLC rival, thanks to these new photos from our European spy photographers.

The mule is shorn of a little bit of camouflage this time around, revealing a few details such as the sharp LED daytime running lights set inside the trapezoidal headlights and the outline of the clamshell bonnet (the latter is also found on the new Audi Q7 and A4).

Spy-Shots of Cars This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature of 6500°K

Also seen are the LED tail lights and the reverse and fog lights that are very similar to the items on the current facelifted model, but the rear valence with a diffuser-like insert is new, and look to incorporate dual exhaust outlets. Elsewhere, the basic shape and proportions are very similar to the outgoing car, save for pronounced haunches as seen on the new Q7.

The next-gen Q5 is expected to be based on the revamped version of the modular MLB platform, called the MLB Evo. The architecture is shared with the new A4 and Q7, and should deliver significant weight savings over the current Q5. Also expected is a slew of technology from newer Audi models, such as optional matrix beam LED headlights as well as the Virtual Cockpit digital instrument cluster.

Power should come from a new range of turbocharged engines from the A4, including a 2.0 litre TFSI four-cylinder petrol capable of producing up to 252 hp and 370 Nm, as well as a 190 hp/400 Nm 2.0 TDI four-pot and 218 hp/400 Nm and 272 hp/600 Nm 3.0 TDI V6 diesels.

Also on the cards is an e-tron plug-in hybrid variant further down the line.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 17, 2016 at 12:11 am

Why bother hiding the exterior. If the B9 A4, the TT, the R8 are any indication, the new Q5 will look very similar to the old/current one. But what i’m more interested in, is the interior, which is Audi’s party trick.

• Atilla on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:15 am

Hopefully the final product will have nicer rims than those 2013 leftovers it has on

• Buy 2nd Hand Please on Mar 17, 2016 at 8:47 am

Dont waste your money buying new. Wait 2 years. You can buy a Q5 for about RM150k. Same with X3 and the new GLC250. Why waste RM300k?

Then you can use your car for about 3 yrw and sell it for RM90k even..

Let the first buyer bear the RM150k depreciation!

• If u can’t afford these cars at the original price you certainly wouldn’t be able to maintain them even if bought used. Fact of life. Many shiok sendiri Porsche Cayenne second hand buyers are discovering this.

• True. Those second hand this n that ppl are just like going into fine dine restaurant eating others left over dishes. Second hand n free.

• Yolanda on Mar 19, 2016 at 12:35 am

Well I own an Audi SQ5 and cannot wait for the new generation to roll out to the Showroom! I will be trading in for the new SQ5 2017. Im sure it will look Awsome outside as well as interior.