Kia Sportage, Jaguar XF, Holden Spark and Skoda Superb all receive five-star safety ratings from ANCAP

2016 Kia Sportage ANCAP crash test-01

In the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme (ANCAP), the Kia Sportage, Jaguar XF, Holden Spark and Skoda Superb have all received five-star crash safety ratings. The latest results were released by the safety body today.

The Kia Sportage bagged an overall score of 34.62 out of 37. “The Sportage performed well in testing and includes emergency brake assist, hill launch assist and reversing collision avoidance as standard but unfortunately Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) is only offered on the most expensive variant,” said ANCAP CEO, James Goodwin.

The Jaguar XF meanwhile, saw its ratings sourced from Euro NCAP. It scored a total of 92% for adult occupant protection, 82% for child occupant protection, 80% for pedestrian protection and 86% for its safety assist tech. It gained full points for its electronic stability control, seatbelt reminder and lane support systems, and managed 2.49 out of three for autonomous emergency braking.

2016 Jaguar XF ANCAP crash test-01

“The XF has a high standard of safety features buyers would expect in this sort of vehicle including AEB City and Interurban. It scored the highest pedestrian rating of ‘Good’ and is fitted with an active bonnet,” Goodwin said of the XF. The five-star rating applies to all Jaguar XF variants.

Having just been introduced in the Australasian market on March 2016, the Holden (Chevrolet) gained an overall score of 33.6 out of 37. Although described as a “big improvement” over the model it replaces, the Spark lacked “more advanced safety features such as a lane support system which was standard on its European counterpart,” Goodwin stated.

Furthermore, the report noted that “there were concerns about unprotected stiff structures in the steering column and instrument panel but there were no knee contact marks, resulting in no deductions for knee hazards being applied.”

Meanwhile, the results for the Skoda Superb were also sourced from Euro NCAP. It scored 86% for adult occupant protection and child occupant protection, 71% for pedestrian protection and 76% for its safety assist tech. The rating applies to all two-wheel drive variants, including the Combi (wagon) variant.

“The updated Superb introduced a driver knee airbag as standard and also has AEB City and Interurban along with numerous other safety assist technologies,” Goodwin said of the Superb’s ratings.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Kimchis have RV? No.. buy toyota better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:44 pm

The Skoda Superb is really underrated, it’s a shame that they couldn’t penetrate our market. Being a product designer myself, I had similar experiences before, our market is more inclined to aesthetics compared to practicality. More matured markets that I’m familiar with eg: OZ, NZ & Japan, would focus on practical designs first then aesthetics. Other markets I’m not sure but SG, HK is in the same boat as Msia, I’m claiming so because products I design are catered to these markets. With that said however, SG & HK has much bigger spending power (how much a person can spend and not how large the market is), so again from my experience, I’m forced to remove dozens of features and use lower quality materials for Msia simply because of cost. Eg, I’m selling a bag for 28,000円 with a cost of US$120 (including consignment costs and shipment), but I cant be selling the same product here for MYR1,000 because from history I’ve learned that my consignment partners took an avg of 1yr to sell them, and the cost to keep the spot in the shop was RM25,000 a year. In SG there were some profit even though their population is far smaller than ours, Japan it was good. After doing cost cutting down to US$58, still no go in KL, because aesthetically it’s no longer the same even when practicality and ergonomics is still there, so I’ve pull out from M’sia for 2 yrs now. So I guess it’s a real shame that a good value product like the skoda superb is so difficult to get here, in a matter of fact, a lot of great value products is very difficult to get here, such a shame…

• 100% agree with you. Sometime it is weird why some people willing to pay extra for face lift new car even the face lift are simply just come with new bumper or spoiler or sport rims, especially those Japs brand. But now i’m pretty sure the trend is actually start to change. That is why Honda Malaysia start to gain more sales compare to their Japs rivals. That is why i choose to drive continental car compare to the Japs brand, even the RV is not very good like what Sam Loo always said. But the practicality is there when you need it. Go figure you self, why people still worship those Japs so call luxury recond MPV compare to the V-class from Merc. For me, I prefer not to have those fancy body kit, but I prefer a full safety kits or others driving aid that the car can provide even i have to sacrifice the fancy make-up part that comes with the car.