Nissan Almera now with LED DRLs in M’sia, all grades

2016 Nissan Almera facelift DRL 16

The Nissan Almera has been given an eye-catching new item in Malaysia – LED daytime running lights. This is as seen on Edaran Tan Chong Motor’s (ETCM) microsite and Facebook page promoting the B-segment sedan, which also says that the DRLs are available on all variants. The string of white lights underline the front fog lamps.

The addition of LED DRLs coincide with ETCM raising prices for its four CKD locally assembled models, which include the Almera. As reported last week, the Almera 1.5E M/T is now priced at RM68,500, the 1.5E A/T RM72,200 and the top 1.5VL A/T RM82,000, all on-the-road without insurance. The new prices, effective April 1, are RM3,734.88 (5.8%), RM4,521.64 (6.7%) and RM4,610.88 (6.0%) higher, respectively.

So, while prices are up (forex effect, also cited by Honda, Toyota, Lexus, Mitsubishi, Kia, Peugeot, Citroen, Audi and even Proton as the reason for higher costs), Almera buyers get the consolation of LED DRLs. All else remains. Check out the roomy 1.5L sedan and its Nismo Performance Package in detail here.

For sales and test drive enquiries, you may contact CarBase.my Verified Sales Advisors linked below:

GALLERY: Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kuriang on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:31 pm

still ugly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Gargantia on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Not just ugly, the main concern were the build quality were so poor most likely spoil (especially motor fan and wheel bearing).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • karam singh on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:17 pm

lol , 102 hp for 1.5l is too far underpower.
        sporty my a** .
        rubbish , just throw this away from the road.
        make my eyes bleed.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:51 pm

That’s why I’m gonna keep my 1994 Wira sambung halfcut forever and ever. Coldest aircond in the world. Almera is no match.

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Sushi car? You don’t worry with the quality, comfort, fuel saving and RV!

• Siapa mau bili almari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • OMG…just body kit LED DLR…puihhhh.

• spongewai on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Ringgit drop to RM3.80 but all prices are increased insanely

deng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Prices don’t change overnight just because the ringgit has been strong for a week or two. Life isn’t that simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • The most expensive LED ever. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Kevin on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Increasing 5k , free u China make running day light… Hahaha

• I thought new facelift was the change in headlamp. So is this means facelift of the facelift? Lagi lagi best of the lagi best?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • The only car in Malaysia still with 1 airbag on its variant. LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Tan Ah Kow on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Coz TC mentions that this amisai body very very strong. No need extra airbags. With the sporty milo tin exhaust and super beng spoiler, this car can cut thru wind and tapow all godcars.

Air bag are for pussy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • DPCraft on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:05 pm

The door is so light compare to Honda City, I doubt the body is strong.

• camtakpro on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:12 am

They follow Proton statement, the metal is hi tech hot press forming, lighter and tougher.

• horrayooi on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:14 pm

Vios is upgrading to new engine and cvt with steptronic,hope Almera is going through upgrading from 4 speed auto to cvt in their next specification. Day running lights is cheap stuff. Very common nowadays.Price increases, are you out off
    your mind. Elantra is slashing RM21K off their price.
    Now RM70k on the road for 1.6 ( D segment ).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • 3k+ for the LED…

• Sammy Loo on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:35 pm

1.5V variant no more?

• nabill (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:58 pm

pathetic effort….

• Every time I walk pass an Almera, In my mind was like “what an ugly mutant faker”.
    Especially those with NISMO skirt. Seriously who on earth design that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Rajinikanth on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:42 pm

When mazda raised price for the led headlamp people lose their mind. So what you all gonna say for this ciplak LED strip for 5k.

• DPCraft on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Mazda 2 LED’s much more nicer. Almera n Vios like an after thought.

• I rather take Mazda 2 with 2 biji LED lamp than this horrendious alamak.

• Jobless on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:15 pm

A poor ah beng’s Vios…vely poor ride and feeling like in. Sampan iin middle of ocean

• Ringgit already up, still increase price?

some more, low spec still 1 airbag….

• Sam VHL Loo on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:41 pm

For manual Almera, you still can start the car engine without need to depress the clutch which can be very dangerous to others nearby in case if the gear was engaged while for manual Vios, you must depress fully the clutch before the engine can be started. Of course always make sure the manual gear MUST be in neutral (free gear) position before cranking the engine.

• albag on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:24 pm

nice… higher price, DRL addition… instant 24% hp increase!

• TheAMG on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:32 pm

How to update the ‘new’ Nissan Almera
    – Keep adding random exterior modifications

• Yoyo O on Apr 04, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Still awkward look yet the steering so girly.Is there any total man’s look car sell at reasonable price? Any suggestion?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 04, 2016 at 8:27 pm

When will car companies realize that we want more safety and not cheap-looking LEDs or OTT bodykits ? After UMWT added DRLs to their Vios, now TCM has done the same with their Almera. Meanwhile, neither one has ESC, not even on the top spec models. Sigh.

• ben yap on Apr 04, 2016 at 9:22 pm

light up the entire car with DRLs like deepavali also useless. the car’s design is so freaking ugly.

• Zster on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:05 am

Where’s the innovative part? 1 air bag? X esp? Body kit? Or the hilarious drl?

• superdriver on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:39 am

A little plastic here , a little plastic there… some shitty dlr lights to impress,underpowered engine , remove the essential safety and voila RM82 000 with 9 year loan.

I think its time people gets car savy…Virtually robbing customers blindly. Its like the japanese brands here are competing with each other to provide the least amount of car with the maximum amount of price. Clearly the losers will be the malaysia customers.

• Why not better the safety equipment such as more air bags, anti skid control, etc.? Isn’t safety more important than to look good with a few LEDs?

• Anyone care to explain why 1 airbag variant is still allowed? I thought few years back the gov mandates 2 airbags must be installed for any new car sold here? Thank you

• The reason why so many of these ugly mutants on the road because people buy this ugly mutants just because it’s “foreign”. Period. I have to repeat this car is the ugliest both inside and out I have ever seen. The design, bodykits, interior, everything is just so ugly. I heard from reviews the build quality is poor also.

• ahbeng on May 20, 2016 at 11:36 pm

all nissan almera haters lol.. what is your problem ? i think this car is quite great it is not as bad as malaysian brand

• wubwub on Jun 04, 2016 at 11:53 am

since its 102hp adding nismo exterior kit is sign of ricer
    impul one is decent

TCEA should sell with IMPUL supercharged HR15DE option version so 1.5cc can go over 140hp
    just look at Latio Impul supercharge

then it will be the best selling