Proton confident of turnaround with RM1.5 bil loan

Perdana-Brochure-1

Following today’s announcement, Proton has sent out a press statement “to record its appreciation” of the Malaysian government approving the national carmaker’s soft loan of RM1.5 billion.

“The announcement by the government will catalyse Proton’s turnaround plan, which includes the rolling out of three new models this year starting with the Perdana. With the infusion of new members of management, the company is confident to turn around,” said the new Proton CEO, Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali.

In the statement, Proton maintained it will continue to focus on improving its products and services in order to serve its customers better. “Proton is also constantly engaging its strategic partners to explore collaborative opportunities to improve its products offerings and time to market. I believe the assistance by the government will reinforce the confidence of our partners in Proton,” Fuaad added.

Proton is fully aware that its sustainability will directly affect the eco-system of the Malaysian automotive industry, involving its customers, employees, vendors, suppliers and dealers.

“We value the assistance and acknowledge all the concerns highlighted by the government,” mentioned Fuaad, referring to MITI’s lengthy statement on the current state of the local company. “We welcome the setting up of the task force and look forward to working closely with them to chart sustainable growth for Proton.”

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Crack smoker on pipe dreams on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Ha ha ha… endless entertainment in Bolehland

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 9
    • WT Fuchhh on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:43 pm

1.5B ….is that the price for Tun’s resignation!!! Incorigible DRB n P1. Shit on you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 14
      • Muzamir cheebailu on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:05 am

I am happy with my 2.4 vellfire. It can go faster than thebproton 2.4 lit engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
        • Kena ingat semua. Proton skrg kompeni SWASTA miliki Syed Mohktar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
          • Same L00 on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:29 am

Told you already. Either you support Proton by buying their cars (Proton fanboys only TALK, they don’t action), or let government support them by your tax money.

One way or other, we are subsidizing the junk Proton. If I have any junk at home, I will ditch it at roadside.

• hahahha on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:14 am

the only on turning around is the rakyat… to get *arked by proton over and over again… 1.5 billion times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Kena ingat semua. Proton skrg kompeni SWASTA miliki Syed Mohktar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Donkey J on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:18 am

Oh, faith always feeling good in potong business.

• Sack designer on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:33 am

But first, sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Proton Saga FLX for Directors on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:35 pm

I hereby propose that all Directors, including the CEO, CFO be given Proton Saga FLX as their official car. All those who sokong, pls give me a LIKE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Apr 09, 2016 at 3:05 pm

I was re-watching the Iriz launch live telecast on paultan youtube.

The DRB Chairman was late, just got back from London, simply take MC’s mike, jilat Tun M, that’s all he does in his entire speech lol.

That’s it la. Those species of crooks where got business acumen, wanna expect us to believe they’ll magically turnaround? Topkek.

Compared to DSZ, heaven and hell. DSZ’s time, proton can make profit. First half of 2010 alone Proton made RM186mil profit : http://paultan.org/2010/11/25/proton-posts-rm186-million-profit-before-tax-in-first-half-of-2010/

Just search Proton profit, all during DSZ’s time : http://paultan.org/?s=proton+profit

Now under DRB, can only talk. In April 2015, talked about profit in 2016 : http://paultan.org/2015/04/06/proton-lotus-look-to-return-to-profit-in-2016-report/

Mak dia hijauuuuu profit la sangat amik rm1.5bil duit rakyat. Poi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
      • Keadilan hak milik semua on Apr 09, 2016 at 6:39 pm

I am not standing on any site but nowadays… Proof or didnt happens bro…

• Gargantia on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Buddy, MITI Mustapa said “60 thousands workers will suffer IF LOAN NOT APPROVE” BUT he forget BILLIONS of Rakyat continue suffer because of “protection” !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
      • May i know where do you get these information regarding their claims/lunch/dinner etc? I am curious. If you have your deep throat, then these information is very valuable. But if you just create this story, be careful, you may drag paultan.org into shit hole.

• Syukurlah ada BN, Proton can continue to con the rakyat

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Proton please don’t hinder government’s plan to reduce car prices by 30%. For starters, Hondana should be priced around RM75k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 12
      • Forester alredi down 30% as per najib said. So when r u buying it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 62
        • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:36 am

This Rm1.5 billion is going down the drain. Most commentators here are people borb in year 1995 and above. The don’t know much what really happened in 1983 when the idea of Proton was formed.

You see, Proton is a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure his family, kakis and cronies all got the contract to be vendors and suppliers to Proton. Unfortunately, these suppliers were crooks of the highest degree. They gave the worst lowest quality parts and charged super high to Proton.

So, Proton can talk all they want now ie cakap besar. But until Proton changes every single vendor, Proton will still have parts falling off and things breaking into two and be plagued with non stop quality issues.

But Proton, nor Government will NEVER do this cause most of the Proton vendors are UMNO cronies or members and some of them are even in the cabinet today!
          Let us face facts, nama busuk Proton was because of these vendors. That is why everybody until today complains about the quality of Proton cars. From door handles snapping into two to gearbox juddering and rosak. Let me today tell you, it is 100% the fault of the crony vendors that Proton is in bankruptcy today.

The RM1.5 billion has no meaning. It is just to breathe life into Proton for say 9 months before it runs out.

I dare Proton to list ALL their vendors now, quoting their prices, and where they source their parts for Proton. Government has given RM1.5 billion to Proton this time, it is our rakyat’s money. In other words, we are all now sort of shareholders in Proton and can demand this list.
          You will see, the vendor is always some kakak ipar, emak saudara, abang angkat, abang kepada kakak ipar, kakak saudara, ibu tiri, kakak kepada ibu tiri of some UMNO Minister.

Remember, until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will still have nama busuk and sales will still be in collapse state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrrr on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:51 pm

Muniandy is suffer from his proton car from day one. I already said many times, look for good RV and reliable car. Buy sushi you will not wrong

• Operation Manager on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:29 am

Honda Accord 2.4
        USD23k @ MYR88k

Price for a developed high income country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
        • wddwad on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:42 am

harga minyak dekat US and insurans dia berapa? thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
          • Tong Sampah on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:19 pm

you be surprise harga minyat comparable than bolehland, they use gallon! which is 3.78L. Go calculate idiot.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:51 am

The Mat Sallehs are very lucky. not only their currency is high, their GDP Per Capita is high, but their car prices are super low.

In Malaysia, we get whacked with highest car prices in the world, our currency is so small in value (because of corruption) and our GDP PEr Capita is one of the lowest in the world (because of corruption and crony practices like Proton asking for money)

In overseas, the Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags and CBU made with about 20 extra safety spec not available in our Camry is sold for US$22k. Our Camry, made with local Malaysian CKD parts (supposedly cheaper) is sold for RM180k and comes with only 2 airbags and even hardly any safety spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
          • DonkeyKong on Apr 11, 2016 at 12:22 am

If you think GDP and the value of currency is largely determined by corruption, that says a lot about your level of intellect. Those that upvoted you are similarly uneducated and dumb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
        • carlover on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:06 pm

In langkawi price of 2.4 accord is around usd30k without hefty taxes..so entry cost is already high from car makers..our country and neigbouring countries dont have high volume of sales…likewise in usa ..honda accord alone is averaging 360k unit yearly..is like half of our tiv in a year.even foreign car maker is selling higher price due to low sales.for proton ..they need big volume/sales in order to have cheaper price.off course if we compared things in usa..they enjoy alot of cheaper things because of high sales.

• Citizen without Land on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Usd30k x rm4 is 120k.. 2.4 price around rm165k meaning 45k of tax per unit.If 6k unit accord sold in Malaysia a year mean 6,000 x 45,000 around rm270million tax just on accord only.. This is after considering rm value deprecated by 25% from 1.5year ago.Hmmm.. No wonder bn is afford to provide 1.5B very very very soft (no need to pay) loan.Btw,good luck p1 only time will tell whether u can implement your turnaround or it will be just a u-turn.Imagine 1.5B how many unit affordable houses could be build for many Malaysian households in critical need.1.5B given to p1 surely will gone with the wind.Mark & remember my words!

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Yes, you’re right. Why is it cheaper in a developed country? Because they can sell anywhere between 500,000 to a million cars in the US easily. There’s economies of scale. The US is also relatively self-sufficient in producing local components for the manufacture of these cars. Domestic sourcing + domestic production + high volume = lower prices.

What’s the accessible market volume in Malaysia? And we’re just doing CKD.. how many parts are locally manufactured vs imported from Thailand and Japan?

All these contribute to the final selling price. Don’t just pluck some figure from overseas and compare it locally. Look at the whole picture instead of picking and choosing only a small part and bitching about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 118
          • How sincere is Proton? on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Economies of scale or not, cars are still very expensive in Malaysia compared to what people are earning in Malaysia. Anyway, don’t talk about volume. Do you know that most D segment cars come to Port Klang, their value is like US$10 to US$15k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Pity u, even though u r right but stupid Malaysian dunno that

• Raja Mimpi on Apr 09, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Proton export very tiny amount of cars yet selling it below normal price.

So it got to with economy of scale? Just to promote brand? For how long? Another 30 years but still export sales low.

Only lunatic macai like you just too blind to see Proton is an utter failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • paanjang16 on Apr 09, 2016 at 5:15 pm

I agree with this statement. Did you know in Thailand the Accord 2.4 costs 1.6 million Thai Baht which is approximately USD 45,000?

Why so expensive? Wouldn’t it be cheaper since the Accord is made in Thailand? Same for the Vios and Camry.

The top spec Vios in Thailand is 750,000 Baht or approx USD 21k. Atleast now in Thailand it is no longer a moving coffin and comes with VSC.

A simple check at the Thai Honda and Toyota website will give you the price.

It is the same reason PS4 is so cheap in the US. On day 1 of release of the PS4, Sony USA sold 1 million PS4s. That’s the total sales in the US in 1 day. The total sales in 1 year here is a tiny drop in the ocean compared to the total number sold in the US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Actually, cars are very expensive in the UK and Denmark…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • You wont be popular with this kinda comment. But unfortunately your comments are well true.

• Vincent Ang on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Perhaps when people like you stop being so ketuanan stupid, Malaysia may become a better place. Before the Mahmak’s Proton cars in Malaysia were sold at levels close to those found evn in England. Remember the Austin Allegro? People loke you can pull the wool over the eyes of gullible MALAYsians but older folks like me have seen it all. Next time lie better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
          • Caring on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:02 pm

I work in Thailand before. I can tell you cars are not cheap.
            Cheapest car choice to choose will be around (RM 60K)- which most fresh graduates cannot afford to buy. Most of fresh grads buy 2nd hand cars. For Malaysia, fresh grads can buy new cars – either Axia or Saga in range of RM20’s to 30’s K.
            I can see many comment that says cars are cheap, but they are always comparing with US car prices. Not with other neighboring countries. Either they are naive or just nitpicking. Why like this eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Citizen without borders on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Remember the Kia Scandal back in early 2000? It was declared very low price at customs therefore was taxed at very low amount.And sell 1.6cc cbu sephia,spectra at 55-65k only?

• Friedman on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:43 am

The cost of cars is not determined by local individual market size but by the manufacturers own economies of scale. The likes of Malaysia with our rather mature distribution network should be able to enjoy cheaper prices just like how Apple products in Malaysia are some of the cheapest in the world. How can you say ‘they sell more volumes in US so prices there are cheap’ when this one involves global mass manufacturing?

• Tongkat Tongkat Tongkat on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:15 am

Berapa lama lagi Proton nak tongkat? Like Mahathir said, mudah lupa. Yesterday Minister said those who fail their studies on Mara loans, can get 50% discount on their loan.

berapa lama nak tongkat macam ini?

• Tongkat ajaib on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Better u become ridhuan T lah.Then u also can get tongkat.If u don’t like it better go back mainland.This will be your answer from them.hohoho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • How sincere is Proton? on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:22 pm

If Proton is sincere about this turnaround, each and every Board of Directors and Management should take a pay cut. After all, you are earning like RM50k per month. You should take a 50% pay cut.

In overseas, if a company is doing badly and they are begging public money, it is a norm to take a pay cut.

Is Proton big shots taking a pay cut? If not, how dare you ask RM1.5 billion of rakyat money?

this is not the first time Proton has taken money. they have taken many times. Whether officially or quietly. Infact, many times Proton has taken quietly and nobody knows about it. This is when Mahathir was PM and he could take any amount of money to pump into Proton.

Even is previous times Proton has taken money, the BOD, Directors, Management all never took pay cut. They lived luxuriously. 5 star hotels all suits, Business Class all over the world, Drivers, Top Audi cars as company cars, unlimted entertainment allowance etc

Time for Proton to show their sincereity. Just cannot take money just like that. Show us you are giving up your luxury Audis, Mercedes Benz and BMWs. All Directors should either use Saga FLX or Wira 2003 model.

• The New cheap accord wannabe 2.4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • smarttess on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:13 am

A bailout with rakyat’s money, and they keep telling us it’s a private company.

• John is otak batu on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Psstt.. Dear proton. Pls make cars to what the ppl want. Not how you want it. If you make it like how u want it, it is called syok sendiri. Example.. Like gen2. No glovebox. Non adjustable headrest. Low roofline at the back. 1 cupholder. As long you dont start listening to the consumers, you will never benefit from a good sales

• Albert on Apr 10, 2016 at 9:28 pm

crack smoker,
      THE CURSE OF EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN.
      A.BBMB… TWICE BAILOUT
      B.PROTONG…RM 14 BILLION AND NOW ANOTHER BAILOUT RM1.5 bIILION
      C.BAKUN….UNTOLD SUFFERINGS OF RAKYAT,exceed rm 10 Billion
      D.PKFZ…RM 14 BILLION,anyone gone to jail yet?At least khir toyo spend 6 months in jail.
      E.MANY MANY MORE….started by who?.
      Bolehland…the land of multiple bailouts.

• Failed State Citizen on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:36 pm

When it comes to “assisting” those cronies, Malaysia is rich and able to fork out BILLION & BILLION of ringgit. Why do we still need to pay GST ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 6
    • Can’t you see it? The 1.5 billions come from the rakyat’ pocket.. Not theirs. We pay tax and govt pay cronies… As simple as that

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 10
      • Taxer on Apr 09, 2016 at 6:24 am

You think p1 dun pay tax?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
        • rchoo on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:50 am

Yes, P1 affirmatively don’t pay tax, loss making company need to pay tax ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 16
          • carlover on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:06 am

Since implementation gst ..all parts to build a car need to pay gst..not to mention sales taxes on each car sold..is a good move for government to help proton ..but off course proton needs to buckle up in term of everything ..on top of paying off the government soft loan .btw im still using my exora n proud to say its worth every cents spent on it.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:57 pm

Stupid comment by a stupid person. Since when do loss-making companies do not need to pay tax? They still need to declare profit-before-tax and profit-after-tax even if they have negative bottomline. Furthermore, over the years, Proton has paid RM24 billion in taxes vs. RM14 billion in government assistance. Haven’t you been reading any news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • Taxer on Apr 09, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Tax included on sold car

• Anti stupid tax on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Forgive him. Taxer is stupid. He dunno abt buss tax.

• Taximan on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:40 am

Haha with ppl like u running proton who needs enemies

• How sincere is Proton? on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Can Proton management give the list of company cars that their staff is using? I think it is high time to give up all those luxury cars cause the luxury cars alone come to about RM50 million to maintain.

Can the CEO, the new Adviser (another Tun), the CFO, Chairman, Directors (executive and non Executive) all use Wira 1.3 GL?
          There are many in the 2nd hand market. Buy a good Wira 1.3 GL for Rm6000 for the CEO please

The Chairman, we can be a bit more luxurious and give him a Proton Wira 1.5GL

• TakBayarPtptn on Apr 09, 2016 at 3:04 pm

It’s a LOAN laa bro.. not give away like 6 billion MAS.

When it is a loan, what we should query is how much fee or interest P1 has to pay back. If gov give lower interest than PTPTN, memang cibai laa

• smarttess on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:36 am

In Malaysia, it’s politely called a soft loan. In most people’s eyes though, it’s simply (another) bailout.

• Absolutely brilliant foresight & strategy by Proton management team. Even before launching & selling a single unit of the new perdana, they have already made RM 1.5 billion profit. Well done!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 13
    • Chowdao on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Oh well loan is liability, will be captured in b/s not p/l. They probably still be making loss after getting the soft loan.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Looks like some people don’t know what the word “loan” means. I guess you’re one of those people that take business loans and end up buying a flashy car without repaying the loan? Or one of those that take PTPTN study loan and refuse to pay back?

• Donkey Kong Sucking mama's Milk on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:37 am

You r born yesterday…this “loan” to Potong is a BIG GIFT in Bolehland

• Blaster on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:43 pm

How many time say the same thing but end up losing taxpayers money. Listen to me Proton, rebadging is the way to go. Your car sucks. Follow Perodua’s strategy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 15
    • Huh? Myvi no VSC you say it is better than safwr Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
      • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Perception counts a lot, Proton brand name already Lau-Pek liao, if let me choose Iriz or MyVi, I will still go for MyVi, never mind if MyVi is moving coffin, I owned Kancil, then Viva, then Axia for a period of nearly 12 years and I am still alive.

• Jobless on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:45 pm

How can turnaround when the same team who designed and launch epic failures like Supima Iris and Preve in the same job? They didnt understand the market and wat the consumer wants..they wasted resources by offering 1.3L and 1.6L engine for the same model (look at Honda Cityand Vios, outselling Prodon models wit just ONe emgine choice 1.5L)…the neglected their core best sellers (Saga Petsona while choosing to fight Mivi head on wit the Iris and launching low volume and boring ugly models such as Supima and nw Perdana…and reports indicate they will make the new Petsona much smaaller due to using Iris hatchback…not to mention designing selling hatchbacks when main market still sedan (which Perutdua doesnt has) all the old ceo boasted tat Prodon will sell 500,000 cars in few years time about two years ago in a 600,000 annual volume market.lastly notice how in recent Prodon ads they cannot even hire proper copywriters end up the English all sounded like rojak ( drive it to believe it etc)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 16
    • Never go full retard on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:11 pm

bro u serious?

Proton dropping
      Saga to A-Seg to fill up the empty slot(Prevent crash with Persona B seg)
      Persona from C-Seg to B seg (Due to Preve is a C-Seg sedan)

• FIST (Member) on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:11 am

They should replace persona with the preve in the first place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Toxic Cars on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Although your English grammar is confusing and yet hilariously ‘Rojak’ from the beginning to the end, almost all your points are valid! Btw, there’s nothing wrong with the slogan ‘Drive it to believe it’.

• Ollie on Apr 11, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Great comment.

I won’t blame Proton or the government.

I blame only Malaysians like Aero and KambingKong who keep supporting rubbish. Too many of these kind need to be ‘exported’ from this country. Bangladeshi migrants have much better brain power.

• My tax RM on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:51 pm

How much more of our hard earned tax money is going to be used to save proton? 1.5 billion, just imagine what can be done with that kind of buck, i just don’t know what the big G is thinking sometimes. Why don’t they just instruct P1 to get a strategic partner who is willing to pump in the RM to save P1, trust me, there are alot of willing automotive companies who are willing to do that if the terms are right, remember VW? Forget about patriotsm, forget about being a natinal car, get someone like Peter from KIA or Carlos from Nissan to lead P1, or the least bring back Syed Zainal (a guy with charisma) to lead the company. Why the hell did they bring this new guy in, who the hell is he? Sorry, i am not an automotive expert, but judging by the way, the company is running right now, with no change in attitude of “Takpe lah” and keep bringing in a nobody to lead the company, trust me, P1 will be begging for another soft loan or hard loan or what ever the kids are calling it nowadays by next week, regardless of whatever kind of taskforce that are being set up to monitor this so called transformation. They even want to use the money for the launching of the 3 new models, didn’t the have the money already to launch these models? Mark my words….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
    • Boring Samy on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:02 am

Wah..boring samy change name to Mytax RM. you sure you bayar tax ah?

• Black Dog on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:13 am

Firstly, the product line-up is all wrong. Why compete with Perodua, a war you can’t win?

Secondly, ditch the stupid ‘maruah melayu’ mentality. There’s nothing wrong with hiring a foreign ceo, designers, etc or collaborate with them.

Jangan hidup di bawah tempurung!

BTW Proton is a private company now, under DRB Hicom. And they are making tons of money with the success of Honda cars. Aren’t they are the ones should be investing in Proton?

• DonkeyKong on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:28 pm

Proton has paid RM24 billion in taxes vs receiving RM14 billion in government assistance. The government has earned RM10 billion from Proton. They don’t need your taxpayers’ money to help Proton, they just need to use the money they earned from Proton previously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Youpay tax on Apr 10, 2016 at 11:14 am

You sure you pay tax? You may be keyboard warrior paid cash by your enployer. Betul?

• Ollie on Apr 11, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Thanks, good comment.

I won’t blame Proton or the government.

I blame only Malaysians like Aero and KambingKong who keep supporting rubbish. Too many of these kind need to be ‘exported’ from this country. Bangladeshi migrants have much better brain power.

• Jonn dol on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:56 pm

This is year is going to be an unprecedented year for Proton, there’s possibility of not just 3 , but 5 total new models. It’s a big salvo from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
    • Taximan on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:41 am

They will need a big storage lot

• Anti stupid tax on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Even current model still suffer quality problem. Still thinking abt 5 new model. This company is doom to fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Boring Samy on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Cant wait to see this car launch. Hope the boring Samy dont give fake political comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • Bodoh Boring Samy on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:45 am

Baru bangun bang? Jemput lah tidur balik. Semua free. Tak payah kerja

• Cheebaibang on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Why you call yourself bodoh. Please lah bang pergi tidur, jangan main goli lagi.

• The people are confident that the 1.5bil will evaporate in no time, this company will be as it is, change management again and ask for more money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • The money and the statements are all fine. But Proton needs to move away from the present practices, cut away organizational deadwood, be more open to changes putting the company first and be more inclusive and diverse in terms of the cultural make up of the workforce to achieve that. Only then they can hope to go further and survive in the rapidly changing technological and philosophical landscape of automobile-manufacturing. Good luck to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • UMW TOYOTA on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:29 pm

useless proton..got VSC la ..how many star NCAP la..still no profits

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Tongkat 1.5B on Apr 10, 2016 at 4:50 pm

In order to generate profit it need buyer.So u buy they will get profit lah.If nobody buy surely no profit lah.Why don’t all of us go buy p1 now sure they will get profit.But problem is p1 dunno how to market its products.If Malaysian reject them,go abroad lah.Now got 1.5B free money.Distribute elsewhere fast,get money fast.Don’t waste time lah p1.Fed up already lah

• in b4 bash. Aww who da heck am i taking seriously? Bash away, multi-dupes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Hisham on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Just close down proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 12
  • frank on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:49 pm

can’t wait to see Perdana 2.4 on the road… maybe get a test drive after launching… hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
  • Nissan on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:50 pm

Of course confident la, after use up all the loan then will get another round forever never ending.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • mong swee sin on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:05 pm

Not a responsible manufacturer as far as safety is concerned. I had a very bad experience lately and will never buy any more Proton cars.

• zainal abidin othman on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:33 pm

I have to retrenched staff and this loss making business is given 1.5mil RM. WTH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • jim labu on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Sorry to hear about that bro…and actually it was RM1.5 BILLION that they managed to score from the Gov/rakyat…

• Vincent on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:54 am

We hear the same lie for more than 20 over years! Shame on u Proton! Mark my word….ur sales will decrease double digit in 2016! 1.5 B is the blood and sweat of poor rakyat, the poor paying GST to feed P1…u gone! BN must go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 14
    • wddwad on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:43 am

ade ku kesah?mark my word. Proton will be successful lalalalalala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
      • Vincent on Apr 09, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Day before yesterday. .P1 branding crisis! Today onward. ..People just hate Proton! Dah how many B proton loss? How many B lagi rakyat have to pay?

• Anti stupid tax on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Proton is dying. Slowly. But surely.

• pak atan on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:46 am

same as you my.friend. u also getting.dying . we all getting dying . why u fuzz on that.
          our effort to live a bit.longer and better.
          do not blamming on others

• so including this one, how many turnarounds have Proton went through or tried to go through before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Proton just survive another 2 years till next election. Then will shut down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Peminat Proton on Apr 09, 2016 at 3:18 am

Oiii bila la hangpa nk lancaq Perdana baru tu wooiii??? Dok sembang deghraihh x habih2 lah. Pala bpak hangpa lahh!

• Bring in capable mgt to proton like DSZ and stop posting ay news in PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • PT will post whatever news they wanna post. Unless, of course, ur Dear Lead issues gag order to PT.

• i thought the perdana was in ‘development’ for some time…why its consider part of the turnaround plan with the 1.5b?

• Henry on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:31 am

It is just the previous generation Honda Accord with a different skin and fittings. So much for “development.”

• Mig29ria on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:37 am

Purchase the company 1.2B soft loan 1.5B. Profit 0.3B. Why not go to the Bank. Use rakyat money (gst) initially for education, hospital, cheaper public transport,etc to do the business and than sell to rakyat for 7 to 9 years loan. Proton is very bad reputation to rakyat and rakyat is their customer. I am feeling cheated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Noproton ever on Apr 10, 2016 at 8:33 am

Its simple. Just dont buy proton. Soon they will failed. And no more tax payer money go to them. Have u heard perodua begging govt loan?. Even new factory also self funded.

• nomoney on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:40 am

When we make bussines we want to make profit not glamour do you understand to to big bufflo in the proton.

• CannotMove on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:27 am

“tin kosong tak pe, janji gaya”

this is the kind of mindset proton’s having.

• pak atan on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:50 am

you all is tin kosong. talking without a fact. assuming is not the answer

• camtakpro on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:14 am

1.5B just to buy wrapping paper for disguising their ugly models, and raping paper to rape rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Littlebear on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:28 am

There goes the rakyat’s 1.5 billion ringgit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Zerome on Apr 09, 2016 at 8:44 am

As usual comment endless of politicking…..owhh hidden agenda….

• winners8 on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:07 am

That is why I’d always say that those who buy PROTON cars are wise people. Indirectly, they are reclaiming back some of the funds paid via their taxes. To be fair, PROTON cars are indeed value for money, if one can live with some of their minor problems, which can still be resolved eventually.

• Henry on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:16 am

It is taxpayers’ money. Just hope this loan do not morph into a gift.

• Pondan on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:40 am

Eh…. Recycle statement over and over again

• Ramli on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:41 am

Proton only capable to be a car assembler, not manufacturer. After 30 years, they still unable to produce quality cars, no proper engine, gearbox and very poor NVH. We keep getting the same script from Proton just like in the past.

Nothing going to change unless there is a total revamped of top management and getting a experienced foreign CEO to run the company

• ae101 on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:49 am

Since when D segment car is good market? I don’t know when their new turbo engine will come up and how many testing cycles they wana do like iriz last time. Really sad to see my tax goes into this worthless company again and again. Seriously in mys we pay tax for nothing.

Road? Need pay toll.
    Transport? Force to buy expensive shit car
    Food? Expensive because removed all subsidies
    Health? Gomen hospital waiting queue longer than train. So force to go private
    Fuel? No follow actual market float
    House? Super expensive in city and non bumi wont get discount

I’m sure more than 90% malaysian suffer same faith. Despite Jibby multi billion scandals and yesterday gomen easily announced 1.5B approve for proton. Malaysia is seriously damn sickening. The only help is vote out BN in the next GE.

• gaviny on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:52 am

damn sian see LHDN take my 20k in PCB

• Lulla oath on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:59 am

Shame shame and shame our hard earned money goes to idiots again.another day another useless hope.shame shame shame

• flipper2uman (Member) on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:22 am

“TURNAROUND”!!!! FRAKING DELUDED!!! TURNAROUND MY A$$!!! PROTON WILL MOST LIKELY TURNAROUND IN CIRCLES AND IN A COUPLE OF YEARS WE HAVE THIS SORRY A$$ COMPANY BEGGING FOR MONEY AGAIN. THEY WILL GIVE ALL KINDS OF BULLSH!T GRAND PLANS LIKE GAME CHANGER CAR, WORLD STANDARD, LOTUS HANDLING, WARP DRIVE AND ALL THAT BS TO ASK FOR MORE GRANTS FROM THE GOVERNMENT. HEY THE GENIUSES AT PROTON, WHATEVER BUSINESS YOU ARE INVOLVED IN IS DUE TO ECONOMICS, CUSTOMERS, SERVICE QUALITY, QUALITY OF PRODUCTS AND NOT GOVERNMENT PROTECTION. A BUSINESS THAT CONTINUES ON GOVERNMENT PROTECTION IS NOTHING MORE THAT AN EXCUSE TO RECEIVE SOCIAL SECURITY BENEFITS DISGUISED AS DOING BUSINESS. THIS IS JUST DISGUSTING!!! WTF

• Henry on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:27 am

To put it in perspective, 1.5b is 1 million x 1500 times. It this amount a lot or not?

• wow…countless bunch with too much negativity…how sad…get a life…do something else la..

• the driver on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:53 am

How about this? CEO only gets paid RM1 buts gets paid RM5 for every new model sold. Introducing 3 new models, so let’s see how many new models will be sold. That should really make the CEO work for his salary otherwise it’s just as business as usual until Proton closes down for good or a new CEO is chosen. At this point, are there any takers for that position? Probably not but it should reflect the seriousness of the situation.

• camtakpro on Apr 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm

CEO could pakat with Gov to sapu all models, just that CEO get RM2.50 per model sold, and the other gov guy get the other half.

Still everyone want to be Proton CEO, easy job.

• maidin on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:59 am

keep on producing low cost car for rakyat, don’t bother to focus on mid and premium segment because most of average msian people are not entitled for that price tag, if they have a bit more purchasing power they will choose another reliable brand, owning a rm50k proton and above is not worth it, if u know what i mean

• Bungkus on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:35 am

Soft Loan = Bail Out.

• Ongtk on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:51 am

Call it what you want; it is definitely a bailout!
    A privately owned company getting government loan to the tune of RM1.5b! Think! Should 1MDB fails to pay it’s loan, we, the taxpayers, will have to fork out RM20b. Besides, only recently, the government was slashing higher education budgets, PSD scholarships, petrol subsidies, etc. Does the government really has that much money to throw?

Incidentally, DRB-Hicom also distributes Honda, VW and Audis. I think it’s time to stop buying these car brands and Proton too. A knee jerk reaction is required from all car owners to stop this wanton throwing of good money at Proton and to bring down high car prices in Malaysia put up to protect Proton’s market share!

• So next I am guessing that the management of PROTON will bring in world class consultants (mckinsey, bcg, etc) to churn out a beautiful presentation pack to present to the gomen on their turn-around plan (which is probably going to rack up a fee to the tune of a few hundred thousand dollars). The gomen will be so impressed with all the figures and diagrams, and not forgetting the hensem and blue-eyed mat salleh doing the presentation that they will sign off on the plan…a few years down the road everything will fall part, deliverables will not being met, transformation will stall and we will be back to square in which PROTON will request (ofcourse with a different CEO at the helm) for further bail out….

• Steve on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:21 pm

This is like throwing salt into the ocean. Total waste.

• Anonymous on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:25 pm

P1 currently has 7 models n over 35(!) price / spec configurations… shows how convoluted the P1 mgmt thinking is. Talk so much about global export quality products but can’t even export them. DRB n P1 mgmt are unknowledgable to be effective let alone be efficient. After taking over P1… DRB should not be harping for handouts from the govt… using the local workforce as bargaining chip to blackmail the govt to give them more funding is tantamount to extortion n speaks very little to the integrity n character of DRB n P1 mgmt as a whole.

• Inspira on Apr 09, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Its soft loan not free of charge…

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:20 pm

I just don’t see how this company can turn around when the goal post is being shifted by competitors day by day. By the time Proton comes up with something buyers prefer something else offered by other major players. Perdana is way way too late. Even its donor company admitted that worldwide buyer’s sentiment towards Accord has been dwindling significantly. It’s no different in Malaysia..

• Mysterious Guy on Apr 09, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Loan again? No, it is a bad idea

• Jobless on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Prodon should go into money lending bisnis instead of making cars

• Henry on Apr 09, 2016 at 5:57 pm

I think you mean money borrowing business. Lending is when you give out money. When you keep taking it is borrowing.

• Lolerd on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:25 pm

No wonder you are jobless

• Gerald Butler on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Q1 hoped for the launch or perdana.
    But it now is in silence.
    April is Q2 but ain’t no news of it still.
    Has perdana been a failure?

• tokmoh. on Apr 09, 2016 at 4:36 pm

DOA.

Which genius thought people would pay RM 100k for a Proton?

And what a disastrous long job for a rebadge.

• Porsche Cayenne on Apr 09, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Proton dealer boss drive S-class while telling macai buy Accordana. What a sick joke!

• Proton financial year is different – read the annual report dulu la bro.

• RedPlanet on Apr 09, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Kali ini minta dan dapat 1.5B. Lain kali berapa lagi nak minta? Hutang lama belum bayar balik lagi. Ini kerja kebajikan nak sampai bila?

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 09, 2016 at 3:31 pm

I maybe wrong thought the technology is too built smaller, economical, more powerful engines to rival hybrids.

• p1 shouldnt have gotten the loan, they should dig themselves out like the rest of us..its a private company now

• NOTOPROTON on Apr 09, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Because of this pariah company, Malaysian have to pay higher price for cars. And to add insult to injury, it is getting a SOFT LOAN at the expense of the people. Effectively screwing you front and back.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 09, 2016 at 4:25 pm

beribu ribu tahniah….lagi smart than my generation BN government…talk nice things…say proton need to depend on their own…but back to same story…give free 1.5b to go urut batin

• lagiproton on Apr 09, 2016 at 4:49 pm

Uuuuuurrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhh……STALE already

• ARM Yusof on Apr 09, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Company besar mcm proton dapat RM1.5b ramai bising. Najib dapat RM2.6b sorang2 tak berani nak wat ape2..keh3 only in MAlaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Caring on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Even in US, the government of US helps GM when they were in trouble. This is to support own country manufacturer. Therefore, soft loan to Proton is ok.
      Of course, for corruption is a no no. in US.

• Najib dapat krana org rela bagi, takde marah.
      P1 dapat tapi ade je org tak mau bagi, itulah dia marah.

Wiling seller, willing buyer lah. kan? kan? kan?

• WTF… just ask the 1MDB Arab’s donor to donate la… soft loan.. PUI!

• saladin on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:48 pm

Proton sell about 100k car per year. Let say exise duty per car is rm15k. Total rm15k x 100k car= rm1.5 billion. Would it be easier if just remove the exise duty. People get rm15k discount. Gov no need to give public money. Proton can increase sale. Win win situation for all.

• saladin on Apr 09, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Typical malaysian will always bashing on problems that we already know. Killing proton will not solve the problem. 60k became jobeless will worsen our economy and indirectly will effect us. Instead of becoming bashing session, why not everyone contribute on the solution.

• albag on Apr 09, 2016 at 11:30 pm

the weed is strong in this one

• If I get 1.5bil, I will promise to be a monk.

• Stop dreaming and get a partner. Proton misses big time once with VW

• 30 Year of Rubbish Turnaround on Apr 10, 2016 at 2:02 pm

With 1.5b soft loan given to me,my turnaround will be successful by rebadging 3 worldwide car model replacing our P1 & P2 models..
    1) A class to fight against myvi
    2) 3 Series to fight against Persona
    3) ..and X5 against Alza
    There goes my only 3 model lineups to be as new national automative company known as P3 for time being.Sales target to be 30k unit each month.So gomen,pls give me 1.5b very soft loan and I’ll make Malaysian very proud to drive a premium car brand at very low affordable price.I just take rm499 profit for each unit.Lower rm1 than P1 saga profit.Can?

• Pah ceroh la….

• Ahmad on Apr 10, 2016 at 3:35 pm

I dont think DRB is capable!

• In Thailand Proton slim chance cos Toyota honda nissan cheaper all produce here easy spare parts and plentiful maintenance center

• JC Ker on Apr 10, 2016 at 9:59 pm

So sad that after more than 20 years, Proton still need to rely on government’s help. Hyundai, a Korean car which started after Proton in the 80’s is now miles ahead. The reasons? Incompetent management and cronyism. Proton can do well if the talents of Malaysians regardless of race and background are used, sadly this is not the case. There is no other way to survive in this highly competitive world

• Neutral on Apr 11, 2016 at 9:20 am

Many of you still buy TM’s argument that Proton paid more taxes than it received from the government. OMG, how naive! There are ten of thousand companies that had contributed millions if not billions to LHDN over the years but never asked for government help even in difficult times. They had to solve their own financial problems and tried their best to turn their companies around, all by their own, never begging for handouts or bailouts, these we called BERDIRI DAN BERMARUAH.

• Open Market on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:19 am

In short, Malaysian don’t need Proton.
    It wont make more job opportunity.
    Only open market will do.

Cheaper Car, More jobs, better economy,
    less cronyism, less corruption!

This is the real “LAGI BEST”!

• Now we all know Gov did his part to bail Proton out ans they know they cant pay the soft loan back so I recon they will close it down under receivership in a year as Proton will go bankrupt for sure., I want to see how DRB Mismanagers will try to pay back Gov?

• Superman on Apr 11, 2016 at 10:54 am

http://www.nst.com.my/news/2016/04/138329/protons-hybrid-misadventures

• Check-out on Apr 11, 2016 at 11:57 am

This is not loan, this is donation and bailout of sick company. While most of people struggling, this elected leader easily given billions of “donation” to one company. Because they are actually rule by capitalist wearing the mask of democracy.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 11, 2016 at 5:23 pm

less people buy this segment of car, and proton push for it, and with 2.4L somemore..

end of days we know the Government is the main buyer..