Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI revised with 17-inch wheels, keyless entry, push start, more power – RM151k-161k

The upgraded Golf 1.4

We originally broke the news earlier this month, but now it’s official – the Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI has been revised with added equipment. It’s also now split into two trim levels, a base Comfortline (that retains some of the equipment of the outgoing model) and a range-topping Highline; both are cheaper than the existing car.

Prices start at RM150,635 for the Comfortline, which is some RM13,973 cheaper than the current Golf’s RM164,608 price tag; the Highline is priced at RM160,635. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year warranty and a five-year mobility guarantee.

2016-volkswagen-golf-re-spec- 013

The Comfortline variant features 16-inch “Dover” alloy wheels, a Composition Media infotainment system with a 6.5-inch touchscreen, an eight-speaker sound system, paddle shifters, six airbags and electronic stability control – all standard on the current car.

On the other hand, automatic bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights (replaced by reflector halogen units), cruise control, auto-dimming rear view mirror, Climatronic dual-zone climate control and brushed dark silver trim have all been dropped from the list.

Highline gets all these, plus 17-inch “Madrid” split-five-spoke alloy wheels, LED tail lights from the Golf R, keyless entry, push button start, sports seats with “Mel Stripe” fabric upholstery, automated Park Assist as well as Rest Assist fatigue detection.

Both models also gain an extra 10 PS from the 1.4 litre TSI turbocharged four-cylinder, bringing the total up to 150 PS between 5,000 and 6,000 rpm; maximum torque remains at 250 Nm from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. A seven-speed DSG dual clutch transmission is standard, as before.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• George Abdul on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:20 pm

How can all the Malaysia Automotive industry “increase price do to current exchange” BUT VW can down price (including Benz)??? Who is lying now AP CRONIES or MAI??? When will Rakyat wake up???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • VGM Pls Close Shop on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:10 pm

People don’t want aall this nonsense. VW owners want 3 things

1) 10 year Warranty on DSG
      2) Fixed Resale Value after 7 year Loan finished
      3) Free Courtesy Car and Tow Truck 8x a year.

VW owners are still facing problems with their DSG in Malaysia despite using mineral oil. Cars are juddering and breaking down. People buy RM200k car but have to stand in the hot sun waiting for the tow truck to come every other month.

How is VGM going to compensate the 21 anual leave that VW customers completely use to repair and fix problems?
      In would be good if VGM also give a fixed trade in value after 7 years cause now, even used car salesman don’t want to touch our cars. Our 2nd hand value has become a joke. Passat 2014 used car dealers are offering RM80k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 35
      • ali baba on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:20 pm

can get the second hand for golf tsi 2012 model for 50K-60K, dat one oso difficult to sell liao

• mechn on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:28 am

More power more problem, beware

• Consumer on Mar 25, 2016 at 10:21 am

VW is just like Proton. Buy cheap and drive. Spoiled already then dump it.

Waiting to get unsold Passat B8 for 120K in the near future. Pretty sure VGM will do garage sales always.

• james on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Don’t be give it a chance. I got tonnes of regret in buying the Jetta. Expensive, poor support, keep giving troubles, no RV. You name it, you got it. You sit at SC will understand more from different owners of different models. Is so humiliating and disgraced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Copy and paste on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:08 pm

Very bored to see this guy copy and paste at all vw blog.

• MrPoppyplants on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:22 am

How desperate are you? Absolutely NO car company will give such things in your list. Keep on dreaming.

You made a wrong choice buying a low end VW car, not a lot of high end VW cars have such problems.

• jji22 on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:23 am

P1 got lifetime power window warranty. Why giant VW cannot give such warranty?

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:40 am

Maybe the car will sell better if they just replaced the problematic DSG with a simple conventional torque converter automatic. Some cars already have up to 8 gears in the new generation automatics.

• RaceHeart on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:00 pm

I don’t get the problem like you mention. Maybe is a face problem. haiz…accept it la..

• Lesson on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:42 am

Don’t touch anything German but Mercedes.

• Golf in MY now RM 88,888. Get it now or shutup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
      • European Low Class Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:05 pm

I rather buy a 2013 F30 320i. Can get for RM140k. A BM is a BM.

VW is just a low class car in Europe that VGM is fooling Malaysians with high class pricing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 26
        • 89k and 140k is big difference woh!

• Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:49 pm

VW cars are now junk status in Malaysia. Owning a VW is like owning a Opel Fronterra or a Fiat Bravo or even a Saab. The brand has become junk status

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Big question is this, how can VGM sell their cars recently for nearly half price? I am sure even sell at half price, they still untung also.

But VGM will blame Government saying taxes are high and all that. The fact that they can do big sales mean that they were overcharging customers in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Blame Over Price First on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:43 am

I thnink car is expensive in Malaysia is because it is overprice especilly VW. Then only I blame tax. For example, a car that is imported for RM50k, then tax 100% will be RM50k to make it RM100k. Then salemsn commision and showroom and sooooooo expensice mark up another RM100k. At show room we buy the car for RM200k in total. In this case, if the government take out the car tax, those RM200k car price will only down by RM50k only, not RM100k like most ppl think. That is why car importer can give heavy discounts to clear stock maaaa. I think so lah.

• FIST (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:43 pm

VW always at higher price than other brands in the same segment.

• Fauzi on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:46 am

You are write, even if tax is 0%, the car price in Malaysia will still expensive. Marketing cost and part price is very high. Another issue is Malaysia does not have enough volume to make the price become competitive

• james on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:24 pm

More will be stuck at the stockyard, LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Don’t cry like existing owners. next year VGM sure sell this car for half price.

• Manual Fan on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:25 pm

VW Malaysia should bring manual transmission. Same as European model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • No problem on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:11 pm

VW should bring in the Jetta 1.4 with 6 speed conventional auto like what’s being sold in the USA.

• shawal ali on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Dats accord 2.4 money….

• nabill (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:56 pm

Yes they have an awful SC and patchy dsg, but one thing u cant accuse any vw is that they drive so well, u drive the accord and the golf n, the vw will win u over trust me…. That solidness n smoothness u wont find in majority of japanese cars…. But at the end of the day, follow ur logic n get the accord! Dont fall for a trap called VW msia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • camtakpro on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:43 am

The solidness and smoothness will be overshadowed by stopping beside the road due to engine or DSG mal-function.

Anyway just hold on purchase and wait, you might able to get 50% later. In the mean time just temporary get Avanza 1.3 second hand.

• superdriver on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:42 pm

RM151k-161k for a golf… Welcome to malaysia. Highway robbery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • modesto.h on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:46 pm

if you hold for a while, you can get 2016 stock clearance in 2018. probabaly 100k one biji.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Ootai on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:53 pm

This model got mechatronics problem solved??

• Car user on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:01 pm

7 Speed DSG reliability ok now?

• I shall wait for Civic 1.5T..
    Sorry VW, after owning your Polo, its like a time bomb…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • if they could priced the jetta and passat at rm88k+ and RM118K+ (if i am not mistaken), why they dont priced this golf cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:56 pm

I herd current owners of Jetta and Passat crying so much. What a way for VGM to reward their existing customers. OMG. Buy Passat at Rm180k and then see VGM themselves selling the same Passat for RM118k

• FIST (Member) on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:45 pm

Cos it’s CBU?

• Ongtk on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:50 pm

I genuinely wanted to trade-in my 2014 Jetta for a Golf TSI but it’s been three weeks and I still have not gotten a reply from my sales personnel. I am puzzled VW not keen to retain an existing customer.

• Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

You are lucky. If you advertise in Mudah, it takes months before anyone even calls you!

• Copy and paste on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:10 pm

At least your saga can sell easier

• camtakpro on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:46 am

Impossible. New Saga buyer want to wait for new Saga release, so old Saga will be cheaper.

• gaviny on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:53 pm

150k for a hatchback ?

before it was stupid to buy , now it’s really really stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Junk Status Car on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:51 pm

Before it has dumb to buy VW, now with all their scandals, it is even more dumber to own one. Buy today Rm161k, tomorrow sell RM70k also you lucky. No RV.

• Rayza on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Come on la VW, get rid of the dsg, ppl fed up already.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Why DSG again? Oh my.

The main problem VW faces in Malaysia is DSG! Why are they still bringing this piece of problematic transmission in?

Just offer a manual as option will do. Those who would buy this golf are not your average consumers. By average i mean buyers will normally choose D segment or some reliable C segments with auto transmission.

People like us do not mind driving a manual! We want to have fun with hatches that offers better performance. DSG is simply not ready for use in our hot and humid climate.

VGM, you do not listen to us at all, do you?

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:26 pm

jika anda tak mampu beli kereta german, beli proton sama quality VW tu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Sammy Loo on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm

The HU taken from Proton Preve?

• BeemerFreak on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:54 pm

DSG bashers are here again….enough la….we heard and know enough d, if I want to be stupid let me be….ok……

• Scirocco R 2.0 EA113 on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Those who never do research shit drives problematic 1.4, im driving a 2.0 Vw for 7 years and it is still going strong, leather smells like new car, still powerful like new (can chase the mk7 gti) , NOT EVEN SINGLE BREAKDOWN, do the service right and drive the car how you should drive. Wanna drive Rm1xxk Vw without problems? You better go and get a lousy camry or some korean models. Currently clocked at 110k km, NEVER CLAIM BEFORE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • MrPoppyplants on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:18 am

LOL

• tapi conti car kan lebih ‘high class’, lebih ‘quality’???..why complain about price since so many bought at 160k for the tsi..now most owners especially the one with the dry clutch dsg are stuck with a piece of junk and warranty expiry looming..ignorant is bliss

• vincent on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:02 am

Owned a VW before, drove for 200k km, no major issue, still running good. Also got another VW after that, so far so good, love it so much, car like accord cant compare, interior is very noisy compare to my VW. The reason why Golf is more expensive is because the car is imported directly from Germany, not built by DRB Hicom, if you want size at cheaper price, get a pick up truck.

• Fed up! on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:26 pm

I tend to get annoyed with questions and even rants about how bad VW cars are. Most that I see are people who rant about having their cars stalled due to mechatronics and/or clutch malfunction. Worst are people who posts their interest in getting a VW car and asking (again and again and again) about gearbox problems.

In regards to the mechatronic and clutch issues, one must realise that DSG gearbox is still a MANUAL GEARBOX (albeit automated). Therefore, you must sooner or later change the clutch pack as well as the mechatronics (although not necessarily at the same time). Just like a manual gearbox, once your clutch slips, you know that you need to change it soon.

My only issue is that you may not get the feel of a clutch slipping to know that you may soon need to change the clutch pack/mechatronics. My car is only 35k kms old, so I guess I would have quite some mileage before I need to change them. But nevertheless, owners have mentioned that there would be some symptoms to show that either one or both are on its way out. That is something that owners should be aware of.

If your mechatronics and or clutch was at fault and needed changing (which by its own are wear and tear parts) you would eventually need to have it replaced. That’s it.

Also, don’t expect parts to be as cheap as Perodua’s. One can afford RON100 but bitching about the price of parts won’t solve anything. Tu belum nak start mod lagi.

There is no need to curse the car, the company etc.

If u expect a fuss free ownership of an automatic and cheap parts, then go get a Perodua Myvi.

Note:

The post is only intended for mechatronics/clutch replacement only and I am not affiliated with VGM whatsoever.

The post is not directed to anybody, so don’t take your pants off just yet.

Those who had issues with aftersales service of VW are a different matter. In fact, I did have some minor issues with aftersales service (very minor compared to many others) but in my experience, FA Wagen (which I normally go to) have improved considerably. Some may differ in experience but lets leave that in another discussion.

Also, new cars with blown engines although not common is something that should not be taken lightly. Worst off would be the poor aftersales service handling cases like these. Lets leave that also for another discussion.

Just enjoy driving.

• bringbackmanualcars on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:32 pm

when can we get manual option??

• Fed up! on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Sourced from Wikipedia

Malaysia

13 days after the Singapore recall, Volkswagen Malaysia also announced a recall for the 7-speed DSG. No official statement was released by the company, but it was stated that a total of 3,962 were involved in the unit recall exercise – units produced between June 2010 and June 2011, with affected vehicles being Golf, Polo, Scirocco, Cross Touran, Passat and Jetta models equipped with the transmission. [40]

• Fed up! on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:13 pm

VW has an ongoing campaign to replace your clutch pack after the 5 year warranty at rm 1888. Think normal price is 3888 or something. Clutch packs ate wear and tear, so if the cost of replacement deters you, then you should factor this into your consideration.

• stasta on Mar 24, 2016 at 2:10 pm

i still dont understand why golf is so much more expensive than passat.

• New golf tsi on May 09, 2017 at 1:45 am

Hi all, I am a new owner of Volkswagen Golf tsi. I been seeing this forum and I really find some of this genius commentators and I wonder are they really own a Volkswagen or a Japanese car owners. Tell me something, which car maker and any model doesn’t have problems? Is only is it a major one or a minor one? I own two Japanese top model. One of it in 4 years wt mileage of 124k I done two times engine overhaul. And some comments said better not buy Germans car except Mercedes. Are u sure Mercedes has no problem at all? Bmw is German car. Are back then there is so many cars breakdown at the roadside? How the car ended up is depend how a owner take care of it. And most importantly is how a driver drive the car. I find the Volkswagen Golf tsi is a superb nice ride compared to Toyota and especially Honda. Aren’t this two so call good car maker are bluffing and cheating Malaysian money? Look at those Honda and Toyota low range models on the road. Does they looks good? What kind of gearbox they using? Since world war 2 engines and gearbox? What safety features they give to Malaysian drivers? Face the facts that mainly Malaysian buy car is first seeing the looks and gadgets inside the car then price. So, those Japanese car makers give u those things wt poor quality. And I find out that 5 features that a golf tsi have and a bmw 330 does not have. And buyers willing to pay 240k for a bmw. Why? Because of the front logo.. A bmw logo. Go out Gaya ma… Successful ma… Drive bmw men…don’t play play.. But pls ya… Go take a longer test drive and feel the car longer especially on the golf tsi and do the same on the bmw. I actually supposed to get the bmw 118i. Eventually I cancel even the loan is approved. And I bought the golf tsi. Why??? A bmw 118i just a simple front censor and keyless entry which it doesn’t has it… BMW men……. When u test drive a bmw sure everyone say shook men stable… Why??? Of course ma they smart to con buyer by using bigger rims and tyre… Do hope buyers think and do the homework before deciding which car u wanted and no point condemning other cars maker. Ain’t nowadays bmw dropping price by using pre reg cars to sell? So VW drop price.. How abt Subaru???? They are the worst because they are the same family of Nissan… Honda city ain’t the cvt gearbox also having problems? But have good resale value. Why? Honda ma… That is because those use cars idiots who determined the car resale value. Which car got value tell me? Is only u lose more or lose lesser. Comment sense. But I do agree abt the VW after sales. Their service attitude is done badly is by those service advisor. Because mainly all are young panks which they can’t be more pro active as they go to work the next min they are thinking going off from work. And their attitude is can’t careless. Is not my car. Where is the passion and responsibility? Zero. Just like I had a bad experience at swire motors service. First time I complaint they ask me leave down the car overnight. Hello…. Five star hotel ah? Second time also said leave down the car.. Excuse me.. I buy the car to leave down ah????? Such minor issue but must leave down the car.. And worst is that blardy service advisor is damm rude and the face is like I owe him a million ringgit. VPCM or any of VW dealers service management shld take note abt taking care the customer. And this service manager at swire motors know what’s going on but have no chicks to come out to help to solve the issue.. I wondering dress up nicely and seats in a room and not performing his duty then any mMyanmar or Bangladeshi can do the job.. So vpcm or swire motors if u see this pls take note on this I hope. That’s all for now thank u and sorry if I have offended anyone here.