Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI gets new kit – from RM149k

The Malaysian-market Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been treated to a minor update. We caught this 1.4 TSI variant at the Volkswagen Glenmarie showroom sporting a few new items that were not available before. Speaking to a sales advisor there, we’ve been told that Golf 1.4 TSI has been split into two trim lines now – a basic Comfortline and a Highline that features additional kit.

The Highline variant pictured here features a set of new 17-inch “Madrid” alloy wheels and slightly restyled headlamps with more chrome elements (apparently in place of the LED DRLs of old). Down the back, the Golf sports a new pair of LED taillights that’s of a similar design to the sportier Golf R.

Functional updates include a KESSY keyless entry system, while the interior now features a push-start button situated at the centre console (next to the gearshift). In front, driver and passenger will be hugged by a pair of new sport seats, while all seats come upholstered with a “Mel Stripe” fabric.

Also fitted to the Highline Golf are Park Assist and Rest Assist features. The former offers automatic parking into parallel spaces and also out of it. The latter, Rest Assist, is a drowsiness detection system, normally found further up the product line-up.

As mentioned, most of the items here are available on the Highline variant only, which is priced at RM159,888 (OTR, without insurance). The Comfortline variant, which sees less kit (and halogen headlamps instead of bi-xenon units) is priced at RM149,888. Note that both are more affordable than the standard Golf 1.4 TSI, which was listed at RM163,888.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Open Letter to VGM on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:42 am

Hello VGM, Malaysians don’t want all this. VW owners and potential owners want 3 things.
    1) 10 year warranty on the car and 20 year warranty on DSG
    2) VW guarantee buyback our cars after 7 year loans
    3) Free Towing 8x a year and free courtesy car 8x a year.

We are not interested in all the kits when you have to wait for the tow truck every other day to tow your car because of DSG breakdowns

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 12
    • LandoCar on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:27 am

One thing cannot tahan is the arrogance of the service advisers at Jln Sg Besi centre. They speak as if we the owners do not know anything about our car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:41 am

Pay RM149k so that you can spend almost a month annual/emergency leave in VW service centre? Good luck to you. I think VW should package in the new car with additional DSG gearbox which you will definitely need it within 24 months.

• addacomment on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:10 am

just heard VW will put in 10yo Vios 4-speeder Auto. #byebyetowing

• Lemon Tree on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:57 am

As said always. Don’t touch VW without 10 years DSG warranty.

• OMG…149k for VW G1.4TSI…hahaha..In OTO, selling 2012 model just abt 70K…think who wanna buy?

• BAMyouhaveAIDS on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:52 am

No use if still using the same old gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Trying to counter the competition from Mercedes A class I guess… A class is still a better choice than this

• Golf is C-segment compete with Focus,308,Mazda 3 hb and Megane. A-class is smaller but in term of price , able to compete with GTi or golf R.

• Dogymal@yahoo. com on Mar 11, 2016 at 4:56 pm

U are talking price competition. Not performance

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 07, 2016 at 5:11 pm

It isn’t. The A class is an inferior car to this, ask any number of reviewer. Haven’t tried the A class, but the B class, and the BMW 1 series (F20), and of course the Golf. The B class feels much cheaper than either. Sound isolation is downright terrible, with massive tire roar. The previous gen Renault Megane is better than that. The Golf is on par with the BMW, maybe a bit posher feeling in terms of material choices. The BMW does have the better ride, both in terms of comfort and handling, and the steering is better. The BMW suffers badly in terms of space though, I’m quite small, and I started to feel a little claustrophobic. That’s part of the appeal, yes, and as driver I enjoyed it, but it might not be for everyone, and sadly at the rear and in the boot…

So no, I’d take the Golf. Preferably with the 6 speed manual gearbox.

• underskinned on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:16 am

Why bother? You can find 3-year old Golfs at 95k at Mudah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Ong Chee Boon on Mar 11, 2016 at 12:30 pm

3 year golf mk6 now mine only worth 80-85k. So yeah, private seller is selling around 90k.

Don’t get me wrong, i love my golf driving experience which comes with light and sound package, but man, these scandals are really uncalled for.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 12, 2016 at 6:59 pm

Gotta explain my previous post. What i meant was, VW shouldnt resort to such cheating tactics in order to “look good” and “leading the market” when it is not.

• ben yap on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:30 am

highline, comfort or even extravagant line also won’t help their sales.

better suspend your business until the DSG thingy is solved.

• Haha! I don’t wanna talk about the gearbox cause there are a few above my comment, already, and a lot more yet to come.

Talking about facelift, or even an “all-new” model, VW is the most ridiculous of all. The market expecting a new look, and they will always always looks nothing different from the previous model. #faceliftjoke

• Kenneth Fook on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:46 am

Ford Focus any day over this worrysome lemon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • cendol (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:54 am

I will buy A Class anytime over this VW

• FIST (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:56 am

So the Highline is lower spec than the Standard? A bit confused with the last sentence

• applegreen on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:36 am

RM149k and get free car wash when u park your golf at selected shopping mall

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:43 am

Eh this was the original price before VW decided to hike their prices!!! Make it 130k then we’lol consider it cheaper.

• YeapyEvo on Mar 11, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Ford Focus already ditch the Dead Suddenly Gearbox (DSG). Not worth to buy a Germany Saga with so much risk of failure.

• Contifan on Mar 11, 2016 at 3:40 pm

GOLF is officially dead …what is the point in this?. Value is gone…people who bought with 9 year loan are stuck…DSG problems is like rubbing salt to the wound….

• Potential Used Golf 1.4 MK7 Buyer on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Hey guys, I am looking forward in getting a used/demo unit Golf 1.4 MK7. I would like to seek honest opinions and feedbacks from owners, if they are still experiencing any problems after the gearbox update. I have been asking the showrooms and service centres and they all say the same thing – after update no problem. Thanks

• Head Hunter on Mar 11, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Run for your lives!!!!

• Honest feedback from me…..am one of the golf ex-owner…i own the car only for one year and I resell it at 100k to second hand car dealer.put aside the RM lost…..i love the car, the handling, the fuel consumption all superb but me and my family travel with 1car…..really cannot afford to have always breakdown……1st 3times…..car cannot start…ask to put the gear to ”P”….but the gear already at level P, still cannot start. One more time at KLIA….while driving suddenly all lights are on on my dashboard…..end up tow back to sg besi workshop. Now am driving honda city…..pls don compare as it is totally not the same segment but I am worry free for 1.5year now….this is my experience.

• Golfer on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:09 pm

My 2013 Golf after software update and mineral oil, totally no problems at all. Running smooth till today.

• Fitri on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:51 pm

My honest opinion is – run run run and never look back. I think it’s safe to say that VW owners in Malaysia are suffering. If you’re lucky, you might be able to drive it to the service center yourself, if not get a tow truck number on speed dial. Take it from me, an owner of a golf MK7 for 2 MONTHS. Now I’m happily driving a Mazda 3 sedan. Cheers!

• Golf Mk7 owner on Mar 12, 2016 at 12:38 am

Bought in 2013, mechatronic replaced within 12 months.
      Gearbox lubricant change from synthetic to mineral and clutch replaced to “upgraded one” as per SC claim.
      Touch wood, so far no problem thereafter like what most other owner comment.
      looks like it’s mechatronic destined to be replace once around 30,000km. All in all, Mk7 is better than Mk6

• timbuktu on Mar 12, 2016 at 11:23 am

I own a 2013 jetta. Juddering happened after one year and they replaced the new rev L version within 2 weeks. The synthetic gear oil was also replaced with mineral ones and VW gave me RM200 voucher for future servicing as a token of compensation for the inconvenience.

Now it’s been 3 years and I have not had the juddering anymore. Also touch wood, I have not had any tow truck experience and my Jetta hasn’t failed me on the road.

I recognize there are lots of grunts from previous owners especially when they didn’t have the mechatronic and new clutch fix a couple of years back. It seems rather strange the complaints still keep on coming and these “owners” kept humping on VW everytime paultan publishes an article on VW. If I am in their shoes, I would have sold the VW and bought a Vios long time ago. It’s interesting that people like to complain but chose not to do anything about it.

• I have the Golf MK6 TSI SE version bought end of 2012. Just like you, the salesman convinced me that the gearbox problem was finally resolved. Been using it for almost 4 years, the car is still working good, no problem with gearbox at all, clocking 85,000 km.

I wonder if any of MK7 owner has ever experienced the legendary gearbox issue?

• veedudu on Mar 12, 2016 at 6:33 pm

bro, stay away from any VW with a dsg7 dry clutch box..

• BeemerFreak on Mar 12, 2016 at 7:31 pm

With considering so long it is a 2012 onwards model. New meachtronics unit coupled with the clutch pack and improved synthetic gear oil has seen significantly much less failures.

Like the other bros who have recommended here my 3 year old 1.4 Jetta is 120k km in with no gearbox related problems. Only failure so far is the cigarette lighter which got stuck.

• Silver on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:12 pm

Honestly for a premium hatchback, there are better value choices (and better looking, mind you) options out there. My mum wanted the Golf but when it’s compared to the new Peugeot 308, the Golf in comparison looks bland, boring, and overpriced. the Peugeot is also more comfortable, better looking in our opinion. And actually more reliable than the Golf. Badges are only on the surface to fool your mindsets thinking premium is better, the real good car shines beyond the badge once u drive and own one. cheers

• Peugeot far worst brand than VW. No quality at all. Problematic brand. I own a 408 and also jetta. VW more reliable n cheaper to run.

• Askedu on Mar 11, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Wait until December for ‘Great VW Sale’ on unsold unit

• Fitri on Mar 11, 2016 at 11:53 pm

You would be a lucky VW owner if you are able to drive yourself to the service center without having to call a tow truck. Why add in “push to start” if it’s going to die on you anyway haha

• papa mama's sister on Mar 13, 2016 at 4:20 pm

VW -realy taboleh pakai…..

• Ongtk on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:55 am

I own a 2014 Jetta and planning to get the facelifted Subaru XV. But lo and behold, the car is only worth about RM55! Even then, not many used car dealers are willing to buy. I understand VW is selling pre-reg units at RM82K! Caught in a dilemma definitely!!

Onto the car, handling and comfort are good but fuel consumption is on the high side for town use; averaging 11km/100 litres. Last December, I felt the car reluctant to move after being caught for long periods in traffic jams and going up car park ramps at my condo and shopping malls. But VW claimed there was nothing amiss.

Recently, I get whirring sounds from the undercarriage at speeds averaging 70Kmh and scratching sounds when doing parallel parking. Furthermore, there was also an apparent lack of power when accelerating and there was knocking sound from the engine. But this seems to have gone away after I changed to Shell after having strictly used Caltex from day one of owning the car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 07, 2016 at 5:16 pm

They should offer it with a manual gearbox too. It’s easy to use, it’s fun. In traffic jam just put into N and let go of the clutch. No need to press the clutch (which isn’t even heavy). Are you scared of rolling backwards? Leave the auto hold function on. Once you press the brakes, you can let go of them. Until you move forward (or in reverse backwards) the car will not move. The manual in a modern car like the Golf has nothing in common with the manual gearboxes you are used to from Perodua.

• Billie on Aug 21, 2016 at 12:06 am

No more u shape drl light?right?