SPIED: W205 C-Class facelift to get Multibeam LEDs

Spy-Shots of Cars

Oh yes, you’re looking at a prototype of the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class facelift. Already, you ask? Well, the latest C-Class first appeared at the tail end of 2013, so the mid-life facelift should come about circa 2017 or thereabouts. It’s about time, then, that we see the update being tested.

The silver prototype here appears very “normal” at first glance, until you look closely at the headlamps. Lo and behold, those are very clearly the brand’s high-tech Multibeam LED headlamp units, similar to those fitted on the new W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class. It should replace the W205’s current top-of-the-range LED ILS option.

Other than the fancy new headlamps, everything else on the car appears unchanged, this being an early test mule. Expect the real deal to introduce minor visual updates, including new front and rear bumpers, tail lights with different graphics and of course, new alloy wheel designs.

Further updates can be expected under the bonnet, including the adoption of Mercedes’ latest 9G-Tronic transmission, replacing the ageing 7G-Tronic currently fitted across the range. The latest OM654 2.0 litre turbodiesel engines should also feature in the W205 facelift, along with minor revisions in other areas.

GALLERY: Current W215 Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• NasiPutih on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:45 pm

isn’t it a lilttle too fast for a facelift ==

• NasiPutih001 on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:46 pm

Isn’t it a lilttle too fast for a facelift == i mean seriously the new c-class is just launch for a year or two ==

• goodcar on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:54 pm

9G tronics gear box are very advance and worth to wait for FL … those lighting and bumpers etc…. no use . just ignore .
    The gear system is most important for driving pleasure . BMW how are you doing ? Your LCI not relevant at all ?

• Eraser on Apr 08, 2016 at 8:01 am

Theyre preparing for the new model la what for facelift. The facelift is last year’s news.

• DPCraft on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:34 pm

The front facia of this c-class looks like current e class.

• Jobless on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Alamak, great looking but Merc start to become like Audi and VW, all the models looks the same..i mean i have poblem telling the S, E and C class aprt

• tokmoh. on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:30 am

IIHS say this C-keras light is poor quality liao