Hyundai Elantra Sport launched – 1.6 T-GDi, 204 hp

2016 Hyundai Elantra Sport 1

After being spied on public roads recently, the new 2016 Hyundai Elantra Sport has now been officially launched in South Korea, where it is known as the Avante Sport. As the name denotes, this is a hotter version of sixth-generation Elantra, so it gets more of everything.

On the exterior, a more aggressive body style has been applied on the Elantra Sport. The front fascia now gets a larger bumper featuring larger intakes and LED DRLs. The trapezoidal grille now gets a black surround instead of a chrome one, along with a red ‘Sport’ badge. The HID headlamps also get new graphics and red accents here too.

Progressing down the sides, the Elantra Sport gets side skirting and 18-inch alloys (225/40R18 tyres). Meanwhile, the rear gets a redesigned bumper as well that hosts a pair of chrome exhaust tips and a faux diffuser element. Sharper LED combination tail lamps round up the list of changes here.

Inside, the Elantra Sport gets, well, sportier with the addition of faux carbon-fibre or red accents on the dash and other areas. Black-red sports bucket seats (with ‘Sport’ embroidery), a flat-bottomed steering wheel and a revised instrument cluster are now available to the driver.

The new (and improved) looks are matched by improved performance as well. Under the hood, you get a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDi turbocharged four-cylinder engine that churns out 204 hp and 265 Nm. That is 57 hp and 86 Nm more than the most powerful US-market Elantra currently (2.0 litre Nu MPI).

Those who prefer “man over machine” when it comes to gear shifting will be pleased to know that a standard-six speed manual gearbox is offered, with an optional seven-speed DCT.

A bump in power isn’t the only performance enhancer here. Hyundai has also decided to give the Elantra Sport rear multi-link suspension instead of the standard torsion beam, which should add to the fun factor for those behind the wheel.

The Elantra Sport is the latest addition to the sixth-gen Elantra’s line-up, and is expected to make its appearance on American soil during the 2016 SEMA Show in October. Interested in having a model like this?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kimchi had arise on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:09 am

Bring it to Malaysia please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:53 am

What is the 1000 plus highly paid engineers in Proton doing? They sit and shake legs whilst eating kuih lapis and minum teh tarik 8 times a day at the kantin.

Come on abang abang, do some work. Get free job and free Rm1.5 billion and you cannot invent anything also like a 1.6 churning out 200 bhp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 27
      • Salambangi on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:18 am

Dear proton bashers

These engineers must be drinking toddy instead of working. That’s why they could only produce Iriz, Suprima and other up coming models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
        • Loler on Apr 29, 2016 at 1:48 pm

Bhp thingy has passed long ago. Nowadays torque is more important.

Clearly you dun feel 205Nm with your junky vios and myvi. Lol

• DPCraft on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:06 pm

bhp is as important as well, see diesel has high torque but super low bhp acceleration is not very good too. In conclusion, high torque is always better. but bhp must not be low too.

• karam singh on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:50 am

High torque suffer higher tyre wear,
            drivetrain wear & many more.
            Even more dangerous when got no traction coz by rain, easy to slip.
            But high torque – fun to drive , heavy load with ease , climb up genting like a boss ;) .

• OMG…The front trying to copy BMW 3series…Interior become worst than previous model…If u agreed, pls thumb down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
  • Six speed manual! Good move!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • karam singh on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:59 am

from what I see here, a standard car with high output engine.
      Does this car have LSD / torque vectoring / sport suspension / Big sport brake ?
      This car don’t have even semi bucket seat / bucket seat.
      #sportcarwannabe

• voDevil on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:28 am

looks like they just slapped in the Audi’s single frame design into the Elantra… originality at it’s best lah!!!

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:30 am

Will eat Suprima S for breakfast, Civic Turbo RS for lunch, and Mazda 3 for dinner. And Altis before it goes to sleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
  • Joong-ki on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:32 am

204HP vs 174hp!

Ini kimchi beats Civic 1.5 Turbocor hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • applegreen on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:25 am

its a 1.6 turbo vs 1.5 turbo. We need more comparison in handling, safety features, price, etc before deciding which car is better. Dont forget honda will bring in civic type R that could easily beat this elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • Kimchi had arise on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:56 am

A lot of people perceptive is not only sushi car is good in RV but also in Handling,safety feature.
        but for now interms of Handling,safety Korea car are still on top of that. when it come to pricing, seriously you will be so disappointed. Sushi are way pricey, furthermore QC is the worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Bob_B78 on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Reason to buy kimchi:
          1. Equipment list.
          2. Safety
          3. Looks

Reason not buy:
          1. Handling(haha)
          2. FC (hahaha)

• karam singh on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:52 am

3.reliability
            4.less accessories
            5.harder to find parts
            6.still got less mechanic expert doing the Kimchi’s engine
            7.performance part – mehhh, very hard
            8.less tuning capabilities

• karam singh on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:54 am

the 1.5 civic not a sport car while Elantra a sport version of Elantra.
        Please compare a sport car with a sport car.
        Try beat the FD2R 1st , then FK2R ;)

• Untung Manyak Wang on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:40 am

Sekarang Kimchi mungkin ada BMW punya ride & handling.

:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:36 am

Wow, so advanced. Hyundai just started about 10 years earlier than Proton and yet Hyundai can churn out 201 bhp from a 1.6 and sell 9 million cars a year worldwide.

Proton can only sell 100,000 cars and that also 90% goes to the Malaysian Government departments and ministries.

Why so much difference? 9 million cars vs 100,000 cars?

Proton should close down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
    • Donkey J on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:45 am

Mindset play the trick.

• The campro turbo can produce more ponies than current figure is. The problem lies within the under performing cvt gearbox, which cannot handle more than 205nm. If proton include manual variant in campro turbo line up, 200hp is plausible. Then there would be questions why there is performance difference between MT and CVT. Proton malas nak fikir, dr m pun malas nak address this thing in mesyuarat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:14 am

Do you know how much money the South Korean government has pumped into Hyundai? And how much more they have subsidized to keep the exported car prices artificially low? Hyundai & Kia have been selling cars at an artificially reduced price to their export markets for years and years, with the local population buying the cars at higher prices than the export models, with the South Korean government subsidizing the price reduction.

But here we are, slamming Proton and all things Malaysian while praising Hyundai, not knowing about the billions that have been poured into Hyundai by the South Korean government before Hyundai could stand on their own and compete in foreign markets without subsidies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
      • john is otak batu on Apr 29, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Hyundai no need partner “R-I-C-R-D-O” unlike “Proton+Ricardo”..Soo smart!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Muniandy older than Proton.
      Still much less productive.
      Daytime spent trolling in PT only.

#dontbelikemuniandy

• now that’s how u do a sport version…look at the bodykit…seemlessly integrated to bumper

unlike most car here which has ‘sport’ version which slap on a lip and call it bodykit

• adoi_adoi on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:43 am

adoii doiii proton…where to put your face lah.
    even hyundai is leading.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • Hyundai oso no face. Their face is copy audi face ;-P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • adoi_adoi on Apr 29, 2016 at 12:11 pm

only then you know that designer from hyundai/kia is ex-audi designer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • so mana originality? Or copying is now acceptable as long as score A? Is that what u teach ur kids?

• adoi_adoi on Apr 29, 2016 at 5:26 pm

how is it copying when that the same designer Peter Schreyer who design audi previously designing for hyundai and kia now. anyway, thank you for making my day ! i rest my case.

• Sackthedesigner on Apr 29, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Sack the designer. No originality!!!!!

• How can u justify asking Michelangelo to mass-produce Mona Lisas even thou its from him as well?

A gud designer wud use his core elements but ultimately need to significantly be different from his previous works. Otherwise hes just a one-trick pony and not really a gud designer at all. This goes to music & movies as well.
            So u lost ur case before its even brought to court, no need for u to rest it.

• Amriji on Apr 29, 2016 at 10:23 pm

Mona Lisa is by Leonardo Da Vinci NOT Michaelangelo…

• Elantra is a decent small family saloon, perfect for those who wants something different on our road, rather than ordinary japanese marque. Hyundai tried really hard here in malaysia to sell cars, now pricing a base 1.6 Elantra same as mid spec honda city. Touch screen head unit, leather interior, 16inch wheels, big boot, integrated front and rear dashcam, reversing cam, 6 speed auto with + – function, that is what i call a bargain, at least in malaysia. Spare part wise, mcm maintain kereta jepun. The new tgdi should be more fun with the phasing out 6 speed manual. I am no salesman, i only do car detailing, and many times i came to hyundai dealership to do their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Pergh… I wonder how much the price is with the package they offered… This looks like a smaller version of hyundai genesis.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:26 am

Buy this car and you have to park it far far away when you visit your relatives. As I always said, buy Toyota better. Good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 55
    • Digest Your Boring Underpower Toyota Engine Lah on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:14 pm

What the use good RV but no good riding? Bad body rolling,feel insecure in lesser safety features.Suffer 7-10 years inside Toyota just to get good RV? Rather to chose others to get peace of mind.Not that i change car every year!Kimchi,P1 can last same as sushi on road lah! More performance,safety features good fuel consumption.Old dinasour engine drink more fuel to carry heavier vios.Nowadays 1.5cc produces at least 115-120ps but vios getting lesser to 107ps only.Do u think buy kimchi then cannot use after 1year? Race one on one surely vios or altis just tailing behind this Avante sport’s butt.Vios altis got sport ke? Alamak don’t have,just boring car.Pigidah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Toyotat Rear Drivers? on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:40 pm

I think my relatives will adore this Avante than boring vios design.Some more they will say vios TRD sport can’t even see this one from far far ahead.Btw how come TRD sport using same underpower 107hp engine? Wouldn’t TRD stands for Toyota Racing Development? Very very wonder

• Toyotabesr on Apr 29, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Why kimchi fans suddenly bash toyota?
        This ill looking car dun hv goid RV la

• superdriver on Apr 29, 2016 at 11:48 am

Hyundai…200 HP , walau wei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • TKhengong on Apr 29, 2016 at 12:41 pm

At the rate car manufacturers are advancing with new and better designed cars and engineering, wonder how can our Proton ever catch up! Until today, despite all the spy shots and hype over the Perdana, the car is yet to launch. The Saga too. Even under its prototype guise, it’s already looked dated in the design department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Brio is uglier

• Potpet potpet on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Be patience ler,they just get 1.5B what.Wait for managements coming back from European spring season family vacation first,then meeting for next trip Caribbean cruise during summer,fall season at Tokyo Shinkansen tour,winter skiing at Canadian mountain.If vios can use same engine for 14 years & hilux same body & platform for 12 years,P1 cannot meh? Go take another 100x spyshots then December launch lah.Still 2016 what!

• Lolipop on Apr 29, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Lol..ugly..mazda3 still looks premium than this p.o.s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
  • Marina on Apr 29, 2016 at 1:52 pm

Light-years ahead of the garbage ugly cockroach looking Suprima S. There’s one place that fit the Suprima S. And that’s the Garbage Bin. All thanks to that idiot Ah Pek M everyone so love to support, Malaysians can buy this beautiful Elantra Turbo and the Civic Turbo for a bargain cheap price of just RM300k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Chotien? Trivago! on Apr 29, 2016 at 2:48 pm

Would they price it at 90k? Pls pls pls Jibby reduce car price 30% now i want to buy this.Better than ordinary Toyota.

• Velostertuebo on Apr 29, 2016 at 8:39 pm

If the veloster turbo and coup is the standard of Hyundai so called ‘performance ‘ line, this is much yawn able car .

• Well, i just saw one unit in Serdang today with singapore car plate, and it looks like audi for the front grill though. MACAM COPY PASTe