Porsche 960 – new Huracan, 488 rival due in 2019?

2015-porsche-911-turbo-turbo-s-facelift-2

According to a report by Car Magazine, Porsche has trademarked the ‘960’ name in September 2015. This suggests that the German automaker could be working on a new mid-engined supercar aimed squarely at the likes of the Ferrari 488 GTB, McLaren 650S and Lamborghini Huracan.

Unfortunately a spokesperson for the brand declined to comment. “We won’t comment on future products. We’re just looking to preserve the nameplate identity and combinations that we don’t have, and to avoid going through the labour of proving a later claim based on our traditions,” the spokesperson said of the 960 trademark.

That being said, there was a small indication that a supercar of sort is being developed. “There has not been much on the topic of new models but, if you look, there are blank spots in our range – and you have to look at what the competition is doing and keep these things in mind,” the spokesperson noted.

The supercar will reportedly use new underpinnings formed mainly from aluminium, while other materials such as high-strength steel, titanium and composites will be used in specific spots throughout the car. With that, the 960 could weigh in at around 1,500 kg.

Porsche_918_Spyder_01

Power wise, the report goes on to say that the 960 will likely feature a quad-turbo 3.9 litre flat-eight engine with power somewhere in the range of 650 hp. A flat-eight engine is possible as the 907 and 908 of the 1960’s and 1970’s both had a similar engine configuration. Sources said that the 960 will be able to achieve the century sprint in about 2.5 seconds, when equipped with all-wheel drive.

Meanwhile, it is believed that the 960 will also get a new “VarioCom” system, or better known as variable compression, to lower emissions and enhance fuel economy. Apparently, the company has also trademarked the “VarioCom” name last year as well.

If the 960 ever gets made, it will slot between the Porsche 911 Turbo S and the 918 Spyder – which is no longer in production. A launch is said to be planned for 2019, while pricing of the 960 could be somewhere in the area of £200,000 (RM1.1 million).

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Huracan rival macam makan sendiri

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:44 pm

are you okey in your head BN Cybertrooper? Cannot understand lah your posting!

• Then go back to tadika learn English Comprehension 101 before return to troll here

• Really on Apr 28, 2016 at 6:39 pm

He meant to say the 960 will cannibalise sales from the Huracan since both Porsche and Lambo are under the VW Group. IMO, that will only increase sales for the Group because Lambo caters more to the weekend driving while Porsche is preferred for those who would use it daily. The Audi R8 though, that will be a different story.

• Dun mind him, dude. He’s just a resident troll i like to rile up once in a while.

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 28, 2016 at 5:33 pm

F8TTTT.